Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Symbol of the Government of Canada

ARCHIVED - A Guide to Effective Business Continuity in Support of the Year 2000 Challenge


Warning This page has been archived.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

2.0  Set Up a Business Continuity Governance Structure

Departments must ensure that the business continuity process is supported by a sound governance structure that can steer and respond to decision requests that emerge from the process. An inadequate governance structure will impede the success and significantly impact the effectiveness of the business continuity efforts.

2.1 How to Set Up a Business Continuity Governance Structure

The first step towards implementing business continuity is to set up the required governance structure to support the process, identify and mobilize the department's resources, obtain governance structure members' commitment and involve these individuals in the business continuity process. While the business continuity governance structure should not be different but integrated within the existing Year 2000 Project governance structure found in the departments, the following generally accepted characteristics of a sound governance structure should be present during the set-up step:

  1. The governance structure should extend the functional (business side) and technical (compliance side) organizations up to the point of convergence;
  2. The governance structure should extend to three layers of management:
    • Corporate Governance that corresponds to the Assistant Deputy Minister levels. Deputy Ministers are normally at the point of convergence and are ultimately responsible for the performance of both sides of the governance structure;
    • Direct Governance that normally corresponds to the Director General, Director, and Year 2000 Project Manager levels; and
    • Planning and Control that corresponds to the business function owners and project leaders responsible for the day-to-day conversion activities and monitoring of the project activities;
  3. Along this structure, clear accountabilities and roles should be defined regarding business continuity, including the responsibility to decide on the department's response to risks; and
  4. Accountability for the continuity of operations should rest with the functional personnel; accountability for the conversion of assets should rest with the technical personnel within the organization; and committees should only be used to provide guidance and build consensus.

The governance structure is depicted in Figure 3. The remaining sections provide additional information about the tasks that must be performed in support of this activity.

Figure 3 – Business Continuity Governance Structure

Figure 3 – Business Continuity Governance Structure

2.2 Set Up Governance

Process

The objective of this first activity is to identify the stakeholders that will be involved in the business continuity process. Similar to the governance structure depicted in Figure 3, departments should ensure that key representatives both from the functional and technical side of the organization are identified.

Output/Deliverable

The deliverable associated with this activity consists of a governance structure with key stakeholders identified at all levels of the organization.

2.3 Develop Business Continuity Plan

Process

The objective of the Business Continuity Plan activity is to provide the department's specific details regarding the implementation of this guide. It should answer the basic questions: what, who, when, how.

Note: Currently, departments have only been asked to develop risk management plans. These plans will need to be enhanced to include the other aspects of this revised guide.

Output/Deliverable

The deliverable to be developed as part of this task consists of a Business Continuity Plan which provides the department's specific details regarding the implementation of this guide. A sample table of contents is provided in Appendix A.

2.4 Obtain Commitment

Process

Business continuity issues will emerge well before the Year 2000 and members of the governance structure will need to be involved. The objective of the "Obtain Commitment" activity is to obtain the commitment of these stakeholders to support the process documented in the plan and to adapt to the needs of the department regarding timely decisions, strategic and policy directions, as well as oversight.

Output/Deliverable

The deliverable for this task is a revised or new project charter that clearly identifies the members of the governance structure and their roles and responsibilities regarding the business continuity process. One of the most important aspects of the new charter is the governance structure member's responsibility regarding their organization's response vis--vis certain risks. For example, members of the governance structure on the functional side of the organization should make the final decision regarding the development and activation of contingency plans.

The charter should include highlights of the business continuity plan including the resource commitments (human and financial) made to the business continuity process. A sample table of contents is provided in Appendix B.

2.5 Involve the Governance Structure

Process

The objective of the "Involve the Governance Structure" activity is to develop vehicles to ensure the continuous involvement of the governance structure members.

Ouput/Deliverable

The deliverables for this task include:

  1. Monthly Steering Committee meetings;
  2. Minutes of the monthly Steering Committee meetings with the attendance list;
  3. Revised risk list;
  4. Status reports; and
  5. Revised plans.

2.6 Techniques and Tools

Table 2 provides a summary of the techniques and tools used for this step. Details of the techniques and tools can be found in the appendices or the referenced documents.

Table 2: Business Continuity Governance Structure Setup Techniques and Tools
activity techniques and tools
Setup the Governance No specific tool
Develop Business Continuity Plan Business Continuity Plan – Table of Contents (Appendix A)
Obtain Commitment
Involve the Governance Structure
  • Monthly Steering Committee meetings;
  • Minutes of the monthly Steering Committee meetings with the attendance list;
  • Revised risk list;
  • Status reports; and
  • Revised plans.

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

ARCHIVÉ - Guide pour la continuité des opérations en regard du problème de l'an 2000

Avertissement Cette page a été archivée.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à  des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à  jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à  la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à  la page « Contactez-nous ».

2.0 tablir une structure de gouvernance

Les ministres doivent s'assurer que le processus de continuit des oprations soit soutenu par une structure de gouvernance solide qui peut donner des orientations et prendre des dcisions pour faire suite des demandes qui mergent du processus. Non seulement une structure de gouvernance inadquate fera-t-elle obstacle au succs des efforts consacrs la continuit des oprations, mais elle aura aussi des rpercussions sur leur efficacit.

2.1 Composition de la structure de gouvernance

La premire tape de l'implantation d'un processus visant la continuit des oprations consiste mettre sur pied la structure de gouvernance approprie qui dirigera ce processus, notamment en identifiant et en mobilisant les ressources des ministres, en obtenant l'engagement des membres de la structure de gouvernance et en les invitant participer activement au processus. Cette structure ne devrait pas tre distincte de la structure de gouvernance des projets de l'an 2000 qui existe dans les ministres, mais plutt y tre intgre. Nanmoins, les lments suivants qui caractrisent gnralement une structure de gouvernance solide devraient tre abords l'tape de l'tablissement de cette structure :

  1. En rgle gnrale, la structure de gouvernance devrait amener les organisations fonctionnelles (ct oprations) et les organisations techniques (ct conformit) converger;
  2. La structure de gouvernance devrait comprendre trois niveaux de gestion :
    • l'autorit ministrielle, qui correspond au niveau du sous-ministre adjoint. Gnralement, le sous-ministre, qui se situe au point de convergence, est responsable en dfinitive du rendement des deux cts de la gouvernance;
    • l'autorit directe, qui correspond normalement au niveau du directeur gnral, du directeur et du gestionnaire de projet; et
    • la planification et le contrle, qui correspondent aux personnes responsables des fonctions de gestion et aux chefs de projet de l'an 2000 en ce qui concerne les activits courantes de conversion et de suivi du projet;
  3. cette structure se greffent les responsabilits et les rles qui devraient tre clairement dfinis du point de vue de la continuit des oprations, notamment la responsabilit de dcider des mesures que le ministre doit prendre par rapport aux risques; et
  4. La responsabilit de la poursuite des activits devrait incomber au personnel charg de la fonction, alors que celle de la conversion des lments d'actif devrait revenir au personnel technique de l'organisation. Les comits ne devraient servir qu' conseiller et tablir, si possible, un consensus.

La figure 3 illustre la structure de gouvernance. Les autres sections prsentent des renseignements supplmentaires concernant les activits raliser pour tablir une structure de gouvernance.

Figure 3 – Structure de gouvernance pour assurer la continuit des oprations

Figure 3 – Structure de gouvernance pour assurer la continuit des oprations

2.2 tablir une structure de gouvernance

Processus

Cette premire tape vise dterminer les intervenants majeurs du processus de continuit des oprations. Comme dans la structure de gouvernance illustre la figure 3, les ministres devraient dsigner des reprsentants cls tant du ct fonctionnel que du ct technique de l'organisation.

Rsultats attendus

Au terme de cette activit, une structure de gouvernance forme d'intervenants cls identifis tous les chelons de l'organisation aura t cre.

2.3 laborer un plan de continuit des oprations

Processus

Cette activit consiste fournir des renseignements prcis sur l'approche des ministres concernant l'implantation de ce guide. Elle devrait servir rpondre aux questions fondamentales : quoi, o, quand et comment.

Nota : ce jour, on a uniquement demand aux ministres de mettre au point leurs plans de gestion du risque. Ces plans devront tre amliors et inclure les lments nouveaux de ce guide.

Rsultats attendus

Ce processus permettra de concevoir un plan de continuit des oprations qui comprendra des renseignements prcis sur l'approche des ministres concernant l'implantation de ce guide. Un exemple de table des matires est prsent l'annexe A.

2.4 Obtenir un engagement

Processus

Des problmes lis la continuit des oprations surgiront bien avant l'an 2000 et les membres de la structure de gouvernance devront s'engager les rsoudre. L'objet de cette activit consiste obtenir de ces intervenants qu'ils s'engagent soutenir le processus dfini dans le plan et qu'ils s'adaptent aux besoins du ministre en ce qui regarde la prise rapide de dcisions, un cadre et des orientations stratgiques ainsi qu'une stratgie de surveillance.

Rsultats attendus

Cette activit consiste produire une nouvelle charte de projet qui identifie clairement les membres de la gouvernance et prcise leurs rles et leurs responsabilits concernant le processus de continuit des oprations. L'un des points les plus importants de la nouvelle charte rside dans la responsabilit du membre de la structure de gouvernance quant aux mesures que prendra son organisation pour faire face certains risques. Par exemple, la dcision finale d'laborer et d'excuter des plans d'urgence devrait revenir aux membres de la structure de gouvernance du ct fonctionnel de l'organisation.

La charte devrait englober les grandes lignes du plan de continuit des oprations, notamment les engagements en matire de ressources (humaines et financires) pris l'gard du processus. Un exemple de charte de projet est prsent l'annexe B.

2.5 Impliquer la structure de gouvernance

Processus

L'objet de cette activit consiste mettre au point des moyens pour assurer la participation continue des membres de la gouvernance.

Rsultats attendus

Les rsultats attendus dans le cadre de cette activit sont les suivants :

  1. des runions mensuelles du Comit directeur;
  2. les procs-verbaux de ces runions, incluant la liste des personnes prsentes;
  3. des listes de risques rviss;
  4. des rapports de situation; et
  5. des plans rviss.

2.6 Techniques et outils

Le tableau 2 rsume les techniques et les outils employs pour cette tape. On trouvera des prcisions ce sujet dans les annexes ou dans les documents cits.

Tableau 2 : Techniques et outils pour tablir une structure de gouvernance
activit techniques et outils
tablir une structure de gouvernance Pas d'outil particulier
laborer un plan de continuit des oprations Exemple de plan de continuit des oprations (Annexe A)
Obtenir un engagement Exemple de charte de projet (Annexe B)
Obtenir la participation de la structure de gouvernance
  • Runions mensuelles du Comit directeur;
  • Procs-verbaux de ces runions, incluant la liste des personnes prsentes;
  • Listes de risques rviss;
  • Rapports de situation; et
  • Plans rviss.