Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Symbol of the Government of Canada

ARCHIVED - Indian Residential Schools Resolution Canada


Warning This page has been archived.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Section I: Overview

Minister's Message

Chuck Strahl

I am pleased to present the 2006–2007 Departmental Performance Report for Indian Residential Schools Resolution Canada.

It is a great privilege for me to assume the responsibility for Indian Residential Schools Resolution Canada, the department dedicated to resolving the legacy of the Indian Residential Schools system. Resolution is key to strengthening the Government's relationship with Aboriginal peoples in Canada.

Since taking office, this Government has taken decisive action towards resolution and healing. On May 10, 2006, the Government announced the conclusion of the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement, reached with legal representatives of former students of Indian Residential Schools, the Churches involved in running the schools, the Assembly of First Nations, the Mtis National Council and the Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami. This historic Settlement Agreement is just and honourable, and is intended to foster reconciliation and the renewal of relationships between Aboriginal peoples, their families and communities, the Government of Canada, the Churches involved in the running of Indian Residential Schools, and all Canadians.

The Settlement Agreement proposes a series of individual and collective measures which provide tangible acknowledgement to former students of their Indian Residential School experience and give former students and their families and communities the opportunity to share their experiences with all Canadians.

I am pleased to report that on March 21, 2007, the Settlement Agreement was approved by the Courts in all nine Canadian jurisdictions. In addition, Indian Residential Schools Resolution Canada successfully completed the Advance Payment program, which was established to ensure that elderly former students received a portion of their Common Experience Payment in advance of the implementation of the Settlement Agreement. We now turn our attention to the implementation of the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement and moving forward in a spirit of partnership with Aboriginal communities across the country.

This Departmental Performance Report describes the Department's performance for fiscal year 2006 – 2007 and its commitment to resolving the legacy of Indian Residential Schools.

The Honourable Chuck Strahl, P.C., M.P.

Management Representation Statement

I submit for tabling in Parliament, the 2006–2007 Departmental Performance Report for Indian Residential Schools Resolution Canada.

This document has been prepared based on the reporting principles contained in the Guide for the Preparation of Part III of the 2006–2007 Estimates: Reports on Plans and Priorities and Departmental Performance Reports:

  • It adheres to the specific reporting requirements outlined in the Treasury Board Secretariat guidance;
  • It is based on the department's approved Strategic Outcome(s) and Program Activity Architecture that were approved by the Treasury Board;
  • It presents consistent, comprehensive, balanced and reliable information;
  • It provides a basis of accountability for the results achieved with the resources and authorities entrusted to it; and
  • It reports finances based on approved numbers from the Estimates and the Public Accounts of Canada.

________________________________

Peter Harrison
Executive Director and Deputy Head

Summary Information

Department's Reason for Existence

Indian Residential Schools Resolution Canada is dedicated to resolving claims and addressing issues arising from the legacy of Indian Residential Schools. The mandate serves the Government of Canada's larger objective of reconciliation and building a new relationship with Aboriginal peoples.

Within this mandate, the Department has undertaken to:

  • Resolve claims in a timely fashion, through litigation and other methods of dispute resolution that are compassionate for claimants;
  • Work with the Department of Justice which represents the Government of Canada in the litigation process, where chosen by claimants;
  • Work with former Indian Residential Schools students, their families and communities in support of projects that promote healing and reconciliation;
  • Work with federal government departments, provincial and territorial governments, Aboriginal peoples and organizations, Churches involved in running Indian Residential Schools, and other interested groups; and
  • Promote awareness and public education of Canadians about the impacts of the Indian Residential Schools system.

Financial Resources ($ millions)


 

2006–2007

 

Planned Spending

Total Authorities

Actual Spending

$208.6

$243.1

$224.5


Human Resources (Full-time equivalents)


 

2006–2007

 

Planned

Actual

Difference

300.0 FTEs

276.0 FTEs

24.0 FTEs


 


 

2006–2007

Status on Performance

Planned Spending

Actual Spending

Strategic Outcome:

The Department has one strategic outcome which is to advance reconciliation between former students of Indian Residential Schools and the Government of Canada.

Priority No. 1:

Supporting court approval and ensuring successful implementation of the Settlement Agreement.

The Settlement Agreement provides for:

  1. Independent Assessment Process which will resolve a minimum of 2,500 claims per year;
  2. A Common Experience Payment for every eligible former student living on May 30, 2005;
  3. The Truth and Reconciliation Commission which will promote public education and awareness about the Indian Residential Schools system and its legacy;
  4. Commemoration projects expected to enhance the well-being of former students, their families and communities.

As required by class action legislation, the Settlement Agreement was approved by the Courts in nine Canadian jurisdictions on March 21, 2007.

$126 M

$104.0 M

Priority No. 2:

Resolving claims efficiently and compassionately through the National Resolution Framework.

Resolving claims through the National Resolution Framework.

Increased effectiveness in resolution of claims.

$76.1 M

$114.1 M

Priority No. 3:

Maintaining effective and collaborative partnerships with Aboriginal people and their communities.

Providing funding support for public education and consultation, survivor conferences, etc. related to the impact of Indian Residential Schools. Providing additional funding to the Aboriginal Healing Foundation for community-based healing projects for former Indian Residential Schools students.

Successfully maintained collaborative working relationships with representatives of former students and Aboriginal organizations. Successfully delivered community-based healing projects through the Aboriginal Healing Foundation.

$6.5 M

$6.4 M


Operating Environment

The Department delivers its claims resolution program in an environment characterized by the need to continue the pre-court mandated Settlement Agreement process of the National Resolution Framework working closely with Aboriginal organizations; the continued need for horizontal cooperation within the federal government and with provincial governments; and sharing of responsibilities for program delivery with Service Canada and Health Canada. The Settlement Agreement is a class action settlement that binds all parties as a result of the approval by the Courts. There are Government of Canada representatives on the National Certification Committee which will oversee the administration of the class action proceedings, and the National Administration Committee which will oversee the implementation of the Settlement Agreement once it is approved. With respect to its responsibilities under the Settlement Agreement, the Government has accountabilities to the National Administration Committee and ultimately to the Courts.

Priorities


Priority 1: Supporting court approval and ensuring successful implementation of the Settlement Agreement.


The Settlement Agreement announced on May 10, 2006, between the Government of Canada and legal counsel for former Indian Residential Schools students, legal counsel for the Churches involved in the running of the schools, the Assembly of First Nations and other Aboriginal organizations is designed to achieve a fair and lasting resolution of the Indian Residential Schools legacy. As required by class action legislation, the Settlement Agreement was approved by the Courts in nine Canadian jurisdictions on March 21, 2007.

Overview of the Settlement Agreement:

  • A Common Experience Payment will be paid to every eligible former student living on May 30, 2005, the day the negotiations were initiated, who resided at a recognized Indian Residential School. The Settlement Agreement stipulates that $1.9 Billion be set aside for the direct benefit of former Indian Residential Schools students. Subject to verification, each eligible former student who applies will receive $10,000 for the first year or part of a year of residence as well as an additional $3,000 for each subsequent year of residence;
  • An Independent Assessment Process will be available for a period of five years following the implementation date of the Settlement Agreement. This is an enhanced alternative dispute resolution process that will become the mechanism for former students to pursue claims of sexual and serious physical abuse and other wrongful acts which are proven to have caused serious psychological consequences, unless they have formally opted out of the Settlement Agreement;
  • Expanded access to Health Canada's existing Resolution Health Support Program to ensure that former students and their family members have access to mental health and emotional support;
  • A Truth and Reconciliation Commission will be established with a budget of $60 million over five years. It will be mandated to promote public education and awareness about the Indian Residential Schools system and its legacy, as well as to provide former students, their families and communities an opportunity to share their Indian Residential Schools experiences in a safe and culturally-appropriate environment. The Truth and Reconciliation Commission will undertake a series of national and community events and will establish a research centre for ongoing access to the records collected through the work of the Commission;
  • New funding for Commemoration, for a total of $20 million, to be made available for events and memorials to commemorate the legacy of Indian Residential Schools, to be managed by the Government in conjunction with the Truth and Reconciliation Commission;
  • An endowment of $100 million for the Aboriginal Healing Foundation to allow for continued operations and funding of healing programs for former Indian Residential Schools students and their families and a $25 million advance payment to the Aboriginal Healing Foundation as a bridge fund;
  • Church entities involved in the administration of Indian Residential Schools will contribute up to a total of $100 million in cash and services toward healing initiatives.

The Advance Payment program was launched on May 10, 2006, for eligible former Indian Residential Schools students 65 years of age or older as of May 30, 2005, to ensure that elderly former students may receive a tangible acknowledgement of their experience as soon as possible in advance of the proposed Common Experience Payment. This highly successful initiative was completed during the fiscal year with a total of 10,326 elders receiving $82.6 million in advance payments to their Common Experience Payment.


Priority 2: Resolving claims efficiently and compassionately through the National Resolution Framework.


To this end, the Department strives to achieve its mandate and strategic outcome by continuing the process of the pre-court mandated Settlement Agreement process of the National Resolution Framework which includes an Alternative Dispute Resolution process, a litigation strategy, and a Mental Health Support Program.

The Alternative Dispute Resolution process, the centrepiece of the National Resolution Framework is designed to be a fair, safe and timely out-of-court option for resolving claims. The litigation process provides an option for former students who choose not to participate in Alternative Dispute Resolution. The Department will continue to resolve claims through the existing National Resolution Framework. Although Indian Residential Schools Resolution Canada has overall responsibility for the National Resolution Framework, program components of the new Resolution Health Support Program will continue to be delivered and funded by Health Canada.


Priority 3: Maintaining effective and collaborative partnerships with Aboriginal peoples and their communities.


The Department continues to work with key stakeholders. Partnerships were strengthened throughout discussions and negotiations between the federal government and representatives of former Indian Residential Schools students, the Churches involved in the running of the schools, the Assembly of First Nations and other Aboriginal organizations.

The resulting Settlement Agreement speaks to the dedication and commitment of all stakeholders involved in negotiations and leads the way to stronger partnerships with Aboriginal peoples. The Department will continue to work with Aboriginal partners towards a successful implementation of the Settlement Agreement.

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

ARCHIVÉ - Résolution des questions des pensionnats indiens Canada

Avertissement Cette page a été archivée.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à  des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à  jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à  la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à  la page « Contactez-nous ».

Section I : Survol

Message du ministre

Chuck Strahl

Je suis heureux de prsenter le Rapport ministriel sur le rendement 2006-2007 de Rsolution des questions des pensionnats indiens Canada.

Il s'agit d'un grand privilge pour moi d'assumer la responsabilit de Rsolution des questions des pensionnats indiens Canada, un ministre vou rgler la question des squelles du systme des pensionnats indiens. Le rglement de ces questions joue un rle vital dans le renforcement des rapports entre le gouvernement et les peuples Autochtones Canadiens.

Depuis son entre en fonction, le prsent gouvernement a pris des mesures dcisives aux fins du rglement et de la gurison. Le 10 mai 2006, le gouvernement a annonc la conclusion de la Convention de rglement relative aux pensionnats indiens avec les reprsentants juridiques des anciens lves des pensionnats indiens, des glises responsables du fonctionnement de ces coles, l'Assemble des Premires Nations, le Conseil National des Mtis, et le Inuit Tapariit Kanatami. Cette Convention de rglement historique est juste et honorable, et vise encourager la rconciliation et le renouvellement des relations entre les peuples Autochtones, leur famille et leur communaut, le gouvernement du Canada, les glises responsables du fonctionnement des pensionnats indiens et l'ensemble des Canadiens.

La Convention de rglement propose une srie de mesures individuelles et collectives qui visent apporter une reconnaissance concrte aux anciens lves l'gard de leur exprience dans les pensionnats indiens; elle donne aux anciens lves ainsi qu' leur famille et leur communaut l'occasion de partager leur exprience avec l'ensemble des Canadiens.

Je suis heureux d'annoncer que le 21 mars 2007, la Convention de rglement a t approuve par les neuf tribunaux du Canada. De plus, Rsolution des questions des pensionnats indiens Canada a men bien avec succs le Programme de paiement anticip, qui a t tabli afin de s'assurer que les anciens lves plus gs reoivent une partie de leur Paiement d'exprience commune avant la mise en œuvre de la Convention de rglement. Nous portons maintenant notre attention sur la mise en œuvre de la Convention de rglement relative aux pensionnats indiens et nous allons de l'avant dans un esprit de partenariat avec les communauts autochtones l'chelle du pays.

Le prsent Rapport ministriel sur le rendement rend compte du rendement du Ministre au cours de l'exercice financier 2006-2007 et prcise son engagement clore la question des squelles des pensionnats indiens.

L'honorable Chuck Strahl, C.P., dput

Dclaration de la direction

Je soumets, en vue de son dpt au Parlement, le Rapport ministriel sur le rendement 2006-2007 de Rsolution des questions des pensionnats indiens Canada.

Ce rapport a t rdig selon les principes de prsentation noncs dans le Guide pour la prparation de la Partie III du budget des dpenses 2006-2007 : Rapports sur les plans et les priorits et Rapports ministriels sur le rendement :

  • Il est conforme aux exigences spcifiques en matire de rapports dcrites dans le guide;
  • Il se fonde sur le(s) rsultat(s) stratgique(s) du Ministre et l'architecture des activits de programmes qui ont t approuvs par le Conseil du Trsor;
  • Il prsente des renseignements cohrents, complets, quilibrs et exacts;
  • Il fournit une base de responsabilisation l'gard des rsultats obtenus avec les ressources et les pouvoirs confis au Ministre; et
  • Il fait tat des donnes financires fondes sur les chiffres approuvs provenant du Budget des dpenses et des Comptes publics du Canada.

________________________________

Peter Harrison
Directeur excutif et administrateur gnral

Renseignements sommaires

Raison d'tre du Ministre

Rsolution des questions des pensionnats indiens Canada est dtermin rgler les rclamations et s'attaquer aux problmes dcoulant des squelles des pensionnats indiens. Le mandat appuie l'objectif global du gouvernement du Canada, soit la rconciliation et l'tablissement de nouveaux rapports avec les peuples autochtones.

Dans le cadre de ce mandat, le Ministre a entrepris de :

  • Rgler les rclamations en temps opportun, par l'entremise d'un processus de litige et d'autres mthodes de rglement des conflits, dans un esprit de compassion l'endroit des demandeurs;
  • Travailler avec le ministre de la Justice, qui reprsente le gouvernement du Canada dans le cadre du processus de litige, lorsque les demandeurs choisissent d'y recourir;
  • Collaborer avec les anciens lves des pensionnats indiens, leur famille et leur communaut des projets qui favorisent la gurison et la rconciliation;
  • Travailler avec d'autres ministres fdraux, les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, les peuples et les organisations autochtones, les glises responsables du fonctionnement des pensionnats indiens et d'autres groupes intresss;
  • Promouvoir la sensibilisation et l'ducation du public canadien en ce qui a trait aux rpercussions des pensionnats indiens.

Ressources financires (en millions de dollars)


 

2006–2007

 

Dpenses prvues

Autorisations totales

Dpenses relles

208,6 $

243,1 $

224,5 $


Ressources humaines (quivalents temps plein)


 

2006-2007

 

Prvues

Relles

cart

300,0 ETP

276,0 ETP

24,0 ETP


 


 

2006-2007

Sommaire du rendement

Dpenses prvues

Dpenses relles

Rsultat stratgique

Le Ministre vise un rsultat stratgique, savoir de promouvoir la rconciliation entre les anciens lves des pensionnats indiens et le gouvernement du Canada.

Priorit 1 :

Appuyer le processus d'approbation par les tribunaux et veiller la mise en œuvre efficace de la Convention de rglement.

La Convention de rglement prvoit :

  1. Le Secrtariat du Processus d'valuation indpendant qui rglera au moins 2 500 rclamations par anne;
  2. Un paiement d'exprience commune pour tout ancien lve admissible qui tait vivant le 30 mai 2005;
  3. La Commission de vrit et de rconciliation qui vise la sensibilisation du public propos des pensionnats et de leurs rpercussions;
  4. Les projets de commmoration qui devraient accrotre le mieux-tre des anciens lves, de leur famille et de leur communaut.

En vertu des lois rgissant les recours collectifs, la Convention de rglement a t approuve par les neuf tribunaux viss du Canada le 21 mars 2007.

126,0 M$

104,0 M$

Priorit 2 :

Rgler les rclamations avec efficacit et compassion l'aide du Cadre national de rglement.

Rglement des rclamations au moyen du Cadre national de rglement.

Efficacit accrue dans le rglement des rclamations.

76,1 M$

114,1 M$

Priorit 3 :

Maintenir des partenariats efficaces et axs sur la collaboration avec les Autochtones et leur communaut.

Fournir du financement pour la sensibilisation et la consultation du public, l'organisation de confrences de survivants et d'autres activits lies aux rpercussions des pensionnats indiens. Fournir la Fondation autochtone de gurison un financement additionnel pour des projets communautaires de gurison s'adressant aux anciens lves des pensionnats indiens.

Efficacit maintenue des relations de travail et de collaboration avec les reprsentants des anciens lves et des organisations autochtones. Projets communautaires de gurison raliss avec succs par la Fondation autochtone de gurison.

6,5 M$

6,4 M$


Environnement fonctionnel

Le Ministre excute son programme de rglement des rclamations dans un environnement caractris par : le besoin de poursuivre l'application du processus antrieur la Convention de rglement, soit le Cadre national de rglement, en collaboration troite avec les organisations autochtones; le besoin continu de collaborer sur le plan horizontal avec le gouvernement fdral et avec les gouvernements provinciaux; et le partage des responsabilits lies la prestation du programme avec Service Canada et Sant Canada. La Convention de rglement est un rglement des recours collectifs qui lie toutes les parties depuis son approbation par les tribunaux. Des reprsentants du gouvernement fdral sigent au Comit national d'attestation, charg de superviser l'administration des dmarches lies au recours collectif, et au Comit d'administration national, charg de superviser la mise en œuvre de la Convention de rglement une fois approuve. La Convention de rglement stipule que le gouvernement doit rendre compte au Comit d'administration national et, en bout de ligne, aux tribunaux.

Priorits


Priorit 1 : Appuyer le processus d'approbation par les tribunaux et veiller la mise en œuvre efficace de la Convention de rglement.


La Convention de rglement annonce le 10 mai 2006, conclue entre le gouvernement du Canada et les conseillers juridiques des anciens lves des pensionnats indiens, les conseillers juridiques des glises responsables du fonctionnement des coles, l'Assemble des Premires Nations et d'autres organisations autochtones, a pour objet de rgler de faon quitable et durable les squelles des pensionnats indiens. En vertu des lois rgissant les recours collectifs, la Convention de rglement a t approuve par les neuf tribunaux viss du Canada le 21 mars 2007.

Aperu de la Convention de rglement

  • Un paiement d'exprience commune sera vers chaque ancien lve admissible ayant vcu dans un pensionnat indien reconnu, qui vivait encore au 30 mai 2005, jour du lancement des ngociations. La Convention de rglement stipule que 1,9 milliard de dollars sera mis de ct au profit direct des anciens lves des pensionnats indiens. Sous rserve d'une vrification, chaque ancien lve admissible qui en fera la demande recevra 10 000 $ pour la premire anne ou pour une partie d'une anne de frquentation, de mme que 3 000 $ de plus pour chaque anne de frquentation au-del de la premire anne;
  • Un Processus d'valuation indpendant sera accessible pendant une priode de cinq ans suivant la date d'entre en vigueur de la Convention de rglement. Ce mode alternatif de rglement des conflits bonifi sera le mcanisme dont les anciens lves pourront se prvaloir pour prsenter des rclamations pour violences physiques graves et abus sexuels et d'autres actes injustifis qui sont prouvs avoir provoqu des consquences psychologiques srieuses, moins qu'ils ne se soient officiellement exclus de la Convention de rglement;
  • Un accs largi au Programme de soutien en sant pour la rsolution des questions des pensionnats indiens, administr par Sant Canada, sera offert afin que les anciens lves et les membres de leur famille puissent bnficier de services de soutien psychologique et en sant mentale;
  • Une Commission de vrit et de rconciliation (CVR) sera tablie et disposera d'un budget de 60 millions de dollars sur cinq ans. Elle aura pour mandat de promouvoir la sensibilisation et l'ducation du public l'gard du systme des pensionnats indiens et de ses squelles, et offrira aux anciens lves, leur famille et leur communaut l'occasion de partager les expriences vcues dans un environnement scuritaire et adapt leur ralit culturelle. La CVR organisera une srie d'vnements nationaux et communautaires, et tablira un centre de recherche pour permettre l'accs permanent aux documents recueillis tout au long du processus;
  • Un nouveau financement total de 20 millions de dollars sera consacr l'organisation d'vnements commmoratifs concernant les pensionnats indiens, qui sera gr par le gouvernement de concert avec la Commission de vrit et de rconciliation;
  • Un fonds de dotation de 100 millions de dollars sera vers la Fondation autochtone de gurison pour assurer son fonctionnement et le financement de ses programmes de gurison destins aux anciens lves des pensionnats indiens et leur famille et en plus, un paiement anticip de 25 millions de dollars sera vers la Fondation autochtone de gurison comme financement provisoire;
  • Les entits religieuses responsables du fonctionnement des pensionnats indiens verseront une somme pouvant s'lever 100 millions de dollars en argent et en services pour les initiatives de gurison.

Le Programme de paiement anticip a t lanc le 10 mai 2006 pour les anciens lves admissibles qui avaient 65 ans ou plus le 30 mai 2005, afin que les anciens lves plus gs puissent recevoir une reconnaissance concrte de leur exprience ds que possible, avant le versement du paiement d'exprience commune propos. Cette initiative trs fructueuse a t mene bien au cours de l'exercice pour un total de 82,6 millions de dollars vers 10 326 ans titre de paiement anticip sur celui ligible titre d'exprience commune.


Priorit 2 : Rgler les rclamations avec efficacit et compassion l'aide du Cadre national de rglement.


cette fin, le Ministre cherche raliser son mandat et son rsultat stratgique par l'application du processus antrieur la Convention de rglement, soit le Cadre national de rglement, qui prvoit un Mode alternatif de rglement des conflits, une stratgie en matire de litige et un Programme de soutien en sant mentale.

Le mode alternatif de rglement des conflits, lment central du Cadre national de rglement, se veut une option juste et scuritaire qui permet le rglement rapide et l'amiable des rclamations. Les anciens lves qui choisissent de ne pas participer au mode alternatif de rglement des conflits peuvent recourir au processus de litige. Le Ministre continuera de rgler les rclamations l'aide du Cadre national de rglement. Bien que Rsolution des questions des pensionnats indiens Canada assume la responsabilit globale du Cadre national de rglement, Sant Canada continuera d'assurer la prestation et le financement des composantes du nouveau Programme de soutien en sant pour la rsolution des questions des pensionnats indiens.


Priorit 3 : Maintenir des partenariats efficaces et axs sur la collaboration avec les peuples autochtones et leur communaut.


Le Ministre continue de travailler avec les intervenants cls. Les discussions et les ngociations entre le gouvernement fdral et les reprsentants des anciens lves des pensionnats indiens, des glises responsables du fonctionnement des coles, de l'Assemble des Premires Nations et d'autres organisations autochtones ont permis le renforcement des partenariats.

La Convention de rglement issue de ces discussions et ngociations fait foi du dvouement et de l'engagement de tous les intervenants, et ouvre la voie des partenariats plus solides avec les peuples autochtones. Le Ministre continuera de travailler avec ses partenaires autochtones pour assurer la russite de la mise en œuvre de la Convention de rglement.