Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Symbol of the Government of Canada

ARCHIVED - Office of the Commissioner for Federal Judicial Affairs


Warning This page has been archived.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

SECTION I - OVERVIEW

Acting Commissioner's Message

I am pleased to submit the Performance Report for the Office of the Commissioner for Federal Judicial Affairs for the period ending March 31, 2007.

Although the mandate of our office may see very little change from one year to the next, this Report demonstrates that 2006-2007 was again a busy fiscal year and that our personnel was able to overcome the challenges that arose during this period.

Among other things, we introduced necessary changes following the coming into force of amendments to the Judges Act, we helped establish the various judicial advisory committees across the country after the start of their new members' mandates, and we updated our strategic plan. Of course, we also continued to provide our usual services, such as; support for the judiciary, language training and international cooperation to name but a few. The following pages set out these activities as well as others in more detail.

I wish to underline the professionalism and commitment of the employees of our office in its support of the Canadian judiciary. We continually aim to improve our practices in order to function in the most efficient manner and we remain prepared to face new challenges.

Marc A. Giroux

Management Representation Statement

I submit for tabling in Parliament, the 2006-2007 Departmental Performance Report (DPR) for The Office of the Commissioner for Federal Judicial Affairs.

This document has been prepared based on the reporting principles contained in the Guide for the preparation of Part III of the 2006-2007 Estimates: Reports on Plans and Priorities and Departmental Performance Reports:

  • It adheres to the specific reporting requirements outlined in the TBS guidance;
  • It is based on the department's approved Strategic Outcome and Program Activity Architecture that were approved by the Treasury Board;
  • It presents consistent, comprehensive, balanced and reliable information;
  • It provides a basis of accountability for the results achieved with the resources and authorities entrusted to it; and
  • It reports finances based on approved numbers from the Estimates and the Public Accounts of Canada.

Marc A. Giroux
Acting Commissioner for Federal Judicial Affairs

Summary Information

Department's Raison d'tre

Mission Statement

We are a federal agency statutorily created to support, promote and support judicial independence for the benefit of the public by providing a wide range of services to the Canadian judiciary.

Vision Statement

The Office of the Commissioner for Federal Judicial Affairs (FJA) will be recognized as a unique service provider to the Canadian Judiciary and is renowned for efficiency, sound management and a good working environment.

Results for Canadians

There are 1,070 judges in Canada who are appointed by the federal government to the superior courts in the provinces and territories and to specialized courts such as the Federal Court of Appeal, the Federal Court and the Tax Court of Canada. These courts play a vital role in protecting citizens' rights and ensuring governments adhere to the rules of law and justice. FJA supports an independent judiciary and provides language training that enhances the capabilities of the judiciary.

FJA publishes the Federal Courts Reports, which are the official, bilingual reports of decisions, or parts of decisions of the Federal Court and Federal Court of Appeal, that are considered to be of sufficient significance to warrant publication. FJA also provides administrative support to the Canadian Judicial Council.

FJA operates an efficient and effective judicial appointments process. The Judicial Appointments Secretariat received and processed 701 applications for judicial appointment, including 217 brought forward from the previous period. The Secretariat arranged for 52 advisory committee meetings including 12 orientation meetings for newly appointed committees. The Advisory Committees assessed a total of 455 applications, the results of which were certified by the Executive Director, Judicial Appointments and provided to the Minister.

Promoting the principles of judicial independence, and efficient and transparent court systems internationally ensures protection of Canada's interests abroad and enhances Canada's visibility internationally.


Financial Resources

Planned Spending

Total Authorities

Actual Spending

$359,632,000

$405,489,094

$404,584,428



Human Resources

Planned

Actual

Difference

69

65

4


 


Departmental Priorities

Strategic Outcomes

2006-2007
Priorities/ Commitments

Type

Planned Spending

Actual Spending

Expected
Results and
Current Status

To protect and promote the independence and efficiency of the federal judiciary by providing a full line of administrative support services, as provided under the Judges Act.

1.Develop organizational capacity.

ongoing

$ .1 M

$ .1

ongoing

2. Build a strong, integrated team. ongoing $ .1 M $ .1 ongoing
3. Improve service delivery. ongoing $ .5 M $ .3 ongoing
4. Enhance Communications . ongoing $ .1 M $ .1 ongoing
5. Manage Information ongoing $ .2 M $ .5 ongoing

Overall Departmental Performance

FJA had planned on embarking on a Transformation Initiative in 2006-2007. Changes in priorities, as well as changes in the administrative directions provided from the Treasury Board Secretariat have caused a re-evaluation of the original plan of action. A business case to deal with Transformation Initiative was submitted to the Treasury Board Secretariat, however, with the completion of the previous Commissioner's term, we have agreed with the Treasury Board Secretariat to delay our implementation plan until such time as a new Commissioner is appointed and has had an opportunity to review the plan and confirm the proposed course of action.

An important number of results have been achieved, such as the completion of the business planning process which included a Human Resource Staffing Plan, a revision to the Business Resumption Plan to take into account the Influenza Pandemic requirements and the completion of draft Security Policies.

In addition, orientation meetings were held for the newly appointed 8-member Judicial Appointments Advisory Committees across the country and members were advised of their obligations and responsibilities in accordance with the Guidelines for Committee members. The newly appointed 5-member Judicial Appointments Advisory Committee for the Tax Court of Canada was incorporated into the Judicial Appointments process and administered as a one-year pilot project in accordance with Ministerial guidelines.

The department conducted two major contracting activities using the Request for Proposal process, one for translation services and the second for the requirements relating to the International Program currently being undertaken in conjunction with funding received from the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA). The results of the translation tendering process resulted in expected savings of approximately 35% of the original budget for translation. The process for the International Program requirements was approximately 80% completed by the end of the fiscal year.

In the area of International Cooperation, the 4 year agreement with the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) to assist with judicial reform in Russia proceeded in accordance with the approved plan. FJA has also signed a new 5 year agreement with CIDA to assist with judicial reform in the Ukraine. Work has progressed on the third party arrangement with the National Judicial Institute to provide assistance with judicial reform in China.

The department was also successful in implementing the required components of the Public Service Modernization Act. Its linkages with external partners (e.g. Canada School of Public Service, HR Co-op) have provided the organization with opportunities to leverage its capacity to successfully meet its fairly aggressive implementation schedule.

The department conducted a training program for members of the Health and Safety Committee. The training covered health and safety awareness, development of terms of reference and a draft Health and Safety Policy, and specialized training including hazard recognition, assessment, control hazard prevention, as well as hazardous occurrence investigations and inspections.

The department was successful in implementing the required changes as a result of the proclamation of Bill C-17, an Act to amend the Judges Act. The required actions included: the issuance of retroactive salary and pension adjustments back to April 1, 2004; changes to our internal computer system to incorporate the administrative changes contained in the Act; and changes to our processes to allow for the changes to the process for judges electing supernumerary status;

The department undertook a survey of judges to determine the level of satisfaction with the services offered by the judges communication network, JUDICOM. The response rate from judges was very high with 47% of the target audience responding to the survey and providing valuable comments and feedback which confirmed that most judges are very satisfied with the service being provided to them.

Link to the Government of Canada Outcome Areas

The Office of the Commissioner for Federal Judicial Affairs, through the provision of services to all federally appointed judges, falls under the Government Affairs area within the Government of Canada Outcome areas.

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

ARCHIVÉ - Bureau du commissaire à la magistrature fédérale

Avertissement Cette page a été archivée.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à  des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à  jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à  la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à  la page « Contactez-nous ».

SECTION I - Survol

Message du commissaire par intrim

Il me fait plaisir de prsenter le Rapport de rendement du Bureau du commissaire la magistrature fdrale pour la priode prenant fin le 31 mars 2007.

Bien que le mandat de notre bureau puisse ne changer que trs peu d'une anne une autre, ce rapport dmontre que 2006-2007 a encore une fois t une anne fiscale bien remplie et que notre personnel a su surmonter les dfis qui se sont prsents pendant cette priode.

Entre autres, nous avons appliqu les changements qui s'imposaient suite l'entre en vigueur des modifications apportes la Loi sur les juges, nous nous sommes assurs que les activits des divers comits consultatifs la magistrature travers tout le pays reprennent de plus belle avec le dbut du mandat de leurs nouveaux membres et nous avons mis jour notre plan stratgique. Bien entendu, nous avons galement continu nos activits normales de soutien aux juges, de formation linguistique et de coopration internationale pour n'en nommer que quelques-unes. Les pages qui suivent prsentent ces activits ainsi que d'autres plus en dtail.

Je dsire souligner le professionnalisme et l'engagement du personnel de notre bureau dans son soutien de la magistrature canadienne. Nous visons constamment amliorer nos pratiques afin d'agir de la faon la plus efficiente possible et nous demeurons prts relever de nouveaux dfis.

Marc A. Giroux

Dclaration de la direction

Je soumets, aux fins de dpt au Parlement, le Rapport ministriel sur le rendement (RMR) de 2006-2007, du Bureau du commissaire la magistrature fdrale.

Le prsent document a t prpar conformment aux principes de prparation des rapports noncs dans le Guide de prparation de la Partie III du Budget des dpenses 2006-2007 : Rapports sur les plans et les priorits et Rapports ministriels sur le rendement :

  • Il est conforme aux exigences prcises de dclaration figurant dans les lignes directrices du SCT;
  • Il repose sur l'architecture des activits de programme approuve du ministre figurant dans la SGRR;
  • Il prsente une information cohrente, complte, quilibre et fiable;
  • Il fournit une base pour la reddition de comptes l'gard des rsultats obtenus avec les ressources et les autorisations qui lui sont confies;
  • Il rend compte de la situation financire en fonction des montants approuvs des budgets des dpenses et des Comptes publics du Canada dans le RMR.

Marc A. Giroux
Commissaire la magistrature fdrale par intrim

Renseignements sommaires

Raison d'tre du ministre

nonc de mission

Nous sommes une agence fdrale cre par la loi pour la soutenir et promouvoir l'indpendance des juges dans l'intrt public en offrant une vaste gamme de services la magistrature canadienne.

nonc de vision

Nous sommes reconnus comme fournisseur exclusif de services la magistrature canadienne et nous sommes rputs pour notre efficience, notre saine gestion et notre climat de travail exemplaire.

Rsultats pour les Canadiens et les Canadiennes

Il y a 1,070 juges de nomination fdrale au Canada, qui sigent aux cours suprieures des provinces et des territoires, ainsi qu'aux cours spcialises comme la Cour d'appel fdrale, la Cour fdrale et la Cour canadienne de l'impt. Ces cours jouent un rle essentiel dans la protection des droits des citoyens et ils garantissent le respect par le gouvernement des rgles de droit et de justice. Le CMF veille l'indpendance judiciaire et offre une formation linguistique destine rehausser la comptence des juges.

Le CMF publie le Recueil des dcisions des Cours fdrales, qui sont le compte rendu officiel et bilingue des arrts et extraits des dcisions de la Cour d'appel fdrale et la Cour fdrale, jugs suffisamment importants pour justifier leur publication. Le CMF fournit galement des services administratifs au Conseil canadien de la magistrature.

Le CMF veille en outre la rapidit et l'efficacit des nominations judiciaires. Le Secrtariat des nominations la magistrature a reu et trait 701 demandes de nominations judiciaires, y compris 217 demandes reues au cours de l'exercice prcdent. Le Secrtariat a organis 52 runions de comits consultatifs, entre autres 12 sances d'orientation pour les nouveaux comits. Les comits consultatifs ont valu au total 455 candidatures, dont les rsultats ont t certifis par la Directrice excutive, Nominations la magistrature, et prsents au ministre.

La promotion des principes d'indpendance judiciaire ainsi que de l'efficacit et de la transparence du systme judiciaire l'chelle internationale permet de protger les intrts du Canada l'tranger et donne plus de visibilit notre pays sur les tribunes internationales.


Ressources financires

Dpenses prvues

Total des autorisations

Dpenses relles

359 632 000 $

405 489 094 $

404 584 428 $



Ressources humaines

Prvues

Relles

Diffrence

69

65

4



Priorits ministrielles

Rsultats Stratgiques

2006-2007
Priorits/ Engagements

Type

Dpenses prvues

Dpenses relles

Rsultats prvus et situation actuelle

Protger l'indpendance du pouvoir judiciaire fdral et promouvoir son efficacit, en lui offrant un soutien administratif complet en vertu de la Loi sur les juges.

1.Valoriser le potentiel de l'organisation

en cours

0,1 M $

0,1 M $

en cours

2. Mettre sur pied une forte quipe intgre en cours 0,1 M $ 0,1 M $ en cours
3.Amliorer la prestation de services en cours 0,5 M $ 0,3 M $ en cours
4.Amliorer la communication en cours 0,1 M $ 0,1 M $ en cours
5.Grer l'information en cours 0,2 M $ 0,5 M $ en cours

Rendement global du ministre

Le CMF avait prvu lancer une Initiative de transformation en 2006-2007. Des changements apports aux priorits ainsi qu'aux directives administratives du Secrtariat du Conseil du Trsor ont toutefois entran une rvaluation du plan d'action initial. Une analyse de rentabilit visant l'Initiative de transformation a t prsente au Secrtariat du Conseil du Trsor; toutefois, avec l'expiration du mandat du commissaire prcdent, nous avons convenu avec le Secrtariat du Conseil du Trsor de reporter notre plan de mise en œuvre jusqu' ce qu'un nouveau commissaire soit nomm et qu'il ait eu l'occasion d'examiner le plan et de confirmer les mesures proposes.

De nombreux rsultats ont t atteints, notamment l'achvement du processus de planification oprationnelle qui comprenait un Plan de dotation en matire de ressources humaines, une rvision du Plan de reprise des activits pour tenir compte des besoins en cas de pandmie d'influenza ainsi que la rdaction de projets de politiques concernant la scurit.

En outre, des sances d'orientation ont t tenues pour les nouveaux comits consultatifs des nominations la magistrature composs de huit membres qui ont t crs dans tout le pays, et leurs membres ont t informs de leurs obligations et responsabilits conformment aux lignes directrices applicables aux membres des comits. Le nouveau Comit consultatif des nominations la magistrature compos de cinq membres qui a t cr pour la Cour canadienne de l'impt a t intgr dans le processus des nominations la magistrature et administr titre de projet pilote d'un an conformment aux lignes directrices ministrielles.

Le CMF a pass deux contrats importants la suite du lancement d'une Demande de propositions, l'un pour les services de traduction et l'autre pour les exigences relies au Programme international actuellement entrepris au moyen de fonds reus de l'Agence canadienne de dveloppement international (ACDI). Le processus d'appel d'offres pour les services de traduction devrait permettre au CMF d'conomiser environ 35 % du budget original affect la traduction. la fin de l'exercice, le processus relatif aux exigences du Programme international tait termin dans une proportion d'environ 80 %.

Dans le domaine de la coopration internationale, l'entente quadriennale conclue avec l'Agence canadienne de dveloppement international (ACDI) et visant faciliter la rforme judiciaire en Russie a t applique conformment au plan approuv. Le CMF a galement sign une nouvelle entente quinquennale avec l'ACDI pour aider la rforme judiciaire en Ukraine. Les travaux ont aussi progress relativement l'entente tripartite avec l'Institut national de la magistrature dont l'objectif est de soutenir la rforme judiciaire en Chine.

Le CMF a galement russi mettre en œuvre les lments prescrits de la Loi sur la modernisation de la fonction publique. Ses liens avec des partenaires externes (l'cole de la fonction publique du Canada et l'quipe Co-op RH, par exemple) lui ont donn des possibilits de miser sur sa capacit de respecter son calendrier de mise en œuvre assez serr.

Le CMF a offert un programme de formation aux membres du Comit de la sant et de la scurit. La formation portait sur la sensibilisation la sant et la scurit, l'laboration d'un mandat et d'un projet de politique sur la sant et la scurit, et une formation spcialise comprenant, entre autres, la reconnaissance, l'valuation et la prvention des dangers, ainsi que les enqutes et inspections concernant des incidents dangereux.

Le CMF a russi mettre en œuvre les changements requis par suite de la proclamation du projet de loi C-17, Loi modifiant la Loi sur les juges. Les mesures requises comprenaient les suivantes : le rajustement des traitements et pensions avec effet rtroactif au 1er avril 2004; l'apport de changements notre systme informatique interne pour incorporer les changements administratifs prvus dans la Loi; et la modification de nos procdures pour tenir compte des changements au processus pour les juges qui choisissent le statut de juge surnumraire.

Le CMF a effectu un sondage auprs des juges pour dterminer leur niveau de satisfaction face aux services offerts par le rseau de communication des juges, JUDICOM. Le taux de rponse des juges a t trs lev, 47 % d'entre eux ayant rpondu au sondage et fourni des commentaires et une rtroaction trs utiles qui ont confirm que la plupart des juges sont trs satisfaits du service qui leur est fourni.

Lien avec les rsultats prvus du Gouvernement du Canada

Du fait qu'il fournit des services tous les juges nomms par le gouvernement fdral, le Bureau du commissaire la magistrature fdrale relve du secteur des Affaires gouvernementales pour ce qui est des rsultats prvus du Gouvernement du Canada.