Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Symbol of the Government of Canada

ARCHIVED - Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission


Warning This page has been archived.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

SECTION I: Overview

Photo: The Honourable James Moore

As Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages, I am pleased to present the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission's (CRTC) Departmental Performance Report for 2007-2008. The report outlines the important achievements of the CRTC over the last fiscal year and demonstrates how it continues to fulfill its mandate.

As the activities highlighted in the report show, the CRTC is at the forefront of the international community of communications regulators. With its mandate to oversee broadcasting and telecommunications, it is well positioned to deal with the technological developments that have brought these industries even closer together over the past year. Canadians were able to enjoy a growing number of broadcasting services in both official languages and in other languages as well. Many of these services featured the talents of Canadian creators. In addition, nearly every Canadian home has access to advanced telecommunications services, including wireless and high-speed Internet services.

As a Canadian Heritage agency, the CRTC has helped create a more prosperous Canada in which Canadians of all generations and all backgrounds can take part in the rich social, cultural and economic life this country has to offer.

The Honourable James Moore, P.C., M.P.

Chairman's Message

Photo: Konrad von FinckensteinI am pleased to present the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission's (CRTC's) Departmental Performance Report for 2007-2008. This report highlights what has not only been an exceptionally busy year at the CRTC, but also the first of my term as Chairman.

The CRTC pursued four priorities last year. First, the CRTC emphasized the promotion and protection of Canadian culture. This directive was focused in our minds as we reviewed the CRTC's policies for conventional television broadcasters. These broadcasters make significant contributions to Canadian culture through the production, acquisition and broadcast of high-quality Canadian programming. In May 2007, we introduced measures that will enable them to continue fulfilling this important role within a rapidly changing environment.

Second, the CRTC reviewed five major transactions involving some of the country's largest media companies. We established new benchmarks by issuing these decisions in a timely fashion and, in some instances, imposed stringent conditions to ensure that control of Canada's media companies remained in Canada. At the same time, the CRTC developed new rules to preserve the diversity of voices in the Canadian broadcasting system, particularly in today's era of convergence.

Third, the CRTC continued to implement the government's policy direction to rely on market forces as much as possible under the Telecommunications Act. Healthy competition between cable and telecommunications companies has allowed the CRTC to lift its regulation of local telephone service in communities across the country.

Finally, we deregulated, as of 2012, 121 wholesale telecommunications services, which are provided by established companies to their competitors.

I have highlighted some of the many activities undertaken by the CRTC over the past year. These achievements, and others outlined in this report, demonstrate our commitment to developing a modern regulatory framework that contributes to Canada's social, cultural and economic prosperity. I look forward to working closely with the CRTC's dedicated staff and Commissioners to meet the challenges that await us in the year ahead.

Konrad von Finckenstein, Q.C.

Management Representation Statement

I submit, for tabling in Parliament, the 2007-2008 Departmental Performance Report (DPR) for the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC).

This document has been prepared based on the reporting principles contained in the Guide for the preparation of Part III of the 2006-2007 Estimates: Reports on Plans and Priorities and Departmental Performance Reports:

  • It adheres to the specific reporting requirements outlined in the Treasury Board Secretariat guidance;
  • It is based on the department's strategic outcomes and Program Activity Architecture that were approved by the Treasury Board;
  • It presents consistent, comprehensive, balanced and reliable information;
  • It provides a basis of accountability for the results achieved with the resources and authorities entrusted to it; and
  • It reports finances based on approved numbers from the Estimates and the Public Accounts of Canada.

___________________________________
Robert A. Morin, Secretary General

Raison d'tre

The CRTC's challenge is to serve the public interest by maintaining a balance among the cultural, social and economic goals of the legislation on broadcasting and telecommunications, taking into account the wants and needs of Canadians.

Like most organizations, the CRTC does not work in isolation. Environmental factors over which it has little or no control, such as the state of the economy, capital markets, societal change and emerging technology, influence the CRTC's work, priorities and outcomes.

Four principles will govern the Commission's management of the regulatory process in the coming years:

  • transparency
  • fairness
  • predictability, and
  • timeliness.

Transparency means that the Commission will be as open as possible in its dealings with all the stakeholders, as far as the law permits. Everyone should see exactly what we are doing, and why, so that they understand how we function and how they can interact with us.

Fairness means that every matter that comes before us shall be handled with well-established, even-handed procedures that will lead us to a well-considered outcome.

Predictability means that when we make decisions, we will follow a clear direction and will be consistent. And if we depart from our direction, we have to explain why, and specify whether this departure is an exception or a change in course.

Timeliness is a concept that means we should make our decisions as quickly as we can in a responsible manner.

Broadcasting Environment

Canada's broadcasting system is one of the most open and advanced in the world, both technologically and in terms of programming variety. Canadians enjoy a vast array of radio and television services that offer a wide range of international and domestic programs. The broadcasting system has also benefited from the contributions of private, public and community broadcasters, each of whom has played a distinct and important role in its evolution.

More than just open and advanced, Canada's state-of-the-art broadcasting system also:

  • gives Canadians access to hundreds of broadcasting services regardless of where they live in Canada
  • offers an increasing array of niche programming, as a result of unprecedented growth in specialty television services
  • is poised to fully adopt digital broadcasting technology
  • delivers broadcasting services throughout the country in both official languages
  • makes important cultural and economic contributions to Canada, and
  • has grown into a multi-billion dollar industry that employs a wide variety of people, from artists, writers and actors to technicians and engineers.

The above successes notwithstanding, the Commission fully recognizes that the broadcasting system faces significant challenges. Technological evolution, for example, has all but erased traditional broadcasting boundaries. As a result, broadcasters must now amend their business plans to continue to provide increased access to a wide variety of services from around the world, while also fostering a financially viable and culturally important Canadian broadcasting system. In this context, the Commission is working diligently to increase the number of Canadian programming services, as well as the availability of foreign-language services, to better serve the diversity of the Canadian population.

One of the most important aspects of the Commission's work is fulfilling the social and cultural objectives of the Broadcasting Act. The Commission must continue to regulate the broadcasting sector, to ensure the availability of quality Canadian programs and the accessibility of programming for all Canadians. Nevertheless, this regulation should be smarter and more efficient in order not to create obstacles to the broadcasting sector's economical development.

The Commission will continue to work collaboratively with the broadcasting industry to ensure that the business and cultural challenges ahead are successfully met.

Telecommunications Environment

Telecommunications is an important component of the social and economic fabric of Canada. It is universally available: more than 98% of Canadian households subscribe to landline or mobile phone service.

The Canadian telecommunications industry continued to grow in 2007, on the strength of increased demand for mobile-phone and Internet services. Competitors of the traditional telephone companies increased their share of total telecommunications revenues, including land-line and mobile-phone service revenues, to 41% in 2007.

Other characteristics of Canada's telecommunications environment include:

  • some of the lowest-priced long-distance services in the world
  • a healthy and competitive mobile-phone services market that experienced an 8% increase in subscribers and a 14% increase in revenues in 2007
  • a competitive high-speed Internet services market that continues to grow (more than 94% of Canadian households can subscribe to broadband service and, in 2007, 69% did), and
  • growth in local competition among telephone-service providers that saw cable companies and other non-traditional telephone-service providers capture 18% of local residential lines by the end of 2007.

In December 2006, the Governor-in-Council issued a policy direction to the CRTC that directed the Commission to rely on market forces to the maximum extent feasible as the means of achieving the policy objectives set out in the Telecommunications Act. At that time, the Commission estimated that 30% of telecommunications revenues were subject to economic regulation.

By March 31, 2008, approximately 71% of residential lines and 64% of business lines were free from economic regulation. Overall, approximately 90% of total telecommunications revenues come from unregulated services.

Policy Development and Research

In early 2007, the CRTC completed a reorganization to enable it to respond to the telecommunications and broadcasting industries' rapidly evolving technological, cultural, socio-economic and convergent landscapes. Under the new structure, the Policy Development and Research (PDR) sector is responsible for reviewing major ownership transactions, as well as the development of regulatory policy for conventional and new distribution platforms, including new media.

As noted above, the broadcasting industry, despite its current health, faces substantial challenges. These include the challenge of technological evolution, which has resulted in a truly global environment for television and for radio. New technologies have created new media. The emergence of new media, or the provision of audiovisual services delivered and accessed over the Internet or other non-traditional networks, has created a number of new challenges for the CRTC.

With respect to telecommunications, traditionally there have been two separate and independent landline networks in Canada that accessed Canadian homes; the local telephone network and the cable distribution network. The major cable companies have evolved their networks to deliver not only advanced cable services but telecommunications services as well, such as Internet access service and more recently local telephone service.

The PDR sector's responsibility is to provide strategic advice to the CRTC in an environment in which players in the telecommunications and broadcasting industries are at once converging within corporate and technological structures and fragmenting as audiences and customers take advantage of quickly multiplying choice.

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

ARCHIVÉ - Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes

Avertissement Cette page a été archivée.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à  des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à  jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à  la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à  la page « Contactez-nous ».

PARTIE I : Survol

Photo: L'honorable James Moore

titre de ministre du Patrimoine canadien et des Langues officielles, je suis heureux de prsenter le Rapport ministriel sur le rendement du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des tlcommunications canadiennes (CRTC) pour l'exercice 2007-2008. Ce rapport met en relief les ralisations du CRTC au cours du dernier exercice financier, tout en prcisant comment il continue de remplir son mandat.

Comme le montrent les activits mises en lumire dans le prsent rapport, le CRTC est au premier rang des organismes de rglementation des communications sur la scne internationale. En raison de son mandat de surveillance des secteurs de la radiodiffusion et des tlcommunications, il est bien plac pour composer avec les progrs technologiques qui ont rapproch encore davantage ces industries durant la dernire anne. Les Canadiens ont bnfici d'un nombre accru de services de radiodiffusion dans les deux langues officielles de mme que dans d'autres langues. Plusieurs de ces services ont fait valoir le talent des crateurs canadiens. En outre, presque tous les mnages canadiens ont accs des services de tlcommunications de pointe, dont les services sans fil et les services Internet haute vitesse.

En tant qu'organisme du portefeuille de Patrimoine canadien, le CRTC contribue crer un Canada prospre, o les citoyens de tous les ges et de toutes les origines ont l'occasion de participer la riche vie sociale, culturelle et conomique de notre pays.

L'honorable James Moore
Ministre du Patrimoine canadien et des Langues officielles

Message du prsident

Photo: Konrad von FinckensteinJe suis heureux de prsenter le Rapport sur le rendement du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des tlcommunications canadiennes (CRTC) pour l'exercice 2007-2008. Ce rapport rend compte non seulement d'une anne exceptionnellement occupe pour le CRTC, mais marque galement ma premire titre de prsident.

Cette dernire anne, le CRTC a poursuivi quatre priorits. Premirement, le CRTC a mis l'accent sur la promotion et la protection de la culture canadienne. C'est en gardant cette directive l'esprit que nous avons examin les politiques du CRTC sur les tldiffuseurs conventionnels. Ces diffuseurs contribuent largement la culture canadienne par la production, l'acquisition et la diffusion d'une programmation canadienne de grande qualit. En mai 2007, nous avons introduit des mesures qui leur permettront de continuer de s'acquitter de ce rle important dans un contexte en volution rapide.

Deuximent, le CRTC a examin cinq grandes transactions concernant certaines des plus grandes compagnies du pays. Nous avons tabli de nouveaux points de rfrence en publiant rapidement ces dcisions et, dans certaines instances, nous avons impos des conditions rigoureuses pour que le contrle de la compagnie demeure au Canada. Paralllement, le CRTC a labor de nouvelles rgles pour prserver la diversit des voix dans le systme de radiodiffusion canadien, en particulier en cette re de convergence.

Troisiment, le CRTC a continu mettre en oeuvre les instructions du gouvernement visant se fier autant que possible au libre jeu du march en vertu de la Loi sur les tlcommunications. Une saine concurrence entre les cblodistributeurs et les compagnies de tlcommunication a permis au CRTC de lever son rglement sur les services de tlphone locaux dans les collectivits du pays.

En dernier lieu, nous avons drglement, d'ici 2012, 121 services de tlcommunication de gros, que fournissent les compagnies tablies leurs concurrents.

Je n'ai mentionn que quelques-unes des nombreuses activits entreprises par le CRTC cette dernire anne. Ces ralisations, et celles dont il est fait tat dans le prsent rapport, sont la preuve de notre engagement l'gard de l'laboration d'un cadre rglementaire moderne qui contribue la prosprit sociale, culturelle et conomique du Canada. Je serai ravi de travailler en troite collaboration avec le personnel dvou du CRTC et avec les conseillers pour relever les dfis de l'anne qui s'annonce.

Konrad von Finckenstein, c.r.

Dclaration de la direction

Je soumets, aux fins de dpt au Parlement, le Rapport ministriel sur le rendement (RMR) de 2007-2008 du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des tlcommunications canadiennes (CRTC).

Le prsent document a t prpar conformment aux principes de prsentation des rapports noncs dans le Guide de prparation de la Partie III du Budget des dpenses 2006-2007 : Rapports sur les plans et les priorits et Rapports ministriels sur le rendement.

  • Il est conforme aux exigences prcises de dclaration figurant dans les lignes directrices du Secrtariat du Conseil du Trsor;
  • Il repose sur les rsultats stratgiques et sur l'architecture des activits de programme du ministre approuvs par le Conseil du Trsor;
  • Il prsente une information cohrente, complte, quilibre et fiable;
  • Il fournit une base pour la reddition de comptes l'gard des rsultats obtenus avec les ressources et les autorisations qui lui sont confies;
  • Il rend compte de la situation financire en fonction des montants approuvs des budgets des dpenses et des Comptes publics du Canada.

___________________________________
Robert A. Morin, Secrtaire gnral

Raison d'tre

Le CRTC a pour mission de servir l'intrt public tout en maintenant l'quilibre entre les objectifs culturels, sociaux et conomiques noncs dans les lois sur la radiodiffusion et des tlcommunications en tenant compte des attentes et des besoins des citoyens canadiens.

l'instar de la majorit des organismes, le CRTC ne travaille pas en vase clos. Les facteurs environnementaux sur lesquels le Conseil exerce peu ou pas de contrle, comme l'tat de l'conomie, les marchs financiers, l'volution de la socit et l'mergence de nouvelles technologies influent sur son travail, ses priorits et ses rsultats.

Au cours des prochaines annes, quatre principes rgiront la gestion du processus de rglementation par le Conseil :

  • la transparence
  • l'quit
  • la prvisibilit
  • la diligence

Par transparence, on entend que le Conseil sera aussi ouvert que la Loi lui permet de l'tre avec tous les intervenants. Tous devraient savoir exactement ce que nous faisons et pourquoi nous le faisons; ainsi ils comprendront mieux notre faon de fonctionner et comment ils peuvent interagir avec nous.

Par quit, on entend que chaque question dont nous serons saisis sera traite selon une procdure bien tablie et uniforme qui nous permettra d'arriver des rsultats mrement considrs.

Par prvisibilit, on entend que, dans nos dcisions, nous devons tre cohrents et suivre l'orientation prcise que nous nous sommes donns. Et si nous nous cartons de cette orientation, nous devons expliquer pourquoi et dire s'il s'agit d'une exception ou d'un changement de cap.

Le concept de la diligence veut que nous rendions nos dcisions le plus rapidement possible, de manire responsable.

Environnement de la radiodiffusion

Le systme canadien de radiodiffusion est l'un des plus ouverts et des plus avancs au monde, tant sur le plan de la technologie que de la varit de la programmation. Les Canadiens bnficient d'un large ventail de services de radio et de tlvision qui offrent une grande diversit de choix d'missions provenant du monde entier, ainsi que de sources nationales. Le systme de radiodiffusion a galement tir profit des contributions des radiodiffuseurs privs, publics et communautaires, chacun d'eux jouant un rle distinct et important dans son volution.

En plus d'tre un systme de pointe, ouvert et avanc, le systme de radiodiffusion canadien :

  • donne aux Canadiens l'accs des centaines de services de radiodiffusion, quel que soit l'endroit o ils vivent au Canada;
  • offre des choix de plus en plus nombreux de programmation cible sur des segments de march, en raison de la croissance sans prcdent que connaissent les services de tlvision spcialise;
  • se prpare adopter la technologie numrique;
  • offre des services de radiodiffusion dans les deux langues officielles dans tout le pays;
  • apporte d'importantes contributions au Canada, la fois sur le plan culturel et conomique;
  • est devenu une industrie qui reprsente plusieurs milliards de dollars et qui emploie de nombreux Canadiens, des artistes aux crivains et acteurs en passant par les techniciens et les ingnieurs.

Malgr ces succs, le Conseil reconnat pleinement que le systme de radiodiffusion doit relever des dfis majeurs. Parmi ceux-ci, notons l'volution technologique, qui a pratiquement effac les frontires traditionnelles en matire de la radiodiffusion. Il en rsulte que les radiodiffuseurs doivent maintenant modifier leurs plans d'affaires afin de continuer fournir un accs accru une vaste gamme de services provenant du monde entier, tout en priorisant un systme canadien financirement viable et culturellement important. Dans ce contexte, le Conseil s'efforce d'augmenter le nombre de services de programmation canadienne, ainsi que la disponibilit des services en langue trangre, afin de mieux reflter la diversit culturelle au Canada.

Un des plus importants aspects du travail du Conseil est de raliser les objectifs sociaux et culturels de la Loi sur la radiodiffusion. Le Conseil doit continuer rglementer le secteur de la radiodiffusion, afin d'assurer la disponibilit d'missions canadiennes de qualit ainsi que l'accessibilit d'une programmation rpondant aux besoins de l'ensemble des Canadiens. Quoi qu'il en soit, cette rglementation doit tre davantage avise et efficace afin de ne pas crer d'obstacles au dveloppement conomique du secteur de la radiodiffusion.

Le Conseil continuera de travailler de concert avec l'industrie de la radiodiffusion afin de relever avec succs les dfis commerciaux et culturels venir.

Environnement des tlcommunications

Le secteur des tlcommunications joue un rle important dans la structure conomique et sociale du Canada. En effet, les services de tlcommunication sont universellement accessibles : plus de 98 % des mnages canadiens sont abonns au service conventionnel fil ou sans fil.

En 2007, l'industrie canadienne des services de tlcommunication a continu de crotre grce, en majeure partie, la popularit des services de tlphonie cellulaire et des services Internet. La part des revenus totaux de tlcommunication des concurrents aux compagnies de tlphone traditionnelles a augment, incluant les revenus provenant du service conventionnel et du service sans fil, pour atteindre 41 % en 2007.

Les autres caractristiques entourant le secteur canadien des tlcommunications comprennent :

  • des prix pour les services interurbains qui figurent parmis les plus bas au monde;
  • une industrie de tlphonie cellulaire saine et concurrentielle, qui a connu une augmentation de 8 % du nombre d'abonns et une hausse de 14 % de revenus en 2007;
  • un march concurrentiel des services Internet haute vitesse du Canada qui poursuit sa croissance (plus de 94 % des mnages canadiens peuvent s'abonner au service large bande et, en 2007, 69% des Canadiens se sont abonns);
  • un accroissement de la concurrence locale entre les fournisseurs de services de tlphone a permis aux les entreprises de cblodistribution et aux autres fournisseurs non-traditionnels de dtenir 18 % des services de lignes tlphoniques rsidentielles la fin de 2007.

En dcembre 2006, la gouverneure en conseil a mis des instructions au CRTC lui ordonnant de favoriser le plus possible le libre jeu du march de faon atteindre les objectifs de la Loi sur les tlcommunications. Le Conseil estimait alors que 30 % des revenus de tlcommunication taient assujettis la rglementation conomique.

Au 31 mars 2008, environ 71 % des services de lignes rsidentielles et 64 % des services de lignes d'affaires n'taient pas contraintes par une rglementation conomique. Dans l'ensemble, environ 90 % des revenus de tlcommunications proviennent de services non rglements.

laboration de politiques et recherche

Au dbut de 2007, le Conseil a effectu une rorganisation en vue de lui permettre de ragir devant l'volution rapide du paysage technologique, culturel et socioconomique et devant la convergence des industries des tlcommunications et de la radiodiffusion. Dans le contexte de cette nouvelle structure, le secteur de l'laboration de politique et recherche a pour mandat d'tudier les transactions de proprit importantes, ainsi que d'tablir une politique de rglementation pour les plateformes de distribution traditionnelles et pour les nouvelles plateformes, y compris les nouveaux mdias.

Comme il est indiqu plus haut, l'industrie de la radiodiffusion, malgr sa bonne sant actuelle, doit relever de nombreux dfis, en particulier celui de l'volution technologique, qui a cr un environnement vritablement global pour la tlvision et la radio. Les nouvelles technologies ont donn naissance de nouveaux mdias. L'mergence des nouveaux mdias, lesquels consistent en la fourniture de services audiovisuels par Internet ou par d'autres rseaux non traditionnels, a entran de nouveaux dfis pour le CRTC.

En ce qui concerne les tlcommunications, traditionnellement, on disposait de deux rseaux terrestres spars et indpendants auxquels taient relis les mnages canadiens : le rseau tlphonique local et le rseau de cblodistribution. Les principales entreprises de cblodistribution ont modernis leurs rseaux de faon offrir, en plus des services de cblodistribution la fine pointe de la technologie, des services de tlcommunication tels que des services d'accs Internet et, plus rcemment, des services tlphoniques locaux.

Le secteur de l'laboration de politiques et recherche est responsable de donner des conseils stratgiques dans un environnement o les joueurs dans les industries des tlcommunications et de la radiodiffusion convergent au sein des structures corporatives et technologiques, mais o les auditoires et la clientle se fragmentent, profitant des choix qui se multiplient rapidement.