Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Symbol of the Government of Canada

ARCHIVED - Supreme Court of Canada


Warning This page has been archived.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Internal Audits and Evaluations


Name of
Internal Audit 
Audit
Type
Status
Audit of Information
Technology Infrastructure
Assurance Audit
In-process


Name of
Internal Audit 
Completion
Date
Electronic Link to Report
Audit of Information
Technology Infrastructure
May 31, 2008

The purpose of this audit was to provide the Registrar with an independent and objective assessment of the Court’s IT (Information Technology) Infrastructure. Criteria used to assess the audit objectives were taken from Control Objectives for Information and related Technology (COBIT - Version 4.0).

The scope of the audit included all aspects of the Court’s IT infrastructure, except for application development and maintenance; security penetration was covered by the audit in that auditors concluded that a reasonable level of reliance could be put on internally conducted intrusion detection/penatration testing. The audit was conducted between December 20, 2007 and March 31, 2008, and the report was approved in May 2008.

The key findings of this audit included:

1. The IM/T Business Plan is linked to the LISS Sector Business Plan and therefore auditors conclude that the vision and strategy for IT supports the Court’s business strategy and government-wide directions.

2. Accountabilities, roles and responsibilities relating to the Court’s IT infrastructure are defined, understood and effectively acted upon however the IT Security Coordinator currently performs two contradictory roles: one role is to establish firewall rules and the other role is to monitor the firewall activity.

3. There is an effective IT governance structure. Auditors conclude that the Court’s governance structure for managing its IT infrastructure is established and effective in setting priorities for IT investments and resources, and IT investment plans are integrated into the corporate pland ans processes.

4. The Court’s IT infrastructure is reliable since backups are performed on a regular schedule and network monitorintg is being conducted. However there is no approved documented Business Continuity Plan and although network monitoring is being conducted auditors noticed that there is a third party allowed to access the SCC network.

5. Some risks to the IT infrastructure are appropriately identified and managed with a Draft Modernization Risk Management Plan. However, there have been not Threat and Risk Assessments conducted on systems, services and programs.

6. IT policies have been created to support the IT strategy and these policies were communicated to Court staff. Therefore auditors conclude that effective controls are in place such that activities and actions supporting the management of the IT infrastructure are in compliance with some applicable Treasury Board Secretariat and Court policies, directives, standards and procedures, particularly the new Policy on Management of IT promulgated on July 1, 2007, the Enhanced Framework for the Management of Information Technology Projects, and the MITS Policy. However since no Threat and Risk Assessments have been conducted the SCC is not in full compliance with MITS.

7. Performance related to the Court’s managment of IT is measured on an ongoing basis however there are no reports showing IT service preformance compared to approved service levels.

8. There are Quality Management (QM) items currently being implement but there is no documentation to ensure that IT has adequate measurements for monitoring Quality Management Systems and there is no distinct development, testing and production environment at SCC. Therefore auditors conclude that some aspects of quality and continuous improvement to the management of IT are fostered in the Court’s control process.

Except as noted above, auditors can provide assurance that the Court’s infrastructure management and control framework is effective. There are some areas where current practices and processes could be improved to further strengthen the Court’s IT infrastructure. The observations and recommendations of the report address these areas of concern. The Court management has accepted all of the recommendations and has put in place an action plan to implement them in the short-term.

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

ARCHIVÉ - Cour suprême du Canada

Avertissement Cette page a été archivée.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à  des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à  jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à  la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à  la page « Contactez-nous ».

Vrifications internes et valuations


 Nom de la vrification interne
Type de vrification
tat
Vrification de l’infrastructure des technologies de l’information
Vrification d’attestation
En cours


 Nom de la vrification interne
Date d'achvement
Lien lectronique vers le rapport
Vrification de l’infrastructure des technologies de l’information
31 mai 2008

Cette vrification avait pour but de fournir au greffier une valuation indpendante et objective de l’infrastructure des technologies de l’information (TI) de la Cour suprme du Canada (CSC). Les critres utiliss pour valuer les objectifs de la vrification sont tirs du systme Control Objectives for Information and related Technology (COBIT, version 4.0).

La porte de la vrification englobait tous les aspects de l’infrastructure des TI de la CSC, hormis le dveloppement et la maintenance des applications; les essais de pntration taient inclus dans cette vrification, en ce sens que les vrificateurs ont conclu qu’un niveau raisonnable de fiabilit pouvait tre attribu aux essais de dtection des intrusions et de pntration raliss l’interne. La vrification a t ralise entre le 20 dcembre 2007 et le 31 mars 2008 et le rapport a t approuv en mai 2008.

Les principales conclusions de cette vrification taient les suivantes :

1. Le plan d’activits de la GI/TI est li au plan d’activits du SBSI : par consquent, les vrificateurs ont conclu que la vision d’avenir et la stratgie en matire de TI appuient la stratgie fonctionnelle de la CSC et les orientations du gouvernement dans son ensemble.

2. Les structures de responsabilisation, les rles et les responsabilits qui ont trait l’infrastructure des TI de la CSC sont dfinis, compris et mis en pratique de manire efficace. Ceci dit, le coordonnateur de la scurit des TI joue actuellement deux rles incompatibles : l’un consiste tablir des rgles pour les systmes pare-feu, l’autre tant de surveiller l’activit des pare-feux.

3. La structure de gouvernance des TI est efficace. Les vrificateurs concluent que la structure de gouvernance que possde la CSC pour la gestion de son infrastructure des TI est en place et permet d’tablir efficacement des priorits en matire d’investissements et de ressources de TI et que les plans d’investissement sont intgrs aux plans et aux processus de l’organisme.

4. L’infrastructure des TI de la CSC est fiable puisque des sauvegardes sont ralises intervalles rguliers et que le rseau fait l’objet d’une surveillance. Par contre, il n’existe aucun plan de continuit des oprations document et, bien que le rseau soit surveill, les vrificateurs concluent qu’il existe un tiers autoris accder au rseau de la CSC.

5. Certains risques auxquels l’infrastructure des TI est expose sont cerns et pris en charge dans l’bauche d’un plan de gestion des risques lis la modernisation. Toutefois, les systmes, les services et les programmes n’ont fait l’objet d’aucune valuation des menaces et des risques.

6. Des politiques sur les TI ont t cres pour appuyer la stratgie des TI et elles ont t communiques au personnel de la CSC. Les vrificateurs concluent donc que des mesures de contrle efficaces sont en places, de manire veiller ce que les activits et les actions l’appui de la gestion de l’infrastructure des TI soient conformes certaines politiques, directives, normes et procdures du Secrtariat du Conseil du Trsor et de la CSC, notamment la nouvelle Politique sur la gestion des technologies de l’information, qui a t institue le 1er juillet 2007, au Cadre amlior pour la gestion des projets de technologie de l’information, ainsi qu’ la politique de gestion de la scurit des technologies de l’information. Par contre, puisqu’il n’y a pas eu d’valuation des menaces et des risques, la CSC n’est pas entirement conforme cette dernire.

7. Le rendement de la gestion des TI, telle qu’elle est assure par la CSC, est mesur en continu. Toutefois, aucun rapport n’indique le rendement des services de TI comparativement des niveaux de service approuvs.

8. Certains lments de gestion de la qualit sont actuellement mis en œuvre, bien qu’il n’existe aucune documentation permettant de veiller ce que les TI soient munies des mesures qui sont adquates pour les systmes de gestion de la qualit et que la CSC n’ait aucun environnement distinct pour le dveloppement, la mise l’essai et la production. Les vrificateurs concluent donc que le processus de contrle de la CSC favorise certains aspects de la qualit et de l’amlioration continuelle de la gestion des TI.

Hormis les lments indiqus ci-dessus, les vrificateurs peuvent attester l’efficacit du cadre de gestion et de contrle de l’infrastructure de la CSC. Dans certains domaines, les pratiques et les processus actuels pourraient tre amliors afin de renforcer encore davantage l’infrastructure des TI de la CSC. Ces rserves sont tayes dans les observations et les recommandations du rapport. La direction de la CSC a accept toutes les recommandations et a mis en place un plan d’action pour les mettre en œuvre courte chance.