Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Symbol of the Government of Canada

ARCHIVED - Western Economic Diversification Canada


Warning This page has been archived.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Section IV: Other Items of Interest

Official Languages

Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD) is committed to the objectives of Canada’s Official Languages Act (OLA) to enhance the vitality and support the development of the English and French linguistic minority communities, and foster the full recognition and use of both English and French in Canadian Society

WD's current Action Plan for the Implementation of Section 41 of the OLA (http://www.wd.gc.ca/rpts/strategies/ola/default_e.asp ) is a multi-year plan, covering the period April 2004 to March 2008. Through a number of formal and informal consultations at regional and pan-western levels, including participation in national consultations with the Official Language Minority Communities (OLMCs), the academic fields, associations and community stakeholder groups, WD has committed to:

  • Build partnerships to address priorities identified by the OLMC;
  • Provide support to Francophone Economic Development Organizations (FEDOs); and
  • Provide support to projects with OLMCs.

Partnerships

Interdepartmental Partnership with the Official Languages Communities (IPOLC)

WD partners with Canadian Heritage (PCH) for the IPOLC. The IPOLC Memorandum of Understanding is intended to encourage new partnerships in the Official Language Minority Community and seek out projects resulting in long-term sustainable community and economic advancements.

In Manitoba, through WD and PCH funding, the Conseil de dveloppement conomique des municipalits bilingues du Manitoba (CDEM) has developed a project involving advancing economic development in Rural Manitoba; assisting and encouraging youth in the bilingual municipalities of Manitoba to develop an entrepreneurial spirit; and building on the International trade links already established to fuel entrepreneurial immigration from France and Belgium along with investments in the Franco-Manitoban economy, both urban and rural.

In Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, WD and PCH have contributed to the Maillardville Revitalization Project. Aimed at revitalizing the commercial and Francophone heritage district of Maillardville in tandem with an Official City Plan review of Maillardville, this project aims to fully prepare the Municipality of Coquitlam for 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games economic opportunities, such as tourism and business attraction.

Government of Canada Action Plan

Through the Government of Canada Action Plan on Official Languages, WD and Industry Canada pool their expertise through an MOU to implement a series of tele-education and tele-learning pilot projects and youth internships in the West. The distance learning pilot projects serve to expand French course content and on-line applications, while the internships serve to establish opportunities for youth to develop skills and labour capacity in their province of residence, as well as to enhance their skills in the minority official language. Under this MOU, resources were made available for a five-year period ending March 31, 2008.

In 2006-2007, WD assisted Francophone organizations across Western Canada in hiring six interns for lengths of time ranging from two to twelve months.

Four major pilot projects in distance tele-education and tele-learning were funded at College Educacentre in British Columbia, Campus St. Jean in Alberta, Le Service fransaskois de formation aux adultes Inc. in Saskatchewan and the College Universitaire de Saint-Boniface in Manitoba. These projects ensure that French speaking people have access to post-secondary education in French regardless of where they are located and cover course and program development, on-line services, e-services (e.g., career counselling, student loans, resources centre), on-line communication tools and training for instructors and staff.

Francophone Economic Development Organizations (FEDOs)

WD continues to provide operating funding to the four FEDOs in order to ensure a high quality range of services to Francophone entrepreneurs and small businesses. This partnership, under the broader umbrella of the Western Canada Business Service Network, continues to be recognized by the Commissioner of Official Languages as a best practice in identifying and meeting the needs of Francophone entrepreneurs and communities across Western Canada.

Project Funding and Support

WD continues to support projects that address economic development issues of OLMCs in each western Canadian region. For example, the Corridor Touristique Francophone de l'Ouest (CTFO) is a pan western FEDO initiative that promotes Francophone tourism in Western Canada. This project promotes attractions, small- and medium-sized enterprises, and the uniqueness of the four western provinces as a tourism destination for Francophones. The targets of the CTFO Action Plan for 2005-2007 have been achieved and discussions are ongoing regarding the renewal of this initiative, within the context of opportunities arising for the 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games.

Management Priorities

Integration of Human Resources Planning within the Business Planning Process

WD’s Manitoba Region was the pilot region for integrating its human resources (HR) plan with the regional business plan in 2005-2006 and has built on this experience by implementing a succession planning initiative in 2006-2007. All other regions and corporate branches are working towards integrating HR and business plans based on lessons learned from Manitoba’s experience. WD regions and corporate branches report on progress at mid-year and year-end with regard to key deliverables, outputs and outcomes identified in business plans. This same reporting process will apply to HR plans.

Learning Initiative Results

WD developed a Learning Strategy in 2006-2007 that has formed the basis of the department’s learning plan for 2007-2008. WD also signed a MOU with Canada School of Public Service in October 2006 that established an ongoing relationship between WD and the Canada School of the Public Service. Through this unique partnership, WD will enhance its ability to meet the requirements of the new Learning, Training and Development Policy and to demonstrate leadership and “best practices” in the delivery of continuous learning.

With respect to HR Modernization, the following progress was made in 2006-2007:

  • 23 employees completed orientation training;
  • 96 per cent of WD executives and managers completed authority delegation training by the December 31, 2006 deadline and 98 per cent by March 31, 2007; and
  • Employees have been identified and registered on functional specialist training for Information Management and Procurement, Material Management, and Real Property. 100 per cent of IM training has been completed and 66 per cent of Procurement, Material Management and Real Property training has also been completed.

Increasing Accountability and Performance Reporting

WD has developed a web-based information management system complete with working tools for officers handling the full life cycle of Grants and Contributions projects. The system is called Project Gateway and has been tailored to WD’s programs through in-house development.

Project Gateway provides the mechanism for consistent assessment of client proposals, risk analysis, the automatic generation of approval forms for sign off by the delegated authority and the automatic generation of WD’s standard Contribution Agreement. Though this system WD has improved its internal controls, efficiency, transparency and accountability. The resulting database of project information is readily available across the department for reference and reporting purposes.

Development of Project Gateway during the last fiscal year has produced a performance reporting module. This section provides the tools to capture project results against performance indicators established for each project at the time of assessment. Standard performance indicators align with WD’s Program Activity Architecture and the results captured can be readily analyzed, compiled and reported. Through this new module WD has demonstrated a commitment to accountability through an enhanced focus on project results and a mechanism to facilitate informed decision making in the future.

WD also continues to work with member of the Western Canada Business Service Network to strengthen their accountability, clarify performance expectations, and encourage greater collaboration among various members to improve services provided to businesses and communities.

Project Officer Training to Improve Due Diligence

A pan-western team developed and coordinated project development and assessment training in each of the four regions. The purpose of the officer training sessions was twofold: 1) to educate, reaffirm and refresh the work of managers and officers related to project development and assessment; and 2) to establish and maintain a consistent level of due diligence across the department. Planning for the officer training began in June 2005, and training sessions occurred in each region throughout the months of April and May 2006; at least one session will be offered each year.

Progress in Implementation of Management Accountability Framework (MAF)

WD places the advancement of its implementation of the Management Accountability Framework (MAF) as a high priority.  Building on strengths noted in past MAF Assessments, the department continues to address all ten essential elements of the MAF and, within that context, has placed particular emphasis on Internal Audit, Evaluation, Values and Ethics.

The department has created and staffed the position of Director General, Audit, Evaluation and Ethics, a position intended to reflect the department’s requirement for greater emphasis on accountability, transparency and ethical behaviour.  In addition, WD has formed a Management Accountability Committee (MAC), a committee of senior departmental officials with a mandate to develop and implement a WD management accountability action plan.

Integrated Risk Management (IRM)

The IRM Steering Committee is responsible for: ensuring the effectiveness of corporate risk management by maintaining organizational focus; introducing senior executive accountabilities; supervising the development of risk mitigation strategies for key program and corporate risks; and participating in the preparation and execution of business continuity plans. RBAF’s are currently in place for all programs with audit and monitoring work driven by the program risk assessment.

In 2006-2007, the IRM Steering Committee successfully implemented a number of initiatives including:

  • Completion of a Department Corporate Risk Profile and Strategic Risk Assessment;
  • Introduction of integrated risk management statements in key department documents such as the corporate and regional business plans, Report on Plans and Priorities, Departmental Performance Report, Operating Framework, Grants & Contributions Framework, and the Other Government Departments Framework;
  • Development of WD Business Continuity Plan; and
  • Development of systemic and responsive risk mitigation tools and strategies for key program and corporate risks.

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

ARCHIVÉ - Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada

Avertissement Cette page a été archivée.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à  des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à  jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à  la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à  la page « Contactez-nous ».

Section IV : Autres sujets d'intrt

Langues officielles

Diversification de l'conomie de l'Ouest Canada s'engage raliser les objectifs de la Loi sur les langues officielles (LLO) afin de rehausser la vitalit et d'appuyer le dveloppement des collectivits de langue officielle anglaise ou franaise, en situation minoritaire, et de favoriser la pleine reconnaissance et l'utilisation des deux langues officielles par la socit canadienne.

L’actuel Plan d’action pour la mise en œuvre de l’article 41 de la LLO de DEO (http://www.deo.gc.ca/rpts/strategies/ola/default_f.asp) est un plan pluriannuel visant la priode d’avril 2004 mars 2008. Par un certain nombre de consultations officielles et officieuses, l’chelle rgionale et dans l’ensemble de l’Ouest, incluant sa participation des consultations nationales avec les collectivits de langue officielle en situation minoritaire (CLOSM), les universits, les associations et des groupes d’intervenants communautaires, DEO s’engage :

  • tablir des partenariats pour rpondre aux priorits cernes par les CLOSM;
  • fournir un soutien aux Organisations francophones vocation conomique (OFVE);
  • soutenir les projets des CLOSM.

Partenariats

Partenariat interministriel avec les communauts de langues officielles

DEO collabore avec Patrimoine canadien dans le cadre du programme de Partenariat interministriel avec les communauts de langues officielles (PICLO). Le protocole d'entente du PICLO vise encourager de nouveaux partenariats dans les collectivits de langue officielle en situation minoritaire et chercher des projets favorisant le dveloppement et la durabilit de ces collectivits.

Au Manitoba, grce au financement de DEO et de Patrimoine canadien, le Conseil de dveloppement conomique des municipalits bilingues du Manitoba (CDEM) a labor un projet qui permet : de faire progresser le dveloppement conomique dans les rgions rurales du Manitoba; d'aider et d'inciter les jeunes des collectivits bilingues du Manitoba amliorer leur esprit d'entreprise; tirer avantage des relations commerciales internationales existantes pour favoriser l'immigration d'entrepreneurs de la France et de la Belgique ainsi que des investissements dans l'conomie franco-manitobaine, tant dans les rgions rurales qu'urbaines.

Port Coquitlam, en Colombie-Britannique, DEO et Patrimoine canadien ont contribu au projet de revitalisation de Maillardville. Ce projet, qui permettra de revitaliser le district commercial hritage francophone de Maillardville et de rviser le plan officiel de la Ville, vise aider la municipalit de Coquitlam bien profiter des retombes conomiques (touristiques et commerciales) des Jeux olympiques et paralympiques d'hiver de 2010.

Plan d'action du gouvernement du Canada

Dans le cadre du Plan d'action pour les langues officielles du gouvernement du Canada, DEO et Industrie Canada rassemblent leur savoir-faire grce un protocole d'entente visant la mise en œuvre de projets pilotes d'enseignement et d'apprentissage distance ainsi que de stages dans l'Ouest pour les jeunes. Les projets pilotes d'apprentissage distance permettront d'enrichir le contenu des cours de franais et la prsentation de demandes en direct, alors que les stages offriront aux jeunes la possibilit d'amliorer leurs comptences et leurs aptitudes au travail dans leur province ainsi que de perfectionner leurs aptitudes dans la langue officielle de la minorit. En vertu de ce protocole d'entente, les ressources ont t offertes pour une priode de cinq ans qui prendra fin le 31 mars 2008.

En 2006-2007, DEO a aid des organismes francophones de l'Ouest canadien recruter six stagiaires pour des priodes allant de deux douze mois.

Quatre grands projets pilotes d'enseignement et d'apprentissage distance ont t financs au Collge Educacentre en Colombie-Britannique, au Campus Saint-Jean en Alberta, au Service fransaskois de formation aux adultes Inc. en Saskatchewan et au Collge universitaire de Saint‑Boniface au Manitoba. Ces projets permettent de veiller ce que les Francophones aient accs un enseignement post-secondaire en franais, peu importe o ils habitent. Les projets comprennent l'laboration des cours et du programme, les services en direct, les services lectroniques (counseling professionnel, prts tudiants, centre de ressources), des outils de communication lectronique et de formation pour les enseignants et le personnel.

Autre

DEO participe d'autres partenariats comme le Comit national de dveloppement conomique et d'employabilit (le comit), qui est un comit conjoint fdral et communautaire, et le Rseau de dveloppement conomique et d'employabilit (RDEE). Le RDEE est un rseau de bureaux pour le march du travail, les comptences et quelques lments de dveloppement conomique. DEO demeure un membre actif du comit conjoint et offrira encore un soutien l'activit Les Lauriers de la PME, un concours semestriel avec remise de prix dirig par le RDEE Canada, et dont la prochaine activit aura lieu Ottawa le 10 novembre 2007. Le concours souligne l'importante contribution des entreprises francophones de l'extrieur du Qubec l'conomie canadienne.

Organisations francophones vocation conomique (OFVE)

DEO continue de fournir les fonds pour le fonctionnement de quatre OFVE afin d'offrir aux entrepreneurs et aux petites entreprises francophones toute une gamme de services de qualit. Ce partenariat, sous l'gide plus vaste du Rseau de services aux entreprises de l'Ouest canadien, continue d'tre reconnu par le Commissaire aux langues officielles comme une pratique exemplaire pour cerner et satisfaire les besoins des entrepreneurs et des collectivits francophones de tout l'Ouest canadien.

Soutien et financement de projets

DEO continue d'appuyer des projets qui rpondent aux besoins de dveloppement conomique des CLOSM des diffrentes rgions de l'Ouest canadien. Par exemple, le Corridor Touristique Francophone de l'Ouest (CTFO) est une initiative des OFVE pour l'ensemble de l'Ouest visant promouvoir le tourisme francophone dans l'Ouest canadien. Ce projet fait la promotion des attractions touristiques, des petites et moyennes entreprises, et du caractre unique des quatre provinces de l'Ouest comme destination touristique pour les Francophones. Les cibles du plan d'action du CTFO pour 2005-2007 ont t atteintes et des discussions sont en cours pour renouveler l'initiative, dans le contexte des dbouchs qu'ouvrent les Jeux olympiques et paralympiques d'hiver en 2010.

Priorits de gestion

Intgration de la planification des ressources humaines dans le processus de planification des activits

Pour DEO, c’est la rgion du Manitoba qui a pilot l’intgration du plan des Ressources humaines (RH) au plan d’activits rgional en 2005-2006. DEO-Manitoba a pouss l’exercice plus loin en mettant en œuvre une initiative de planification de la relve en 2006-2007. Toutes les autres rgions et directions gnrales ministrielles travaillent l’intgration de leurs plans de RH et de leurs plans des activits en se fondant sur les leons tires de l’exprience du manitobaine. Les rgions et les directions gnrales de DEO prsentent des rapports sur leurs progrs au milieu et la fin de l’anne financire. Ces rapports portent sur les principaux rsultats viss et sur les rsultats cerns dans les plans d’activits. Ce mme processus de rapport sera appliqu aux plans de RH.

Rsultats de l'initiative d'apprentissage

DEO a labor une stratgie d’apprentissage en 2006-2007 qui a servi de fondement au plan d’apprentissage du Ministre pour l’exercice 2007-2008. DEO a galement sign un protocole d’entente avec l’cole de la fonction publique du Canada en octobre, tablissant une relation courante avec l’cole. Grce ce partenariat unique, DEO augmentera sa capacit de rpondre aux exigences de la nouvelle Politique en matire d’apprentissage, de formation et de perfectionnement, et de faire preuve de leadership et d’tablir des pratiques exemplaires dans l’instauration d’une culture de l’apprentissage permanent.

En ce qui concerne la modernisation des RH, DEO a ralis les progrs suivants au cours de l’exercice 2006-2007 :

  • Vingt-trois (23) employs ont termin la formation d’orientation;
  • Quatre-vingt seize (96) pour cent des cadres et des gestionnaires ont termin la formation sur la dlgation de pouvoirs avant l’chance du 31 dcembre 2006, et 98 p. 100 l’avaient termine au 31 mars;

On a cern quels employs devaient suivre la formation de spcialiste fonctionnel en gestion de l’information et en acquisitions, gestion du matriel et des biens immobiliers, et ces employs ont t inscrits. Tous les employs inscrits ont termin la formation en gestion de l’information. La formation sur les acquisitions, la gestion du matriel et des biens immobiliers est termine 66 p. 100.

Augmenter la responsabilisation et la reddition de comptes sur le rendement

DEO a labor un systme de gestion de l’information sur le Web assorti de tous les outils ncessaires aux agents pour traiter tout le cycle de vie des projets de subventions et de contributions. Ce systme porte le nom de Projet de la Passerelle et a t adapt aux programmes de DEO grce une laboration interne. Le Projet de la Passerelle est devenu un mcanisme d’une valuation cohrente des propositions des clients, d’analyse des risques, de cration automatique des formulaires d’approbation signer par le dot de pouvoirs dlgus pertinents et de cration des ententes de contribution de DEO normaliss. Ce systme a permis DEO d’amliorer ses contrles internes, son efficacit, sa transparence et sa responsabilisation. Partout au Ministre, on peut accder immdiatement aux bases de donnes sur les projets cres par ce systme, que ce soit titre de rfrence ou des fins de rapport.

Au cours du dernier exercice, l’laboration du Portail de projet a donn lieu un module de rapport sur le rendement. Ce module offre les outils ncessaires pour saisir les rsultats des projets par rapport aux indicateurs de rendement tablis au moment de l’valuation des projets. On peut rapidement effectuer des analyses, des compilations et laborer des rapports sur les indicateurs de rendement normaliss, harmoniss avec l’architecture des activits de programme de DEO. En crant ce nouveau module, DEO a montr son engagement l’gard de la responsabilisation en mettant plus l’accent sur les rsultats des projets. Ce mcanisme favorisera galement un processus dcisionnel mieux clair.

DEO continue de travailler avec les membres du Rseau de services aux entreprises de l'Ouest canadien afin de renforcer leurs reddition de comptes, clarifier les attentes relatives au rendement et encourager une meilleure collaboration entre les divers membres, et ce, dans le but d'amliorer les services offerts aux entreprises et aux collectivits.

Formation des agents de projets afin d'amliorer la diligence raisonnable

Une quipe de l’ensemble de l’Ouest a labor et coordonn une formation sur l’laboration et l’valuation de projets dans chacune des quatre rgions. Les sances de formation des agents avaient deux buts : 1) enseigner, raffirmer et mettre jour le travail des gestionnaires et des agents au chapitre de l’laboration et de l’valuation de projets; 2) tablir et maintenir un degr cohrent de diligence raisonnable dans l’ensemble du Ministre. La planification de la formation des agents a dbut en juin 2005, et les formations ont t offertes dans les diffrentes rgions au cours des mois d’avril et mai 2006. On offrira au moins une formation par anne.

Progrs de la mise en œuvre du Cadre de responsabilisation de gestion (CRG)

Le Ministre considre que la mise en oeuvre du Cadre de responsabilisation de gestion (CRG) est une grande priorit. En se fondant sur les russites des valuations antrieures du CRG, DEO continue de rpondre aux dix lments essentiels du Cadre et, dans ce contexte, place une grande importance sur la fonction de vrification et d’valuation interne, les valeurs et l’thique.

DEO a cr et purvu un poste de directeur gnral, Vrification , valuation et thique, un poste qui traduit l’exigence du Ministre d’insister davantage sur la responsabilisation, la transparence et le comportement thique.

En outre, DEO a aussi cr un Comit de reddition de compte compos des cadres de la direction dont le mandat consiste laborer puis mettre en oeuvre un plan d’action pour la reddition de compte.

Gestion intgre des risques (GIR)

Le Comit directeur de la GIR est charg de veiller l’efficacit de la gestion des risques ministrielle en soulevant l’attention accorde ce secteur, en dfinissant les responsabilits des cadres suprieurs cet gard, en supervisant l’laboration de stratgies d’attnuation des risques pour les principaux risques ministriels et de programme, et en participant la prparation et la mise en œuvre des plans de continuit des oprations. Des Cadres de vrification axs sur les risques (CVAR) sont actuellement en place pour tous les programmes dont le travail de vrification et de surveillance est m par l’valuation des risques du programme.

En 2006-2007, le Comit directeur de la GIR a russi mettre en œuvre un certain nombre d’initiatives, notamment :

  • l’achvement d’un profil de risques ministriel et une valuation stratgique des risques;
  • l’introduction d’noncs de gestion intgre des risques dans les documents cls du Ministre, comme les plans d’activits ministriel et rgionaux, le RPP, le RMR, le cadre de fonctionnement, le cadre des subventions et des contributions et le cadre des AMG;
  • l’laboration d’un plan de continuit des oprations de DEO;
  • l’laboration d’instruments et de stratgies gnraliss et souples d’attnuation des risques pour les principaux risques ministriels et de programme.