Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Symbol of the Government of Canada

ARCHIVED - Public Service Staffing Tribunal


Warning This page has been archived.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Chairpersons Message

The Honourable Guy Gigure

One of my main objectives, as Chair of the Public Service Staffing Tribunal (PSST), has been to ensure that the parties to a complaint before the PSST are offered several opportunities to resolve their differences before proceeding to an oral hearing.

This approach is in keeping with the spirit and intent of the Public Service Employment Act (PSEA) to promote effective dialogue which is the basis of most, if not all, successful alternative dispute methods. Throughout my experience as an adjudicator and mediator, I have found that a solution arrived at by the parties involved in a dispute is always preferable to one imposed by a third party.

Communication and sustained dialogue between employees and managers will ultimately build effective labour relations and thus strengthen the ability of the public service to serve the Canadian public. In this context, I believe that the PSST has contributed to a modern public service by helping the parties to a complaint come to a resolution of the complaint without an oral hearing.

Statistics for the year 2008-2009 bear this out. During the year, the Tribunal dealt with a total of 1,214 case files 821 new complaints were received, while 393 were carried over from the previous year. In cases where the Tribunal lacked jurisdiction to consider a complaint, a complaint was untimely or a formal hearing was not required, the Tribunal was able to proceed quickly on the basis of written submissions from the parties. The Tribunal issued 166 final decisions in such cases.

The vast majority of the remaining cases were resolved at various other steps in the process for example, during the exchange of information or after a pre-hearing conference. Only 34 cases proceeded to an oral hearing and thus to Reasons for Decision by the Tribunal.

It is my sincere hope that parties to a complaint before the Tribunal will continue to take advantage of the numerous opportunities provided to them both within their own organizations and during the Tribunals complaint process in order to resolve their differences themselves, thereby helping to improve labour relations and ensure that Canadas public service embodies fair, transparent employment practices, respect for employees and effective dialogue.

Guy Gigure
Chairperson and Chief Executive Officer



Section I: Departmental Overview

Raison dtre

The Public Service Staffing Tribunal is an independent, quasi-judicial body established under the Public Service Employment Act (PSEA) to deal with complaints related to internal appointments and lay-offs in the federal public service. The Tribunal conducts hearings and provides mediation services in order to resolve complaints.

Responsibilities

The Public Service Staffing Tribunal was established with the coming-into-force of the new PSEA on December 31, 2005 as part of the new arrangements for staffing recourse. The legislative mandate of the Tribunal is to consider and dispose of complaints dealing with lay-offs, revocation of appointments, internal appointments and the failure of corrective action. Under the Act, the Tribunal is also authorized to provide mediation services at any stage of a proceeding in order to resolve a complaint.



Strategic Outcome and Program Activity Architecture (PAA)

Strategic Outcome

Fair and impartial resolution of disputes related to internal appointments and lay-offs in the Government of Canada

Program Activity

Adjudication and mediation of complaints under the Public Service Employment Act

Expected Results

  • Tribunal decisions are timely, sound and well reasoned
  • Optimal utilization of Tribunals dispute resolution services by parties

Outputs

  • Complaints processed
  • Mediation sessions conducted
  • Mediation training courses delivered

Summary of Performance

The Tribunals financial resources had a direct impact on its ability to achieve its Strategic Outcome and deliver its activities. The following sections highlight the Tribunals performance and demonstrate linkages between resources and results.

At the outset of the 2008-2009 fiscal year, the Tribunals planned spending was $5.0 million. Through Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates, the Tribunal was allocated total authorities of $5.5 million and its actual spending was $4.8 million. This increase in authorities came from funding for the operating budget carry-forward and for wage increases.



2008-2009 Financial Resources ($ thousands)
Planned Spending Total Authorities Actual Spending
4,968 5,489 4,810



2008-2009 Human Resources (FTEs)
Planned Actual Difference
35 34 1

Performance Summary



Strategic Outcome 1: Fair and impartial resolution of disputes related to internal appointments and lay-offs in the Government of Canada
Performance Indicators Targets 2008-2009 Performance
Percentage of complaints referred to judicial review on the grounds that the Tribunal failed to observe a principle of natural justice, procedural fairness or other procedure 3% The Tribunal exceeded its target in 2008-2009 as 1.4% of the decisions issued by the Tribunal in 2008-2009 were referred to judicial review. Of the 210 final decisions (44 with Reasons for Decision and 166 letter decisions) issued, three applications to the Federal Court for judicial review were made on the grounds that the Tribunal failed to observe a principle of natural justice, procedural fairness or other procedure.


 
Program Activity 2007-2008
Actual
Spending
($ thousands)
2008-2009 Alignment to Government of Canada Outcomes
Main
Estimates
($ thousands)
Planned
Spending
($ thousands)
Total
Authorities
($ thousands)
Actual
Spending
($ thousands)
Adjudication and mediation of complaints filed under the Public Service Employment Act 4,304 4,968 4,968 5,489 4,810 The PSST contributes to the achievement of the Government of Canadas Government Affairs Outcome by supporting an effective human resources management and a highly effective and competent public service.
Total 4,304 4,968 4,968 5,489 4,810  

Contribution of Priorities to Strategic Outcome

Given its very specific mandate, the Tribunals two main operational priorities are directly related to both its Strategic Outcome and Program Activity.


Operational Priorities Type Status Links to Strategic Outcome
1. Consider and dispose of complaints Ongoing

Exceeded expectations

Out of a total of 1,214 complaints processed during the year, only 210 final decisions (including both Reasons for Decision and letter decisions) were issued. Of the 210 final decisions issued, only three applications to the Federal Court for judicial review were made on the grounds that the Tribunal failed to observe a principle of natural justice, procedural fairness or other procedure.

The fair and impartial resolution of complaints submitted to the Tribunal is achieved as informally and as expeditiously as possible through the various opportunities offered by the Tribunal for alternative dispute resolution and an effective internal review process.
2. Provide mediation services Ongoing

Exceeded expectations

Of the 175 mediation sessions held, 158 or 90% - resulted in a withdrawal of the complaint. The Tribunals target for the percentage of complaints settled by mediation is 70%.

A settlement arrived at by the parties with the assistance of a Tribunal mediator is a win-win solution. With the help of a mediator, the parties themselves determine the outcome of the process and are more likely to be satisfied with the process in general, and the results in particular.


Management Priorities Type Status Links to Strategic Outcome
1. Strengthen corporate services Ongoing

Met

The Tribunal has put in place policies and procedures in the following areas: security and finance. Significant progress was made during the year on the development and implementation of the Tribunals information system.

Having a solid infrastructure in place provides a foundation for the Tribunal to be able to fulfill its mandate.
2. Strengthen human resources management Ongoing

Met

The Tribunal developed an integrated human resources and business plan, an employee assistance policy and learning and development program for its staff.

A satisifed workforce and healthy workplace lead to greater productivity and thus contribute to the accomplishment of the Tribunals objectives.

Risk Analysis

The Tribunal entered its third year of operations without a source of permanent funding and it was at risk of being distracted from its mandate by concerns about a serious shortage of funds.

However, in April 2008, the Prime Minister of Canada announced that six organizations with central human resources management functions the Canada Public Service Agency, the Canada School of Public Service, the Public Service Commission, the Public Service Labour Relations Board, the Treasury Board of Canada and the Tribunal − were to complete a strategic review of their direct program spending by July 1st to ensure that their programs were relevant, were being managed efficiently and effectively and that they provided value for money.

The results of the review were announced by the Prime Minister on February 6, 2009. A number of changes in the governance structure for the management of human resources in the Public Service were made; the importance of ensuring long-term funding for the Tribunal was recognized and funds were set aside in Budget 2009 for this purpose.

The greatest challenge faced by the Tribunal occurred during the second half of the fiscal year. By the end of January 2009, only two permanent members remained to issue letter decisions, conduct hearings and render decisions. Selection processes for vacant member positions were initiated through the Privy Council Office, but did not yield any results before the end of the year. The delay in the appointment of new members in order to restore the full complement of five to seven permanent members had a significant effect upon the time it took the Tribunal to issue decisions.

Other risks identified as having a possible impact on the Tribunals operations during 2008-2009 included: an increase in the number of complaints as a result of higher number of collective staffing processes in departments, agencies, along with limited resources and the fact that the bargaining agents had to deal with an increased volume of complaints. To handle and monitor its own caseload, the Tribunal continued to fine-tune its complaint procedures and build the capacity of its case management system. With respect to the need to ensure that its stakeholders have the necessary information to handle complaints, the Tribunal updated its website regularly, developed and posted a revised Policy for Mediation and Hearing Scheduling and Requests for Postponements and continued to deliver information sessions to organizations, as requested.

Expenditure Profile

The Tribunals actual spending was $4.8 million in 2008-2009. The Tribunals expenditures have increased since the PSEA came into force in December 2005 because the number of complaints filed with the Tribunal has risen every year since then. Since its establishment in 2005, the Tribunal has steadily built up its capacity and invested in its infrastructure to deliver its activities.

The Tribunal was originally established with a planned expenditures budget of $5 million on the assumption that approximately 400 complaints would be submitted per year. This number was reached in the Tribunals second year of operations (2006-2007). Seven hundred forty-two (742) complaints were received in 2007-2008 and 821, in 2008-2009. Despite the 10% increase in the number of complaints, the Tribunal has continued to operate within the resources that were originally allocated.

The chart below shows the Tribunals spending trend over a five-year period including planned spending for the fiscal year 2009-2010.

The graph illustrates the Tribunal%E2%80%99s spending trend for a five-year period: $1,950,000 in 2005-2006; $3,215,000 in 2006-2007; $4,304,000 in 2007-2008; and $4,810,000 in 2008-2009. Planned spending in 2009-2010 is estimated at $5,500,000.



Voted and Statutory Items
Voted or Statutory Items 2006-2007
Actual
Spending
($ thousands)
2007-2008
Actual
Spending
($ thousands)
2008-2009
Main
Estimates
($ thousands)
2008-2009
Actual
Spending
($ thousands)
90 Program expenditures 2,903.1 3,902.0 4,481.0 4,325.0
(S) Contributions to employee benefit plans 312.8 402.0 487.0 485.0
Total 3,215.9 4,304.0 4,968.0 4,810.0

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

ARCHIVÉ - Tribunal de la dotation de la fonction publique

Avertissement Cette page a été archivée.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à  des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à  jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à  la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à  la page « Contactez-nous ».

Message du prsident

The Honourable Guy Gigure

En ma qualit de prsident du Tribunal de la dotation de la fonction publique (TDFP), lune de mes priorits est de veiller ce que les parties une plainte prsente au TDFP se voient offrir plusieurs possibilits de rgler leurs diffrends sans passer par une audience.

Cette approche est conforme lesprit et au sens de la Loi sur lemploi dans la fonction publique (LEFP) dans la mesure o elle vise promouvoir un dialogue efficace, base de la plupart, sinon la totalit, des mthodes de rsolution de conflits prouves. Mon exprience darbitre et de mdiateur ma appris que la solution laquelle se rallient les parties vaut toujours mieux que la solution impose par un tiers.

La communication et le dialogue soutenus entre les employs et la direction se traduiront essentiellement par des relations de travail fructueuses et renforceront ainsi la capacit de la fonction publique uvrer au service des Canadiens. Je crois donc quen aidant les parties rgler les plaintes sans recourir une audience, le TDFP contribue moderniser la fonction publique.

Les statistiques relatives lexercice 2008 2009 confirment ce qui prcde. En effet, le Tribunal a trait cette anne un total de 1 214 dossiers, dont 821 correspondaient de nouvelles plaintes, alors que 393 avaient t reportes de lanne prcdente. Dans les cas o le Tribunal navait pas comptence pour instruire la plainte, que la plainte avait t dpose hors dlai ou quune audience ntait pas ncessaire, le Tribunal a pu aller de lavant sans tarder par la voie dinstructions sur dossier. Le Tribunal a rendu 166 dcisions dfinitives dans ce type daffaires.

La grande majorit des autres affaires se sont rgles diverses tapes du processus notamment pendant la communication des renseignements ou lissue dune confrence prparatoire laudience. Finalement, seuls 34 dossiers ont fait lobjet dune audience et ont ainsi donn lieu des Motifs de dcision du Tribunal.

Jespre sincrement que les parties vises par des plaintes prsentes au Tribunal continueront tirer profit des nombreuses possibilits qui leur sont offertes au sein de leurs propres organisations ainsi que durant le processus de traitement des plaintes. Elles pourront ainsi rgler elles-mmes leurs diffrends, amliorer leurs relations de travail et faire en sorte que la fonction publique du Canada maintienne des pratiques demploi quitables et transparentes, favorise le respect des employs et soit un lieu de dialogue constructif.

Guy Gigure
Prsident et premier dirigeant



Section I : Aperu

Raison dtre

Le Tribunal de la dotation de la fonction publique est un tribunal indpendant et quasi judiciaire cr aux termes de la LEFP. Il a pour mission dinstruire les plaintes relatives aux nominations internes et aux mises en disponibilit dans la fonction publique fdrale. Le Tribunal tient des audiences et offre des services de mdiation dans le but de rgler les plaintes.

Responsabilits

Le Tribunal de la dotation de la fonction publique a t tabli le 31 dcembre 2005 avec lentre en vigueur de la nouvelle Loi sur l'emploi dans la fonction publique (LEFP), en application des nouvelles mesures de recours en matire de dotation. Le mandat lgislatif du Tribunal consiste instruire les plaintes lies aux mises en disponibilit, la rvocation dune nomination, aux nominations internes et lchec des mesures correctives, et statuer sur celles-ci. Le Tribunal est en outre autoris, en vertu de la Loi, offrir des services de mdiation toutes les tapes dune instance afin de rgler une plainte.



Rsultat stratgique et architecture des activits de programme (AAP)

Rsultat stratgique

Rsolution juste et impartiale des conflits relatifs aux nominations internes et aux mises en disponibilit au sein du gouvernement du Canada.

Activit de programme

Arbitrage et mdiation des plaintes dposes aux termes de la Loi sur lemploi dans la fonction publique.

Rsultats escompts

  • Le Tribunal rend dans les meilleurs dlais des dcisions judicieuses et raisonnables
  • Utilisation optimale des services de rsolution des plaintes du Tribunal par les parties

Extrants

  • Plaintes traites
  • Sances de mdiation tenues
  • Cours de formation en mdiation donns

Le rendement en bref

Les ressources financires du Tribunal ont eu une incidence directe sur la capacit de ce dernier de produire son rsultat stratgique et dexercer ses activits. Les sections qui suivent dcrivent le rendement du Tribunal et mettent en vidence les liens qui existent entre les ressources et les rsultats.

Au dbut de lexercice 2008 2009, les dpenses prvues du Tribunal slevaient 5 M$. Le Budget principal des dpenses et le Budget supplmentaire des dpenses ont accord celui ci des autorisations pour un montant total de 5,5 M$, et ses dpenses relles ont atteint 4,8 M$. Cette augmentation des autorisations est attribuable au financement du report du budget de fonctionnement et des augmentations de salaire.



Ressources financires 20082009 (en milliers de dollars)
Dpenses prvues Autorisations totales Dpenses relles
4 968 5 489 4 810


Ressources humaines 20082009 (ETP)
Prvus Rels cart
35 34 1

Sommaire du rendement



Rsultat stratgique 1 : Rsolution juste et impartiale des conflits relatifs aux nominations internes et aux mises en disponibilit au sein du gouvernement du Canada
Indicateurs de rendement Objectifs Rendement de 2008-2009
Pourcentage des plaintes soumises la rvision judiciaire au motif que le Tribunal na pas respect un principe de justice naturelle, lquit de la procdure ou une autre procdure. 3 % Le Tribunal a dpass sa cible en 2008 2009, puisque 1,4 % des dcisions rendues par le Tribunal en 2008 2009 ont t soumises la rvision judiciaire. Parmi les 210 dcisions dfinitives (44 avec Motifs de dcision et 166 lettres de dcision) rendues, trois demandes de rvision judiciaire ont t transmises la Cour fdrale au motif que le Tribunal na pas respect un principe de justice naturelle, lquit de la procdure ou une autre procdure.


 
Activit de programme

2007-2008 Dpenses relles
(en milliers $)

2008-2009 Concordance avec les rsultats du gouvernement du Canada

Budget principal des dpenses (en milliers $)

Dpenses
prvues
(en milliers $)

Total des
autorisations
(en milliers $)
Dpenses
relles
(en milliers $)
Arbitrage et mdiation des plaintes aux termes de la Loi sur lemploi dans la fonction publique 4 304 4 968 4 968 5 489 4 810 Le TDFP contribue la ralisation des rsultats stratgiques des affaires gouvernementales du gouvernement du Canada en soutenant une gestion efficace des ressources humaines ainsi quune fonction publique hautement efficace et comptente.
Total 4 304 4 968 4 968 5 489 4 810  

Apport des priorits au rsultat stratgique

Compte tenu de la grande particularit de la mission du Tribunal, ses deux principales priorits de fonctionnement sont directement lies la fois son rsultat stratgique et son activit de programme.


Priorits de fonctionne-ment Type tat Liens avec le rsultat stratgique
1. Instruire les plaintes et statuer sur elles Permanente

Attentes dpasses

Parmi les 1 214 plaintes traites au cours de lanne, 210 dcisions dfinitives seulement (Motifs de dcision et lettres de dcisions comprises) ont t rendues. Parmi les 210 dcisions dfinitives rendues, seules trois demandes de rvision judiciaire ont t prsentes devant la Cour fdrale au motif que le Tribunal na pas respect un principe de justice naturelle, lquit de la procdure ou une autre procdure.

La rsolution juste et impartiale des plaintes prsentes au Tribunal est obtenue aussi simplement et rapidement que possible grce aux diverses formes de rsolution de conflits quoffre le Tribunal ainsi qu un processus dexamen interne efficace.
2. Offrir des services de mdiation Permanente

Attentes dpasses

Des 175 sances de mdiation tenues, 158 ou 90 % - ont abouti au retrait de la plainte. La cible du Tribunal en ce qui concerne le pourcentage des plaintes rgles par voie de mdiation est de 70 %.

Le rglement auquel en arrivent les parties avec laide dun mdiateur du Tribunal reprsente une solution gagnante sur toute la ligne. Avec laide dun mdiateur, les parties dterminent elles mmes le rsultat du processus et sont plus susceptibles dtre satisfaites tant du processus en gnral que des rsultats en particulier.


Priorits de gestion Type tat Liens avec le rsultat stratgique
1. Renforcer les services gnraux Permanente

Respecte

Le Tribunal a tabli des politiques et des procdures dans les domaines de la scurit et des finances. Llaboration et la mise en oeuvre du systme dinformation du Tribunal ont beaucoup progress au cours de lanne.

La prsence dune infrastructure solide offre au Tribunal lassise dont il a besoin pour remplir sa mission.
2. Renforcer la gestion des ressources humaines Permanente

Respecte

Le Tribunal a labor un plan intgr de ressources humaines et dactivits, une politique daide aux employs ainsi quun programme dapprentissage et de perfectionnement pour son personnel.

Un effectif satisfait et un milieu de travail sain entranent une productivit accrue et contribuent par l latteinte des objectifs du Tribunal.

Analyse des risques

Le Tribunal a entrepris sa troisime anne dactivits sans disposer dune source de financement permanente, et les inquitudes associes un srieux manque de fonds auraient pu le dtourner de sa mission.

Toutefois, en avril 2008, le premier ministre du Canada a annonc que six organisations exerant des fonctions centrales au regard de la gestion des ressources humaines lAgence de la fonction publique du Canada, lcole de la fonction publique du Canada, la Commission de la fonction publique, la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique, le Conseil du Trsor du Canada et le Tribunal − devaient mener bien un examen stratgique de leurs dpenses de programme directes dici le 1er juillet afin de sassurer que leurs programmes sont pertinents, quils sont grs efficacement et que les ressources ncessaires sont optimises.

Le premier ministre a fait lannonce des rsultats de cet examen le 6 fvrier 2009. Sen sont suivis un certain nombre de changements dans la structure de gouvernance de la gestion des ressources humaines dans la fonction publique. On a admis limportance dassurer le financement long terme du Tribunal, et des fonds lui ont t rservs dans le Budget 2009.

Cest au cours de la deuxime moiti de lexercice que le Tribunal a fait face son plus grand dfi. En effet, la fin de janvier 2009, il ne restait au Tribunal que deux membres titulaires aptes rdiger des lettres de dcision, prsider des audiences et rendre des dcisions. Des processus de slection visant pourvoir aux postes vacants ont t lancs par le Bureau du Conseil priv, mais il a fallu attendre la fin de lanne pour que ceux-ci produisent des rsultats. Le retard pris dans la nomination des nouveaux membres, dont le but tait de rtablir leffectif total de cinq sept membres titulaires, a eu des rpercussions importantes sur le temps qua mis le Tribunal avant de publier ses dcisions.

Dautres risques ont t identifis comme susceptibles davoir une incidence sur les activits du Tribunal en 2008 2009. Mentionnons laugmentation du nombre de plaintes en raison du nombre accru de processus de dotation collectifs dans les ministres et les organismes, la limitation des ressources et le volume accru de plaintes dont les agents ngociateurs devaient soccuper. Pour traiter et contrler son propre volume de travail, le Tribunal a continu de perfectionner ses procdures en matire de plaintes et de renforcer la capacit de son systme de gestion des dossiers. En ce qui a trait la ncessit de sassurer que ses intervenants disposent des renseignements ncessaires pour traiter les plaintes, le Tribunal a procd la mise jour rgulire de son site Web, labor et affich une Politique rvise concernant la fixation des dates de mdiation et d'audience ainsi que les demandes de remise, et continu offrir des sances dinformation aux organisations, selon la demande.

Profil des dpenses

Les dpenses relles du Tribunal en 2008 2009 ont atteint 4,8 M$. Les dpenses du Tribunal ont augment depuis lentre en vigueur de la LEFP en dcembre 2005, car le nombre de plaintes prsentes au Tribunal a augment chaque anne depuis lors. Depuis sa cration en 2005, le Tribunal na pas cess de renforcer sa capacit et dinvestir dans son infrastructure afin de mener ses activits.

Au dpart, le budget des dpenses prvues du Tribunal slevait 5 M$. Ce budget avait t dtermin en fonction dune estimation denviron 400 plaintes par anne. Or, le Tribunal a atteint ce nombre au cours de sa deuxime anne de fonctionnement (2006 2007). Il a reu 742 plaintes en 2007 2008, et 821 en 2008 2009. Malgr laugmentation de 10 % du nombre de plaintes, le Tribunal a continu de fonctionner avec les ressources qui lui avaient t attribues au dpart.

Le diagramme ci dessous indique la tendance des dpenses du Tribunal sur une priode de cinq ans, y compris les dpenses prvues pour lexercice 2009 2010.

Le diagramme indique la tendance des d%C3%A9penses du Tribunal sur une p%C3%A9riode de cinq ans : 1 950 000 $ en 2005-2006; 3 215 000 $ en 2006-2007; 4 304 000 $ en 2007-2008; and 4 810 000 $ en 2008-2009. Le Tribunal pr%C3%A9voit d%C3%A9penser 5 500 000 $ en 2009-2010.

Postes vots et lgislatifs
Poste vot ou lgislatif 2006-2007 Dpenses relles
(en milliers $)
2007-2008 Dpenses relles
(en milliers $)
2008-2009 Budget principal des dpenses
(en milliers $)
2008-2009 Dpenses relles
(en milliers $)
90 Dpenses de programme 2 903,1 3 902 4 481 4 325
(S) Contributions aux rgimes davantages sociaux des employs 312,8 402 487 485
Total 3 215,9 4 304 4 968 4 810