Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Symbol of the Government of Canada

ARCHIVED - The Financial Administration Act: Responding to Non-compliance - Meeting the Expectations of Canadians


Warning This page has been archived.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.


Footnotes

[1] The PSSRA has been revised and retitled as part of the Public Service Modernization Act (PSMA). The relevant provisions of the PSMA have not yet come into force.

[2] Fraser v. Canada (Public Service Staff Relations Board) [1985] 2 S.C.R. 455 at paras. 40 and 43.

[3] John C. Tait, Q.C., chaired a task force on Values and Ethics, the mandate of which was to examine the relationship between existing and evolving values in the Public Service and to consider ways to align values with current challenges. The resulting report can be found at the following site: http://www.myschool-monecole.gc.ca/research/publications/complete_list_e.html.

[4] R. v. Hinchey [1996] 3 S.C.R. 1128 at paras. 15, 17, and 18, respectively (per L'Heureux-Dub).

[5] Peter Aucoin is a political scientist who has written extensively on public service governance. From: "Comparative Perspectives on Canadian Public Service Reform in the 1990s," page 5, as part of a report of the Auditor General, Public Service Management Reform Progress: Setbacks and Challenge, February 2001.

[6] The document may be found at the following Web site:
http://www.pco-bcp.gc.ca/default.asp?Page=Publications&Language=E&doc=gdm-gsm/gdm-gsm_doc_e.htm.

[7] The document may be found at the following Web site:
http://www.pco-bcp.gc.ca/default.asp?Page=Publications&Language=E&doc=mog/cover_e.htm.

[8] Amendments were made in 1931 to create more centralization in an effort by R.B. Bennett to strengthen the government's capacity to manage public funds. At the time, the positions of financial officers accountable to the Minister of Finance were created. The 1931 House of Commons debates surrounding the Bill to amend the Consolidated Revenue and Audit Act did not reveal any discussions around the liability and offences sections, other than noting that a five-year term was a harsh penalty for failing to report a misdemeanour or fraud. It was thought that this was a good and useful deterrent. After these brief words, the liability and offences sections were carried.

[9] The Criminal Code was first enacted by Parliament in 1878. In the debates leading to Confederation, there had not been any controversy over whether legislative power over criminal law should be given to the federal government. In parliamentary debates in 1865, Sir John A. MacDonald, then the Attorney General, referred to this as being a matter almost of necessity, where it was of great importance to have the same criminal law throughout the provinces, with the same protection of life and property operating equally in all of British North America. (This stood in contrast to the United States system, where each state could have a Criminal Code of its own.) Based on an excerpt from M.C. Friedlang, "Criminal Justice and the Division of Power in Canada," in
A Century of Criminal Justice (1934).

[10] Law Reform Commission of Canada. Working Paper 2, infra, note 41.

[11] Section 126 of the Criminal Code then applies. It provides for a penalty of imprisonment for a term not exceeding two years.

[12] Financial Management and Accountability Act, 1997.

[13] Public Finance Act, 1989.

[14] Financial Intelligence Centre Act, 2001.

[15] Note that it is not being suggested that this should affect prosecutorial discretion and independence.

[16]  Hood, Christopher, Colin Scott, Oliver James, George Jones, and Tony Travers. Regulation Inside Government. New York: Oxford University Press Inc., 1999, pp. 20–43 at p. 26: "The notion of compliance costs is familiar in the business world […] but little attention has been paid to these costs in the public sector […] Estimating compliance costs is difficult because they raise complex counterfactual questions of what organizations would do in the absence of any regulation, and because regulatees have an incentive to overstate (and regulators to understate) such costs. […] compliance costs for our purposes is what it costs the regulatee to interact with the regulator, including the costs of dealing with requests for information, consulting the regulator, setting up and acting as guide on visits and inspections."

[17] Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Reducing The Risk of Policy Failure: Challenges for Regulatory Compliance. Paris, 2000.

[18] Braithwaite, John. "Restorative Justice and Corporate Regulation." In Weitekamp, Elmar and Hans‑Jrgen Kerner, eds. Restorative Justice in Context: International Practice and Directions. Devon, UK, and Portland, Oregon: Willan Publishing, 2003, pp. 161–172.

[19] Tyler, Tom R. Why People Obey The Law. New Haven, Connecticut: Yale University Press, 1990, p. 110. In a recent discussion, Prof. Tyler indicated that all of his later research confirms and reinforces the findings he sets out in Why People Obey The Law.

[20] The United States was examined, but given the large number of federal laws that deal with conduct and discipline applicable to the federal Public Service, we have concluded that a summary at this point would not be useful. Very briefly, some of those laws include the Civil Service Reform Act (1978), which established the Merit Systems Protection Board (a quasi-judicial agency designed to ensure that federal Employees are protected against abuses by agency management) and the Office of the Special Counsel (independent federal investigative and prosecutorial agency); the Ethics in Government Act(1978) which establishes the Office of Government Ethics; the Hatch Reform Amendments of 1993, which restricts the political activities of Federal Government Employees. Other relevant laws include Government Performance and Results Act (1993), Government Management Reform Act(1994), Federal Acquisition Streamlining Act(1994), Federal Acquisition Reform Act(1996), Information Technology Management Reform Act(1996), Whistleblower Protection Act(1989).

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

ARCHIVÉ - La Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques : Pour réagir face à la non-conformité - Répondre aux attentes des Canadiennes et des Canadiens

Avertissement Cette page a été archivée.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à  des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à  jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à  la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à  la page « Contactez-nous ».


Notes de bas de page

[1] Le LRTFP a t rvise et son titre anglais modifi, dans le cadre de la Loi sur la modernisation de la fonction publique (LMFP). Les dispositions pertinentes de la loi en question ne sont pas encore en vigueur.

[2] Fraser c. Canada (Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique) [1985] 2 R.C.S. 455, par. 40 et 43.

[3] John C. Tait, c.r., a prsid un groupe de travail sur les valeurs et l'thique dont le mandat tait d'examiner la relation entre les valeurs actuelles et celles en volution dans la fonction publique et d'tudier des faons de les adapter aux dfis actuels. On peut trouver le rapport du groupe de travail sur le site suivant :  http://www.myschool-monecole.gc.ca/research/publications/complete_list_f.html.

[4] R. c. Hinchey [1996] 3 R.C.S. 1128, par. 15, 17 et 18 respectivement (par L'Heureux-Dub).

[5] Peter Aucoin est politologue et il a beaucoup crit sur la gouvernance dans la fonction publique. Extrait de Comparative perspectives on Canadian Public Service reform in the 1990s, page 5, dans le cadre du Rapport de la vrificatrice gnrale, La rforme de la gestion de la fonction publique : Progrs, checs et dfis, fvrier 2001.

[6] On peut trouver le document sur le site Web suivant :
http://www.pco-bcp.gc.ca/default.asp?Page=Publications&Language=E&doc=gdm-gsm/gdm-gsm_doc_f.htm.

[7] On peut trouver le document sur le site Web suivant :
http://www.pco-bcp.gc.ca/default.asp?Page=Publications&Language=E&doc=mog/cover_f.htm.

[8] Des modifications visant accrotre la centralisation ont t apportes en 1931 alors que R.B. Bennett s'efforait de renforcer la capacit de gestion des fonds publics du gouvernement. l'poque, on a cr les postes d'agents financiers responsables devant le ministre des Finances. Les dbats de la Chambre des communes sur le projet de modification de la Loi du revenu consolid et de la vrification, en 1931, ne font tat d'aucune discussion des articles sur la responsabilit et les sanctions, sauf pour noter qu'une peine de cinq ans pour avoir omis de signaler un dlit ou une fraude tait svre. On pensait qu'une telle peine constituait un moyen de dissuasion bon et utile. Aprs ces quelques mots, les articles sur la responsabilit et les sanctions ont t adopts.

[9] Le Code criminel a t pris par le Parlement en 1878. Au cours des dbats qui ont abouti la Confdration, il n'y a eu aucune controverse quant l'accord de pouvoir lgislatif par opposition au droit criminel au gouvernement fdral. Au cours des dbats parlementaires en 1865, Sir John A. MacDonald, alors procureur gnral, a qualifi cette question de quasi-ncessit car il tait trs important d'avoir le mme droit criminel dans toutes les provinces et d'assurer la mme protection de la vie et de la proprit dans toute l'Amrique du Nord britannique. (Ce qui contrastait avec le systme amricain, qui permettait chaque tat d'avoir son propre code criminel). D'aprs des extraits de M.C. Friedlang,  Criminal Justice and the Division of Power in Canada , A Century of Criminal Justice (1934).

[10] Commission de la rforme du droit au Canada. Document de travail 2, infra, note 41.

[11] L'article 126 du Code criminel s'applique dans ce cas-l. Il prvoit une peine d'emprisonnement maximale de deux ans.

[12] Financial Management and Accountability Act, 1997.

[13] Public Finance Act, 1989.

[14] Financial Intelligence Centre Act, 2001.

[15] Il est noter que nous n'entendons pas par l que le pouvoir discrtionnaire de poursuivre et l'indpendance sont touchs.

[16] Christopher Hood, Colin Scott, Oliver James, George Jones et Tony Travers, Regulation Inside Government (New York : Oxford University Press Inc., 1999), pp. 20-43, la p. 26 :  La notion des cots de conformit est bien connue dans le monde des affaires, mais on a prt peu d'attention ces cots dans le secteur public. L'estimation de ces cots est difficile parce qu'ils soulvent des questions hypothtiques complexes sur ce que les organisations feraient en l'absence de rglements, et parce qu'il est avantageux pour les entits rglementes de surestimer (et pour les organismes de rglementation de sous-estimer) ces cots. Par cots de conformit, on entend ce que cote l'entit rglemente l'interaction avec l'organisme de rglementation, y compris le cot du traitement des demandes d'information, la consultation de l'organisme de rglementation, l'organisation des tournes et des inspections et le travail de guide ces occasions. 

[17] Organisation de coopration et de dveloppement conommiques, Rduire le risque d'chec des politiques :
Les dfis lis au respect de la rglementation
, Paris, France, 2000. 

[18] Braithwaite, John, Restorative Justice and Corporate Regulation, dans Elmar Weitekamp et Hans-Jurgen Kerner, ds, Restorative Justice in Context: International Practice and Directions (Devon, UK et Portland, Oregon : Willan Publishing, 2003), pp. 161-172.

[19] Tyler, Tom R., Why People Obey The Law (New Haven, Connecticut : Yale University Press, 1990), p. 110. Lors d'un rcent dbat, M. Tyler a indiqu que tous ses derniers travaux de recherche confirment et renforcent les conclusions auxquelles il tait parvenu dans Why People Obey The Law.

[20] Nous avons examin la situation aux tats-Unis mais en raison du grand nombre de lois fdrales sur la conduite et la discipline qui s'appliquent la fonction publique fdrale, nous avons conclu qu'un rsum ne serait pas utile pour le moment. Trs brivement, ces lois comprennent la Civil Service Reform Act (1978), qui a tabli le Merit Systems Protection Board (un organisme quasi judiciaire charg de protger les fonctionnaires fdraux contre les abus de la direction) et l'Office of the Special Counsel (organisme fdral indpendant charg de faire enqute et d'engager des poursuites); la Ethics in Government Act (1978) qui tablit l'Office of Government Ethics; les Hatch Reform Amendments of 1993,qui restreignent les activits politiques des fonctionnaires fdraux. Autres lois connexes : Government Performance and Results Act (1993), Government Management Reform Act (1994), Federal Acquisition Streamlining Act (1994), Federal Acquisition Reform Act (1996), Information Technology Management Reform Act (1996), Whistleblower Protection Act (1989).