The 2014 Guidance for the Preparation of TB Submissions includes a revised submission form, the roles and responsibilities of stakeholders, enhanced guidance on costing, tools for submission writers and new service standards for submissions. Departments and agencies have until April 1, 2014, to fully implement the updated guidance.

However, as communicated in the Guideline on Chief Financial Officer Attestation for Cabinet Submissions, a CFO Attestation letter must be annexed to all submissions that have financial implications, effective January 1, 2014.

Appendix C: Accrual Accounting Information

In 2002–03, the government implemented full accrual accounting for the preparation of the Finance Minister's budget and the summary financial statements of the Government of Canada included in the Public Accounts of Canada. However, the Main Estimates, or the appropriations, continue to be based on a "near‑cash" accrual basis of accounting.

Accrual accounting recognizes transactions when the underlying economic event occurs, that is, it recognizes revenue when earned rather than when cash is received, and expenses when incurred rather than when paid.

There are several categories of transactions where there are differences between the classification of elements in the transaction and the timing of charges against the appropriation and recognition of expenses for the purposes of determining the annual surplus or deficit. There are different treatments for revenues, certain liabilities, inventory, and the acquisition of tangible capital assets. A brief discussion of some of the differences is found in Annex 6 of the 2003 Budget Plan.

Accrual accounting provides a more comprehensive picture of the government's financial situation and a more accurate reflection of the financial impacts of economic events and government decisions during the year. The Secretariat is encouraging federal organizations to increase the use of accrual information in decision making since it gives a better presentation of the cost of resources used in a period and thus a better means of relating costs of programs to performance achieved.

To foster the use of accrual information in decision making, the Secretariat requires the inclusion of accrual information in submissions where capital spending is proposed and (a) the resources are incremental (i.e. not presently included in the federal organization's reference levels) and (b) the cash and accrual profiles are materially different.

The "Cost and source of funds" section of submissions related to acquisitions of capital assets or material amounts of inventory should include accrual financial information in addition to the cash profile. For other types of transactions where there are material differences between cash flows and expense recognition (e.g. contaminated sites remediation), the Secretariat may contact the federal organization to obtain accrual information.

For government accounting purposes, capital assets generally include any asset:

  • acquired, constructed, or developed at a cost exceeding $10,000;
  • to be used on a continuous basis to achieve government objectives for more than one fiscal year;
  • not intended for resale in the ordinary course of operations; and
  • the beneficial ownership and control of which rest with the government.

Capital assets also include betterments. Betterments are expenditures relating to alteration or modernization of an asset that appreciably prolongs the item's period of usefulness or improves its functionality.

For appropriations, the full purchase price or development cost of a capital asset is charged to an appropriation in the year of expenditure. Under full accrual, the costs of developing or acquiring the capital asset are allocated to the periods over which the asset will be used by the federal organization, through amortization.[1]

Basic steps for calculating annual accrual expense

(1) Cost

(2) Amortization period

(3) Amortization expense

Amortization is the allocation of the cost of the asset over its useful life.

For more information regarding capital assets, useful life, and amortization standards, please consult Treasury Board Accounting Standards 3.1 and 3.1.1, section 3.5 of the FIS Accounting Manual, and information on how accrual affects liabilities and revenues in Annex 6 of the 2003 Budget Plan.

Date modified:

Le Guide pour la préparation des présentations au Conseil du Trésor de 2014 contient le formulaire de présentation révisé, les rôles et les responsabilités des intervenants, un guide d’établissement des coûts amélioré, des outils à l’intention des rédacteurs de présentations et de nouvelles normes de service pour les présentations. Les ministères et les organismes ont jusqu’au 1er avril 2014 pour mettre pleinement en œuvre la version mise à jour du Guide.

Néanmoins, conformément à la Ligne directrice sur l’attestation du dirigeant principal des finances pour les présentations au Cabinet, la lettre d’attestation du DPF doit être annexée à toutes les présentations ayant des répercussions financières, à compter du 1er janvier 2014.

Annexe C : Comptabilit d'exercice

En 2002-2003, le gouvernement a adopt la comptabilit d'exercice intgrale pour la prparation du budget du ministre des Finances et des tats financiers sommaires du gouvernement du Canada qui sont prsents dans les Comptes publics du Canada. Par contre, le budget principal des dpenses (crdits) continue d'tre tabli selon la mthode de comptabilit d'exercice dite de caisse modifie .

Selon la comptabilit d'exercice, les oprations sont constates lorsque l'vnement conomique sous-jacent se produit; autrement dit, on constate les revenus lorsqu'ils sont gagns et les dpenses lorsqu'elles sont engages plutt qu'au moment o les entres ou les sorties de fonds correspondantes sont effectues.

Il existe plusieurs catgories d'oprations qui prsentent des diffrences au niveau de la classification de leurs lments et du moment o les charges sont imputes au crdit et o les dpenses sont constates aux fins de calculer l'excdent ou le dficit annuel. Il y a aussi des variations dans le traitement des revenus, de certains passifs, des stocks et des acquisitions d'immobilisations. Ces diffrences sont commentes brivement annexe 6 du Plan budgtaire de 2003.

La comptabilit d'exercice brosse un tableau plus complet de la situation financire du gouvernement et reflte mieux les rpercussions financires des vnements conomiques et des dcisions du gouvernement au cours de l'exercice. Le Secrtariat recommande aux organisations fdrales de se fonder davantage sur des donnes tablies selon la comptabilit d'exercice dans le cadre du processus dcisionnel, puisque cette mthode expose mieux le cot des ressources utilises au cours d'une priode donne, de sorte qu'il est plus facile de mettre en relation les cots d'un programme et les rsultats obtenus.

Pour favoriser l'utilisation des donnes tablies selon la comptabilit d'exercice aux fins du processus dcisionnel, le Secrtariat exige que ces donnes soient fournies dans les prsentations o sont proposes des dpenses en capital lorsque, d'une part, ces dpenses exigent des ressources supplmentaires (ressources non prvues dans les niveaux de rfrence de l'organisation) et que, d'autre part, il existe des carts marqus entre les donnes tablies selon la comptabilit de caisse et celles tablies selon la comptabilit d'exercice.

La section Cot et source des fonds des prsentations relatives l'acquisition d'immobilisations ou de stocks importants doit comprendre des donnes financires fondes sur la comptabilit d'exercice, en plus des donnes tablies selon la comptabilit de caisse. Dans le cas d'autres catgories d'oprations o il existe des carts importants entre les mouvements de trsorerie et la constatation des dpenses (p. ex., l'assainissement de sites contamins), le Secrtariat pourra demander l'organisation de fournir des renseignements complmentaires.

Aux fins des comptes de l'tat, les immobilisations comprennent gnralement les actifs correspondant aux critres suivants :

  • les actifs acquis, construits ou mis au point un cot suprieur 10 000 $;
  • les actifs devant tre utiliss de faon continue pendant plus d'un exercice en vue de l'atteinte d'objectifs publics;
  • les actifs qui ne sont pas destins la revente dans le cours normal des activits;
  • les actifs dont le gouvernement a la proprit effective ou sur lesquels il exerce un contrle.

Entrent galement dans la catgorie des immobilisations les dpenses d'amlioration, ce qui englobe les dpenses se rapportant la modification ou la modernisation d'un actif pour en prolonger sensiblement la dure de vie utile ou en accrotre la fonctionnalit.

Relativement aux crdits, le montant total du prix d'achat ou des cots de mise au point d'une immobilisation est imput au crdit pertinent au cours de l'exercice o la dpense est effectue. En comptabilit d'exercice intgrale, le cot d'acquisition ou de mise au point d'une immobilisation est imput, par voie d'amortissement[1], aux exercices o l'immobilisation sera utilise par l'organisation.

tapes de base du calcul des dpenses d'exercice annuelles

(1) Cot

(2) Priode d'amortissement

(3) Dpenses d'amortissement

L'amortissement correspond la rpartition du cot d'un actif tout au long de sa vie utile.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les immobilisations, la dure de vie utile et les normes d'amortissement, on consultera les Normes comptables 3.1 et 3.1.1 du Conseil du Trsor, la section 3.5 du Manuel de comptabilit selon la SIF; l'annexe 6 du Plan budgtaire de 2003 contient pour sa part des renseignements au sujet des rpercussions de la comptabilit d'exercice sur les lments de passif et les revenus.

Date de modification :