Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Symbol of the Government of Canada

ARCHIVED - Review of the Governance Framework for Canada's Crown Corporations - Meeting the Expectations of Canadians


Warning This page has been archived.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.


5. Boards of Directors – Building Solid Foundations

In the private sector, best management practices have evolved significantly over the past decade. While a number of best management practices have also been introduced for Crown corporations,—guidelines entitled Corporate Governance in Crown Corporations and Other Public Enterprises were released in 1996—the time has come to strengthen the governance of Crown corporations by proposing a series of mandatory measures applicable to Boards of Directors of all Crown corporations. Some Crown corporations have taken note and adopted several of these measures on their own initiative.

5.1 Making Boards More Effective – Ensuring Independence

As stated in the previous chapter, directors have the responsibility under law to act in the best interests of the corporation and to exercise due care and diligence. Boards of Directors are expected to provide strategic guidance to management and oversee the activities of the corporations. To meet these expectations and maintain sound professional relationships with their respective Ministers and corporation management, they need a clear understanding of their responsibilities and accountabilities, and those of Ministers and management.

To provide effective strategic guidance, Boards need a solid understanding of their respective corporation's mandate, activities, risks, assets, and resources, as well as the government's policy orientations. This is essential for Boards to have the capacity to engage effectively with the government, if necessary, on its specific objectives for each corporation, and to fulfill the oversight role that requires accurate knowledge of their respective corporation's activities, operating environment, potential risks, and long-term viability.

Best practices dictate that, to be effective, directors must approach their work objectively and with decision-making independence. This independence helps to establish a Board's credibility and supports sound governance and effective accountability. For this reason, corporate governance best practices require that boards of directors of Crown corporations function independently from management.

Several corporations have public servants as directors on the Board. In fact, a number of statutes identify public servants as ex-officio directors. These public servants bring knowledge and expertise, help ensure the protection of public interests, and can help the board of directors to understand better the policy and the machinery of government. There is a risk, however, that their presence in some circumstances, could lead to questions about the independence of the Board, and for the individuals concerned, could give rise to situations of divided loyalty.

Although public servants who sit on boards have the same fiduciary responsibility toward the corporation as other directors and are required to act accordingly, situations could arise in which this responsibility conflicts with their duties as public servants, leading to concerns—real or perceived—as to whether the conflict is being properly handled.

Public servants might not be—or might not be perceived to be—in the same position as an independent director to perform a challenge function vis--vis the Minister in areas such as policy direction and approval of corporate plans. In addition, other members of the board might incorrectly perceive that directors who are also public servants speak more authoritatively as representatives of the government. The government is committed to the principle of ensuring board independence, and will only continue to have public servants on Boards of Crown corporations in a limited number of cases, when it is essential to the best interests of the government and the Crown corporation.

Measure #5

The government will review the appointment of public servants as directors on the Boards of Crown corporations with a view to restricting or eliminating their participation. The government will take administrative action, and where necessary seek legislative changes, to implement this measure.

Adequate processes, functions, and structures must be put in place to ensure that individual directors and the Board as a whole maintain an independent perspective in the governance and oversight of the corporation. One way to ensure that a Board can function independently from management is to require that different individuals perform the duties of chair of the Board of Directors and CEO of the corporation. Most Crown corporations currently have statutes or practices that respect this distinction.

Measure #6

The government will enact the legislative changes required to ensure a split in the positions of CEO and chair of the Board for Crown corporations.

The composition of boards of directors varies greatly from one Crown corporation to another given the significant differences among these organizations. Ensuring that a majority of board members are independent from management would support the realization of an independent board and thus contribute to sound governance.

Measure #7

The government will require that the CEO be the sole representative of management to a Board of Directors.

Crown corporations are public institutions subject to increasing scrutiny. In the name of greater transparency, citizens and stakeholders have pressured organizations to open the proceedings of board meetings to the public. Notwithstanding the general recognition of the value of disclosure, sensitive information related to human resources, corporate strategies, confidential commercial information, and other operations discussed in the purview of board meetings could cause damage if inappropriately released to the public. Directors could be pressured by community members and would be reluctant to voice their concerns and ask the difficult questions if they were not confident that their intervention would be protected by confidentiality. In such circumstances, the Board would not be seen and could not act as a credible independent actor in the decision-making process.

Measure #8

To ensure that the Board may deliberate freely, and exercise the challenge function expected of directors, Board proceedings should remain confidential. The government will require that Boards of Directors of Crown corporations hold annual public meetings at which stakeholders could express their views and seek information about the activities of the corporations. Corporations are also encouraged to develop outreach activities to solicit input and feedback from stakeholders on an ongoing basis.

5.2 Setting Expectations — Directors' Responsibilities

Although the law is clear with regard to the obligation of directors, it does not provide much information as to what is expected in practice. Many new directors arrive at their first board meeting unclear as to their primary duties and role. They are uncertain about whom they represent; how far they can go in challenging management's plans and proposals; how to interface with the appropriate Minister and his/her staff; and other issues of governance related to strategic guidance and oversight. To discharge their legal obligations as directors and contribute to the good governance of the corporation, new appointees should know about their responsibilities under the FAA; the specific statutes relevant to their corporation; the expectations of government; and good practices in the organization and management of boards. This would assist new directors in understanding their legal obligations and provide them with the appropriate perspective from which to approach their duties.

Measure #9

To assist the work of Board members, the government will issue to every new director, upon appointment, a guidance letter that would make explicit the expectations of the government with regard to the role and responsibilities of directors under law and in practice. The letter would also include provisions related to the values and ethics of public office holders and disclosure of conflict of interest.

5.3 Clarifying Responsibilities — Board Mandate and Committee Charters

Board and Board committee charters promote effective accountability. Accountability requires clarity about what one is accountable for and to whom. Charters delineate clearly the boundaries of responsibilities and in so doing sharpen accountabilities.

Boards often establish committees to undertake substantive work in support of their broad responsibilities. The Board as a whole, however, remains accountable for any decisions made by its committees. For this reason, and in support of an effective accountability regime, it is important that each committee have a written charter clearly stating its responsibilities and authorities. A charter applicable to the Board of Directors as a whole would also set out the Board's responsibilities and the authorities that it has delegated to management.

Measure #10

To strengthen the corporate governance of Crown corporations, the government will work with Boards to adopt a charter that would define clearly the roles and responsibilities of the Board.

5.4 The Right Foundation — Reinforcing Director Orientation, Education, and Evaluation

Governing a Crown corporation is demanding. In a challenging operating environment that straddles private and public sector spheres, the orientation and training of directors is critical to ensure good governance. Ongoing professional development is equally critical to maintain the knowledge and expertise required to understand the corporation, its business conditions, and the stakeholders with which it is dealing. The government recognizes that learning is integral to maintaining the capacity of Boards. The Privy Council Office in collaboration with the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat currently delivers a two-day training session for new directors on public sector governance in relation to Crown corporations. Despite the success of this program, further effort is required if Boards and Board members are to improve their performance.

Measure #11

To further enhance the skills and performance of Boards of Directors and building on current orientation programs, the Canada School of Public Service will establish additional training and professional development programs on public sector management and Crown corporations.

A well-managed appraisal process would increase the effectiveness of Boards and help identify areas where training may be required or where other remedial actions must be taken. Evaluations provide a mechanism for the Board and the chair to hold each other accountable while peer assessments have an impact on the performance of individual directors and the overall effectiveness of the Board.

Measure #12

Consistent with good governance practices, the government will ask Boards of Directors to establish regular assessments of their effectiveness and the contribution of individual directors as a self-development tool. The assessment of the Board as a whole will be communicated by the Chair of the Board to the appropriate Minister.

5.5 What Every Board Needs: The Audit Committee

The FAA (Part X, section 148) requires Crown corporations that fall under the Act to establish an audit committee. However, six of the nine corporations that are exempt from Part X, Divisions I through IV, do not have this requirement in their statutes. The audit committee is an indispensable element of the modern Board of Directors. On behalf of the Board, the audit committee plays a key oversight function in the areas of internal and external audit and the probity of financial statements, internal controls and risk assessment, management and mitigation. Bolstering audit committees has been a critical feature of the private sector's efforts to improve corporate governance.

Measure #13

The government will require that Boards of Directors for all Crown corporations establish an audit committee.

  • The committee would consist of a minimum of three members and would have the authority to engage independent counsel and expertise, as it deems necessary, to carry out its duties.
  • The mandate of the committee should include the requirement to set up a process to investigate complaints related to issues of integrity and behaviour and to establish a risk assessment and management mechanism as well as adequate controls and protocols to mitigate those risks.
  • The audit committee would also adopt an audit plan that would be communicated to the Board of Directors.

Given the significance of the role the audit committee plays with regard to the governance of the corporation and the oversight of corporate activities, it is imperative that it be a credible body. Credibility is ultimately established by how effectively the committee meets its responsibilities. The foundation for a credible audit committee consists of the qualifications and competencies of its members. Financial literacy and a solid understanding of the business environment in which the corporation operates should be prime features in the competencies of directors serving on the audit committee.

Measure #14

All directors on the audit committee must be independent of management and have financial literacy. An individual with financial expertise must chair the activities of the committee. The government will be mindful of this requirement in the context of the selection and appointment process of directors.

Audited financial statements are the primary mechanism through which management shares results and performance information with the owners of the corporation and other interested parties. They provide assurance to the readers that the information contained within the statements is accurate and reliable. The integrity of financial statements is critical in both the private and public sectors. To maintain the credibility of financial statements, the auditor must be independent from the management team that produced them.

Internal audit is another important component of the control system for a corporation. Internal audit allows the organization to assess its own processes and systems and identify and correct weaknesses and deficiencies. For internal audit to be credible it must also function independently of management.

Measure #15

In order to enhance and protect the independence of the audit function, internal and external auditors will report directly to the audit committee.

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

ARCHIVÉ - Examen du cadre de gouvernance des sociétés d'État du Canada - Répondre aux attentes des Canadiennes et des Canadiens

Avertissement Cette page a été archivée.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à  des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à  jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à  la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à  la page « Contactez-nous ».


5. Les conseils d'administration – Jeter de solides bases

Dans le secteur priv, les pratiques de gestion exemplaires ont volu de faon importante au cours de la dernire dcennie. Bien qu'un certain nombre de ces pratiques exemplaires aient t adoptes par les socits d'tat, par exemple des lignes directrices intitules La rgie des socits d'tat et autres entreprises publiques ont t diffuses en 1996, il est maintenant temps de resserrer la gouvernance des socits d'tat en proposant une srie de mesures obligatoires s'appliquant aux conseils d'administration de toutes les socits. Certaines socits d'tat ont pris acte de ces mesures et en ont adopt plusieurs de leur propre chef.

5.1 Rendre les conseils d'administration plus efficaces – Assurer leur indpendance

Tel qu'il a t mentionn dans le chapitre prcdent, les directeurs sont responsables, en vertu de la loi, d'agir au mieux des intrts de la socit d'tat et de prendre les mesures ncessaires ce propos. On s'attend ce que les conseils d'administration donnent des indications stratgiques la direction et surveillent les activits des socits. Pour rpondre ces attentes et entretenir de saines relations professionnelles avec leur ministre respectif et la direction de la socit, ils doivent bien comprendre leurs responsabilits et obligations de rendre des comptes, ainsi que celles du ministre et de la direction.

Pour donner des indications stratgiques efficaces, les conseils d'administration doivent trs bien comprendre en quoi consistent le mandat, les activits, les risques, les biens et les ressources de leur socit respective, ainsi que les orientations stratgiques du gouvernement. Cela est essentiel pour que les conseils d'administration puissent tablir un dialogue constructif, s'il y a lieu, concernant les objectifs du gouvernement s'appliquant en particulier chaque socit et remplir le mandat de surveillance qui ncessite une connaissance prcise des activits de leur socit respective, de son contexte de fonctionnement, des risques auxquels elle peut tre expose et de sa viabilit long terme.

Selon les pratiques exemplaires observes dans le milieu, pour tre efficaces, les administrateurs doivent pouvoir prendre des dcisions d'une manire objective et indpendante. L'indpendance contribue tablir la crdibilit du conseil d'administration et favorise une saine gouvernance et une responsabilisation efficace. C'est pour cette raison que les pratiques exemplaires de gouvernance des socits d'tat prvoient que les conseils d'administration gardent leur indpendance l'gard de la direction.

Des fonctionnaires sigent au conseil d'administration de plusieurs socits. En fait, un certain nombre de lois mentionnent la prsence de fonctionnaires agissant titre d'administrateur de droit. Ces fonctionnaires mettent profit leurs connaissances et leur expertise, aident protger l'intrt public et peuvent aider le conseil d'administration mieux comprendre les politiques et l'appareil gouvernemental. Toutefois, il existe un risque que leur prsence, dans certains cas, pourrait remettre en question l'indpendance du conseil et donner lieu des situations o les loyauts seraient divises.

Mme si les fonctionnaires qui font partie du conseil d'administration ont les mmes responsabilits fiduciaires l'gard de la socit que les autres directeurs et doivent agir en consquence, il se pourrait que ces responsabilits entrent en conflit avec leurs fonctions titre de fonctionnaire, menant des proccupations – justifies ou non – quant la rsolution d'un tel conflit.

Les fonctionnaires peuvent ne pas tre – ou tre perus comme n'tant pas – en mesure, titre de directeur indpendant, de questionner le ministre de tutelle propos de questions comme l'orientation stratgique ou l'approbation des plans de l'entreprise. En outre, les autres membres du conseil d'administration peuvent, incorrectement, percevoir la prsence de fonctionnaires comme tant des porte-parole du gouvernement. Le gouvernement s'est engag assurer l'indpendance des conseils d'administration et ne continuera permettre – dans certains – cas la prsence de fonctionnaires ces conseils d'administration que s'il y va de l'intrt du gouvernement et des socits d'tat.

Mesure no 5

Le gouvernement examinera la nomination de fonctionnaires des conseils d'administration de socits d'tat afin d'y rduire ou d'y liminer leur prsence. Le gouvernement prendra des mesures administratives et effectuera les modifications lgislatives ncessaires afin de mettre en oeuvre les rsultats du prsent examen.

Il faut mettre en place des processus, des fonctions et des structures permettant de faire en sorte que les administrateurs et le conseil d'administration exercent d'une manire indpendante leurs activits de gouvernance et de surveillance de la socit. Une faon de s'assurer que le conseil d'administration pourra maintenir son indpendance l'gard de la direction est d'exiger que diffrentes personnes exercent les fonctions de prsident du conseil d'administration et de premier dirigeant de la socit. Les statuts ou les pratiques de la plupart des socits font cette distinction.

Mesure no 6

Le gouvernement apportera les changements lgislatifs ncessaires pour s'assurer que les postes de premier dirigeant et de prsident du conseil d'administration des socits d'tat ne seront pas occups par la mme personne.

La composition du conseil d'administration varie grandement d'une socit d'tat l'autre, compte tenu de la grande diffrence entre ces organisations. Faire en sorte que la majorit des membres du conseil d'administration demeurent indpendants l'gard de la direction assurerait l'existence d'un conseil indpendant, ce qui contribuerait la saine gouvernance de la socit.

Mesure no 7

Le gouvernement exigera que le premier dirigeant soit le seul reprsentant de la direction au sein du conseil d'administration.

Les socits d'tat sont des institutions publiques faisant de plus en plus l'objet d'un examen attentif. Exigeant davantage de transparence, les citoyens et les intervenants font pression sur des organisations pour que le public ait accs aux dlibrations de leur conseil. Mme si on reconnat en gnral l'importance de la divulgation, les renseignements dlicats touchant les ressources humaines et les stratgies de la socit, l'information commerciale confidentielle et les renseignements sur d'autres activits faisant l'objet de discussions aux runions du conseil pourraient causer du tort s'ils taient rendus publics sans raison. Les administrateurs pourraient subir des pressions de la part de membres de la collectivit et pourraient hsiter exprimer leurs proccupations et poser des questions difficiles s'ils n'taient pas convaincus que leur intervention demeurera confidentielle. Dans de telles circonstances, le conseil ne serait pas peru comme un intervenant indpendant crdible et ne pourrait pas agir en tant que tel dans le cadre du processus dcisionnel.

Mesure no 8

Pour que les conseils d'administration puissent dlibrer librement et exercer la fonction de remise en question que doivent exercer les administrateurs, il faudrait que les dlibrations demeurent confidentielles. Le gouvernement exige cependant que les conseils d'administration des socits d'tat tienne des runions publiques annuelles l'occasion desquelles les intresss pourraient exprimer leurs points de vue et poser des questions sur les activits des socits. On encourage galement les socits organiser de faon continue des activits de relations externes afin d'obtenir les impressions et les commentaires des intervenants.

5.2 Dterminer les attentes – Les responsabilits des administrateurs

Mme si la loi est claire en ce qui concerne les obligations des administrateurs, elle ne renseigne pas beaucoup ni sur la manire dont ils doivent exercer leur devoir de diligence, ni sur les attentes auxquelles ils doivent rpondre dans la pratique. Un grand nombre d'administrateurs arrivent leur premire runion du conseil sans vraiment savoir en quoi consistent leurs principales fonctions et leur rle, qui ils reprsentent, dans quelle mesure ils peuvent remettre en question les plans et les propositions de la direction; comment doivent se drouler les contacts entre eux et le ministre de tutelle et son personnel et quelles sont les autres questions de gouvernance touchant l'orientation stratgique donner et la surveillance. Pour remplir leurs obligations juridiques d'administrateurs et contribuer la bonne gouvernance de la socit, les personnes nouvellement nommes un conseil d'administration devraient savoir quelles sont les responsabilits que leur confre la LGFP et connatre les lois rgissant leur socit, les attentes du gouvernement et les bonnes pratiques concernant l'organisation et la gestion de conseils d'administration. Cela aiderait les nouveaux administrateurs comprendre leurs obligations juridiques et leur indiquerait sous quel angle aborder leur travail.

Mesure no 9

Afin d'aider les membres des conseils d'administration faire leur travail, le gouvernement transmettra chaque nouvel administrateur, au moment de sa nomination, une lettre lui donnant des indications explicites sur les attentes du gouvernement relativement au rle et aux responsabilits que la loi confre aux administrateurs et qu'ils doivent exercer dans la pratique. Il serait aussi question, dans la lettre, des valeurs et de l'thique pour les titulaires de charges publiques et de la dclaration de conflits d'intrts.

5.3 Prciser les responsabilits – Mandat des conseils et charte des comits

Lorsqu'un conseil a un mandat et un comit, une charte, il en rsulte une plus grande responsabilisation, car ainsi on peut savoir exactement de quoi on est responsable et qui on doit rendre des comptes. Les chartes circonscrivent avec prcision les responsabilits et clarifient, par consquent, les lments de responsabilisation.

Les conseils crent souvent des comits auxquels ils confient des travaux importants devant les aider exercer leurs responsabilits gnrales. Les conseils continuent cependant d'assumer la responsabilit des dcisions prises par leurs comits. Il est donc important, pour que le rgime de responsabilisation soit efficace, que chaque comit dispose d'une charte crite indiquant clairement quels sont ses responsabilits et ses pouvoirs. Une charte s'appliquant l'ensemble du conseil d'administration prciserait aussi les responsabilits du conseil et les pouvoirs qu'il aurait dlgus la direction.

Mesure no 10

Pour amliorer la gouvernance des socits d'tat, le gouvernement collaborera avec les conseils afin d'adopter une charte devant dfinir avec prcision les rles et les responsabilits du conseil et de ses comits.

5.4 tablir les bonnes bases – Renforcer l'orientation, la formation et l'valuation des administrateurs

Assurer la gouvernance d'une socit d'tat est exigeant. Dans un cadre de fonctionnement difficile qui chevauche les sphres prive et publique, l'orientation et la formation des administrateurs sont cruciales pour assurer la bonne gouvernance, tout comme l'est leur perfectionnement continu pour maintenir les connaissances et l'expertise permettant de comprendre la socit, les conditions dans lesquelles elle exerce ses activits et les intervenants avec lesquelles elle entretient des relations. Le gouvernement reconnat que l'apprentissage fait partie intgrante du maintien des capacits du conseil. En collaboration avec le Secrtariat du Conseil du Trsor du Canada, le Bureau du Conseil priv prsente actuellement aux nouveaux administrateurs une sance de formation de deux jours sur la gouvernance du secteur public dans le contexte des socits d'tat. Mme si ce programme connat du succs, il faut dployer davantage d'efforts pour que les conseils et leurs membres amliorent leur rendement.

Mesure no 11

Afin d'amliorer davantage les comptences et le rendement des conseils d'administration et de tabler sur les programmes d'orientation actuels, l'cole de la fonction publique du Canada crera un programme de formation et de perfectionnement professionnel additionnel concernant la gestion du secteur public et les socits d'tat.

Un processus d'valuation bien gr accrotrait l'efficacit des conseils et aiderait dterminer dans quels domaines une formation ou la prise de mesures correctrices pourraient s'avrer ncessaires. Les valuations permettent un conseil et son prsident de se rendre des comptes l'un l'autre, tandis que les valuations par des pairs ont un effet sur le rendement des diffrents administrateurs et sur l'efficacit gnrale du conseil.

Mesure no 12

Conformment aux pratiques de bonne gouvernance, le gouvernement demandera aux conseils d'administration de procder rgulirement une valuation de leur efficacit et de la contribution des diffrents administrateurs, valuation devant constituer un outil d'autoperfectionnement. Les rsultats de l'valuation de l'ensemble du conseil seront communiqus par son prsident au ministre de tutelle titre d'information.

5.5 Le comit de vrification – Ce dont chaque conseil a besoin

La LGFP (partie X, article 148) oblige les socits d'tat qui y sont assujetties crer un comit de vrification. Toutefois, les statuts de six des neuf socits non vises par la partie X, sections I IV, ne renferment pas cette exigence. Le comit de vrification est un lment indispensable du conseil d'administration moderne. Il exerce, au nom du conseil, une fonction cl de surveillance en ce qui concerne la vrification interne et externe, l'intgrit des tats financiers, les contrles internes ainsi que l'valuation, la gestion et l'attnuation des risques. Renforcer les comits de vrification fait partie intgrante des efforts dploys par le secteur priv pour amliorer la gouvernance des entreprises.

Mesure no 13

Le gouvernement demandera aux conseils d'administration de toutes les socits d'tat de crer un comit de vrification.

  • Un tel comit serait compos d'au moins trois membres et aurait le pouvoir de retenir les services de personnes pouvant fournir une expertise et des avis indpendants, s'il le juge ncessaire pour mener bien son travail.
  • Le mandat du comit devrait prvoir l'tablissement d'un processus pour la tenue d'enqutes la suite du dpt de plaintes concernant des questions d'intgrit ou de comportement et la mise en place d'un mcanisme d'valuation et de gestion des risques, ainsi que de contrles et de protocoles appropris pour l'attnuation des risques.
  • Le comit adopterait aussi un plan de vrification qui serait transmis au conseil d'administration.

Vu l'importance du rle jou par le comit de vrification relativement la gouvernance de la socit et la surveillance de ses activits, il faut absolument que celui-ci soit un organe crdible et qu'il soit peru comme tel. La crdibilit du comit dpend au bout du compte de l'efficacit avec laquelle il assume ses responsabilits. La crdibilit d'un comit de vrification repose sur les aptitudes et les comptences de ses membres. Des connaissances dans le domaine financier et une bonne comprhension du contexte dans lequel la socit exerce ses activits devraient compter parmi les principales comptences exiges des administrateurs faisant partie du comit de vrification.

Mesure no 14

Tous les administrateurs nomms au comit de vrification doivent n'avoir aucun lien avec la direction et possder des connaissance dans le domaine financier. Une personne connaissant bien les finances doit prsider le comit. Le gouvernement aura cette exigence l'esprit dans le contexte du processus de slection et de nomination des administrateurs.

Les tats financiers vrifis constituent le principal mcanisme par l'intermdiaire duquel la direction fait part des rsultats et des renseignements sur le rendement aux propritaires de l'entreprise et aux autres parties intresses. Ils confirment aux lecteurs que les renseignements qui y figurent sont exacts et fiables. L'intgrit des tats financiers est cruciale tant dans le secteur priv que public. Pour que la crdibilit des tats financiers soit assure, le vrificateur ne doit avoir aucun lien avec l'quipe de direction qui les a produits.

La vrification interne est une autre composante importante du systme de contrle d'une socit. Elle permet l'organisation d'valuer ses propres processus et systmes ainsi que de dceler et de corriger ses faiblesses et ses lacunes. Pour que la vrification interne soit crdible, il ne doit pas non plus y avoir de lien avec la direction.

Mesure no 15

Afin d'accrotre et d'assurer l'indpendance de la fonction de vrification, les vrificateurs internes et externes relveront directement du comit de vrification.