Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Symbol of the Government of Canada

ARCHIVED - Canada School of Public Service - Report


Warning This page has been archived.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Minister's Message

The Honourable Tony Clement

As minister responsible for the Canada School of Public Service (the School), I am pleased to present the School's 2010-2011 Departmental Performance Report. The full document is available at www.myschool-monecole.gc.ca.

The School plays a key role in supporting the public service by offering relevant, affordable and quality learning and development programs across the country that support government priorities. In his most recent report to the Prime Minister, the Clerk of the Privy Council noted that we are entering a new stage in the evolution of the public service as a result of several factors, including changing demographics and an increasingly challenging operating environment. In this regard, the School plays a key role in supporting the renewal of the public service and ensuring that public servants have access to learning that will provide them with the skills and competencies to serve Canadians.

Over the past year, the School has made important progress in the implementation of its management agenda to strengthen its position as the learning organization of choice for public servants. The agenda included establishing a business model to gain efficiencies, ensuring that the School's curriculum reflects its core business, and aligning human resource capacity accordingly. These changes have resulted in lower costs, increased registration and greater client satisfaction. In short, the School is responding to client needs and providing value for money.

The School's professional and dedicated employees will continue to build on the initial progress that is highlighted in this report. I am confident that the School's capacity to deliver well managed and efficient programming will continue to serve the needs of the public service.

 

 

 

The Honourable Tony Clement
President of the Treasury Board and Minister for the
Federal Economic Initiative for Northern Ontario



Section I: Organizational Overview

Raison d'tre

The Canada School of Public Service (the School) is the common learning service provider for the Public Service of Canada. The School has a legislative mandate to provide a range of learning activities to build individual and organizational capacity and management excellence within the Public Service.

The School is in a unique position to offer learning services to all public service employees at all levels and across the country, as well as to functional communities and public organizations.

Responsibilities

Established on April 1, 2004, under the Public Service Modernization Act operating under the authority of the Canada School of Public Service Act (CSPS Act), the School's primary responsibility is to provide a wide range of learning opportunities and develop a learning culture within the Public Service. The School has a direct effect on service to Canadians by contributing to the skills development of public service employees and the effectiveness of public service organizations.

As a departmental corporation, the School is mandated under the CSPS Act to:

  • encourage pride and excellence in the Public Service;
  • foster a common sense of purpose, values and traditions in the Public Service;
  • support deputy heads in meeting the learning needs of their organizations; and
  • pursue excellence in public management and administration.

The School's program priorities are geared to delivering results in accordance with the Treasury Board's Policy on Learning, Training and Development (the Policy), which came into effect on January 1, 2006. The Policy highlights the value of learning, with particular emphasis on required training, and the importance of creating a learning culture within the Public Service.

The School supports deputy head accountabilities with respect to leadership and professional development across the Public Service by identifying organizational needs and designing and delivering high-quality and practical programs that address the key development needs of public service employees.

As a common service organization under the Treasury Board's Common Services Policy, the School's curriculum is designed to support public service accountabilities and to respond to leadership competencies and government priorities. As an optional service provider, the School continuously responds to the needs of the public service in the most efficient and effective manner possible.

The School is integral to Public Service Renewal, offering a broad suite of courses to incrementally advance the renewal agenda. It also supports the priorities of the Public Service Renewal's Excellence Agenda by supporting the renewal of the workforce and workplace.

Strategic Outcome and Program Activity Architecture (PAA)

The School has a single strategic outcome: "Public servants have the common knowledge and the leadership and management competencies they require to fulfill their responsibilities in serving Canadians." Four program activities support this strategic outcome:

  • Foundational Learning
  • Organizational Leadership Development
  • Public Sector Management Innovation
  • Internal Services

The chart below illustrates the Canada School of Public Service's complete framework of program activities, sub-activities and sub-sub-activities, which roll up and contribute to progress in achieving the strategic outcome.

Program Activity Architecture Diagram

[text version]

Organizational Priorities


Priority Type [1] Strategic Outcome(s) and/or Program Activity(ies)
Support to functional communities Ongoing Foundational Learning
Status [2]: Met All
  • Priorities were met in the delivery of training for functional communities and also through the engagement of priority functional communities (e.g. Finance, Procurement, Materiel Management and Real Property, Federal Regulators and Internal Audit, Communications, Human Resources and Information Management) in the development of formal training and informal learning interventions that meet their needs.
  • In 2010-2011, the School completed learning strategies and learning needs assessments for learning communities to strengthen the School's curriculum and respond to emerging learning needs.

Priority Type Strategic Outcome(s) and/or Program Activity(ies)
Implementation of the Leadership Development Framework (LDF) New Organizational Leadership Development
Status: Mostly Met
  • A broad range of leadership development opportunities were offered to public servants contributing to enhanced job performance and leadership capacity building across the Public Service of Canada.
  • Leadership development programs, courses and events were delivered to 3,136 learners representing 16,600 learning days.
  • In 2010-11, organizational leadership learning services which include leadership assessment services, coaching and change management advisory services were offered to 850 organizational clients.
  • In response to strategic review decisions, the School phased out its Career Assignment Program (CAP), Management Trainee Program (MTP) and Accelerated Executive Development Program (AEXDP), while simultaneously ensuring that the learner content of these programs was consolidated under the LDF for use by new leadership programs. This transition leads to increased efficiencies and greater focus of the School's leadership development programs and activities.
  • While resources continue to be limited, the School is reviewing its options to ensure that a full suite of leadership courses is offered in a cost efficient manner.

Priority Type Strategic Outcome(s) and/or Program Activity(ies)
Continued internal efforts to improve efficiency and effectiveness in operations Ongoing All Program Activities
Status: Exceeded
  • Compared to 2009-10, in 2010-11, the School reduced its actual spending from $138.2M to $128.6M, while increasing its revenues from supplied services from $70M to $71.7M and its registrations from 74,814 to 79,337.

Priority Type Strategic Outcome(s) and/or Program Activity(ies)
Continue to improve business processes Ongoing All Program Activities
Status: Exceeded
  • The School's 2010-11 Management Agenda was developed to ensure that the organization is delivering relevant, high quality learning products and services in a cost-effective manner, while demonstrating strong management practices. The launch of the 2010-11 Management Agenda was followed by a major reorganization of the School's operations, management and governance structures, for example, reducing the number of direct reports to the Deputy Minister from eight to four. The School also merged its program delivery activities under one branch. This reorganization allowed the School to begin securing efficiency gains while placing greater focus on the strengthening of the School's learning products and services.

Priority Type Strategic Outcome(s) and/or Program Activity(ies)
Implementation of Integrated Learning Management System (ILMS) New All Program Activities
Status: Met All
  • The School replaced four legacy systems with the implementation of the ILMS. The system is designed to increase the School's ability to operate efficiently and in a more cost-effective manner by integrating the registration, management and administration of learning into one platform. The ILMS also allows users to self-register for learning and training activities while providing access to the School's online learning courses and communities of practice forums.

Risk Analysis

The School's 2010-11 Management Agenda was developed to ensure that the School is delivering high quality, relevant learning products and services in a cost-effective manner, while demonstrating strong management practices. As a result, a number of strategic decisions were made, most notably, a new organizational structure that reduces the top executive layers of management allowing for future savings. The new structure consolidates the School's program delivery activities under one branch and allows for streamlined decision-making across the department.

In an effort to ensure that its products and services are meeting the needs of the public service, the School regularly reviews its curriculum. In 2010-11, the School undertook a comprehensive review of its curriculum which led to the retirement of courses that were performing below expectations. The review of the School's curriculum also fostered the development of new products and services that are more aligned to the needs of the public service.

In response to the Government of Canada's ongoing focus on reducing the current federal budgetary deficit and the continued absorption of funding reductions from the Horizontal Strategic Review Exercise, the School identified ways to be more efficient and effective while better aligning its programs with department and agency learning needs. The School further worked to mitigate the associated risks by focusing efforts on strengthening its curriculum and by using its human resources and technologies to deliver the highest quality learning and training products available. The School also made efforts to build effective partnerships with its key clients and stakeholders to ensure that it is properly positioned to address the learning needs of the Public Service.

The management of the School's information technology (IT) resources in support of its business applications continues to evolve. The concept of shared services is being embraced through clustering service agreements with other federal organizations (e.g. SAP through Health Canada, IT infrastructure through Public Works and Government Services Canada, PeopleSoft through the Treasury Board Secretariat, etc.). There are additional opportunities for the School to promote a collaborative learning environment, one that increasingly relies on emerging technology and is core to the long term growth of the organization. In an effort to mitigate the associated risks, the School has implemented an IT rationalization initiative that seeks efficiencies and prioritizes key investments in IT support services, such as, virtualization of the server environment and optimizing technologies used in classrooms. As well, during 2010-11, the School finalized the implementation of the ILMS which allowed for the integration of the registration, management and administration of learning and promotion of a collaborative learning environment.

The School addressed its human resources/workforce management challenges by focusing on talent management, both by encouraging the development of competencies and skills among existing employees and recruiting public service employees with the skills and competencies they require to deliver high quality services to Canadians. Factors which add complexity include the limited number of subject matter experts and candidates with course design and teaching expertise in addition to the intense competition among departments and agencies to attract functional experts in certain professional fields. To mitigate this risk, the School worked to promote the development of in-house expertise, reducing reliance on external contracted resources for program delivery. By securing in-house expertise on a permanent basis, the School was able to reduce its reliance on consultants while gaining efficiencies and building corporate expertise.

Summary of Performance

2010-11 Financial Resources ($ thousands) [3]


Planned Spending Total Authorities Actual Spending
112,691 153,357 128,634

2010-11 Human Resources (full-time equivalents (FTEs)


Planned Actual Difference
940 934 -6

Strategic Outcome: Public servants having the common knowledge and the leadership and management competencies they require to fulfil their responsibilities in serving Canadians.
Performance Indicators Targets 2010-11 Performance
Change in the level of participants' common knowledge due to training (Orientation, Authority Delegation Training) received at the School. The School will continue benchmarking in 2010-11 and will implement recommendations of the Formative Evaluation of Authority Delegation Training. Orientation to the Public Service will be evaluated in 2011-12. Respondents reported an increase in their perceived level of knowledge for both Orientation and Authority Delegation courses (4.09 post-course versus 3.10 pre-course based on a 5 point scale).

The School continued to work on implementing recommendations resulting from the Formative Evaluation on Authority Delegation Training, including: defining priority knowledge elements and improving the quality of knowledge assessments and related participation rates.
Percentage of participants who report their learning objectives were met through the School's leadership and management training received. 80% of respondents report learning objectives met. In 2010-11, 89% of respondents reported that their learning objectives were met through the training provided by the School.
Degree of satisfaction of participants with the School's training received. Learning activities receive an average rating of 4 on a 5 point scale on overall satisfaction. On average, participants reported a 4.21 level of satisfaction with assessed learning activities (classroom courses and events).

Program Activity 2009-10
Actual
Spending
($ thousands)
2010-11 [4] ($ thousands) Alignment to Government of Canada Outcomes
Main
Estimates
Planned
Spending
Total
Authorities
Actual
Spending
Foundational Learning 52,159 69,358 69,358 101,650 72,488 Well managed and efficient government operations
Organizational Leadership Development 14,179 13,724 13,724 19,133 17,993
Public Sector Management Innovation 8,253 11,647 11,647 11,124 10,468
Total 74,591 94,729 94,729 131,907 100,949

Program Activity 2009-10
Actual
Spending
($ thousands)
2010-11 ($ thousands)
Main
Estimates
Planned
Spending
Total
Authorities
Actual
Spending
Internal Services 63,679 17,962 17,962 21,450 27,685

The differences between actual spending and planned spending reflect the increase in the amount of revenue generated above the planned spending amount by the School.

Expenditure Profile ($ thousands)

Departmental Spending Trend Graph

[text version]

Revenue Earned ($ thousands)

Departmental Revenue Earned Graph

[text version]

Estimates by Vote

For information on our organizational votes and/or statutory expenditures, please see the 2010-11 Public Accounts of Canada (Volume II) publication. An electronic version of the Public Accounts is available on the Public Works and Government Services Canada website.

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

ARCHIVÉ - École de la fonction publique du Canada - Rapport

Avertissement Cette page a été archivée.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à  des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à  jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à  la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à  la page « Contactez-nous ».

Message du ministre

L'honorable Tony Clement

titre de ministre responsable de l'cole de la fonction publique du Canada (l' cole ), j'ai le plaisir de prsenter le Rapport ministriel sur le rendement de l'cole pour l'exercice 2010 2011. Le document complet est accessible www.myschool-monecole.gc.ca.

L'cole joue un rle prpondrant l'appui de la fonction publique en offrant, l'chelle du pays, des programmes d'apprentissage et de perfectionnement pertinents, abordables et de qualit qui appuient les priorits gouvernementales. Dans son plus rcent rapport au premier ministre, le greffier du Conseil priv a fait remarquer que nous entrions dans une nouvelle phase de l'volution de la fonction publique, et ce, en raison de plusieurs facteurs, notamment des changements dmographiques et du contexte oprationnel de plus en plus exigeant. Sur ce plan, l'cole contribue largement au renouvellement de la fonction publique et veille ce que les fonctionnaires aient accs des programmes d'apprentissage qui leur permettent d'acqurir les capacits et les comptences ncessaires pour servir la population canadienne.

Au cours de la dernire anne, l'cole a accompli d'importants progrs dans la mise en œuvre de son programme de gestion afin de consolider sa position titre d'tablissement d'apprentissage de choix des fonctionnaires. Ce programme sous-entendait notamment l'tablissement d'un modle d'affaires visant raliser des gains d'efficacit, la prise de mesures permettant de faire en sorte que le programme de cours de l'cole corresponde ses principaux secteurs d'activits et l'harmonisation des ressources humaines en consquence. Ces changements ont entran la rduction des cots, l'augmentation du nombre d'inscriptions et l'accroissement de la satisfaction de la clientle. En somme, l'cole a russi rpondre aux besoins de sa clientle et optimiser ses ressources.

Les employs professionnels et dvous de l'cole continueront de miser sur les progrs raliss qui sont dcrits dans le prsent rapport. Je suis pour ma part convaincu que l'cole, grce son programme efficient et bien gr, continuera rpondre aux besoins de la fonction publique dans l'avenir.

 

 

 

L'honorable Tony Clement
Prsident du Conseil du Trsor et ministre responsable de l'Initiative
fdrale de dveloppement conomique pour le Nord de l'Ontario



Section I : Survol de l'organisation

Raison d'tre

L'cole de la fonction publique du Canada (l' cole ) est le fournisseur de services d'apprentissage communs l'chelle de la fonction publique du Canada. Le mandat lgislatif de l'cole consiste fournir une gamme d'activits d'apprentissage pour renforcer la capacit individuelle et organisationnelle, et favoriser l'excellence de la gestion au sein de la fonction publique.

L'cole se trouve dans une position privilgie pour fournir des services d'apprentissage tous les employs de la fonction publique, de partout au pays et quel que soit leur chelon, ainsi qu'aux collectivits fonctionnelles et aux organisations publiques.

Responsabilits

L'cole a t cre le 1er avril 2004 en vertu de la Loi sur la modernisation de la fonction publique et elle est administre en vertu de la Loi sur l'cole de la fonction publique du Canada (la  Loi sur l'EFPC ). Sa principale responsabilit consiste offrir une vaste gamme d'occasions d'apprentissage et instaurer une culture d'apprentissage dans la fonction publique. Les activits de l'cole ont un effet direct sur les services fournis aux Canadiens, car elles favorisent le dveloppement des comptences des fonctionnaires et l'efficacit des organisations publiques.

titre d'tablissement public et en vertu de la Loi sur l'EFPC, l'cole :

  • encourage la fiert et l'excellence au sein de la fonction publique;
  • stimule un sens commun de la raison d'tre, des valeurs et des traditions de la fonction publique;
  • aide les administrateurs gnraux rpondre aux besoins d'apprentissage de leur organisation;
  • vise l'excellence dans la gestion et l'administration publiques.

Les priorits de programme de l'cole sont axes sur les rsultats en conformit avec la Politique en matire d'apprentissage, de formation et de perfectionnement (la  Politique ), du Conseil du Trsor, en vigueur depuis le 1er janvier 2006. La Politique porte sur la valeur de l'apprentissage, en particulier la formation indispensable et l'importance de crer une culture d'apprentissage dans la fonction publique.

L'cole aide les administrateurs gnraux remplir leurs obligations quant au perfectionnement en leadership et au perfectionnement professionnel en dterminant les besoins organisationnels, puis en concevant et en excutant des programmes pratiques d'excellente qualit qui rpondent aux principaux besoins des fonctionnaires.

titre d'organisme de services communs aux termes de la Politique sur les services communs, du Conseil du Trsor, l'cole conoit son programme de cours pour appuyer la responsabilisation de la fonction publique, les comptences en leadership et les priorits du gouvernement. En outre, en tant que fournisseur de services facultatifs, l'cole doit continuellement rpondre aux besoins de la fonction publique de la manire la plus efficiente et efficace possible.

L'cole joue un rle cl dans le renouvellement de la fonction publique, en proposant un large ventail de cours qui contribuent la ralisation graduelle du programme de renouvellement. Ses activits appuient les priorits du programme d'excellence du renouvellement de la fonction publique, car elles contribuent au renouvellement de l'effectif et du milieu de travail.

Rsultat stratgique et architecture des activits de programme

L'cole vise un seul rsultat stratgique :  Les fonctionnaires ont les connaissances communes et les comptences en leadership et en gestion dont ils ont besoin pour exercer leurs responsabilits envers les Canadiens . Quatre activits de programme contribuent l'atteinte de ce rsultat stratgique :

  • l'apprentissage de base,
  • le perfectionnement en leadership organisationnel,
  • l'innovation dans la gestion du secteur public,
  • les services internes.

Le tableau ci dessous prsente le cadre exhaustif des activits, des sous activits et des sous sous activits de programme de l'cole de la fonction publique du Canada, qui, ensemble, favorisent l'obtention du rsultat stratgique.

Architecture des activits de programme - Graphique

[version textuelle]

Priorits organisationnelles


Priorit Type [1] Rsultats stratgiques ou activits de programme
Appui aux collectivits fonctionnelles Continu Apprentissage de base
tat [2] : Entirement atteint
  • Les priorits ont t respectes en ce qui a trait la formation donne aux collectivits fonctionnelles, et aussi la participation des collectivits fonctionnelles prioritaires (Finances, Acquisitions, gestion du matriel et biens immobiliers, Rgulateurs fdraux et vrification interne, Communications, Ressources humaines et Gestion de l'information) l'laboration d'une formation officielle et d'interventions d'apprentissage informelles rpondant leurs besoins.
  • En 2010-2011, l'cole a effectu une valuation des besoins et des stratgies en matire d'apprentissage des collectivits fonctionnelles pour amliorer son programme de cours et rpondre aux nouveaux besoins en apprentissage.

Priorit Type Rsultats stratgiques ou activits de programme
Mise en œuvre du cadre de perfectionnement en leadership (CPL) Nouveau Perfectionnement en leadership organisationnel
tat : Atteint en grande partie
  • L'cole a offert aux fonctionnaires une vaste gamme d'activits de perfectionnement en leadership pour favoriser l'amlioration du rendement au travail et le renforcement des capacits en leadership l'chelle de la fonction publique du Canada.
  • Des activits, des cours et des programmes de perfectionnement en leadership ont t offerts 3 136 apprenants, pour un total de 16 600 jours d'apprentissage.
  • En 2010-2011, des services d'apprentissage en leadership organisationnel, y compris des services d'valuation du leadership, de coaching et de consultation en matire de gestion du changement, ont t offerts 850 clients organisationnels.
  • Pour donner suite aux dcisions dcoulant de l'examen stratgique, l'cole a supprim progressivement le programme Cours et affectations de perfectionnement, le Programme de stagiaires en gestion et le Programme de perfectionnement acclr des cadres suprieurs, tout en prenant soin d'intgrer leur contenu au CPL de faon ce qu'il puisse servir aux nouveaux programmes de leadership. Ce changement permet l'cole de raliser plus d'conomies et de cibler davantage les activits et les programmes de perfectionnement en leadership.
  • Comme les ressources sont toujours limites, l'cole examine les solutions qui s'offrent elle pour fournir toute une gamme de cours sur le leadership de faon rentable.

Priorit Type Rsultats stratgiques ou activits de programme
Efforts internes soutenus en vue d'amliorer l'efficacit des oprations Continu Toutes les activits de programme
tat : Dpass
  • Les dpenses annuelles de l'cole sont passes de 138,2 millions de dollars en 2009-2010 128,6 millions de dollars en 2010-2011 et ses revenus dcoulant des services offerts sont passs de 70 millions de dollars 71,7 millions de dollars. Le nombre d'inscriptions est quant lui pass de 74 814 79 337 inscriptions.

Priorit Type Rsultats stratgiques ou activits de programme
Continuer d'amliorer le processus oprationnel Continu Toutes les activits de programme
tat : Dpass
  • L'cole a prpar son programme de gestion 2010-2011 pour s'assurer de fournir de faon rentable des services et des produits d'apprentissage pertinents et de qualit suprieure, tout en adoptant des pratiques de gestion efficaces. L'instauration du programme de gestion 2010-2011 a t suivie d'une importante rorganisation des structures de gouvernance, de gestion et des oprations consistant par exemple en une rduction du nombre d'employs relevant directement du sous ministre, nombre qui est pass de huit quatre. De plus, l'cole a unifi ses activits d'excution de programmes en une seule direction gnrale. Par consquent, l'cole a commenc raliser des gains d'efficacit tout en mettant l'accent sur l'amlioration de ses services et de ses produits d'apprentissage.

Priorit Type Rsultats stratgiques ou activits de programme
Mise en œuvre du Systme harmonis de gestion de l'apprentissage (SHGA) Nouveau Toutes les activits de programme
tat : Entirement atteint
  • L'cole a remplac quatre anciens systmes par le SHGA. Celui-ci est conu pour accrotre la capacit de l'cole de mener ses activits de faon plus efficiente et rentable, en regroupant en une seule plate forme les fonctions d'inscription ainsi que de gestion et d'administration de l'apprentissage. Le SHGA permet aussi aux utilisateurs de s'inscrire eux mmes des activits d'apprentissage et de formation, et d'accder des cours en ligne et des forums de communauts de pratique.

Analyse des risques

L'cole a prpar son programme de gestion 2010-2011 pour s'assurer de fournir de faon rentable des services et des produits d'apprentissage pertinents et de qualit suprieure, tout en adoptant des pratiques de gestion efficaces. Elle a donc pris plusieurs dcisions stratgiques, notamment en ce qui concerne l'instauration d'une nouvelle structure organisationnelle qui comprend un nombre rduit de hauts dirigeants, permettant ainsi la ralisation d'conomies dans le futur. De plus, les activits d'excution de programmes ont t runies en une seule direction gnrale, de faon simplifier le processus dcisionnel l'chelle de l'organisation.

En outre, afin de s'assurer que ses produits et ses services rpondent aux besoins de la fonction publique, l'cole revoit rgulirement son programme de cours. En 2010-2011, l'examen exhaustif qu'elle a effectu a entran le retrait des cours qui ne rpondaient plus aux attentes. En revanche, de nouveaux produits et services ont vu le jour, lesquels rpondent mieux aux besoins de la fonction publique.

Afin de soutenir la priorit actuelle du gouvernement du Canada visant rduire le dficit budgtaire et d'absorber les rductions de financement dcoulant de l'examen stratgique horizontal, l'cole a trouv des faons d'accrotre son efficience et son efficacit tout en s'assurant que ses programmes rpondent mieux aux besoins en apprentissage des ministres et organismes. L'cole s'est efforce d'attnuer les risques connexes en amliorant son programme de cours et en tirant parti de ses ressources humaines et technologiques pour fournir des produits de formation et d'apprentissage hors pair. Elle a galement entrepris d'tablir des partenariats efficaces avec des clients et des intervenants cls pour s'assurer d'tre en mesure de rpondre aux besoins en apprentissage de la fonction publique.

Par ailleurs, l'cole a continu de grer ses ressources en matire de technologie de l'information (TI) pour soutenir ses applications oprationnelles. En effet, elle a conclu des accords de services partags avec d'autres organisations fdrales (par exemple, le SAP avec Sant Canada, l'infrastructure de TI avec Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada et PeopleSoft avec le Secrtariat du Conseil du Trsor). D'autres activits permettent l'cole de promouvoir un environnement d'apprentissage collaboratif qui repose davantage sur les nouvelles technologies et qui est au cœur de la croissance de l'organisation long terme. Dans le but d'attnuer les risques connexes, l'cole a lanc une initiative de rationalisation de la TI visant raliser des conomies et donner la priorit aux investissements cls dans les services de soutien de la TI, comme la virtualisation de l'environnement de serveurs et l'utilisation optimale des technologies utilises en salle de classe. Enfin, l'cole a termin en 2010-2011 la mise en œuvre du SHGA, lequel permet d'effectuer les inscriptions et d'assurer la gestion et l'administration de l'apprentissage, et favorise la cration d'un environnement d'apprentissage collaboratif.

En dernier lieu, l'cole a relev les dfis associs la gestion de l'effectif/ressources humaines en mettant l'accent sur la gestion des talents. cette fin, elle a favoris le dveloppement des comptences des employs en poste et embauch des fonctionnaires possdant les capacits ncessaires la prestation de services de qualit suprieure la population canadienne. Parmi les facteurs qui ont compliqu sa dmarche, il y a tout d'abord le nombre limit de candidats qui prsentent un savoir faire en conception de cours et en enseignement, ainsi que de spcialistes en la matire. cela s'ajoute la comptition froce que les ministres et organismes se livrent pour attirer des spcialistes fonctionnels de certains domaines professionnels. Pour attnuer ce risque, l'cole a favoris le dveloppement de savoir faire l'interne, de manire diminuer le recours des ressources externes contractuelles pour l'excution de ses programmes. Cette mesure lui a donc non seulement permis de rduire sa dpendance l'gard des consultants, mais aussi de raliser des conomies et de renforcer l'expertise organisationnelle.

Sommaire du rendement

Ressources financires pour 2010-2011 (en milliers de dollars) [3]


Dpenses prvues Total des autorisations Dpenses relles
112 691 153 357 128 634

Ressources humaines pour 2010-2011 (quivalents temps plein - ETP)


Ressources prvues Ressources relles cart
940 934 -6

Rsultat stratgique : Les fonctionnaires ont les connaissances communes et les comptences en leadership et en gestion dont ils ont besoin pour exercer leurs responsabilits envers les Canadiens.
Indicateurs de rendement Objectifs Rendement en 2010-2011
Changement du niveau de connaissance commune des participants grce la formation reue (orientation et formation sur la dlgation des pouvoirs) l'cole de la fonction publique du Canada. L'cole de la fonction publique du Canada poursuivra ses analyses comparatives en 2010-2011 et mettra en œuvre les recommandations de l'valuation formative de la formation sur la dlgation des pouvoirs. Le programme d'Orientation la fonction publique sera value en 2011-2012. Les rpondants ont indiqu une augmentation du niveau de connaissances peru, tant pour ce qui est du programme d'Orientation que de la formation sur la dlgation des pouvoirs (4,09 points sur 5 aprs le cours par rapport 3,10 avant le cours).

L'cole a continu de donner suite aux recommandations dcoulant de l'valuation formative des Cours de formation sur la dlgation des pouvoirs. Pour ce faire, elle a notamment cern les lments de connaissances prioritaires et augment la qualit des valuations des connaissances et les taux de participation connexes.
Pourcentage de participants qui affirment que leurs objectifs d'apprentissage ont t atteints grce la formation en leadership et en gestion offerte par l'cole de la fonction publique du Canada. 80 % des rpondants affirment que leurs objectifs d'apprentissage ont t atteints. En 2010-2011, 89 % des rpondants ont affirm que leurs objectifs d'apprentissage ont t atteints grce la formation offerte par l'cole.
Degr de satisfaction des participants concernant la formation offerte par l'cole de la fonction publique du Canada. Les activits d'apprentissage reoivent une note de 4 sur une chelle de 5 points sur le plan de la satisfaction gnrale. En moyenne, les participants ont donn une note de 4,21 quant leur satisfaction l'gard des activits d'apprentissage values (activits et cours en classe).

Activit de programme Dpenses relles en 2009-2010 (en milliers de dollars) 2010-2011 [4] (en milliers de dollars) Concordance avec les rsultats du gouvernement du Canada
Budget principal des dpenses Dpenses prvues Total des autorisations Dpenses relles
Apprentissage de base 52 159 69 358 69 358 101 650 72 488 Des activits gouvernementales bien gres et efficaces
Perfectionnement en leadership organisationnel 14 179 13 724 13 724 19 133 17 993
Innovation dans la gestion du secteur public 8 253 11 647 11 647 11 124 10 468
Total 74 591 94 729 94 729 131 907 100 949

Activit de programme Dpenses relles en 2009-2010 (en milliers de dollars) 2010-2011 (en milliers de dollars)
Budget principal des dpenses Dpenses prvues Total des autorisations Dpenses relles
Services internes 63 679 17 962 17 962 21 450 27 685

L'cart entre les dpenses relles et les dpenses prvues s'explique du fait que les revenus gnrs ont dpass les dpenses prvues pour l'cole.

Profil des dpenses (en milliers de dollars)

Profil des dpenses graphique

[version textuelle]

Revenus gnrs (en milliers de dollars)

Revenus gnrs graphique

[version textuelle]

Budget principal des dpenses par crdit vot

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur nos crdits organisationnels ou nos dpenses lgislatives, veuillez consulter les Comptes publics du Canada 2010-2011 (Volume II). Une version lectronique se trouve sur le site Web de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada.