Message from the Chief Electoral Officer

The 2011–2012 fiscal year brings both new and familiar challenges to Elections Canada.

With a minority government now in its third year, the possibility of a general election has increased. Most of the agency's programs will begin the fiscal year having just been ramped up, and we will need to maintain a high level of operational readiness during the coming period.

For electoral events called after the winter of 2011, electors will benefit from the administrative changes we successfully tested in the fall 2010 by-elections. These changes include greater accessibility of voting sites, the ability of specific groups of electors to use the voter information card as proof of name and address at selected voting sites and increased outreach efforts for electors residing in long-term care facilities and seniors' residences.

The May 2011 national census will set in motion the decennial process to readjust the boundaries of Canada's electoral districts to ensure fair and balanced representation. While this redistribution is carried out by independent commissions in each province, the agency enables the process by providing support and technical expertise. We expect the commissions to begin their work in the winter of 2012, once the Chief Statistician has provided the Chief Electoral Officer with the population counts from the 2011 census. By that time, Elections Canada will have put in place the tools and resources the commissions require.

Elections Canada will continue to pursue transformative initiatives in 2011–2012, guided by its strategic plan and its enduring objectives of increasing accessibility, trust and engagement. We remain committed to completing the work we have started in this regard. However, two factors will influence our progress over the next fiscal year:

Our transformative efforts next year are aimed at continuing work we have already begun; these efforts include:

As Parliament reviews the recommendations for legislative change included in my report following the 40th general election, Elections Canada will continue to provide technical expertise and support as required. We will also seek further opportunities to collaborate with Parliament and engage stakeholders in our efforts to modernize the electoral framework.

During 2011–2012, Elections Canada will continue its management agenda, which is aimed at retaining and developing its talent, reinforcing its internal governance and increasing its collaboration with Elections Ontario.

Readers will notice that this 2011–2012 Report on Plans and Priorities is the first to be based on our new Program Activity Architecture. Elections Canada has developed this planning and reporting structure to more accurately reflect its mandate and the results it delivers to Canadians.

Marc Mayrand
Chief Electoral Officer of Canada



Section 1: Agency Overview

1.1 Summary Information

Raison d'ĂȘtre and Responsibilities

The Office of the Chief Electoral Officer, commonly known as Elections Canada, is an independent, non-partisan agency that reports directly to Parliament. Its mandate is to:

In fulfilling its mandate, Elections Canada appoints, trains and supports 308 returning officers and retains the services of approximately 30 field liaison officers across Canada. It also maintains the National Register of Electors, which is used to prepare preliminary lists of electors at the start of electoral events, as well as electoral geography information, which provides the basis for maps and other geographic products used during electoral events.

The agency also:

In addition, the Chief Electoral Officer appoints the Commissioner of Canada Elections and the Broadcasting Arbitrator. The role of the Commissioner is to ensure that the Canada Elections Act and the Referendum Act are complied with and enforced. The Broadcasting Arbitrator is responsible for allocating free and paid broadcasting time among political parties and for arbitrating disputes that may arise between parties and broadcasters.

Strategic Outcome and Program Activity Architecture

The following chart illustrates Elections Canada's new Program Activity Architecture (PAA). This framework of four program activities contributes to achieving our strategic outcome.

Program Activity Architecture

Program Activity Architecture Crosswalk

On August 6, 2010, Elections Canada received approval from Treasury Board to modify its PAA for 2011–2012. The new PAA now better reflects the results that the agency delivers to Canadians. A crosswalk that compares the old architecture with the new, and also describes the redistribution of financial resources, can be found on the Elections Canada Web site at http://www.elections.ca/content.aspx?section=res&dir=rep/est/rpp2011&document=paa&lang=e.

1.2 Planning Summary

This section summarizes the agency's plans, priorities and expected budgets for the next three fiscal years.

Financial Resources ($ thousands)
2011–2012 2012–2013 2013–2014
122,351 122,357 122,357


Human Resources (FTEs)*
2011–2012 2012–2013 2013–2014
506 506 506

*Elections Canada's appropriation includes funding for 404 FTEs. An additional 102 FTEs will be funded through Elections Canada's statutory authorities for maintaining continuous readiness. Previous reports on plans and priorities have not included the latter.

Program Activities in Support of the Strategic Outcome

The first table below summarizes the performance indicators and targets used to measure the success of Elections Canada's strategic outcome. The second table shows the four program activities – our mandated priorities – intended to ensure that these strategic outcome targets are met.

Strategic Outcome: An Accessible Electoral Framework That Canadians Trust and Use
Performance Indicators
Canadian Electoral Framework Index: Accessibility component score
Canadian Electoral Framework Index: Trust component score
Canadian Electoral Framework Index: Use component score

Program Activity Forecast Spending
2010–2011
($ thousands)
Planned Spending
($ thousands)*
2011–2012 2012–2013 2013–2014
Electoral Operations 43,751 35,030 35,031 35,031
Regulation of Electoral Activities 40,024 38,399 38,402 38,402
Electoral Engagement 8,709 8,583 8,583 8,583
Internal Services 45,495 40,339 40,341 40,341
Total Planned Spending 137,979 122,351 122,357 122,357

* Planned spending includes an appropriation for the salaries of indeterminate staff and statutory funding for transfer payments to eligible political entities, on-going operations and contributions to employee benefit plans. Planned spending does not include costs related to general elections, by-elections or heightened readiness activities. These costs explain the variance between 2010–2011 forecast spending and planned spending for the next three fiscal years.

Contribution of Priorities to Strategic Outcome

The following tables summarize the contribution of Elections Canada's operational and management priorities to its strategic outcome.

Operational Priority Type Description and Plan for Meeting Priority
Maintain readiness to deliver electoral events Previously committed to Elections Canada will ensure that its programs are ready to be executed during a general election at any time during the coming fiscal period. Administrative improvements successfully tested in the fall 2009 and 2010 by-elections will be available during electoral events called after February 2011.
Continue to work toward our strategic objectives Previously committed to The agency will continue to improve the accessibility of the electoral process so that it remains responsive to electors' needs and societal change. This includes continuing to engage its stakeholders.

The agency will provide parliamentarians with support and technical expertise to formulate legislative amendments resulting from the Chief Electoral Officer's most recent recommendations report.
Enable the electoral boundaries readjustment process to be launched Previously committed to In 2011–2012, Elections Canada will complete the preparatory work required to enable the 10 provincial electoral boundaries commissions to carry out the readjustment. The process is scheduled to start in the winter of 2012, after we receive the 2011 census population counts from the Chief Statistician.

Management Priority Type Description and Plan for Meeting Priority
Support excellence in talent management New Elections Canada's new annual human resources action plan will carry out our four-year human resources strategy by focusing on three critical pillars: acquiring the best talent, developing it to its fullest potential and encouraging our employees to continue their careers at Elections Canada.
Improve internal processes and consolidate agency offices New In the coming year, Elections Canada will reinforce its procurement and project management practices, implement an investment management plan for its information technology (IT) assets and begin preparing to relocate its Ottawa-based personnel to a single location in Gatineau, Quebec, in 2013.
Make full and optimal use of our resources Previously committed to Elections Canada has reviewed the recommendations resulting from its A-base review. In 2011–2012, the agency will select a few high-priority recommendations on which to focus.

To manage in the current fiscal context, the agency will also seek to achieve efficiencies.

We will also leverage our partnership with Elections Ontario in our common efforts to develop voter education programs, conduct an on-line voting pilot project, and identify and manage common polling sites.

Operating Environment

In the 2011–2012 fiscal year, Elections Canada's agenda will be dominated by two drivers: the increased possibility of a general election and the need to prepare our support for the redistribution process. These circumstances will test our agility by forcing us to excel at both rapid operational deployment and longer-term initiatives.

Increased Possibility of a General Election

Elections Canada has been operating in a minority government context for over six years. The fact that the current minority government is now in its third year increases the possibility of a general election. This means that in 2011–2012, we will need to dedicate a large portion of our resources to operational readiness, and our capacity to undertake new transformative initiatives will be limited.

Preparing Support for the Redistribution Process

Representation in the House of Commons is readjusted after each decennial (10-year) census to reflect changes and movements in Canada's population; this is in accordance with the Constitution Act, 1867 and the Electoral Boundaries Readjustment Act. The readjustment of federal electoral boundaries is carried out by independent provincial commissions, but Elections Canada is responsible for giving them administrative, technical, financial and legal support. The commissions are expected to start their work in the winter of 2012, and Elections Canada must ensure that the resources to support them are in place by that time.

Risk Analysis

Two main risks will require our attention over the next fiscal year.

Pursuing Longer-Term Changes in the Context of a Minority Government

Parliament has begun to review the Chief Electoral Officer's recommendations for legislative change following the 40th general election. The changes sought are required to fully implement the longer-term direction set out in our Strategic Plan 2008–2013. This relates especially to providing Canadians with on-line electoral services and reducing the regulatory burden imposed by the complexity of the current federal political financing rules. A general election may take place before Parliament has had an opportunity to conclude its review of our recommendations, and the timing of anticipated legislative change remains unknown.

Other initiatives, such as transitioning our field applications to a new information technology (IT) environment and phasing out associated legacy systems, are made more difficult by the fact that we cannot count on a definite period of "downtime" to complete testing and phase-in activities.

Further Fiscal Restraint Measures

We have to continue adjusting to the three-year fiscal restraint measures that resulted from the March 2010 budget. This has an impact on Elections Canada's appropriation, which covers the salaries of our permanent staff. For the next two fiscal years, we will not be funded for salary increases and will therefore need to absorb any increases resulting from collective agreements.

Expenditure Profile

The Office of the Chief Electoral Officer is funded by an annual appropriation, which provides for the salaries of permanent full-time staff, and by the statutory authorities set out by the Canada Elections Act, the Referendum Act and the Electoral Boundaries Readjustment Act. The statutory authorities provide for all other expenditures, including the costs of electoral events, reimbursement of election expenses to eligible candidates and parties, quarterly allowances for eligible political parties, the cost of redistributing electoral boundaries and expenses incurred by the Commissioner of Canada Elections, or on his behalf, to enforce the legislation. There are two further statutory items: the salary of the Chief Electoral Officer and contributions to employee benefit plans.

2011–2012 Forecast Spending by Program Activity

In 2011–2012, Elections Canada plans to spend $122 million to meet the expected results of the four program activities that contribute to our strategic outcome. The following chart shows the allocation of funding by program activity.

2011–2012 Forecast Spending by Program Activity

Estimates by Vote

Estimates by vote are presented in the 2011–2012 Main Estimates, which are available at www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/est-pre/20112012/me-bpd/info/info-eng.asp.

Date modified:

Message du directeur général des élections

L'exercice 2011-2012 apportera son lot de défis, tant nouveaux que familiers, à Élections Canada.

Le gouvernement minoritaire en est à sa troisième année, ce qui augmente d'autant la possibilité d'une élection générale. Pour la plupart des programmes de l'organisme, l'année commencera en mode accéléré, et cet état de préparation élevé devra être maintenu au cours des prochains mois.

Après l'hiver 2011, les électeurs appelés aux urnes profiteront des améliorations que nous avons testées avec succès aux élections partielles de l'automne 2010. Ces changements, d'ordre administratif, visaient entre autres à rendre les lieux de scrutin plus accessibles, à permettre à des groupes d'électeurs d'utiliser leur carte d'information de l'électeur comme preuve d'identité et d'adresse dans certains lieux de scrutin, et à faciliter le vote aux électeurs vivant dans les établissements de soins de longue durée et les résidences pour personnes âgées.

Le recensement national de mai 2011 déclenchera le processus de révision des limites des circonscriptions fédérales, qui est entrepris tous les 10 ans pour assurer une représentation juste et équilibrée à la Chambre des communes. Bien que cette révision incombe à des commissions indépendantes créées dans chaque province, Élections Canada facilite le processus en leur offrant appui et expertise technique. On s'attend à ce que les commissions commencent leurs travaux à l'hiver 2012, après que le statisticien en chef aura fourni les données du recensement de la population de 2011 au directeur général des élections. D'ici là, Élections Canada aura mis en place les outils et les ressources dont les commissions ont besoin pour remplir leur mandat.

Les initiatives de transformation en cours à Élections Canada se poursuivront en 2011-2012 selon la direction fournie par notre plan stratégique et notre objectif d'accroître l'accessibilité, la confiance et l'engagement. Nous entendons bien finir le travail commencé. Cependant, deux facteurs influeront sur nos progrès de la prochaine année :

Au cours de la prochaine année, nos efforts de transformation consisteront à poursuivre le travail entamé, y compris :

Pendant l'étude des modifications législatives recommandées dans mon rapport présenté après la 40e élection générale, Élections Canada continuera d'offrir au Parlement un appui et une expertise technique, au besoin. Nous chercherons également d'autres occasions de collaborer avec le Parlement et d'associer les intervenants à nos efforts de modernisation du cadre électoral.

Durant 2011-2012, Élections Canada poursuivra la mise en œuvre de son programme de gestion, qui vise à retenir et à développer les talents, à renforcer la gouvernance interne et à intensifier notre collaboration avec Élections Ontario.

Le lecteur remarquera que le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités 2011-2012 est le premier du genre qui repose sur notre nouvelle architecture des activités de programme. Élections Canada a établi cette structure de planification et de rapports pour mieux faire écho à son mandat et aux résultats offerts aux Canadiens.

 

Marc Mayrand
Directeur général des élections du Canada



Section 1 : Survol de l'organisme

1.1 Renseignements sommaires

Raison d'être et responsabilités

Le Bureau du directeur général des élections, communément appelé Élections Canada, est un organisme indépendant et non partisan qui relève directement du Parlement. Son mandat consiste à :

Dans le cadre de son mandat, Élections Canada doit nommer, former et soutenir 308 directeurs du scrutin et s'adjoindre quelque 30 agents de liaison en région partout au Canada. Il doit aussi tenir à jour le Registre national des électeurs, utilisé pour préparer les listes électorales préliminaires au début d'un scrutin, de même que l'information relative à la géographie électorale qui sert à produire les cartes et les autres produits géographiques utilisés en période électorale.

L'organisme est également responsable de ce qui suit :

Par ailleurs, le directeur général des élections nomme le commissaire aux élections fédérales
et l'arbitre en matière de radiodiffusion. Le mandat du commissaire consiste à veiller à l'observation et à l'exécution de la Loi électorale du Canada et de la Loi référendaire. L'arbitre en matière de radiodiffusion répartit le temps d'antenne payant et gratuit entre les partis politiques et règle les différends qui peuvent survenir entre les partis et les radiodiffuseurs.

Résultat stratégique et architecture des activités de programme

Le schéma ci-dessous illustre la nouvelle architecture des activités de programme (AAP) d'Élections Canada. Ce cadre, qui comprend quatre activités de programme, contribue à l'atteinte du résultat stratégique visé.

#
Tableau de concordance de l'architecture des activités de programme

Le 6 août 2010, Élections Canada a obtenu l'approbation du Conseil du Trésor de modifier son AAP pour 2011-2012. La nouvelle AAP reflète mieux les résultats que l'organisme poursuit dans l'intérêt des Canadiens. Un tableau qui compare l'ancienne architecture à la nouvelle et décrit la redistribution des ressources financières se trouve sur le site Web d'Élections Canada à http://www.elections.ca/content.aspx?section=res&dir=rep/est/rpp2011&document=paa&lang=f.

1.2 Sommaire de la planification

Cette section résume les plans, les priorités et les budgets escomptés de l'organisme pour les trois prochains exercices financiers.

Ressources financières (en millions de dollars)
2011-2012 2012-2013 2013-2014
122 351 122 357 122 357


Ressources humaines (ETP)*
2011-2012 2012-2013 2013-2014
506 506 506

*Le crédit parlementaire d'Élections Canada comprend le financement de 404 ETP. De plus, 102 ETP supplémentaires seront financés en vertu des autorisations législatives accordées à Élections Canada pour le maintien d'un état de préparation aux scrutins. Les rapports sur les plans et les priorités antérieurs n'incluaient pas le financement d'ETP supplémentaires.

Activités de programme à l'appui du résultat stratégique

Le premier tableau résume les indicateurs de rendement et leurs cibles que l'on utilise pour mesurer le succès du programme dans l'atteinte du résultat stratégique d'Élections Canada. Le second tableau présente les quatre activités de programme – nos priorités découlant de notre mandat – qui visent à s'assurer que ces cibles seront atteintes.

Résultat stratégique : Un cadre électoral accessible que les Canadiens utilisent avec confiance.
Indicateurs de rendement
Index du cadre électoral canadien : résultat du volet « accessibilité »
Index du cadre électoral canadien : résultat du volet « confiance »
Index du cadre électoral canadien : résultat du volet « engagement »

Activité de programme Prévision des dépenses
2010-2011
(en milliers
de dollars)
Dépenses prévues
(en milliers de dollars)*
2011-2012 2012-2013 2013-2014
Opérations électorales 43 751 35 030 35 031 35 031
Régulation des activités électorales 40 024 38 399 38 402 38 402
Engagement électoral 8 709 8 583 8 583 8 583
Services internes 45 495 40 339 40 341 40 341
Total 137 979 122 351 122 357 122 357

*Les dépenses prévues comprennent un crédit couvrant les salaires du personnel nommé pour une période indéterminée ainsi que des fonds législatifs pour paiements de transfert visant les entités politiques admissibles, les activités courantes et les contributions aux régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés. Les dépenses prévues excluent les coûts associés aux élections générales et partielles et aux activités de préparation électorale accrue. Ces coûts expliquent la différence entre la prévision des dépenses pour 2010-2011 et les dépenses prévues pour les trois prochains exercices.

Contribution des priorités à l'atteinte du résultat stratégique

Les tableaux suivants résument la façon dont les priorités opérationnelles et les priorités de gestion d'Élections Canada contribuent à l'atteinte de son résultat stratégique.

Priorité opérationnelle Type Description et plan pour donner suite à la priorité
Maintenir un état de préparation aux scrutins Déjà établie Élections Canada veillera à ce que ses programmes soient prêts à être exécutés à tout moment au cours de la prochaine période financière en vue d'une élection générale. Les améliorations administratives mises à l'essai avec succès à l'automne 2009 et pendant les élections partielles de 2010 seront incorporées à toute élection déclenchée après février 2011.
Poursuivre les efforts pour atteindre nos objectifs stratégiques Déjà établie L'organisme continuera d'améliorer l'accessibilité du processus électoral pour tenir compte des besoins des électeurs et de l'évolution de la société. Cela inclut la poursuite des consultations auprès des intervenants.

L'organisme offrira son appui et son expertise technique aux parlementaires pour formuler des modifications législatives découlant du plus récent rapport de recommandations du directeur général des élections.
Faciliter le déclenchement du processus de révision des limites des circonscriptions Déjà établie En 2011-2012, Élections Canada finalisera les travaux préparatoires requis pour permettre aux 10 commissions provinciales d'effectuer la révision des limites des circonscriptions. Le processus devrait être amorcé à l'hiver 2012, dès que le statisticien en chef nous aura transmis les données du recensement de la population de 2011.

Priorités de gestion Type Description et plan pour donner suite à la priorité
Soutenir l'excellence dans la gestion des talents Nouvelle Le nouveau plan d'action annuel concernant les ressources humaines d'Élections Canada mettra en application notre stratégie des ressources humaines échelonnée sur quatre ans. Le plan repose sur trois piliers essentiels : attirer les personnes les plus talentueuses, développer ce potentiel au maximum et encourager nos employés à rester.
Améliorer les processus internes et regrouper les locaux de l'organisme Nouvelle Dans l'année qui vient, Élections Canada entend renforcer ses pratiques d'acquisition et de gestion de projet, mettre en œuvre un plan de gestion des investissements dans ses éléments d'actif en technologies de l'information (TI), et préparer le terrain en vue de réunir sous un même toit à Gatineau (Québec) tout le personnel d'Ottawa en 2013.
Optimiser nos ressources Déjà établie Élections Canada a examiné les recommandations issues de la révision des services votés. En 2011-2012, l'organisme adoptera quelques recommandations qu'il juge prioritaires.

Compte tenu du contexte financier actuel, l'organisme cherchera à réaliser des économies.

Nous voulons tirer parti de notre partenariat avec Élections Ontario et unir nos efforts pour élaborer des programmes d'éducation de l'électorat, mener un projet pilote de vote en ligne, et repérer et gérer des lieux de scrutin communs.

Contexte opérationnel

En 2011-2012, deux éléments moteurs retiendront d'abord et avant tout l'attention d'Élections Canada : la possibilité grandissante d'une élection générale, et les préparatifs nécessaires à la révision des limites des circonscriptions. Ces facteurs mettront à l'épreuve notre capacité d'exceller pour assurer un déploiement opérationnel rapide et faire avancer nos initiatives à long terme.

Possibilité grandissante d'une élection générale

Élections Canada évolue depuis six ans dans un contexte de gouvernement minoritaire. Le fait que le gouvernement actuel en soit à sa troisième année au pouvoir accroît la possibilité d'une élection générale. C'est pourquoi, en 2011-2012, nous devrons consacrer une large part de nos ressources à la préparation opérationnelle, limitant ainsi notre capacité d'entreprendre de nouvelles initiatives de transformation.

Préparatifs nécessaires à la révision des limites des circonscriptions

La représentation à la Chambre des communes est rajustée après chaque recensement décennal afin de tenir compte des changements et des mouvements au sein de la population canadienne, conformément à la Loi constitutionnelle de 1867 et de la Loi sur la révision des limites des circonscriptions électorales. La délimitation des circonscriptions fédérales incombe à des commissions provinciales indépendantes, mais Élections Canada leur fournit tout le soutien administratif, technique, financier et juridique nécessaire. Vu que les commissions sont censées entreprendre leurs travaux à l'hiver 2012, Élections Canada doit s'assurer que les ressources seront en place à temps pour les appuyer.

Analyse des risques

Deux risques principaux retiendront notre attention au cours du prochain exercice.

Changements à long terme incertains en situation de gouvernement minoritaire

Le Parlement a entrepris l'étude des modifications législatives recommandées par le directeur général des élections à la suite de la 40élection générale. Les changements suggérés sont nécessaires pour mettre en œuvre l'ensemble de l'orientation à long terme exposée dans notre Plan stratégique 2008-2013. Cette orientation consiste notamment à offrir aux Canadiens des services électoraux en ligne et à réduire le fardeau régulatoire imposé par l'actuel régime de financement politique fédéral. Une élection générale pourrait avoir lieu avant la conclusion de l'étude des recommandations par le Parlement, et on ne peut savoir à quel moment se concrétiseront les changements législatifs souhaités.

Le fait de ne pouvoir compter sur un « temps d'arrêt » définitif rend difficile la poursuite d'autres initiatives, dont la migration de nos applications en région vers un nouvel environnement des technologies de l'information (TI) et le retrait progressif des anciens systèmes de TI qui exigent une période de mise en place et de mise à l'essai.

Autres mesures de compression budgétaire

Nous devons continuer à composer avec les compressions budgétaires réparties sur trois ans qui résultent du budget fédéral de mars 2010. Ces restrictions ont une incidence sur le crédit parlementaire d'Élections Canada, qui couvre les salaires de nos employés permanents. Pour les deux prochains exercices, les augmentations salariales ne seront pas financées; nous devrons donc absorber toute hausse salariale découlant des conventions collectives.

Profil des dépenses

Le Bureau du directeur général des élections est financé par un crédit annuel, qui couvre les salaires des employés permanents à temps plein, et par l'autorisation législative prévue par la Loi électorale du Canada, la Loi référendaire et la Loi sur la révision des limites des circonscriptions électorales. L'autorisation législative couvre toutes les autres dépenses, y compris les coûts relatifs aux scrutins, aux remboursements des dépenses électorales aux candidats et aux partis admissibles, aux allocations trimestrielles versées aux partis politiques qui y ont droit, au redécoupage des circonscriptions et aux dépenses engagées par le commissaire aux élections fédérales (ou en son nom) aux fins d'application de la loi. Le salaire du directeur général des élections et les contributions au régime d'avantages sociaux des employés relèvent aussi de l'autorisation législative.

Prévisions des dépenses pour 2011-2012 par activité de programme

En 2011-2012, Élections Canada prévoit dépenser 122 millions de dollars pour produire les résultats attendus des quatre activités de programme qui contribuent à l'atteinte du résultat stratégique global. Le diagramme ci-dessous illustre la répartition des fonds par activité de programme.

#

Budget des dépenses par poste voté

Le budget des dépenses par poste voté est présenté dans le Budget principal des dépenses de 2011-2012, accessible à www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/est-pre/20112012/me-bpd/info/info-fra.asp.

Date de modification :