Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Symbol of the Government of Canada

ARCHIVED - Review of the Responsibilities and Accountabilities of Ministers and Senior Officials - Meeting the Expectations of Canadians


Warning This page has been archived.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.


[1]
. "Strengthening Transparency, Accountability and Management Across the Public Sector," Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat, Press Release, February 10, 2004.

[2]. Matters of Special Importance—2003. Report of the Auditor General of Canada. Ottawa: Queen's Printer, November 2003. See Chapter 2, "Accountability and Ethics in Government." The report was tabled on February10, 2004.

[3]. Tabled in Parliament on February 17, 2005.

[4]. See the list of those consulted in Section 6. Their valued insight and input helped shape the review's major findings, though participants were not asked to endorse how the government has set out the issues in the review.

[5]. The primary guarantor of legal accountability is the judiciary.

[6]. John Williams, M.P., Public Accounts Committee testimony, May6, 2004. That said, parliamentary committees can obviously contribute significantly to policy development through debate and discussion. This more modest role is reflected in the documents describing aspirations for reform of the House: "Reform must lead to more meaningful contributions to policy debates." See The Parliament We Want: Parliamentarians' Views on Parliamentary Reform. Ottawa: Library of Parliament, December 2003, pp. 6, 10, and 15.

[7]. Canada. Responsibility in the Constitution, 1993, p. 55.

[8]. Lord Fulton. The Civil Service. Vol. 1, Report of the Committee 1966–68. London: Her Majesty's Stationery Office, p.108.

[9]. This section deals with deputy ministers of ministerial departments and not with deputy heads of agencies, who have slightly different authorities under legislation.

[10]. Responsibility in the Constitution, p. 73.

[11]. See Norman Ward. The Public Purse. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1951, pp. 3–4, for a statement of the core principles and practices of parliamentary control of finances. Part IV of the Financial Administration Act sets out the manner in which the Public Accounts are to be kept, subject to the regulations of the Treasury Board.

[12]. Based on Peter Aucoin and Mark D. Jarvis. Modernizing Government Accountability: A Framework for Reform. Canada School of Public Service, 2005, pp. 20–21.

[13]. For further details on these matters, see Robert Marleau and Camille Montpetit. House of Commons Procedure and Practice. Ottawa: House of Commons, 2000.

[14]. Ministers have a duty to attend Question Period daily. See Canada. Governing Responsibly, 2004, p. 16. Any proposed absences must be cleared with the Prime Minister's Office before other commitments are made. When a minister is absent, a designated minister or parliamentary secretary answers for him or her.

[15]. See a brief history of the evolution of the House of Commons in the McGrath Committee Report, Report of the Special Committee on Reform of the House of Commons. Ottawa: Queen's Printer, 1985. See also C.E.S.Franks. The Parliament of Canada. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1987, especially
pp.238–256.

[16]. See details in subsection 7(2) of the Auditor General Act. The auditor general must also report to the president of the Treasury Board any cases where it appears that any person has improperly retained public money and, at his or her discretion, advise the appropriate officers in the Public Service, particularly those engaged in the business of the Treasury Board, of matters discovered during examinations.

[17]. For details, see Robert Marleau and Camille Montpetit. House of Commons Procedure and Practice. Ottawa: House of Commons, 2000, Chapter 18, pp. 697–768.

[18]. For a more detailed treatment of this issue, see Gordon Osbaldeston. Keeping Deputy Ministers Accountable. Toronto: McGraw-Hill Ryerson, 1989, especially pp. 6–8.

[19]. Gordon Osbaldeston. Keeping Deputy Ministers Accountable. Toronto: McGraw Hill,1989, p. 13.

[20]. Exempt staff are outside the official Public Service and are exempt from Public Service Commission of Canada staffing and other controls. A minister's office may also include a number of departmental assistants who are public servants assigned to the minister's office to liaise with the department and provide administrative support to the minister. Departmental assistants are expected to carry out their duties in a non-partisan manner.

[21]. Gordon Robertson. The Changing Role of the Privy Council Office. Ottawa: Information Canada, 1971, p.506.

[22]. Governing Responsibly, p. 33.

[23]. Responsibility in the Constitution, p. 64.

[24]. Governing Responsibly, p. 11.

[25]. Responsibility in the Constitution, p. 59.

[26]. Canada. Privy Council Office. Guidance for Deputy Ministers, 2003, Section III, p. 27.

[27]. Canada. Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat. Values and Ethics Code for the Public Service, 2003. "All public servants are responsible for ensuring that they comply with this Code and that they exemplify, in all their actions and behaviours, the values of public service" (p. 13). "Deputy heads and senior managers have a particular responsibility to exemplify, in their actions and behaviours, the values of public service. They have a duty to infuse these values into all aspects of the work of their organizations. It is expected that they will take special care to ensure that they comply at all times with both the spirit and the specific requirements of this Code" (p.14).

[28]. J. E. Hodgetts has stressed the importance of this point in commentary provided to the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat, October 2004. He speaks of the inward dimension of accountability: "To thine own self be true."

[29]. Governing Responsibly, p. 11.

[30]. Responsibility in the Constitution, p. 87 Guidance for Deputy Ministers, p. 23.

[31]. See David Good. The Politics of Public Management. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 2003, p.40 and Thomas Axworthy. "Addressing the Accountability Deficit: Why Paul Martin's Minority Government Must Pay More Attention to the Three A's." IRPP Working Paper, October 2004, p. 10.

[32]. The Committee of Senior Officials, made up of deputy ministers, advises the clerk on senior appointments and other human resources management priorities and issues.

[33]. Over 20 other statutes also establish the legislative authorities of the Treasury Board.

[34]. Spending authorities are approved by Parliament.

[35]. For details, see Guidance for Deputy Ministers, Section II, Responsibilities of the Deputy Minister, pp. 6–8.

[36]. Guidance for Deputy Ministers, Section III, p. 15.

[37]. See Guidance for Deputy Ministers, Section III, p. 15.

[38]. For further information on the Management Accountability Framework, please visit http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/maf-crg/index-eng.asp.

[39]. Peter Aucoin and Mark D. Jarvis. Modernizing Government Accountability: A Framework for Reform. Canada School of Public Service, 2005, p. 61.

[40]. Canada. Royal Commission on Financial Management and Accountability. Final Report. 1979, pp.52–53.

[41]. Report of the Special Committee on Reform of the House of Commons. Ottawa: Queens Printer, 1985, p. 15.

[42]. Meaningful Scrutiny: Practical Improvements to the Estimates Process, Report of the Standing Committee on Government Operations and Estimates, September 2003 and Recommendation 12. See also the report of the McGrath Committee, 1985. See also the recent British report by the Hansard Society Commission on Parliamentary Scrutiny, The Challenge for Parliament: Making Government Accountable, chaired by the Right Honourable Lord Newton of Braintree, Vacher Dod Publishing Limited, 2000.

[43]. The Parliament We Want: Parliamentarians' Views on Parliamentary Reform, pp. 6 and 10.

[44]. Matters of Special Importance—2004, November 2004, p.1.

[45]. Excluding members of Parliament who are part of the executive or who hold special responsibilities (for example, the leader of the opposition or the party whip), there are only about 210members available to hold the government accountable in the committee process. Members sit on at least oneparliamentary committee and are often members of several (as there are about 20parliamentary standing committees). They must attend to many responsibilities in their constituencies and on Parliament Hill. See the House of Commons' Departmental Performance Report, 2003–04.

[46]. Commentary provided by C.E.S.Franks to the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat, April 2005.

[47]. The List of Reports and Returns runs over 100 pages and names approximately 1,000reports from over 250organizations, the majority of which are set out in statutes.

[48]. Canada. Privy Council Office. Ethics, Responsibility and Accountability: An Action Plan for Democratic Reform, 2004.

[49]. The review tabled in Parliament on February 17, 2005, included 31measures to clarify the relationship between ministers and Crown corporations, clarify the accountability regimes of Crown corporations, make the appointment process more transparent, bring the governance of Crown corporations into line with reforms in the private sector, strengthen the audit regimes in Crown corporations, and make the activities and operations of Crown corporations more transparent.

[50] Governance in the Public Service of Canada: Ministerial and Deputy Ministerial Accountability: Report of the Standing Committee on Public Accounts. May 2005.

[51] The current responsibilities of deputy ministers, as stated in Guidance for Deputy Ministers, Section II, are, in summary form, the following: powers, duties, and functions of deputy ministers and other deputy heads at common law that result from deputy ministers' managerial functions (for example, the power to define qualifications requirements for any position in their department); preparing a division of an appropriation or item included in the Estimates, at the commencement of each fiscal year, or at such times as the Treasury Board may direct (subsection 31(1)); ensuring by an adequate system of internal control and audit that the allotments provided in a division of allotments approved by the Treasury Board are not exceeded (subsection 31(3)); establishing procedures and maintaining records respecting the control of financial commitments chargeable to each appropriation or item (subsection 32(2)); providing the required certification to authorize any payment to be made (section 34); maintaining adequate records in relation to public property for which the department is responsible and complying with regulations of the Treasury Board governing the custody and control of public property (section 62); personnel management responsibilities delegated under the Public Service Employment Act (staffing, including appointment, promotion, transfer, demotion, and release) and its Regulations, and under the FAA (organization and classification); responsibilities related to the Official Languages Act; specific obligations imposed on deputy ministers by policy or directive of the Treasury Board under the FAA (for example, occupational health and safety obligations under the Canada Labour Code); and powers flowing from orders in council based on royal prerogative (for example, the power to make ex gratia payments on behalf of the Crown).

[52]. The duties of the Office of the Comptroller General are to set financial, accounting, and auditing standards and policies for the Government of Canada; oversee all government spending, including review and sign-off of new spending initiatives; provide advice and guidance to departmental comptrollers (senior financial officers) on sound financial management and administrative practices and procedures; manage and conduct internal audit operations for small agencies that do not have their own internal audit capacity; modernize the government's suite of financial management policies; provide leadership to the Public Service, through the financial and internal audit communities, focussing on the need to ensure and enforce appropriate financial controls and cultivate sound resource stewardship at all levels of the federal Public Service; nurture and manage the professional development of the financial and internal audit communities, including establishing accreditation and certification standards and advising on appropriate training modules for the Public Service learning curriculum; approve, jointly with deputy ministers, the appointment of all departmental comptrollers; reorganize and bolster the internal audit function across government to ensure comprehensive audit programs, based on sound risk analyses of all departmental activities, with the authority to delve into every corner of every portfolio; oversee the introduction of modern, timely, enterprise-wide financial information systems to track all spending and provide appropriate tools for effective scrutiny and decision making; ensure that all annual financial statements of departments and agencies are audited within fiveyears; and strengthen internal audit capacity across the public sector.

[53]. Canada has a strong tradition of promoting transparency as a means of fostering public accountability. Canada's access to information legislation broke new ground when it was introduced in 1985, providing a right of access for Canadians to information under the control of almost all government institutions.

[54]. The Financial Administration Act and the Treasury Board Guidelines on Discipline also contain some key sections on these issues.

[55]. A Strong Foundation: Report of the Task Force on Public Service Values and Ethics. Ottawa: Queen's Printer, 1996.

[56]. Gordon Osbaldeston. Keeping Deputy Ministers Accountable. Toronto: McGraw-Hill Ryerson, 1989, pp. 67–68.

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

ARCHIVÉ - Examen des responsabilités et des responsabilisations des ministres et des hauts fonctionnaires - Répondre aux attentes des Canadiennes et des Canadiens

Avertissement Cette page a été archivée.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à  des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à  jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à  la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à  la page « Contactez-nous ».


[1].      Renforcer la transparence, la responsabilisation et la gestion dans l'ensemble du secteur public ,
Communiqu de presse du Secrtariat du Conseil du Trsor du Canada, le 10 fvrier 2004.

[2].     La reddition de comptes et l'thique au gouvernement. Chapitre 2. Rapport de la vrificatrice gnrale du Canada prsent la Chambre des communes : Ottawa, Imprimeur de la Reine. Novembre 2003. Le rapport a t dpos le 10 fvrier 2004.

[3].     Rapport dpos au Parlement le 17 fvrier 2005.

[4].     Voir la liste des personnes consultes au chapitre 6. Leurs prcieuses rflexions et rtroactions ont contribu formuler les principales conclusions de l'examen, bien que les participants n'aient pas t incits appuyer la faon dont le gouvernement a prsent les questions traites dans cet examen.

[5].     Le principal garant de la responsabilisation juridique est le systme judiciaire.

[6].     John Williams, dput, tmoignage dans le cadre des audiences du Comit des comptes publics, 6 mai 2004. Cela dit, les membres des comits parlementaires peuvent contribuer de manire importante l'laboration des politiques au moyen des dbats et des discussions. Ce rle plus modeste est mis en vidence dans les documents dcrivant les aspirations des parlementaires en regard de la rforme du Parlement : La rforme doit mener une contribution plus importante aux dbats sur les politiques.  (Un Parlement selon nos vœux – Les vues des parlementaires sur la rforme du Parlement. Ottawa : Bibliothque du Parlement, dcembre 2003,
pp. 6, 10 et 15.)

[7].     Canada. La responsabilit constitutionnelle, 1993, p. 55.

[8].     Lord Fulton. The Civil Service Vol.1. Report of the Committee 1966-68. London. Her Majesty's Stationery Office, p. 108.

[9].     Cette section traite des sous-ministres de ministre et non des administrateurs gnraux d'organisme, qui ont des attributions lgrement diffrentes en vertu de la loi. 

[10]La responsabilit constitutionnelle

[11].  Voir Norman Ward, The public Purse. Toronto : Presses de l'Universit de Toronto, 1951, pp. 3-4, pour un nonc des principes et des mthodes de base en matire de contrle parlementaire des finances. La partie IV de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques tablit la manire selon laquelle les Comptes publics doivent tre grs, sous rserve des rglements applicables du Conseil du Trsor.

[12]. Selon Peter Aucoin et Mark D. Javis. Modernizing Gouvernment Accountability : A Framework for Reform, cole de la fonction publique du Canada, 2005, pp. 20-21

[13].  Pour plus de renseignements sur ces questions, voir Robert Marleau et Camille Montpetit. La procdure et les usages de la Chambre des communes. Ottawa : Chambre des communes, 2000.

[14].  Voir Canada. Gouverner de faon responsable, 2004, p.16, il est du devoir des ministres d'assister quotidiennement la Priode des questions. Toute absence doit tre autorise l'avance par le Cabinet du premier ministre avant la prise d'autres engagements. Si un ministre doit s'absenter, un autre ministre ou un secrtaire parlementaire est dsign pour rpondre en son nom.

[15].  Voir le bref historique de l'volution de la Chambre des communes dans le Rapport du Comit McGrath, Rapport du Comit spcial sur la rforme de la Chambre des communes,.Ottawa : Imprimeur de la Reine, 1985. Voir aussi C.E.S. Franks. The Parliament of Canada. Toronto : University of Toronto Press,1987, en particulier pp. 238-256.

[16].  Voir le paragraphe 7(2) de la Loi sur le vrificateur gnral. Le vrificateur gnral doit galement rapporter au prsident du Conseil du Trsor tous les cas qui semblent constituer une rtention irrgulire de fonds publics et, sa discrtion, ce dernier peut informer les cadres concerns de l'administration publique des faits dcouverts au cours de ses examens et notamment ceux affects aux affaires du Conseil du Trsor.

[17].  Pour plus de renseignements, voir Robert Marleau et Camille Montpetit. La procdure et les usages de la Chambre des communes. Ottawa : Chambre des communes, 2000, chapitre 18, pp. 697-768.

[18].  Pour un complment d'information sur cette question, voir Gordon Osbaldeston. Keeping Deputy Ministers Accountable. Toronto : McGraw-Hill Ryerson, 1989, en particulier les pp. 6-8.

[19].  Gordon Osbaldeston, Keeping Deputy Ministers Accountable. Toronto : McGraw-Hill Ryerson, 1989, p. 13.

[20].  Le personnel exonr est en marge de la fonction publique officielle et il n'est pas sujet aux contrles de la dotation et autres exercs par la Commission de la fonction publique du Canada. Le cabinet d'un ministre peut galement comprendre un certain nombre d'adjoints ministriels qui sont des fonctionnaires affects au bureau du ministre afin d'assurer la liaison avec le ministre et de fournir un soutien administratif au ministre. On s'attend ce que les adjoints ministriels s'acquittent de leurs fonctions d'une manire non partisane.

[21].  Gordon Robertson, The Changing Role of the Privy Council Office. Ottawa : Information Canada, 1971, p. 506.

[22]Gouverner de faon responsable, p. 33.

[23]La responsabilit constitutionnelle, p. 64.

[24] Gouverner de faon responsable, p. 11.

[25]La responsabilit constitutionnelle, p. 59.

[26].  Canada. Bureau du Conseil priv, Le guide du sous-ministre 2003, partie III, p. 27.

[27]Code de valeurs et d'thique de la fonction publique, Canada. Secrtariat du Conseil du Trsor. 2003. Il incombe tous les fonctionnaires de s'y conformer dans l'exercice de leurs fonctions et, en particulier, de faire montre, par leurs gestes et leurs comportements, des valeurs de la fonction publique. p.14 Les administrateurs gnraux et les cadres suprieurs doivent particulirement incarner dans leurs gestes et leur comportement, les valeurs de la fonction publique. Il leur incombe d'intgrer celles-ci dans tous les aspects du travail de leur organisation. On s'attend ce qu'ils veillent particulirement respecter en tout temps l'esprit et les exigences particulires du prsent Code. p. 16.

[28].  J.E. Hodgetts a soulign l'importance de ce point dans un commentaire prsent au Secrtariat du Conseil du Trsor du Canada en octobre 2004. Il met en relief la dimension intrieure de la responsabilit : sois loyal envers toi-mme….

[29]Gouverner de faon responsable. p. 11.

[30]La responsabilit constitutionnelle, p. 87. Guide du sous ministre, p. 23. 

[31].  Voir David Good. The Politics of Public Management. Toronto : Presses de l'Universit de Toronto, 2003, p.40 et Thomas Axworthy.  Addressing the Accountability Deficit: Why Paul Martin's Minority Government Must Pay More Attention to the Three A's . IRPP Working Paper, octobre 2004, p. 10.

[32].  Le Comit des hauts fonctionnaires, compos de sous-ministres, conseille le greffier sur la nominations des cadres suprieurs et d'autres priorits et questions relatives la gestion des ressources humaines.

[33].  Plus d'une vingtaine d'autres lois dfinissent les pouvoirs lgislatifs du Conseil du Trsor.

[34].  Les pouvoirs de dpenser sont approuvs par le Parlement.

[35].  Pour plus de dtails, voir Le Guide du sous-ministre, partie II, Responsabilits du sous-ministre, pp. 6-8

[36]Le Guide du sous-ministre, partie III, p. 27

[37].  Voir Le Guide du sous-ministre, partie III

[38].  Pour plus d'information sur le Cadre de responsabilisation de gestion, veuillez visiter le site Web http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/maf-crg/index-fra.asp.

[39].  Aucoin, Peter et Mark D. Jarvis. Modernizing Government Accountability: A Framework for Reform, cole de la fonction publique du Canada, 2005, p.61.

[40].  Canada. Commission royale sur la gestion financire et l'imputabilit.Rapport final. 1979, pp. 52-53.

[41]Rapport du Comit spcial sur la rforme de la Chambre des communes, Ottawa : l'Imprimeur de la Reine pour le Canada, 1985, p. 15

[42]Pour un examen valable : Amliorations apporter au processus budgtaire, Rapport du Comit permanent des oprations gouvernementales et des prvisions budgtaires, septembre 2003, et la Recommandation 12. Voir aussi le rapport du Comit McGrath, 1985. Voir aussi le rapport sur le rle d'examen du Parlement, The Challenge for Parliament: Making Government Accountable, rdig par la Hansard Society Commission d'Angleterre sous la prsidence du trs honorable Lord Newton of Braintree, Vacher Dod Publishing Limited, 2000.

[43]Un Parlement selon nos vœux, les vues des parlementaires sur la rforme du Parlement, pp. 6 et 10.

[44]Questions d'une importance particulire, novembre 2004, p. 1.

[45].  l'exclusion des dputs qui appartiennent l'excutif ou qui assument des responsabilits spciales (par exemple, le leader de l'opposition ou le whip du parti), il n'y a environ que 210 dputs qui peuvent tenir le gouvernement responsable dans le cadre du processus des comits. Les dputs sigent au moins un comit parlementaire, mais ils font souvent partie de plusieurs (car on compte une vingtaine de comits permanents). Ils doivent s'acquitter de nombreuses responsabilits dans leurs circonscriptions et sur la Colline du Parlement. Voir le Rapport ministriel sur le rendement 2003-2004, Chambre des communes.

[46].  Commentaire fourni par C.E.S. Franks au Secrtariat du Conseil du Trsor du Canada, avril 2005.

[47].  La Liste des rapports et tats reprsente plus de 100 pages et numre environ 1 000 rapports provenant de plus de 250 organisations, dont la majorit est vise par des lois.

[48].  Canada. Bureau du Conseil priv. thique, responsabilit, imputabilit : Plan d'action pour la rforme dmocratique, 2004.

[49].  L'examen dpos au Parlement le 17 fvrier 2005 comprenaient 31 mesures visant clarifier les relations entre les ministres et les socits d'tat, clarifier les rgimes de responsabilisation de ces socits, rendre le processus de nomination plus transparent, adopter les mmes rformes que dans le secteur priv pour la gouvernance des socits d'tat, renforcer les rgimes de vrification au sein des socits d'tat et rendre plus transparentes leurs activits et leurs oprations.

[50]Gouvernance dans la fonction publique du Canada : Responsabilisation des ministres et des sous-ministres : Rapport du Comit permanent des comptes publics. Mai 2005

[51].  En rsum, les responsabilits actuelles du sous-ministre, telles que prcises dans le Guide du sous-ministre, partie II, sont les suivantes : les pouvoirs, les obligations et les fonctions des sous-ministres et autres administrateurs gnraux selon la common law qui rsultent des fonctions en matire de gestion du sous-ministre (par exemple, le pouvoir de dfinir les qualits ncessaires pour tout poste au sein de leur ministre); au dbut de chaque exercice ou tout autre moment fix par le Conseil du Trsor, prparer une rpartition du crdit ou du poste en affectation (paragraphe 31(1)); veiller, grce la mise en œuvre d'un systme adquat de contrles et de vrifications, ce que les affectations prvues dans une rpartition approuve par le Conseil du Trsor ne soient pas dpasses (paragraphe 31(3)); tablir des mthodes de contrle et de comptabilisation des engagements financiers imputables sur le crdit ou le poste vis (paragraphe 32(2)); fournir les attestations ncessaires aux paiements (article 34); tenir de bons inventaires des biens publics placs sous la responsabilit de son ministre et se conformer aux rglements du Conseil du Trsor rgissant la garde et le contrle de ces biens (article 62); lesresponsabilits relatives la gestion du personnel dlgues au sous-ministre en vertu de la Loi sur l'emploi dans la fonction publique (dotation, dont la nomination, la promotion, la mutation, la rtrogradation et le renvoi) et de son rglement d'application, et en vertu de la LGFP (l'organisation et la classification); les responsabilits relatives la Loi sur les langues officielles; les obligations particulires imposes aux sous-ministres par les politiques ou les directives du Conseil du Trsor, en vertu de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques (par exemple, les obligations en matire de scurit et de sant au travail en vertu du Code canadien du travail); des pouvoirs dcoulant de dcrets du Conseil pris en vertu de la prrogative royale (p. ex. le pouvoir d'effectuer des paiements titre gracieux au nom de la Couronne).

[52].  Le Bureau du contrleur gnral a pour tches d'tablir les normes et les politiques du gouvernement du Canada concernant les finances, la comptabilit et la vrification; de superviser toutes les dpenses gouvernementales, ce qui comprend l'examen et l'approbation des nouvelles initiatives en matire de dpenses; de conseiller et de guider les contrleurs ministriels (agents financiers suprieurs) relativement aux saines pratiques et mthodes de gestion financire et d'administration; de grer et d'excuter les activits de vrification interne pour les petits organismes n'ayant pas leur propre fonction de vrification interne; de moderniser l'ensemble de politiques gouvernementales concernant la gestion financire; d'exercer un leadership l'chelle de la fonction publique par l'intermdiaire des collectivits de la gestion financire et de la vrification interne, en mettant l'accent sur la ncessit d'assurer l'existence et le respect de contrles financiers appropris et de maintenir une saine administration des ressources tous les niveaux de la fonction publique fdrale; de favoriser et de grer le perfectionnement professionnel des collectivits de la gestion financire et de la vrification interne, notamment en tablissant des normes d'accrditation et de certification et en donnant des conseils sur les modules de formation appropris du programme d'apprentissage de la fonction publique; d'approuver, de concert avec les sous-ministres, la nomination de tous les contrleurs ministriels; de rorganiser et de renforcer la vrification interne dans l'ensemble du gouvernement pour assurer l'instauration de programmes de vrification exhaustifs fonds sur une analyse efficace des risques associs toutes les activits ministrielles, et d'examiner de prs tous les aspects de tous les portefeuilles; de surveiller la mise en place de systmes d'information financire modernes, opportuns et s'appliquant l'ensemble de l'organisation afin d'assurer le suivi de toutes les dpenses et de fournir les outils ncessaires une surveillance et une prise de dcisions efficaces; de voir ce que tous les tats financiers annuels des ministres et des organismes soient vrifis d'ici cinq ans; et de renforcer la capacit de vrification interne partout dans le secteur public.

[53].  Promouvoir la transparence pour encourager la responsabilisation l'gard du public est une solide tradition au Canada. La lgislation canadienne sur l'accs l'information a t une innovation quand elle a t adopte en 1985, pour accorder aux Canadiens le droit d'accder l'information dtenue par presque toutes les institutions gouvernementales.

[54].  La Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et les lignes directrices du Conseil du Trsor en matire de discipline contiennent galement quelques chapitres sur ces questions.

[55]De solides assises : Rapport du Groupe de travail sur les valeurs et l'thique dans la fonction publique. Ottawa : Imprimeur de la Reine, 1996

[56].  Gordon Osbaldeston, Keeping Deputy Ministers Accountable. Toronto : McGraw-Hill Ryerson, 1989, pp. 67-68.