Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Symbol of the Government of Canada

ARCHIVED - Public Service Staffing Tribunal


Warning This page has been archived.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Section II: Analysis of Program Activities by Strategic Outcome

Fair and impartial resolution of disputes related to internal appointments and lay-offs in the Government of Canada

The Tribunals Strategic Outcome is derived directly from the mandate conferred upon it by the Public Service Employment Act (PSEA). Subsection 88(2) of the Act reads as follows:

The mandate of the Tribunal is to consider and dispose of complaints made under subsection 65(1) and sections 74, 77 and 83.

Sections 65, 74, 77 and 83 of the PSEA refer to lay-offs, the revocation of an appointment, internal appointments and the failure of corrective measures respectively.

In considering whether a complaint against an internal appointment or lay-off is founded, the Tribunal may interpret and apply the Canadian Human Rights Act (CHRA).

The CHRA also permits the Tribunal to provide mediation services at any stage of its proceeding in order to resolve a complaint.

By providing neutral, third party recourse for staffing complaints within the federal public service, the Tribunal helps to ensure that Canada and Canadians are served by a highly competent and professional public service based on merit and non-partisanship.

Program Activity by Strategic Outcome



Program Activity: Adjudication and mediation of complaints filed under the Public Service Employment Act
2008-2009 Financial Resources
($ thousands)
2008-2009 Human Resources
(FTEs)
Planned
Spending
Total
Authorities
Actual
Spending
Planned Actual Difference
4,968 5,489 4,810 35 34 1


Expected
Results
Performance
Indicators
Targets Performance
Status
Performance
Summary
Tribunal decisions are timely, sound and well reasoned

Percentage of decisions where reasons are issued within two months of hearing

80% Not met An increase in the number of complaints received by the Tribunal and a decrease in the number of members available to render decisions resulted in the Tribunals inability to meet its target for decisions where an oral hearing is held.

Percentage of Tribunal decisions upheld on judicial review

95% Met None of the Tribunals decisions was quashed by the Federal Court.
Optimal utilization of Tribunals dispute resolution services by parties

Percentage of mediations resulting in withdrawal of complaint

70% Exceeded Of the 175 mediation sessions held in 2008-2009, 158 resulted in a withdrawal of the complaints. This represents a 90% settlement rate.
Outputs Performance
Indicators
Targets Performance
Status
Performance
Summary
Complaints processed

Percentage of case files closed within 270 days

80% Exceeded Of all of the 727 files closed during the fiscal year, 99% were closed within 270 days following the receipt of the complaint.

Number of complaints processed per year

As required A total of 1,214 complaint files were processed during the year: 393 files were carried over from the previous year and 821 new complaints were submitted The number of complaints continue to increase each year. In 2007-2008, there were 742 new complaints. The number of new cases this year 821 - represents a 10% increase in the number of complaints filed in the previous year.
Mediation sessions conducted

Number of mediations held per year

140 Exceeded With a full complement of staff mediators and four part-time members available to provide mediation services, 175 mediation sessions were held during the year.
Mediation training courses delivered

Number of mediation training courses for stakeholders given per year

6 Met The Tribunal is able to meet the training needs of its stakeholders by providing the Interest-based Negotiation and Mediation course six times a year.

Program Activity: Adjudication and mediation of complaints filed under the Public Service Employment Act

Benefits for Canadians

The PSEA was intended to modernize staffing in the public service by providing independent recourse for complaints related to internal appointments and lay-offs and also increase the availability and effectiveness of mediation in resolving complaints.

The Tribunal contributes to the Government of Canadas Government Affairs Outcome. Through its efforts to both providing transparent, impartial and sound decisions to its stakeholders, and helping the parties resolve complaints without a hearing, the Tribunal contributes to the effective human resources management in the public service and the protection of the integrity of the appointment process. In this way, the Tribunal provides support to a public service based on merit and capable of delivering services of the highest quality to Canadians.

Performance Analysis

Expected Results

1. Tribunal decisions are timely, sound and well reasoned.

The Tribunals main objective is to render high quality decisions with respect to complaints filed under the PSEA within a reasonable time frame. An important measure of the quality of decisions is the number of applications for judicial review regarding Tribunal decisions and, of those, the number dismissed.

The indicators and targets for measuring the quality and time involved in rendering decisions are as follows:


Indicator Target
Percentage of decisions where reasons are issued within two months of hearing 80%

The Tribunal fell short of its target with respect to the time it takes to issue the Reasons for Decision after a hearing. This is due to three main factors: the complexity of precedent-setting decisions issued, the increase in the number of complaints and the limited number of members available to conduct hearings and write decisions, both Reasons for Decision and letter decisions. The Tribunal entered the year with five permanent members whose main responsibility was to render decisions; however, by the end of the fiscal year, only two permanent members remained. Although two temporary members had begun to hold hearings by the end of the year, the remaining two permanent members were responsible for issuing all 166 letter decisions. This responsibility combined with the increasing number of complaints submitted to the Tribunal and the limited number of members to conduct hearings resulted in an increase in the time that it took the Tribunal to issue its decisions.


Indicator Target
Percentage of Tribunal decisions upheld on judicial review 95%

Out of 210 final decisions issued in 2008-2009, only four were referred to the Federal Court for judicial review. The Federal Court rendered one decision during the same period; the application for judicial review was dismissed in this particular case. The Tribunal met its target, therefore, in that no applications for judicial review were upheld in 2008-2009.

2. Optimal utilization of Tribunals dispute resolution services by parties

In keeping with the spirit and intent of the Public Service Modernization Act, the Tribunal strives to assist the parties resolve complaints without having to proceed to an oral hearing.

The indicators and targets for measuring the quality and time involved in rendering decisions are as follows:


Indicator Target
Percentage of mediations resulting in withdrawal 70%

Parties made effective use of the Tribunals mediation services during 2008-2009 in that the Tribunals target was exceeded by a full 20%. One hundred seventy-five (175) mediation sessions were held during the year and, of these, 158 resulted in a withdrawal of the complaint. This represents a 90% settlement rate.

Outputs

1. Complaints processed

As noted in the summary table, the number of complaints filed with the Tribunal continues to rise each year. Procedures and policies have been put in place to enable the Tribunal to process complaints in a timely manner for example, pre-hearing conferences, paper hearings and mediation. In addition, the Tribunals case management system continues to be assessed and improved where possible.

2. Mediation sessions conducted

Under the PSEA, the Tribunal may provide mediation services at any stage of a proceeding in order to resolve a complaint. Accordingly, the Tribunal has placed considerable emphasis upon mediation and achieved a high rate of success. During the year, a full complement consisting of four staff mediators and four part-time members was available to provide mediation services.

3. Mediation training courses delivered

The Tribunal has offered mediation training since early 2006. As a result of the continuing interest in and demand for mediation training in the staffing context, the Tribunal is committed to offering its Interest-based Negotiation and Mediation training six times a year in order to meet the needs of its stakeholders.

Lessons Learned

Outreach

The Tribunals Interest-Based Negotiation and Mediation (IBNM) training along with general information sessions about the Tribunal, the complaint process and mediation services, and the information provided on the Tribunals website have been key factors in the success of the Tribunals dispute resolution services.

The IBNM training is delivered six times a year and general information sessions about the Tribunal are given upon request throughout the year. Between April 2008 and March 2009, a total of 17 information sessions were delivered across Canada: nine sessions were delivered in Ontario (Ottawa, Toronto), five in Quebec (Montreal, Gatineau), and three others were delivered in Alberta (Banff), Manitoba (Gimli) and British Columbia (Victoria).

In addition, the Tribunals website provides a great deal of information about the Tribunals processes, including mediation and the decisions rendered by the Tribunal. Assistance to the parties is provided during the course of the complaint process by Tribunal staff to provide clarification on policies and procedures of the Tribunal.

In light of the success of the Tribunals dispute resolution services, the Tribunal will continue to ensure that its stakeholders continue to receive timely and relevant information regarding Tribunal decisions, policies and procedures through its communications products and tools, training program and consultation with its stakeholders.

Judicial Review of Tribunal Decisions

The very small number of judicial review applications in 2008-2009 demonstrates that the Tribunal continues to issue well-reasoned and comprehensive decisions. The fact that no decision was quashed is a strong indicator that the Tribunal is fulfilling its mandate, while ensuring the right to be heard.

Given that the PSEA is still a relatively new piece of legislation, the Tribunal expects more Federal Court challenges, both to its jurisdiction and its decisions. The Tribunal will continue to strive to balance the need to consider and dispose of complaints as informally and expeditiously as possible with its duty to act fairly as a quasi-judicial administrative body.

Timeliness of Tribunal Decisions

A number of factors have an impact upon the time it takes to issue a decision following a hearing by a Tribunal member. These include: the number of complaints received by the Tribunal; the number of members available to conduct hearings and write decisions; the complexity of the case; the possibility of establishing a precedent; and the appointment process for Tribunal members. The Tribunal has no control over any of these factors and can only affect the length of the process by ensuring that appropriate internal mechanisms for producing and reviewing a decision within a reasonable time frame are in place. For this reason, the Tribunal continually monitors its internal processes and makes any adjustments deemed necessary.

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

ARCHIVÉ - Tribunal de la dotation de la fonction publique

Avertissement Cette page a été archivée.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à  des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à  jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à  la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à  la page « Contactez-nous ».

Section II : Analyse des activits de programme par rsultat stratgique

Rsolution juste et impartiale des conflits relatifs aux nominations internes et aux mises en disponibilit au sein du gouvernement du Canada

Le rsultat stratgique du Tribunal dcoule directement de la mission qui lui a t confie aux termes de la LEFP. Le paragraphe 88(2) de la Loi prvoit ce qui suit :

Le Tribunal a pour mission dinstruire les plaintes prsentes en vertu du paragraphe 65(1) ou des articles 74, 77 ou 83 et de statuer sur elles.

Les articles 65, 74, 77 et 83 de la LEFP portent respectivement sur les mises en disponibilit, la rvocation dune nomination, les nominations internes et lchec des mesures correctives.

Lorsquil dcide du bien fond dune plainte se rapportant une nomination interne ou une mise en disponibilit, le Tribunal peut interprter et appliquer la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne (LCDP).

La LEFP permet en outre au Tribunal doffrir des services de mdiation nimporte quelle tape de la procdure dans le but de rgler une plainte.

En fournissant un recours neutre et indpendant aux fins du rglement des plaintes en matire de dotation au sein de la fonction publique fdrale, le Tribunal contribue faire en sorte que le Canada et les Canadiens soient servis par une fonction publique hautement comptente et professionnelle nomme en fonction du mrite et en toute impartialit.

Activit de programme par rsultat stratgique



Activit de programme : Arbitrage et mdiation des plaintes dposes aux termes de la Loi sur lemploi dans la fonction publique
Ressources financires 2008-2009
(en milliers de dollars)
Ressources humaines 2008-2009
(ETP)
Dpenses
prvues
Autorisations totales Dpenses relles Prvus Rels cart
4 968 5 489 4 810 35 34 1


Rsultats escompts Indicateurs de rendement Cibles tat du
rendement
Rsum du rendement
Les dcisions du Tribunal sont opportunes, judicieuses et bien tayes Pourcentage de dcisions dont les motifs sont rendus dans les deux mois suivant laudience 80 % Non atteint Une augmentation du nombre de plaintes reues par le Tribunal et une diminution du nombre de membres disponibles pour rendre des dcisions ont empch le Tribunal datteindre sa cible en ce qui a trait aux dcisions faisant suite une audience.
Pourcentage de dcisions du Tribunal confirmes aprs rvision judiciaire 95 % Atteint Aucune dcision du Tribunal na encore t annule par la Cour fdrale.
Utilisation optimale des services de rsolution de conflits du Tribunal par les parties Pourcentage de mdiations qui se sont soldes par le retrait de la plainte 70 % Dpass Sur les 175 sances de mdiation tenues en 2008 2009, 158 ont abouti au retrait de la plainte, soit un taux de rglement de 90 %.
Extrants Indicateurs de rendement Cibles tat du
rendement
Rsum du rendement
Plaintes traites Pourcentage de dossiers rgls dans les 270 jours 80 % Dpass Des 727 dossiers rgls au cours de lexercice, 99 % lont t dans les 270 jours suivant la rception de la plainte.
Nombre de plaintes traites par an Selon le besoin Un total de 1 214 dossiers de plainte ont t traits durant lanne : 393 reports de lanne prcdente et 821 nouvelles plaintes. Le nombre des plaintes continue daugmenter chaque anne. En 2007 2008, il y a eu 742 nouvelles plaintes. Le nombre de nouvelles affaires cette anne 821 reprsente une hausse de 10 % du nombre de plaintes prsentes par rapport lanne prcdente.
Sances de mdiation tenues Nombre de sances de mdiation tenues par an 140 Dpass Un effectif complet de mdiateurs et quatre membres vacataires disponibles pour offrir des services de mdiation ont permis la tenue de 175 sances de mdiation pendant lanne.
Cours de formation en mdiation dispenss Nombre de cours de formation en mdiation donns au profit des intervenants par an 6 Atteint Le Tribunal est en mesure de rpondre aux besoins en matire de formation de ses intervenants en offrant la Formation en ngociation raisonne et en mdiation six fois lan.

Activit de programme

Arbitrage et mdiation des plaintes dposes en vertu de la Loi sur lemploi dans la fonction publique
Avantages pour les Canadiens

La LEFP avait pour but de moderniser la dotation dans la fonction publique en offrant un recours indpendant pour les plaintes lies aux nominations internes et aux mises en disponibilit, ainsi que daccrotre laccessibilit et lefficacit des services de mdiation dans le rglement des plaintes.

Le Tribunal participe latteinte des rsultats stratgiques des affaires gouvernementales du gouvernement du Canada. Grce ses dcisions transparentes, impartiales et judicieuses pour ses intervenants ainsi qu laide quil apporte aux parties en vue de rgler les plaintes sans audience formelle, le Tribunal contribue la fois grer efficacement les ressources humaines dans la fonction publique et protger lintgrit du processus de nomination. Ce faisant, le Tribunal soutient lexistence dune fonction publique fonde sur le mrite et en mesure doffrir aux Canadiens des services de qualit suprieure.

Analyse du rendement

Rsultats escompts

1. Les dcisions du Tribunal sont opportunes, judicieuses et bien tayes.

Le Tribunal vise principalement rendre des dcisions de qualit suprieure et dans un dlai raisonnable relativement aux plaintes prsentes en vertu de la LEFP. La qualit des dcisions se mesure par le nombre de demandes de rvision judiciaire visant des dcisions du Tribunal et le nombre de dboutements.

Voici les indicateurs et les cibles permettant de mesurer la qualit des dcisions et le temps ncessaire pour rendre celles ci :


Indicator Target
Pourcentage de dcisions dont les motifs sont rendus dans les deux mois 80 % suivant laudience 80 %

Le Tribunal na pas atteint sa cible pour ce qui est du temps ncessaire pour publier les Motifs de dcision la suite dune audience. Cet insuccs est d trois facteurs principaux : la complexit des dcisions rendues et le fait que celles-ci creront des prcdents, laugmentation du nombre de plaintes, et le nombre relativement restreint de membres du Tribunal en place pour prsider les audiences et rdiger les Motifs de dcision et les lettres de dcision. Le Tribunal a commenc lanne avec cinq membres titulaires dont la responsabilit principale consistait rendre des dcisions; or, la fin de lexercice, il ne restait que deux membres titulaires en place. Bien que deux membres vacataires aient commenc prsider des audiences en fin danne, les deux membres titulaires toujours en poste ont rdig 166 lettres de dcision. Combine au nombre accru de plaintes prsentes au Tribunal et au nombre restreint de membres en mesure de prsider des audiences, cette tche a entran une augmentation du temps ncessaire au Tribunal pour publier ses dcisions.


Indicator Target
Pourcentage de dcisions du Tribunal confirmes aprs rvision judiciaire 95 %

Parmi les 210 dcisions dfinitives rendues en 2008 2009, quatre seulement ont fait lobjet dune demande de rvision judiciaire devant la Cour fdrale. Durant la mme priode, la Cour fdrale a rendu une dcision, dans lequel cas la demande de rvision judiciaire a t rejete. Le Tribunal a donc atteint sa cible puisque aucune demande de rvision judiciaire na t accueillie en 2008 2009.

2. Utilisation optimale des services de rsolution de conflits du Tribunal par les parties

Conformment lesprit et au sens de la Loi sur la modernisation de la fonction publique, le Tribunal vise aider les parties rsoudre les plaintes autrement que par une audience

Les indicateurs et les cibles permettant de mesurer la qualit des dcisions et le temps ncessaire pour rendre celles ci sont les suivants :


Indicator Target
Pourcentage de mdiations qui se sont soldes par le retrait de la plainte 70 %

Les parties ont fait un usage efficace des services de mdiation du Tribunal en 2008 2009 puisque la cible du Tribunal a t dpasse de 20 %. Cent soixante quinze (175) sances de mdiation ont t tenues au cours de lanne, et 158 dentre elles ont abouti au retrait de la plainte. Ces chiffres reprsentent un taux de rglement de 90 %.

Extrants

1. Plaintes traites

Comme lindique le tableau sommaire, le nombre de plaintes dont est saisi le Tribunal continue daugmenter chaque anne. Des procdures et des politiques ont t mises en place afin de permettre au Tribunal de traiter les plaintes en temps utile, notamment des confrences prparatoires et des instructions sur dossier et la mdiation. De plus, le systme de gestion des cas du Tribunal continue dtre valu et amlior dans la mesure du possible.

2. Sances de mdiation tenues

Aux termes de la LEFP, le Tribunal peut, en tout tat de cause, offrir des services de mdiation en vue de rgler une plainte . Ainsi, le Tribunal accorde une importance considrable la mdiation, et le taux de russite de celle-ci est lev. Au cours de lanne, un effectif complet form de quatre mdiateurs en matire de personnel et de quatre membres vacataires tait disponible pour offrir des services de mdiation.

3. Cours de formation en mdiation donns

Le Tribunal offre une formation en mdiation depuis le dbut de 2006. Compte tenu de lintrt constant et de la demande en matire de mdiation dans le contexte de la dotation, le Tribunal sest engag offrir la Formation en ngociation raisonne et en mdiation afin de rpondre aux besoins de ses intervenants au rythme de six fois lan.

Leons retenues

Rayonnement

La Formation en ngociation raisonne et en mdiation donne par le Tribunal, les sances dinformation gnral sur le Tribunal, le processus de dpt dune plainte et les services de mdiation ainsi que les renseignements publis sur le site Web du Tribunal ont t des facteurs cls de la russite des services de rsolution de conflits du Tribunal.

La Formation en ngociation raisonne et en mdiation est offerte six fois par anne, et des sances de renseignements gnraux concernant le Tribunal sont offertes selon la demande durant toute lanne. Entre avril 2008 et mars 2009, un total de 17 sances dinformation ont t prsentes dans tout le Canada, savoir neuf en Ontario (Ottawa, Toronto), cinq au Qubec (Montral, Gatineau) et trois autres en Alberta (Banff), au Manitoba (Gimli) et en Colombie Britannique (Victoria).

De plus, le site Web du Tribunal prsente une somme considrable de renseignements concernant les processus du Tribunal, y compris la mdiation et les dcisions rendues par le Tribunal. Le personnel du Tribunal aide les parties tout au long du processus relatif aux plaintes en leur fournissant des prcisions sur les politiques et les procdures de ce dernier.

Compte tenu du succs des services de rsolution de conflits du Tribunal, celui ci continuera sassurer que ses intervenants reoivent toujours une information pertinente et en temps voulu en ce qui concerne les dcisions, les politiques et les procdures du Tribunal, et ce, grce ses produits et ses outils de communication, son programme de formation et la consultation auprs de ses intervenants.

Rvision judiciaire des dcisions du Tribunal

Le nombre trs restreint de demandes de rvision judiciaire en 2008 2009 dmontre que le Tribunal continue de publier des dcisions bien tayes et compltes. Le fait quaucune dcision nait t casse indique que le Tribunal remplit sa mission tout en assurant le droit dtre entendu.

La LEFP tant une loi relativement rcente, le Tribunal sattend plus dopposition en Cour fdrale, au regard tant de sa comptence que de ses dcisions. Le Tribunal continuera de chercher quilibrer le besoin dinstruire les plaintes et de statuer sur celles ci de faon aussi informelle et expditive que possible tout en assumant le devoir dagir quitablement qui lui incombe en qualit dentit quasi judiciaire.

La rapidit des dcisions du Tribunal

Un certain nombre de facteurs ont une incidence sur le temps quil faut aux membres du Tribunal pour publier une dcision la suite dune audience. Parmi ceux ci, mentionnons le nombre de plaintes reues par le Tribunal, le nombre de membres disponibles pour prsider des audiences et rdiger des dcisions, la complexit de laffaire, la possibilit dtablir un prcdent et le processus de nomination des membres du Tribunal. Le Tribunal ne contrle pas ces facteurs et ne peut influencer la dure du processus quen veillant la mise en place de mcanismes internes permettant la production et la rvision des dcisions dans un dlai raisonnable. Pour cette raison, le Tribunal surveille continuellement ses processus internes et apporte toute modification juge ncessaire.