Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Symbol of the Government of Canada

ARCHIVED - Human Resources and Skills Development Canada - Supplementary Tables


Warning This page has been archived.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Green Procurement

Departmental Green Procurement processes are based on achieving value-for-money leveraging procurement in order to accomplish broader social, economic and environmental outcomes, in compliance with certain policies, such as the Policy on Green Procurement.

Departmental purchasing patterns for products essential to operations are assessed using key standards to support sustainable development. Electronic-based Green Procurement processes are also an important part of the Department's commitment to reduce the environmental footprint of paper-based transactions particularly for thousands of low dollar value transactions. Since departmental purchasing is subject to the use of mandatory standing offers established by Public Works and Government Services Canada, work continues to identify opportunities where Green Procurement can be improved. Appropriate communications strategies and tools including the Purchasing Portal, will ensure appropriate use of "green" items.

The Department is raising awareness and understanding of Green Procurement through training and communications. Functional specialists receive training through courses offered by the School of Public Service, and managers and administrative staff receive information through departmental awareness sessions. Green Procurement information is added to the Departmental Purchasing Portal and employees receive regular information through the Intranet site and communiqus.

The Department’s Green Procurement target setting status is currently "in progress". A National Departmental Working Group has been established to conduct an analysis of key commodities purchased, to identify opportunities, to establish procurement tools that meet departmental needs, and to ensure that the information is communicated to Public Works and Government Services Canada Commodity Councils for the development of mandatory standing offers. Where government-wide tools are not mandated, tools will be developed and aligned with those from Public Works and Government Services Canada as they become available.

More specifically, the Department will continue to assess opportunities to decrease paper-based transactions and improve the efficiency and costs associated with low dollar value procurement promoting appropriate use of the Acquisition Card and the Procurement Portal.

In establishing firm targets, the Department must operate within what is currently available through the use of mandatory standing offers and departmental contracting authorities.

Meeting Policy Requirements

Has the department incorporated environmental performance considerations in its procurement decision-making processes?

Yes

Departmental Green Procurement processes are based on achieving value-for-money while leveraging procurement in order to accomplish broader social, economic and environmental outcomes, in compliance with certain policies, such as the Policy on Green Procurement. Departmental purchasing patterns for products essential to operations are assessed using key standards to support sustainable development.

Summary of initiatives to incorporate environmental performance considerations in procurement decision-making processes:

A) Electronic-based Green Procurement processes are an important part of the Department's commitment to reduce the environmental footprint of paper-based transactions particularly for thousands of low dollar value transactions. The Department continues to assess opportunities to decrease these paper-based transactions and improve the efficiency and costs associated with low dollar value procurement by promoting appropriate use of the Acquisition Card.

B) Communications strategies and tools are used to ensure appropriate use of "green" items. Green Procurement information is added to the Departmental Purchasing Portal and employees receive regular information through the Intranet site and communiqus.

C) The Department is raising awareness and understanding of Green Procurement through training and communications. Functional specialists receive training through courses offered by the School of Public Service, and managers and administrative staff receive information through departmental awareness sessions.

D) A National Departmental Working Group tracks key commodities purchased, to identify opportunities, and leverage procurement tools from Public Works and Government Services Canada. Where government-wide tools are not available, the department is building green requirements.

Results achieved:

A) The total dollar value of spend using the Acquisition Card in fiscal year 2009/2010 was approximately $23 million, representing an increase of $1.2 million from fiscal year 2008/2009.

In addition, call-ups made against mandatory standing offers that had greening components such as paper and eco friendly desktops were as follows:

Fiscal Year Total Requests Total Value
06/07 482 $1,301,132.02
07/08 835 $2,307,314.86
08/09 1628 $5,679,720.85
09/10 2697 $14,001,248.97
Total 5642 $23,289,416.70

B) Information was posted on the Departmental Purchasing Portal which provides information related to items such as Greening Printing Services and how to make greener choices in the selection of goods and services acquired by the Department.

C) In fiscal year 2009/2010, HRSDC conducted 30 awareness sessions to departmental managers and administrative assistants promoting Sustainable Development/Green Procurement and the use of green tools such as the Acquisition Card.

D) One contract was awarded in fiscal year 2009/2010 for the acquisition of new and refurbished office furniture - panel systems.

Contributions to facilitate government-wide implementation of green procurement:

HRSDC is a member of the Green Procurement Form coordinated by the Office of Greening Government Operations within Public Works and Government Services Canada (PWGSC). In this way, HRSDC remains current on government wide initiatives.

Green Procurement Targets

Has the department established green procurement targets?

In progress

Summary of green procurement targets:

The department is seeking 100% target of paper purchasing for major operations. It will establish further targets for other key areas on an ongoing basis based on major asset plans.

Awareness sessions will continue in fiscal year 2010/2011 to support the departmental wide distribution of Green Procurement information.

The department will continue the goal of eliminating paper-based transactions through further use of the Acquisition Card as a green procurement tool and continuing to communicate Green Procurement information using the Purchasing Portal.

The department will target full alignment with all available green standing offers from PWGSC.

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

ARCHIVÉ - Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada - Tableaux supplémentaires

Avertissement Cette page a été archivée.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à  des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à  jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à  la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à  la page « Contactez-nous ».

Achats cologiques

Les processus d'achats cologiques du Ministre sont fonds sur des principes de rentabilit et d'optimisation des achats pour obtenir des rsultats sociaux, conomiques et environnementaux plus tendus, conformment certaines politiques, comme la Politique d'achats cologiques.

L'valuation des habitudes d'achats de produits essentiels aux activits du Ministre se fait l'aide de normes cls favorisant le dveloppement durable. Les processus d'achats cologiques lectroniques constituent galement une partie importante de l’engagement du Ministre rduire l'empreinte environnementale des transactions sur support papier, surtout pour les milliers de transactions faible valeur. Comme les achats du Ministre sont assujettis l'utilisation d'offres commandes obligatoires tablies par Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC), on continue de chercher des possibilits d'amlioration des achats cologiques. Les stratgies et outils de communication appropris, y compris le portail d'achats, permettront de veiller ce que l’utilisation des biens cologiques soit adquate.

Le Ministre essaie de faire connatre et comprendre les achats cologiques en mettant en place des programmes de formation et de communication. Les experts fonctionnels reoivent une formation au moyen de cours offerts par l'cole de la fonction publique, et les cadres et les membres du personnel administratif reoivent des renseignements au cours de sances de sensibilisation du Ministre. L'information sur les achats cologiques est ajoute au portail d'achats du Ministre, et les employs reoivent rgulirement de l'information par le site intranet et des communiqus.

L’tablissement de la cible en matire d’achats cologiques du Ministre est actuellement en cours . Un groupe de travail ministriel national a t cr pour faire ce qui suit : effectuer une analyse des principaux produits achets, trouver des possibilits, tablir les outils d’achat qui rpondent aux besoins ministriels et veiller ce que les renseignements soient communiqus aux comits d’approvisionnement de TPSGC aux fins d’laboration d’offres commandes obligatoires. L o l’utilisation d’outils l’chelle du gouvernement n’est pas obligatoire, des outils conformes aux produits offerts par TPSGC seront labors.

Plus particulirement, le Ministre continuera d'valuer les possibilits pour rduire les transactions sur support papier et d’amliorer l'efficacit et les cots associs aux achats faible valeur en promouvant l’utilisation adquate de la carte d'achats et du portail d'achats.

Au moment de fixer des objectifs fermes, le Ministre doit s’en tenir ce qui est actuellement disponible en recourant aux offres commandes obligatoires et aux pouvoirs de passation des marchs ministriels.

Conformit aux exigences de la Politique

Le ministre a-t-il intgr des considrations relatives au rendement environnemental son processus de prise de dcisions en matire d’achats?

Oui

Les processus d'achats cologiques du Ministre sont fonds sur des principes de rentabilit et d'optimisation des achats pour obtenir des rsultats sociaux, conomiques et environnementaux plus tendus, conformment certaines politiques, comme la Politique d'achats cologiques. L'valuation des habitudes d'achats de produits essentiels aux activits du Ministre se fait l'aide de normes cls favorisant le dveloppement durable.

Rsum des initiatives visant intgrer des considrations relatives au rendement environnemental au processus de prise de dcisions en matire d’achats :

A) Les processus d'achats cologiques lectroniques font partie intgrante de l’engagement du Ministre rduire l'empreinte environnementale des transactions sur support papier, surtout pour les milliers de transactions faible valeur. Le Ministre continue d'valuer les possibilits pour rduire les transactions sur support papier et d’amliorer l'efficacit et les cots associs aux achats faible valeur en promouvant l’utilisation adquate de la carte d'achats.

B) Les stratgies et les outils de communication permettent de veiller ce que l’utilisation d’articles cologiques soit adquate. L'information sur les achats cologiques est ajoute au portail d'achats du Ministre, et les employs reoivent rgulirement de l'information par le site intranet et des communiqus.

C) Le Ministre essaie de faire connatre et comprendre les achats cologiques en mettant en place des programmes de formation et de communication. Les experts fonctionnels reoivent une formation au moyen de cours offerts par l'cole de la fonction publique, et les cadres et les membres du personnel administratif reoivent des renseignements au cours de sances de sensibilisation du Ministre.

D) Un groupe de travail ministriel national effectue un suivi des principaux produits achets, trouve des possibilits et mise sur les outils d’achat de TPSGC. Si des outils gouvernementaux ne sont pas offerts, le Ministre ajoutera des exigences relatives aux achats cologiques.

Rsultats atteints :

A) La valeur totale des dpenses effectues l’aide de la carte d’achats au cours de l’exercice 2009 - 2010 tait environ de 23 millions de dollars, ce qui reprsente une hausse de 1,2 million de dollars par rapport l’exercice 2008 - 2009.

De plus, le nombre de commandes subsquentes aux offres commande obligatoires qui avaient des composantes cologiques, comme du papier et des ordinateurs de bureau cologiques, tait reprsent de la faon suivante :

Exercice Demandes totales Valeur totale
2006 - 2007 482 1 301 132,02 $
2007 - 2008 835 2 307 314,86 $
2008 - 2009 1 628 5 679 720,85 $
2009 - 2010 2 697 14 001 248,97 $
Total 5 642 23 289 416,70 $

B) Des renseignements ont t affichs sur le portail d’achats ministriel, qui fournit des renseignements sur des aspects comme les services d’impression cologiques et la faon de faire des choix plus cologiques au chapitre de la slection de biens et de services acquis par le Ministre.

C) Au cours de l’exercice 2009 - 2010, RHDCC a tenu 30 sances de sensibilisation l’intention des gestionnaires ministriels et des adjoints administratifs pour promouvoir le dveloppement durable/les achats cologiques et l’utilisation d’outils cologiques, comme la carte d’achats.

D) Un contrat a t octroy au cours de l’exercice 2009 - 2010 pour l’acquisition de mobilier de bureau neuf et remis neuf (cloisons).

Contributions afin de faciliter la mise en œuvre des achats cologiques l’chelle du gouvernement :

RHDCC est membre du forum sur les achats cologiques coordonn par le Bureau de l’cologisation des oprations gouvernementales de TPSGC. De cette faon, RHDCC se tient au courant des initiatives adoptes l’chelle du gouvernement.

Objectifs en matire d’achats cologiques

Le ministre s’est-il fix des objectifs en matire d’achats cologiques? [Slectionnez l’une des rponses] :

En cours

Rsum des objectifs en matire d’achats cologiques :

Le Ministre s’est fix une cible de 100 % en ce qui concerne les achats de papier pour les principales oprations. Il fixera des cibles l’gard d’autres aspects cls de manire continue, en fonction des grands projets d’immobilisations.

Les sances de sensibilisation se poursuivront au cours de l’exercice 2010 - 2011 aux fins de diffusion de renseignements sur les achats cologiques l’chelle ministrielle.

Le Ministre continuera de s’efforcer d’liminer les transactions sur support papier en favorisant l’utilisation de cartes d’achats titre d’outil cologique et de communiquer des renseignements sur les achats cologiques par l’intermdiaire du portail d’achats.

Le Ministre se donnera pour cible l’harmonisation complte avec toutes les offres commandes cologiques de TPSGC.

Rsultats atteints :