Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Symbol of the Government of Canada

ARCHIVED - Review of the Governance Framework for Canada's Crown Corporations - Meeting the Expectations of Canadians


Warning This page has been archived.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.


3. The Role of Crown Corporations – Flexible and Autonomous Instruments for the Delivery of Public Policy

Crown corporations derive their raison d'tre from their statutory role as instruments of public policy. A large number of them, however, operate in a business environment where they may sometimes find it challenging to manage both their commercial and public policy objectives. Academics, experts, and practitioners agree that the accountability frameworks provided by the FAA and the specific statutes under which some Crown corporations operate have, until recently, attained the balance necessary to accommodate these tensions. The government is of the view that a more consistent application of authorities provided in the FAA and a clearer accountability regime are required now to strengthen governance.

Crown corporations have been part of the Canadian public sector for close to a century. They have played a vital role in key activities such as transportation, power generation, and communications where private enterprises were unwilling or unable to provide the necessary services. With their mixture of public policy and commercial objectives, Crown corporations, such as the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation and Canada Post Corporation, play critical roles promoting the country's identity and connectedness.

3.1 A Brief History of Crown Corporations as Policy Instruments

The first federal Crown corporation—the Canadian National Railway Company—was created in 1922 out of more than 200 companies, many of them insolvent, after the government became owner of the Canadian Northern Railway Company in 1918. The Bank of Canada was created as a private company through the Bank of Canada Act in 1934 and was subsequently nationalized in 1938.

In 1981, all parties in the House of Commons supported the conversion of the Post Office Department into a Crown corporation, after numerous attempts by federal governments over the previous decade had failed to remedy unsatisfactory postal service and address operational, financial, and labour challenges. The Canadian Air Transport Security Authority became a Crown corporation in 2002 to manage several key aviation security services in Canada previously provided by airlines, airports, and others, but perceived to be inadequate after the terrorist attacks in the United States.

Over the last 20 years, federal governments have created 26 new Crown corporations. Several started as completely new organizations; others were previously subsidiaries of Crown corporations, and in some isolated cases the government acquired ownership of existing corporations. In all instances, the federal government has used, and continues to use Crown corporations to deliver public policy when the private sector, other levels of government, or federal departments and agencies cannot satisfy adequately the needs and interests of Canadians. (For a list of all current Crown corporations and the dates they were established, please see Appendix B.)

3.2 The Diversity of Crown Corporations

The current complement of Crown corporations is a diverse set of organizations.(5) They range in size from fewer than five employees to more than 45,000. Their asset bases are also diverse. The corporations operate in different social and economic sectors such as transportation, agriculture, heritage and the arts, and international trade. In their respective spheres of influence these corporations advance government policy priorities and objectives. Some corporations are almost completely funded by government appropriations while others, primarily those with a commercial orientation, tend to be self-sufficient or profit-making. A few corporations receive government funding to manage and administer discrete government programs in addition to their other lines of business. Some corporations are agents of the Crown and some pay dividends. The set of corporations includes those with regulatory or quasi-regulatory authorities. Strengthening the governance and accountability regime of Crown corporations requires that we take full account of this diversity.

3.3 The Autonomy of Crown Corporations

Crown corporations are used to pursue certain public policy objectives, especially when autonomy is a key requirement. Their structure and financing allows for autonomy in the following two complementary ways:

  1. in terms of independence and credibility as non-partisan, non-political providers of services, such as the promotion and development of cultural industries or the formulation and implementation of Canada's monetary policy; and
  2. in terms of day-to-day operations (including the management of financial, human, and physical assets), thereby enabling the organization to respond directly to customer demands in a business environment where private sector companies would not be viable because of market size or the level of risk.

While they operate at arm's length from the government, as public institutions, Crown corporations are ultimately accountable to the government. The government has a range of instruments to influence the conduct of Crown corporations, such as amendments to the constituent Acts of corporations, directive power (see sidebar), approval of corporate plans, appointment of individuals to key positions, and approval and guarantee of the financing of corporations.

What is Directive Power?

Directive power is the government's authority to intervene in the management of a Crown corporation by directing the Board of Directors to follow a particular course of action when the government believes it is in the public interest to do so.

The FAA requires that the appropriate Minister consult the Board of Directors prior to issuing a directive and that once issued, the Minister table the directive with both Houses of Parliament within 15 sitting days.

The directors of the corporation are required to implement the directive promptly, efficiently and with the requisite duty of care. Compliance with a directive is deemed to be in the best interests of the corporation.

Crown corporations for their part concentrate on the delivery of services and operational matters. Wholly owned by the government and subject to an annual audit, they are governed by a Board of Directors. The Board assumes responsibility for the stewardship of the organization, providing strategic direction, overseeing management performance, and holding the management to account.

3.4 The FAA and the Governance of Crown Corporations

Prior to 1984, there were 72 parent Crown corporations and 114 subsidiaries out of which 47 were scheduled in the FAA. Corporations that did not fall under the provisions of the Act followed the governance rules set out in their constituent acts, or in the Canada Business Corporations Act under which several were incorporated.

In 1984 the government adopted Part X of the FAA in order to bring a more standardized control and accountability regime to different classifications of Crown corporations. Part X features five divisions: Division I—Corporate Affairs, Division II—Directors and Officers of Crown Corporations, Division III—Financial Management and Control, Division IV—General, and Division V—Implementation of the North American Free Trade Agreement. Today, of 46 federal Crown corporations, 34 are classified under Part X of the FAA as Schedule III: Part I. Three are classified as Schedule III: Part II—the Royal Canadian Mint, Canada Post Corporation, and the Canada Development Investment Corporation. Nine are exempt from Part X, Divisions I through IV of the FAA.(6)

Key Distinctions between Schedule III: Part I and Part II

  • Schedule III, Part I Crown corporations must submit annually for approval a corporate plan, capital budget and operating budget, but Schedule III, Part II Crown corporations must submit annually only a corporate plan and capital budget.
  • Schedule III, Part II Crown corporations must include a dividend proposal in their corporate plan.
  • The Auditor General of Canada has the right, at his/her option, to be appointed auditor of any Schedule III, Part I Crown corporation. The Governor in Council may appoint a private sector auditor for any Schedule III, Part II, unless the constituent act of the corporation names the Auditor General as the external auditor.
  • Crown corporations not exempted from the Part X, Divisions 1 through 4 of the FAA must have a special examination. The special examiner forwards the special examination report to the Board of Directors. The special examiner of Schedule III, Part I corporations can, where he/she believes the report contains information of interest to the responsible Minister or Parliament, report that information to the Minister or Parliament. The special examiner of Schedule III, Part II corporations is limited to reporting only to the Board of Directors.

There are only a few differences between the requirements applicable to Crown corporations that fall under Part X of the FAA, Schedule III, Part I and Part II. Overall, these differences tend to give Part II corporations somewhat greater operational autonomy. The Governor in Council can move a Crown corporation from Schedule III, Part I, to Schedule III, Part II, only if the corporation

  • operates in a competitive environment;
  • is not ordinarily dependent on appropriations for operating purposes;
  • ordinarily earns a return on equity; and
  • has a reasonable expectation of paying dividends.

The nine exempt Crown corporations are subject only to their individual constituent acts although these often reflect the governance regime provided in the FAA. The most common variation from the standardized governance, control, and accountability regime in the FAA is to exclude the corporation from the obligation to submit annually a corporate plan for government approval. This measure, which applies mainly to several cultural corporations, was adopted to shield the explicit mandate assigned to the organization by Parliament against potential political interference.

Generally, corporations that enjoy greater independence also receive fewer benefits provided by the government. Crown corporations, other than the cultural organizations that are exempt from the requirements of Part X, Divisions I through IV of the FAA,(7) particularly those that do not submit a corporate plan or budgets for approval, do not receive government funding or loan guarantees. They do not enjoy agent status with the associated privileges and immunities, and do not have access to centralized government services available to government departments and some Crown corporations.

There are currently 43 parent Crown corporations and three subsidiaries of Crown corporations that must report on their activities as if they were parent organizations. No single governance framework could possibly meet the requirements of all 46 corporations given the diversity of their mandates, structures, and operating environments. Though not explicitly stated in the measures to strengthen the transparency and accountability of Crown corporations in this report, implementing them would have to take into account the nature of each corporation and its status under or outside the FAA.

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

ARCHIVÉ - Examen du cadre de gouvernance des sociétés d'État du Canada - Répondre aux attentes des Canadiennes et des Canadiens

Avertissement Cette page a été archivée.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à  des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à  jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à  la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à  la page « Contactez-nous ».


3. Le rle des socits d'tat – Utiliser des mcanismes souples et autonomes pour la mise en oeuvre des politiques publiques

La mission des socits d'tat dcoule de leur rle d'instruments de politiques publiques que leur confre la loi. Bon nombre d'entre elles voluent toutefois dans un contexte o il leur est parfois difficile de concilier des objectifs d'ordre commercial et des objectifs des politiques publiques. Les universitaires, les experts et les intervenants conviennent que le cadre de responsabilisation fourni par la LGFP et les lois particulires rgissant le fonctionnement de certaines socits d'tat ont, jusqu' rcemment, cr l'quilibre ncessaire pour attnuer ces tensions. Le gouvernement est d'avis qu'une plus grande uniformit dans l'application des pouvoirs dlgus en vertu de la LGFP et une responsabilisation accrue sont maintenant requises afin d'amliorer la gouvernance.

Les socits d'tat font partie du secteur public canadien depuis prs d'un sicle. Elles ont jou un rle crucial dans des activits cls comme les transports, la production d'lectricit et les communications, o le secteur priv tait rticent offrir les services ncessaires ou incapable de le faire. Des socits d'tat comme la Socit Radio-Canada et la Socit canadienne des postes, qui ont la fois des objectifs de politiques publiques et des objectifs commerciaux, jouent un rle essentiel dans la promotion de l'identit et de la connectivit du Canada.

3.1 Un bref historique des socits d'tat en tant qu'instruments de politiques

La premire socit d'tat fdrale – la Compagnie des chemins de fer nationaux du Canada – est ne en 1922 de la fusion de plus de 200 socits, dont beaucoup taient insolvables, aprs que le gouvernement se soit port acqureur de la Canadian Northern Railway Company en 1918. La Banque du Canada, qui avait t constitue en socit prive en vertu de la Loi sur la Banque du Canada en 1934, a t nationalise en 1938.

En 1981, tous les partis reprsents la Chambre des communes ont appuy la transformation du ministre des Postes en socit d'tat aprs que les administrations fdrales aient tent en vain, au cours des dix annes prcdentes, de remdier l'inefficacit des services postaux et de rsoudre des problmes oprationnels, financiers et de relations de travail. La Socit canadienne de la sret du transport arien, qui est devenue une socit d'tat en 2002, a pour mandat d'administrer plusieurs services essentiels de scurit du transport arien auparavant offerts par les socits ariennes, les aroports et autres mais jugs inadquats aprs les attaques terroristes aux tats-Unis.

Au cours des 20 dernires annes, les administrations fdrales ont cr 26 nouvelles socits d'tat. Plusieurs ont t cres de toutes pices; d'autres taient auparavant des filiales de socits d'tat et dans certains cas rares, le gouvernement s'est port acqureur de socits existantes. Dans tous les cas, l'administration fdrale a eu et continue d'avoir recours aux socits d'tat pour mettre en oeuvre les politiques publiques lorsque le secteur priv, les autres ordres de gouvernement ou les ministres et organismes fdraux ne sont pas en mesure de rpondre adquatement aux besoins et aux intrts des Canadiens. (Vous trouverez l'annexe B une liste des socits d'tat existantes et des dates auxquelles elles ont t tablies.)

3.2 La diversit des socits d'tat

Les socits d'tat existantes forment un groupe d'organisations diversifi(5). Leur effectif varie de moins de cinq employs plus de 45 000 employs. Leur actif est tout aussi diversifi. Les socits oeuvrent dans divers secteurs de la socit et de l'conomie, comme les transports, l'agriculture, le patrimoine et les arts, ainsi que le commerce international. Elles mettent en oeuvre les priorits stratgiques et les objectifs du gouvernement dans leurs sphres d'influence respectives. Certaines socits tirent presque tout leur financement des crdits gouvernementaux alors que d'autres, en particulier les socits de nature commerciale, ont tendance s'autofinancer ou faire des profits. Quelques socits reoivent des fonds gouvernementaux pour grer et administrer, outre leurs propres secteurs d'activit, des programmes gouvernementaux distincts. Certaines socits sont des mandataires de l'tat et d'autres paient des dividendes. Les socits peuvent avoir des pouvoirs rglementaires ou quasi rglementaires. Pour amliorer le systme de gouvernance et de responsabilisation, il faut tenir compte de cette diversit.

3.3 L'autonomie des socits d'tat

Les socits d'tat sont utilises pour raliser certains objectifs stratgiques publics, particulirement lorsque l'autonomie est une condition essentielle cette ralisation. Leur structure et leur financement permettent cette autonomie de deux faons complmentaires :

  1. aux plans de l'indpendance et de la crdibilit en tant que fournisseur objectif et apolitique de services, par exemple, la promotion et le dveloppement des industries culturelles ou la formulation et la mise en oeuvre de la politique montaire du Canada;
  2. au plan des oprations quotidiennes (notamment la gestion des ressources financires, humaines et matrielles), ce qui permet l'organisation de rpondre directement aux besoins de ses clients dans un contexte o les socits du secteur priv ne seraient pas viables en raison de la taille du march ou du niveau de risque.

Qu'est-ce que le pouvoir de donner des instructions?

Le pouvoir de donner des instructions est le pouvoir du gouvernement d'intervenir dans la gestion d'une socit d'tat en donnant instruction au conseil d'administration de prendre une mesure particulire que le gouvernement estime tre dans l'intrt public.

Aux termes de la LGFP, le ministre de tutelle est tenu de consulter le conseil d'administration avant de donner une instruction. Une fois l'instruction donne, le ministre doit la prsenter aux deux chambres du Parlement dans un dlai de 15 jours de sances et les administrateurs de la socit doivent l'appliquer rapidement et efficacement.

Les administrateurs doivent appliquer l'instruction promptement et efficacement, conformment l'obligation de diligence. La socit d'tat qui observe les instructions qu'elle reoit est prsume agir au mieux de ses intrts.

Bien qu'autonomes, les socits d'tat sont des institutions publiques et ce titre, elles doivent en dfinitive rendre des comptes au gouvernement. Celui-ci dispose d'une srie d'instruments pour influencer la conduite des socits d'tat : les modifications aux lois constitutives des socits, le pouvoir de donner des instructions (voir l'encadr), l'approbation des plans d'entreprise, la nomination de personnes dans des postes cls et enfin, l'approbation et la garantie du financement des socits.

Les socits d'tat, quant elles, se concentrent sur la prestation des services et les questions oprationnelles. Dtenues 100 % par le gouvernement et soumises une vrification annuelle, elles sont diriges par un conseil d'administration. Le conseil assume la responsabilit pour la grance de la socit, il en dtermine l'orientation stratgique, il supervise le rendement de la gestion et il demande des comptes la direction.

3.4 La LGFP et la gouvernance des socits d'tat

Avant 1984, il y avait 72 socits d'tat mres et 114 filiales, dont 47 taient inscrites l'annexe de la LGFP. Les socits qui n'taient pas vises par les dispositions de la Loi suivaient les rgles de gouvernance nonces dans leurs lois constitutives ou dans la Loi canadienne sur les socits par actions en vertu de laquelle plusieurs d'entre elles avaient t constitues.

En 1984, le gouvernement a adopt la partie X de la LGFP afin d'instaurer un systme de contrle et de responsabilisation plus uniforme pour les diffrentes classifications des socits d'tat. La partie X compte cinq sections : la section I, Affaires des socits; la section II, Administrateurs et dirigeants; la section III, Gestion et contrle financier; la section IV, Dispositions gnrales; la section V, Mise en oeuvre de l'Accord de libre-change nord-amricain. Aujourd'hui, 34 des 46 socits d'tat fdrales sont classes dans les socits inscrites la partie I de l'annexe III aux termes de la partie X de la LGFP. Trois socits sont classes dans les socits inscrites la partie II de l'annexe III (la Monnaie royale canadienne, la Socit canadienne des postes et la Corporation de dveloppement des investissements du Canada). Neuf socits sont exemptes des dispositions de la partie X de la LGFP(6).

Principales distinctions entre les socits inscrites la partie I et la partie II de l'annexe III

  • Chaque anne, les socits d'tat inscrites la partie I de l'annexe III doivent faire approuver un plan d'entreprise, un budget d'immobilisations et un budget de fonctionnement alors que les socits d'tat inscrites la partie II de l'annexe III doivent prsentent seulement un plan d'entreprise et un budget d'immobilisations.
  • Les socits d'tat inscrites la partie II de l'annexe III doivent inclure une proposition de dividendes dans leur plan d'entreprise.
  • Le vrificateur gnral du Canada a le droit, son choix, d'tre nomm vrificateur de toute socit d'tat inscrite la partie I de l'annexe III. Le gouverneur en conseil peut dsigner un vrificateur du secteur priv pour toute socit d'tat inscrite la partie II de l'annexe III, sauf lorsque la loi constitutive de la socit dsigne le vrificateur gnral comme vrificateur externe.
  • Les socits d'tat qui ne sont pas exemptes des dispositions de la partie X, sections I IV, de la LGFP doivent faire l'objet d'un examen spcial. L'examinateur spcial transmet le rapport de l'examen spcial au conseil d'administration. L'examinateur spcial des socits inscrites la partie I de l'annexe III peut communiquer le rapport au ministre de tutelle ou au Parlement lorsqu'il estime que les informations qu'il contient peuvent les intresser. L'examinateur spcial des socits d'tat inscrites la partie II de l'annexe III ne peut faire rapport qu'au conseil d'administration.

Il y a peu de diffrences entre les exigences s'appliquant aux socits d'tat inscrites la partie I et la partie II de l'annexe III aux termes de la partie X. Dans l'ensemble, ces diffrences tendent donner aux socits inscrites la partie II une autonomie fonctionnelle additionnelle. Le gouverneur en conseil peut dplacer une socit d'tat de la partie I la partie II de l'annexe III seulement dans les cas suivants :

  • si la socit exerce ses activits en situation de concurrence;
  • si la socit ne dpend pas habituellement de crdits pour ses dpenses de fonctionnement;
  • si la socit tire habituellement un revenu de ses capitaux propres;
  • s'il est raisonnable de croire que la socit versera des dividendes.

Les neuf socits d'tat exemptes sont assujetties uniquement leurs lois constitutives respectives, bien que ces lois refltent souvent le systme de gouvernance prvu dans la LGFP. La variation la plus frquente par rapport au systme uniformis de gouvernance, de contrle et de responsabilisation de la LGFP consiste soustraire la socit l'obligation de prsenter un plan d'entreprise annuel et de le faire approuver par le gouvernement. Cette mesure, qui s'applique principalement plusieurs socits vocation culturelle, a t adopte dans le but de protger contre les possibilits d'ingrence politique le mandat que le Parlement a explicitement confi l'organisation.

En gnral, les socits qui jouissent de la plus grande autonomie sont aussi celles qui reoivent le moins d'avantages du gouvernement. Exception faite des organismes culturels, les socits d'tat qui sont exemptes des obligations nonces la partie X, sections I IV, de la LGFP(7), en particulier celles qui n'ont pas faire approuver leurs plans d'entreprise ou leurs budgets, ne reoivent pas de financement gouvernemental ni de garanties de prt. Elles ne bnficient pas des privilges et des immunits rattachs la qualit de mandataire et elles n'ont pas accs aux services gouvernementaux centraliss offerts aux ministres et certaines socits d'tat.

Il existe actuellement 43 socits d'tat mres et 3 filiales de socits d'tat qui doivent rendre compte de leurs activits comme si elles taient des socits d'tat mres. Aucun cadre de gouvernance ne peut lui seul rpondre aux besoins des 46 socits, tant donn la diversit de leurs mandats, de leurs structures et des milieux o elles voluent. Bien que ce ne soit pas mentionn explicitement, la mise en oeuvre des mesures visant renforcer la transparence et la responsabilisation des socits d'tat qui sont prsentes dans le prsent rapport doivent tre mises en oeuvre en fonction de la nature de chaque socit et de son statut en vertu de la LGFP ou l'extrieur de celle-ci.