Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Symbol of the Government of Canada

ARCHIVED - Fisheries and Oceans Canada


Warning This page has been archived.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Details on Transfer Payment Programs


1. Name: Aboriginal Aquatic Resources and Oceans Management Program
2. Start Date: August 31, 2004 3. End Date: March 31, 2009

4. Description: AAROM is designed to help Aboriginal groups participate effectively in multistakeholder and other advisory and decision-making processes used for aquatic resources and oceans management. It provides funding to qualifying Aboriginal groups to establish aquatic resource and oceans management bodies. It will enable these groups to obtain access to skilled personnel and related support and to participate effectively in decision-making and advisory processes. AAROM employs a community driven approach recognizing that groups are at different stages of capacity development and not all have the same priorities and goals. The program will only be available to groups that are located where DFO manages the fishery and have not signed a comprehensive land claims agreement that addresses the matters under AAROM.

5. Strategic Outcome(s): Sustainable Fisheries and Aquaculture

6. Results Achieved: In 2006-2007, DFO entered into AAROM Agreements with 31 Aboriginal organizations, 14 Capacity Building Agreements and 17 Collaborative Management Agreements. Some of the groups had more than one agreement. 2006-2007 budget included $9.04 Million for Collaborative Management, $1.69 Million for Capacity Development, $3.97 for Access, $1.0M reimbursed from ATP and $531K returned to AFS for the Haida AFS Agreement.

  7. Actual Spending
2004-2005
8. Actual Spending
2005-2006
9. Planned Spending
2006-2007
10. Total Authorities
2006-2007
11. Actual Spending
2006-2007
12. Variance(s) between 9. and 11.
13. Program Activity Fisheries Management
14. Total Grants $ $ $ $ $ $
14. Total Contributions $1,382,471 $11,708,623 $14,300,000 $14,706,131 $14,674,107 $374,107
14. Total Other Types of TPs $ $ $ $ $ $
15. Total Program Activity $1,382,471 $11,708,623 $14,300,000 $14,706,131 $14,674,107 $374,107
16. Comment(s) on Variance(s): An additional contribution agreement was signed with Kativik Regional Government.
17. Significant Audit and Evaluation Findings and URL (s) to Last Audit and/or Evaluation:

In progress for 2007.


 


1. Name of Transfer Payment Program: Aboriginal Fisheries Strategy
2. Start Date: June 11, 1992 3. End Date: March 31, 2009

4. Description: The Aboriginal Fisheries Strategy (AFS) provides for the effective management of the Aboriginal fishery in a manner consistent with the Sparrow decision. In accordance with negotiated, time-limited agreements, Aboriginal groups participate in the management of their fisheries including opportunities in habitat management, science and enforcement activities. In addition, the Allocation Transfer Program (ATP) supports the Aboriginal groups in achieving self-sufficiency through participation in commercial fisheries. The ATP facilitates the voluntary retirement of commercial licences to eligible Aboriginal organizations. The AFS Program applies where DFO manages the fishery, and where land claims settlements are not in place.

5. Strategic Outcome(s): Sustainable Fisheries and Aquaculture

6. Results Achieved: 147 AFS Agreements (101 Pacific, 11 Quebec, 14 Maritimes, 15 Gulf, 2 Central and Arctic, 4 Newfoundland and Labrador).Creation of 1200 seasonal jobs in areas such as processing, monitoring and enhancement activities, habitat restoration, stock assessment, fisheries enhancement, and in the areas of consultation and economic development. In 2006-2007 DFO budgeted $9,200,000 for ATP licences. All was spent.

  7. Actual Spending
2004-2005
8. Actual Spending
2005-2006
9. Planned Spending
2006-2007
10. Total Authorities
2006-2007
11. Actual Spending
2006-2007
12. Variance(s) between 9. and 11.
13. Program Activity Fisheries Management
14. Total Grants $ $ $ $ $ $
14. Total Contributions $35,854,867 $31,466,647 $31,100,000 $32,191,869 $32,177,511 $1,077,511
14. Total Other Types of TPs $ $ $ $ $ $
15. Total Program Activity $35,854,867 $31,466,647 $31,100,000 $32,191,869 $32,177,511 $1,077,511
16. Comment(s) on Variance(s): $1.1M transferred from Aboriginal Inland Habitat Program (to be repaid in 2007/08).
17. Significant Audit and Evaluation Findings and URL (s) to Last Audit and/or Evaluation:

To be undertaken in 2008.


 


1. Name of Transfer Payment Program: Fisheries Access Program
2. Start Date: January 12, 2000 3. End Date: March 31, 2007

4. Description: The Supreme Court of Canada (SCC), in the September 17, 1999 R. v. Marshall Decision, affirmed a Treaty right to hunt, fish and gather in pursuit of a 'moderate livelihood' stemming from Peace and Friendship Treaties of 1760 and 1761. The Decision affected 34 Mi'kmaq and Maliseet First Nations in New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia, and the Gasp region of Quebec. The Supreme Court of Canada (SCC) also affirmed the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO)'s ability to regulate the exercise of the treaty right subject to the requirement that any infringement of the treaty right be justified. In response to the SCC Decision, DFO implemented the Marshall Response Initiative (MRI). The MRI is composed of two components, the Fisheries Access Program (FAP) and Capacity Building Initiatives. The FAP component of the initiative relied on an approach of voluntary retirement of commercial licences vessels to provide First Nations access to communal commercial licences. The capacity building component was used to assist the First nations in their efforts to use the access effectively and efficiently. In the Public Accounts, the expenditures for both FAP and Capacity Building are listed under FAP alone.

5. Strategic Outcome(s): Sustainable Fisheries and Aquaculture

6. Results Achieved: The Department negotiated Fisheries Agreements with 31 of the 34 eligible First Nations. The department has been successful in providing First Nations access to communal commercial licences, vessels and gear. It is estimated that in excess of 99% of all FAP commitments have been met.

  7. Actual Spending
2004-2005
8. Actual Spending
2005-2006
9. Planned Spending
2006-2007
10. Total Authorities
2006-2007
11. Actual Spending
2006-2007
12. Variance(s) between 9. and 11.
13. Program Activity Fisheries Management
14. Total Grants $ $ $ $ $ $
14. Total Contributions $47,452,125 $27,973,656 $50,000,000 $65,119,900 $51,768,161 $1,768,161
14. Total Other Types of TPs $ $ $ $ $ $
15. Total Program Activity $47,452,125 $27,973,656 $50,000,000 $65,119,900 $51,768,161 $1,768,161
16. Comment(s) on Variance(s): Fulfilled more obligations in contribution agreements than expected.
17) Significant Audit and Evaluation Findings and URL (s) to Last Audit and/or Evaluation URLs of audits etc.:

http://www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/communic/cread/audits/05-06/60250_e.htm

http://www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/communic/cread/evaluations/05-06/65138_e.htm

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

ARCHIVÉ - Pêches et Océans Canada

Avertissement Cette page a été archivée.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à  des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à  jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à  la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à  la page « Contactez-nous ».

Renseignements sur les programmes de paiements de transfert


1. Nom : Programme autochtone de gestion des ressources aquatiques et ocaniques (PAGRAO)
2. Date de mise en œuvre : 31 aot 2004 3. Date de clture : 31 mars 2009

4. Description : Le PAGRAO a pour but d'aider les groupes autochtones participer efficacement aux processus dcisionnels et consultatifs multilatraux utiliss pour grer les ressources aquatiques et ocaniques. Il accorde des groupes autochtones admissibles des fonds pour mettre sur pied des organes de gestion des ressources aquatiques et ocaniques, ce qui permettra ceux-ci d'obtenir du personnel qualifi et du soutien connexe et de participer efficacement aux processus consultatifs et dcisionnels. Le PAGRAO emploie une approche communautaire reconnaissant le fait que les groupes en sont diffrents stades de dveloppement de leurs capacits et qu'ils n'ont pas tous les mmes priorits et objectifs. Le programme ne s'adressera qu' des groupes qui sont situs dans des secteurs o le MPO gre la pche et qui n'ont pas encore sign d'accord global de revendications territoriales sur les questions vises par le PGARAO.

5. Rsultat(s) stratgique(s) : Pches et aquaculture durables

6. Rsultats obtenus : En 2006-2007, le MPO a conclu des accords avec 31 organisations autochtones dans le cadre du PAGRAO ainsi que 14 ententes de renforcement des capacits et 17 ententes de gestion collaborative. Certains des groupes sont partie plus d'un accord. Le budget 2006-2007 comprenait : 9,04 millions de dollars pour la gestion collaborative;1,69 million de dollars pour le renforcement des capacits; 3,97 millions de dollars pour l'accs; 1,0 million de dollars rembourss du PTA; et 531 000 $ rendus la STRAPA pour l'entente avec les Hadas dans le cadre de la SRAPA.

  7. Dpenses relles,
2004-2005
8. Dpenses relles,
2005-2006
9. Dpenses prvues,
2006-2007
10. Autorisations totales,
2006-2007
11. Dpenses relles,
2006-2007
12. cart(s) entre 9. et 11.
13. Activit de programme Gestion des pches
14. Total - Subventions $ $ $ $ $ $
14. Total - Contributions $1 382 471 $11 708 623 $14 300 000 $14 706 131 $14 674 107 $374 107
14. Total - Autres types de PT $ $ $ $ $ $
15. Total - Activit de programme $1 382 471 $11 708 623 $14 300 000 $14 706 131 $14 674 107 $374 107
16. Commentaire(s) sur le/les cart(s) : Une entente de contribution additionnelle a t signe avec l'Administration rgionale Kativik.
17. Rsultats importants des vrifications et des valuations et URL la dernire valuation ou vrification:

En cours de ralisation pour 2007.


 


1. Nom du programme de paiements de transfert : Stratgie relative aux pches autochtones
2. Date de mise en œuvre : 11 juin 1992 3. Date de clture : 31 mars 2009

4. Description: La Stratgie relative aux pches autochtones (SRAPA) permet d'assurer une gestion efficace des pches autochtones dans le respect de la dcision Sparrow. Conformment des ententes ngocies et limites dans le temps, les groupes autochtones participent la gestion de leurs pches, ce qui leur procure notamment des possibilits de participation aux activits de gestion de l'habitat, scientifiques et d'application des rglements. En outre, le Programme de transfert d'allocations (PTA) aide les groupes autochtones atteindre l'autosuffisance par une participation aux pches commerciales. Le PTA facilite le retrait volontaire des permis de pche commerciale et dlivre des permis des organisations autochtones admissibles. Il s'applique l o le MPO gre la pche et o aucun rglement de revendications territoriales n'est en vigueur.

5. Rsultat(s) stratgique(s) : Pches et aquaculture durables

6. Rsultats obtenus : 1Conclusion de 147 ententes dans le cadre de la SRAPA (101 dans le Pacifique, 11 au Qubec, 14 dans les Maritimes, 15 dans le Golfe, 2 dans le Centre et l'Arctique et 4 Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador). Cration de 1 200 emplois saisonniers dans des domaines tels que les activits de transformation, de surveillance et d'amlioration, la restauration de l'habitat, l'valuation des stocks et la mise en valeur des pches de mme que dans ceux de la consultation et du dveloppement conomique. En 2006-2007, le MPO a budgt 9 200 000 $ pour les permis dans le cadre de la SRAPA, montant qu'il a dpens en entier.

  7. Dpenses relles,
2004-2005
8. Dpenses relles,
2005-2006
9. Dpenses prvues,
2006-2007
10. Autorisations totales,
2006-2007
11. Dpenses relles,
2006-2007
12. cart(s) entre 9. et 11.
13. Activit de programme Gestion des pches
14. Total - Subventions $ $ $ $ $ $
14. Total - Contributions $35 854 867 $31 466 647 $31 100 000 $32 191 869 $32 177 511 $1 077 511
14. Total - Autres types de PT $ $ $ $ $ $
15. Total - Activit de programme $35 854 867 $31 466 647 $31 100 000 $32 191 869 $32 177 511 $1 077 511
16. Commentaire(s) sur le/les cart(s) : 1,1 M$ transfrs du Programme autochtone de gestion de l'habitat dans les rgions intrieures (montant tre repay en 2007-2008)
17. Rsultats importants des vrifications et des valuations et URL la dernire valuation ou vrification :

tre entrepris en 2008.


 


1. Nom du programme de paiements de transfert : Programme d'accs aux pches
2. Date de mise en œuvre : 12 janvier 2000 3. Date de clture : 31 mars 2007

4. Description: TLe 17 septembre 1999, la Cour suprme du Canada (CSC) a rendu son jugement dans l'affaire Marshall, statuant que les traits de paix et d'amiti intervenus en 1760 et 1761 incluaient le droit de chasser, de pcher et de faire la cueillette pour assurer un niveau de subsistance raisonnable. L'arrt a touch 34 Premires nations micmaques et malcites au Nouveau-Brunswick, l'le-du-Prince-douard, en Nouvelle-cosse et dans la rgion de la Gaspsie, au Qubec. La CSC a aussi confirm la capacit du ministre des Pches et des Ocans de rglementer l'exercice de ce droit la condition que toute atteinte un droit issu d'un trait soit justifie. En rponse l'arrt de la CSC, le MPO a mis en œuvre l'Initiative de l'aprs-Marshall (IAM). L'IAM comprend deux volets, soit le Programme d'accs aux pches (PAP) et les initiatives de renforcement des capacits. Le PAP misait sur une approche de retrait volontaire de permis de pche commerciale de faon donner aux Premires nations accs des permis de pche communautaire communautaire. Le volet du renforcement des capacits tait utilis pour aider les Premires nations faire un usage efficace et efficient de cet accs. Dans les Comptes publics, les dpenses l'gard de ces deux volets sont regroupes dans la seule rubrique du PAP.

5. Rsultat(s) stratgique(s) : Pches et aquaculture durables

6. Rsultats obtenus : Le Ministre a ngoci des accords de pche avec 31 des 34 Premires nations admissibles. Il a russi donner aux Premires nations l'accs des permis, des navires et du matriel communautaires de pche commerciale. On estime qu'au-del de 99 % de tous les engagements pris dans le cadre du PAP ont t tenus.

  7. Dpenses relles,
2004-2005
8. Dpenses relles,
2005-2006
9. Dpenses prvues,
2006-2007
10. Autorisations totales,
2006-2007
11. Dpenses relles,
2006-2007
12. cart(s) entre 9. et 11.
13. Activit de programme Gestion des pches
14. Total - Subventions $ $ $ $ $ $
14. Total - Contributions $47 452 125 $27 973 656 $50 000 000 $65 119 900 $51 768 161 $1 768 161
14. Total - Autres types de PT $ $ $ $ $ $
15. Total - Activit de programme $47 452 125 $27 973 656 $50 000 000 $65 119 900 $51 768 161 $1 768 161
16. Commentaire(s) sur le/les cart(s) : Rempli davantage d'obligations prvues aux accords de contribution que prvu.
17) Rsultats importants des vrifications et des valuations et URL la dernire valuation ou vrification :

URL des vrifications, etc. :

http://www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/communic/cread/audits/05-06/60250_f.htm

http://www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/communic/cread/evaluations/05-06/65138_f.htm