Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Symbol of the Government of Canada

ARCHIVED - Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency


Warning This page has been archived.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Horizontal Initiatives

Atlantic Canada Tourism Partnership (ACTP)

International Business Development Program (IBDP)

Team Canada Atlantic (TCA)

 

Atlantic Canada Tourism Partnership (ACTP)


1.  Name of Horizontal Initiative

2.  Name of Lead Department

Atlantic Canada Tourism Partnership (ACTP)

ACOA

3.  Start Date of Horizontal Initiative

4.  End Date of Horizontal Initiative

5.  Total Federal Funding Allocation

April 1, 2006

March 31, 2009

$9.95 million

6.  Description of Horizontal Initiative

Tourism offers significant opportunities for economic growth and social development in Atlantic Canada. The sector is far more important to the economic prosperity of Atlantic Canada than it is in other Canadian jurisdictions. Visitor spending injects $3.24 billion into the regional economy. Tourism employs over 110,000 Atlantic Canadians and represents 5.5% of the region’s GDP, compared with 2.5% nationally. For the past 15 years, ACOA has worked with provincial and industry partners to maximize the economic benefits of this sector.

The Atlantic Canada Tourism Partnership (ACTP) was established in 1991 to promote the entire Atlantic region as a tourism destination in targeted markets. The ACTP is a nine‑member, pan‑Atlantic partnership comprising ACOA, the four provincial tourism industry associations and the Atlantic provincial government departments responsible for tourism.

To continue making inroads in key markets, and to continue to bolster the region’s tourism industry, the ACTP launched its fourth consecutive international tourism marketing initiative. This three‑year project (fiscal years 2006‑2007 to 2008‑2009), valued at $19.95 million, supports integrated, research‑driven consumer, trade and media relations campaigns to attract more visitors to Atlantic Canada from key markets in the United States, Europe and Japan.

The ACTP initiatives are:
          United States Marketing Initiative – to effect greater tourism returns from the New England market; and
          Overseas Marketing Initiative – to pursue the United Kingdom, German and Japanese markets through integrated marketing techniques.

The cost‑sharing for this partnership is 50% ($9.975 million) from ACOA, 30% ($5.985 million) from the Provinces, and 20% ($3.99 million) from the provincial industry associations. Contributions from ACOA and the Provinces are in the form of cash; contributions from industry associations include cash, in‑kind and other cash investments in relation to partnership‑related activities (e.g. trade registrations and trade partnerships).  See the ACTP website at http://www.actp-ptca.ca/.

7.  Shared Outcomes

The goal of the ACTP exemplifies the strategic outcomes for ACOA's priority of increasing revenues, profits, investment and wages.

The ACTP’s outcomes aim to:
          increase Atlantic Canada’s competitiveness in targeted markets;
          promote regional co‑operation (federal/provincial/industry);
          promote incremental marketing activities;
          achieve economies of scale in marketing;
          raise awareness of Atlantic Canada as a “top‑of‑mind” destination; and
          increase tourism arrivals and tourism revenues for the four Atlantic Provinces.

8.  Governance Structure

The activities of the ACTP are managed by a management committee comprising the presidents of the four tourism industry associations, the four provincial deputy ministers responsible for tourism, and two representatives of ACOA. The management committee is responsible for the administration and management of the partnership agreement, approving work plans and budgets, program evaluation, and overseeing the work of its marketing committee. The marketing committee undertakes activities that are coordinated by federal, provincial and industry representatives, and is responsible for implementing ACTP initiatives. A secretariat (annual budget $300,000) oversees the day‑to‑day operations of the ACTP and is responsible for implementing a communications strategy, as well as annual and end‑of‑agreement evaluations of the partnership.

9.  Partners involved in each program

ACOA is the sole federal funding department. The ACTP partners with the Canadian Tourism Commission on international research and marketing initiatives, on an ad‑hoc basis.

Federal Departments/Agencies:
          Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency (50% of funding)
          Canadian Tourism Commission (may partner on marketing initiatives on an ad‑hoc basis)

Provincial Governments: (30% of funding)
          Province of New Brunswick – Business New Brunswick and the Department of Tourism and Parks
          Province of Nova Scotia – Department of Tourism and Culture
          Province of Prince Edward Island – Department of Tourism and Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Aquaculture
          Province of Newfoundland and Labrador – Department of Tourism, Culture and Recreation

Private Sector Organizations: (20% of funding)
          Hospitality Newfoundland and Labrador
          Tourism Industry Association of Nova Scotia
          Tourism Industry Association of New Brunswick
          Tourism Industry Association of Prince Edward Island

10.  Name of Program

11.  Total Allocation

12.  Planned Spending for 2007-2008

13.  Actual Spending for 2007-2008

United States Marketing Initiative

$8.30 million

$2.77 million

$2.76 million

Results for 2007‑2008

14. Expected Results for 2007-2008

15.  Results Achieved in 2007-2008

Return on Investment (ROI): measurable tourism revenues generated per partner dollar invested in integrated marketing/media campaigns

$14 to $1

$19.45 to $1

Number of visitor parties related to the marketing program

30,000

55,385

Dollar amount of visitor spending on goods/services relate to the marketing program

$38.78 million

$82.9
million

16.  Comments on Variances

The ACTP developed an Internet conversion model to assess the impact of travellers who download tourism information directly from the Internet, rather than request literature through traditional means. The inclusion of these inquiries into its conversion research enabled the ACTP to measure the incremental impact of the Internet on media‑generated information requests, party visits and related visitor spending/revenues.  Consumer media campaigns generated $82.1 million in incremental revenues for tourism SMEs in Atlantic Canada, and a ROI of $26.52 to $1.00.  US Tour Wholesaler Partnerships generated an additional $900,000 in revenues, and an ROI of $10.17.  The inclusion of several non‑ROI generating activities (e.g. travel trade shows, media relations program, consumer website development research) resulted in an overall ROI of $19.45.

10.  Name of Program

 

11.  Total Allocation

12.  Planned Spending for 2007-2008

13.  Actual Spending for 2007-2008

Overseas Marketing Initiative

$1.2 million

$0.4 million

$0.4 million

Results 2007‑2008

14. Expected Results for 2007-2008

15.  Results Achieved in 2007-2008

Return on Investment: measurable tourism revenues generated per partner dollar invested in integrated marketing/media campaigns

$6 to $1

$4.74 to $1

Partnerships formed with Overseas Tour Wholesalers

20

14

Dollar amount of visitor spending on goods/services resulting from the Overseas Tour Wholesaler partnerships

$2.4 million

$3.7 million

16.  Comments on Variances

The ACTP refocused its European Tour Wholesaler Partnership (ETWP) program on those partnerships having the greatest potential to generate the highest return. The number of partnerships was reduced from 20 (target) to 14 (achieved). These generated $3.7 million in incremental revenues for tourism SMEs in Atlantic Canada, and an ETWP-ROI of $15.58 to $1.00. The ACTP also invested in several non‑ROI‑generating activities (e.g. travel trade shows, media relations program, consumer website development, research). These investments resulted in an overall ROI of $4.74, versus the $6.00 target.

17.  Results to be Achieved by Non-federal Partners (if applicable)

N/A

18.  Contact Information

Rob McCloskey, Director General,
Tourism Atlantic
Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency
Telephone:  902-626-2479
E-mail: rob.mccloskey@acoa-apeca.gc.ca


 

International Business Development Program (IBDP)


1.  Name of Horizontal Initiative

2.  Name of Lead Department

International Business Development Program
(also/formerly known as International Business Development Agreement)

ACOA

3.  Start Date
of the Horizontal Initiative

4.  End Date
of the Horizontal Initiative

5.  Total Federal Funding Allocation

April 11, 2005

March 31, 2010

$7.0 million

6.  Description of the Horizontal Initiative

The International Business Development Program (IBDP) involves four Atlantic provincial governments and three federal departments: ACOA, Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada, and Industry Canada. The previous International Business Development Agreement (IBDA) was first signed in May 1994 for three years and $3 million, and was extended in March 1997 for a further three years and $2 million. A second extension, for $8 million, involved the seven partners in international business development for a further four years from 2000 to 2004.

The new $10‑million IBDP will continue the work of the partners until 2010. Funding for the agreement is shared 70/30 by the federal and provincial governments. The IBDP’s mandate is: to undertake specific measures to optimize regional coordination on a pan‑Atlantic scale and combine limited resources to coordinate trade‑related activities. The commitment to this IBDP, with the increased funding allocation, attests to both the IBDA’s positive results and its significance for the future of the region’s international business development (see http://www.acoa-apeca.gc.ca/e/ibda/index.shtml).

7.  Shared Outcomes

The shared outcomes for the IBDP partners are as follows, and support ACOA’s priority for trade:
       increased number of new exporters;
       existing exporters reporting sales to new markets; and
       existing exporters reporting increased sales to existing markets.

Since the original IBDA commenced in 1994, the Agency and its partners have administered over 200 projects involving some 3,500 Atlantic Canadian companies. The IBDA assisted 182 companies to begin exporting, 380 exporters to increase their export sales, and 259 exporters to expand into new markets.

8.  Governance Structure

ACOA is the lead organization for this initiative and houses the secretariat responsible for administering the agreement. A management committee, comprising a representative from each of the partners, is responsible for the planning and management of the agreement’s programs and the evaluation of projects.

9.  Federal Partners involved in each program

Federal departments and agencies (70% funding)
          ACOA (lead department)
          Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada – non‑funding partner
          Industry Canada – non‑funding partner

Provincial governments (30% funding)
          Business New Brunswick
          Nova Scotia Business Inc.
          Newfoundland and Labrador Department of Innovation, Trade and Rural Development
          Prince Edward Island Business Development Inc.

 

10.  Name of Programs

11.  Total Allocation

12.  Planned Spending
for 2007-2008

13.  Actual Spending
for 2007-2008

International Business Development Program (IBDP)

$7.0 million

$1.8 million

$2.1 million

Results for 2007‑2008

14. Expected Results for the Life of the Agreement (2005‑2006 through 2009‑2010)

15.  Results Achieved in
2007‑2008

Increase the number of new exporters

40 companies

5

Existing exporters reporting sales to new markets

75 companies

17

Existing exporters reporting increased sales to existing markets

150 companies

33

16.  Comments on Variances

Expected results are for the lifetime of the agreement, and data collection continues for two years after the term of the agreement. The target date to fully achieve these expected results is 2012.

17.  Results to be Achieved by Non-federal Partners (if applicable)

N/A

18.  Contact Information

Michel Ttu, Director General,
Trade and Investment
Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency
Telephone: 506-851-6496
E-mail: michel.tetu@acoa-apeca.gc.ca


 

Team Canada Atlantic (TCA)


1.  Name of Horizontal Initiative

2.  Name of Lead Department

Team Canada Atlantic

ACOA

3.  Start Date
of the Horizontal Initiative

4.  End Date
of the Horizontal Initiative

5.  Total Federal Funding Allocation

April 1999

March 31, 2010

$11.14 million

6.  Description of the Horizontal Initiative

Team Canada Atlantic (TCA) is a partnership of ACOA and the four Atlantic Provinces, with support from Agriculture and Agri‑Food Canada, Industry Canada, and Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada. TCA is committed to strengthening the trade and investment relationship between Atlantic Canada and the United States. From 1999 to 2008, approximately $6.5 million was spent on TCA missions; as of June 2008, mission participants reported actual sales of nearly $45 million.

The core of the TCA approach is the trade mission, which enables small and medium‑sized businesses from across Atlantic Canada to meet with potential buyers, agents, distributors and strategic partners in the United States. The mission format features a comprehensive program that equips private sector participants with the knowledge, contacts and advice they require to make the best of their international opportunities before, during and after their ventures abroad. Missions also provide the Government of Canada and the Atlantic provincial governments with crucial opportunities to promote the region as a tremendous location for foreign investment. See the TCA website at http://www.teamcanadaatlantic.ca/.

7.  Shared Outcomes

The TCA trade missions are focused on small to medium‑sized enterprises (SMEs) in Atlantic Canada and are intended to assist SMEs to increase exports and attract investments in key markets.  The mission objectives are to:
          increase export‑readiness for Atlantic Canadian SMEs;
          develop new partnerships/alliances between Atlantic Canadian SMEs and companies in target markets; and
          increase Atlantic Canadian SME export sales to new and established markets, as well as raise awareness of Atlantic Canada in these markets.

As of June 2008, Team Canada Atlantic had completed 14 missions to United States markets, involving 531 companies and more than 3,665 business meetings, and resulting in more than $44 million in actual sales.

8.  Governance Structure

A management committee, comprising senior officials of ACOA, Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada, and provincial governments is the decision‑making body that directs and oversees the coordination and implementation of the TCA missions.  The TCA organizing committee is responsible for organizing the missions, and includes representation from the four provincial trade departments in Atlantic Canada, Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada, Agriculture and Agri‑Food Canada, and the Team Canada Atlantic Secretariat.  The secretariat, housed at ACOA, is responsible for the overall coordination and implementation of the TCA missions.

9.  Federal Partners involved in each program

          ACOA
          Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada – non‑funding partner
          Agriculture and Agri‑Food Canada (AAFC) – $7,000/mission

10.  Name of Programs

11.  Total Allocation

12.  Planned Spending
for 2007-2008

13.  Actual Spending
for 2007-2008

Team Canada Atlantic

ACOA    $11.14 million

AAFC     $132,000

ACOA    $356,000 (G&C)
            $  75,000 (O&M)
AAFC     $    7,000

ACOA $337,829 (G&C)
ACOA $73,000 (O&M)
AAFC $7,000

Results for 2007‑2008

14. Expected Results for 2007-2008

15. Results Achieved in 2007-2008

SMEs that have increased export‑readiness

40

41

New exporters

5

8

Exporters developing new markets

5

16

Forecasted export sales by SMEs

$30 million

$15 million

16.  Comments on Variances

 

17.  Results to be Achieved by Non-federal Partners (if applicable)

N/A

18.  Contact Information

Michel Ttu, Director General,
Trade and Investment
Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency
Telephone: 506-851-6496
E-mail: michel.tetu@acoa-apeca.gc.ca

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

ARCHIVÉ - Agence de promotion économique du Canada atlantique

Avertissement Cette page a été archivée.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à  des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à  jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à  la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à  la page « Contactez-nous ».

Initiatives horizontales

Partenariat du tourisme du Canada atlantique (PTCA)

Programme de promotion du commerce extrieur (PPCE)

quipe Canada Atlantique (ECA)

 

Partenariat du tourisme du Canada atlantique (PTCA)


1. Nom de l’initiative horizontale

2. Nom du ministre responsable

Partenariat du tourisme du Canada atlantique (PTCA)

APECA

3. Date de mise en œuvre de l’initiative horizontale

4. Date de clture de l’initiative horizontale

5. Total des fonds fdraux affects

Le 1er avril 2006

Le 31 mars 2009

9,95 millions de dollars

6. Description de l’initiative horizontale

Le tourisme offre la rgion de l’Atlantique d’importantes possibilits de croissance conomique et de dveloppement social. Ce secteur contribue beaucoup plus la prosprit conomique des provinces de l’Atlantique qu’ celle des autres rgions du pays. Les dpenses des visiteurs s’lvent 3,24 milliards de dollars. Dans la rgion de l’Atlantique, le secteur du tourisme procure de l’emploi plus de 110 000 travailleurs et reprsente 5,5 % du produit intrieur brut (comparativement 2,5 % du produit intrieur brut national). Depuis 15 ans, l’APECA travaille de concert avec les gouvernements provinciaux et ses partenaires de l’industrie pour maximiser les retombes conomiques du tourisme.

Cr en 1991, le Partenariat du tourisme du Canada atlantique (PTCA) vise promouvoir la rgion de l’Atlantique comme destination touristique sur des marchs cibls. Le PTCA runit neuf membres, savoir l’APECA, les quatre associations provinciales de l’industrie touristique et les ministres du Tourisme des quatre provinces.

Pour continuer de percer sur les marchs cls et de stimuler l’industrie touristique de la rgion, le PTCA a lanc sa quatrime initiative conscutive de marketing touristique l’tranger. Ce projet triennal (de 2006-2007 2008-2009), dont le budget est valu 19,95 millions de dollars, vise financer des campagnes intgres de recherche sur le consommateur, le commerce et les relations avec les mdias, afin d’attirer dans la rgion un plus grand nombre de visiteurs venant de marchs cls des tats-Unis, de l’Europe et du Japon.

Voici les initiatives dcoulant du PTCA :
  Initiative de marketing aux tats-Unis – Accrotre les recettes touristiques tires du march de la Nouvelle-Angleterre;
    Initiative de marketing outre-mer – Promouvoir le tourisme sur les marchs du Royaume-Uni, de l’Allemagne et du Japon par des techniques de marketing intgres.

Les partenaires se partagent les cots comme suit : l’APECA en absorbe 50 % (9,975 millions de dollars), les gouvernements provinciaux, 30 % (5,985  millions de dollars), et les associations provinciales de l’industrie touristique, 20 % (3,99 millions de dollars). Les contributions de l’APECA et des gouvernements provinciaux sont en espces; celles des associations de l’industrie comprennent des contributions en espces et en nature ainsi que des investissements dans des activits connexes (p. ex. des enregistrements et partenariats commerciaux). Voir le site Web du PTCA http://www.actp-ptca.ca.

7. Rsultats partags

L’objectif du PTCA s’assimile aux rsultats stratgiques recherchs par l’APECA pour l’une de ses priorits, savoir l’accroissement des revenus, des profits, des investissements et des salaires.

Voici les rsultats attendus par le PTCA :
          accrotre la comptitivit de la rgion de l’Atlantique dans les marchs cibls;
         promouvoir la coopration rgionale (gouvernement fdral-provinces-industrie);
          promouvoir les activits de marketing qui reprsentent un apport diffrentiel;
          raliser des conomies d’chelle en marketing;
          mieux faire connatre la rgion de l’Atlantique en tant que destination touristique venant l’esprit spontanment; et
          accrotre l’affluence et les recettes touristiques des quatre provinces de l’Atlantique.

8. Structure de gouvernance

Les activits du PTCA sont gres par un comit de gestion compos des prsidents des quatre associations provinciales de l’industrie touristique, des quatre sous-ministres provinciaux du Tourisme et de deux reprsentants de l’APECA. Ce comit administre et gre l’entente de partenariat, approuve les plans de travail et les budgets, value les programmes et supervise le travail de son comit de marketing. Ce dernier comit entreprend des activits coordonnes par les reprsentants du gouvernement fdral, des provinces et de l’industrie, et il est charg de la mise en œuvre des initiatives du PTCA. Les oprations quotidiennes du PTCA sont supervises par un secrtariat (budget annuel de 300 000 $) qui s’occupe aussi de la mise en œuvre d’une stratgie de communication, ainsi que des valuations annuelles et des valuations finales du partenariat.

9. Partenaires participant chaque programme

L’APECA est le seul ministre fdral qui participe au financement des activits. Le PTCA s’associe occasionnellement la Commission canadienne du tourisme pour des initiatives ponctuelles de recherche de marketing l’tranger.

Ministres et organismes fdraux :
          Agence de promotion conomique du Canada atlantique (50 % du budget);
          Commission canadienne du tourisme (s’associe occasionnellement au PTCA pour des initiatives de marketing ponctuelles).

Gouvernements provinciaux (30 % du budget) :
          Nouveau-Brunswick – Entreprises Nouveau-Brunswick et ministre du Tourisme et des Parcs;
          Nouvelle-cosse – ministre du Tourisme et de la Culture;
          le-du-Prince-douard – ministre du Tourisme et ministre de l’Agriculture, des Pches et de l’Aquaculture;
          Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador – ministre du Tourisme, de la Culture et des Loisirs.

Organismes du secteur priv (20 % du budget) :
          Hospitality Newfoundland and Labrador;
          Tourism Industry Association of Nova Scotia;
          Association de l’industrie touristique du Nouveau-Brunswick;
          Tourism Industry Association of Prince Edward Island.

10. Nom du programme

11. Total des fonds affects

12. Dpenses prvues 2007-2008

13. Dpenses relles 2007-2008

Initiative de marketing aux tats-Unis

8,30 millions de dollars

2,77 millions de dollars

2,76 millions de dollars

Rsultats pour 2007‑2008

14. Rsultats prvus 2007‑2008

15. Rsultats rels 2007‑2008

Rendement du capital investi : recettes touristiques mesurables engendres pour chaque dollar investi par les partenaires dans les initiatives de marketing et les campagnes mdiatiques.

14 $:1 $

19,45 $:1 $

Nombre de groupes de visiteurs lis au programme de marketing

30 000

55 385

Dpenses touristiques pour les produits et les services lies au programme de marketing

38,78 millions de dollars

82,9 millions de dollars

16. Commentaires sur les carts

Le PTCA a mis au point un modle de conversion pour valuer l’impact des voyageurs qui tlchargent de l’information touristique directement d’Internet, plutt que de demander de la documentation par les moyens classiques. En intgrant ces demandes de renseignements sa recherche, le PTCA a pu mesurer l’impact diffrentiel d’Internet sur les demandes de renseignements gnres par les mdias, l’affluence touristique ainsi que les recettes et dpenses connexes. Les campagnes mdiatiques auprs des consommateurs ont engendr 82,1 millions de dollars en revenus diffrentiels pour les PME de la rgion de l’Atlantique œuvrant dans le secteur du tourisme, et un rendement de 26,52 $ pour chaque dollar investi. Les partenariats crs avec des grossistes en voyage aux tats-Unis ont gnr 900 000 $ de revenus supplmentaires, et un rendement du capital investi de 10,17 $. L’intgration de plusieurs activits n’engendrant aucun rendement du capital investi (salons de l’industrie du voyage, programme de relations avec les mdias, recherche sur le dveloppement de sites Web pour les consommateurs, etc.) ont eu un rendement global de 19,45 $.

10. Nom du programme

11. Total des fonds affects

12. Dpenses prvues 2007-2008

13. Dpenses relles 2007-2008

Initiative de marketing outre-mer

1,2 million de dollars

0,4 million de dollars

0,4 million de dollars

Rsultats pour 2007-2008

14. Rsultats prvus 2007‑2008

15. Rsultats rels 2007‑2008

Rendement du capital investi : recettes touristiques mesurables gnres pour chaque dollar investi par les partenaires dans les initiatives de marketing et les campagnes mdiatiques.

6 $:1 $

4,74 $:1

Partenariats crs avec des grossistes en voyages l’tranger

20

14

Dpenses touristiques pour des biens et services dcoulant des partenariats avec les grossistes en voyages l’tranger.

2,4 millions de dollars

3,7 millions de dollars

16. Commentaires sur les carts

Le PTCA a recentr son programme de partenariat avec les grossistes en voyages europens sur les partenariats qui prsentaient le plus grand potentiel de rendement. Le nombre de partenariats de ce genre est pass de 20 (prvu) 14 (rel). Ils ont gnr des revenus diffrentiels de 3,7 millions de dollars pour les PME de la rgion de l’Atlantique œuvrant dans le secteur du tourisme, ce qui reprsente un rendement de 15,58 $ pour chaque dollar investi. Le PTCA a galement investi dans plusieurs activits n’engendrant aucun rendement du capital investi (par exemple salons de l’industrie du voyage, programme de relations avec les mdias, recherche sur le dveloppement de sites Web pour les consommateurs). Ces investissements ont eu un rendement global de 4,74 $ au lieu des 6 $ prvus.

17. Rsultats atteindre par les partenaires non fdraux (le cas chant)

S.O.

18. Personne-ressource

Rob McCloskey, directeur gnral
Tourisme Atlantique
Agence de promotion conomique du Canada atlantique
N de tlphone : 902-626-2479
Courriel : rob.mccloskey@acoa-apeca.gc.ca


 

Programme de promotion du commerce extrieur (PPCE)


1. Nom de l’initiative horizontale

2. Nom du ministre responsable

Programme de promotion du commerce extrieur (autrefois appel Entente sur la promotion du commerce extrieur)

APECA

3. Date de mise en œuvre de l’initiative horizontale

4. Date de clture de l’initiative horizontale

5. Total des fonds fdraux affects

Le 11 avril 2005

Le 31 mars 2010

7 millions de dollars

6. Description de l’initiative horizontale

Le Programme de promotion du commerce extrieur (PPCE) runit les quatre gouvernements provinciaux de la rgion de l’Atlantique et trois ministres fdraux, soit l’APECA, le ministre des Affaires trangres et du Commerce international (MAECI) et Industrie Canada. Signe pour la premire fois en mai 1994, l’ancienne Entente sur la promotion du commerce extrieur visait une priode de trois ans et tait assortie d’un budget de trois millions de dollars. Elle a t prolonge en mars 1997 pour trois autres annes et s’est vu accorder un budget de deux millions de dollars. Une deuxime prorogation a t effectue en 2000 pour une priode de quatre ans jusqu’en 2004; le budget a t augment huit millions de dollars et sept partenaires de la promotion du commerce extrieur y participaient.

L’actuel PPCE, dont le budget s’lve dix millions de dollars, poursuivra jusqu’en 2010 le travail amorc par les partenaires. Le gouvernement fdral et les gouvernements provinciaux s’en partagent le financement raison de 70 % et de 30 % respectivement. Le mandat du PPCE est de prendre des mesures prcises pour optimaliser la coordination l’chelle panatlantique et mettre en commun les ressources limites des partenaires afin de coordonner des activits lies au commerce. L’engagement des partenaires l’gard de ce programme, notamment l’augmentation des fonds qui y sont affects, tmoigne bien des rsultats positifs de l’Entente et de son importance pour l’avenir de la promotion du commerce extrieur dans la rgion (voir http://www.acoa-apeca.gc.ca/f/ibda/index.shtml).

7. Rsultats partags

Voici les rsultats partags entre les partenaires du PPCE, l’appui de la priorit de l’APECA en matire de commerce :
       accroissement du nombre des nouveaux exportateurs;
       accroissement du nombre des exportateurs actuels qui ralisent des ventes sur de nouveaux marchs;
      accroissement du nombre des exportateurs actuels qui augmentent leur chiffre d’affaires sur les marchs existants.

Depuis la cration du premier PPCE en 1994, l’Agence et ses partenaires ont administr plus de 200 projets auxquels ont particip quelque 3 500 entreprises du Canada atlantique. Le PPCE a permis 182 entreprises de commencer exporter, 380 exportateurs d’accrotre leurs ventes l’tranger et 259 exportateurs d’tendre leurs activits de nouveaux marchs.

8. Structure de gouvernance

titre d’organisme responsable de cette initiative, l’APECA hberge le secrtariat charg d’administrer le programme. Un comit de gestion compos d’un reprsentant de chacun des partenaires s’occupe de la planification et de la gestion des programmes ainsi que de l’valuation des projets.

9. Partenaires fdraux participant chaque programme

Ministres et organismes fdraux (70 % du budget) :
          APECA (ministre responsable);
          Affaires trangres et Commerce international Canada - partenaire non financier;
          Industrie Canada – partenaire non financier.

Gouvernements provinciaux (30 % du budget) :
          Entreprises Nouveau-Brunswick;
          Entreprises Nouvelle-cosse inc.;
          Ministre de l’Innovation, du Commerce et du Dveloppement rural de Terre‑Neuve‑et‑Labrador;
          Expansion des affaires de l’le-du-Prince-douard.

 

10. Nom du programme

11. Total des fonds affects

12. Dpenses prvues 2007-2008

13. Dpenses relles 2007-2008

Programme de promotion du commerce extrieur (PPCE)

7,0 millions de dollars

1,8 million de dollars

2,1 millions de dollars

Rsultats pour 2007-2008

14. Rsultats pour la dure de l’entente (de 2005-2006 2009-2010)

15. Rsultats rels (2007-2008)

Accrotre le nombre de nouveaux exportateurs

40 entreprises

5

Accrotre le nombre d’exportateurs actuels qui ralisent des ventes sur de nouveaux marchs

75 entreprises

17

Accrotre le nombre d’exportateurs actuels qui augmentent leur chiffre d’affaires sur des marchs existants

150 entreprises

33

16. Commentaires sur les carts

Les rsultats attendus valent pour toute la dure de vie de l’entente, et la collecte de donnes se poursuit pendant deux ans aprs son expiration. La date cible pour l’obtention des rsultats attendus est en 2012.

17. Rsultats atteindre par les partenaires non fdraux (le cas chant)

S.O.

18. Personne-ressource

Michel Ttu, directeur gnral
Commerce et investissement
Agence de promotion conomique du Canada atlantique
N de tlphone : 506-851-6496
Courriel :michel.tetu@acoa-apeca.gc.ca



quipe Canada Atlantique (ECA)


1. Nom de l’initiative horizontale

2. Nom du ministre responsable

quipe Canada Atlantique

APECA

3. Date de mise en œuvre de l’initiative horizontale

4. Date de clture de l’initiative horizontale

5. Total des fonds fdraux affects

Avril 1999

Le 31 mars 2010

11,14 millions de dollars

6. Description de l’initiative horizontale

Fruit d’un partenariat entre l’APECA et les quatre gouvernements provinciaux de la rgion de l’Atlantique, quipe Canada Atlantique bnficie de l’appui d’Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada, d’Industrie Canada et d’Affaires trangres et Commerce international Canada. Elle s’est donn pour mission de renforcer les relations entre la rgion de l’Atlantique et les tats-Unis pour tout ce qui touche au commerce et aux investissements. De 1999 2008, quelque 6,5 millions de dollars ont t investis dans les missions commerciales d’ECA. En juin 2008, les participants ont dclar des ventes de prs de 45 millions de dollars.

La dmarche d’ECA est axe essentiellement sur la mission commerciale, qui permet aux PME des quatre coins de l’Atlantique de rencontrer des acheteurs ventuels, des agents, des distributeurs et des partenaires stratgiques aux tats-Unis. La mission est assortie d’un programme d’appui complet qui aide les entreprises participantes obtenir les connaissances, les contacts et les conseils dont elles ont besoin pour tirer le meilleur parti possible de leurs dbouchs avant, pendant et aprs leurs incursions l’tranger. Pour le gouvernement du Canada et les gouvernements provinciaux de la rgion l’Atlantique, les missions reprsentent aussi une occasion exceptionnelle de promouvoir la rgion comme march de choix pour les investissements trangers. Voir le site Web d’ECA http://www.equipecanadaatlantique.ca.

7. Rsultats partags

Les missions commerciales d’ECA s’adressent aux PME de la rgion de l’Atlantique. Elles les aident accrotre leurs exportations et attirer des investissements sur des marchs cls. En voici les objectifs :
          aider les PME de la rgion de l’Atlantique mieux se prparer en vue de l’exportation;
          crer des partenariats et des alliances entre des PME de la rgion et des entreprises exploites sur les marchs cibles;
          accrotre le chiffre d’affaires des PME de la rgion de l’Atlantique qui exportent sur de nouveaux marchs ou des marchs tablis et sensibiliser ces marchs la rgion de l’Atlantique.

En juin 2008, quipe Canada Atlantique avait men bien quatorze missions aux tats‑Unis, auxquelles 531 entreprises ont particip, et plus de 3 665 runions d’affaires se sont tenues; le chiffre d’affaires rel dpassait 44 millions de dollars.

8. Structure de gouvernance

Un comit de gestion compos de hauts fonctionnaires de l’APECA, du ministre des Affaires trangres et du Commerce international et des gouvernements provinciaux joue le rle d’organe dcisionnel en dirigeant et en surveillant la coordination et la mise en œuvre des missions d’ECA. Le comit organisateur d’ECA, qui se charge d’organiser les missions, est compos de reprsentants des quatre ministres provinciaux du Commerce de la rgion de l’Atlantique, du ministre des Affaires trangres et du Commerce international, d’Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada et du secrtariat d’quipe Canada Atlantique. Ce secrtariat, qui se trouve dans les locaux de l’APECA, est charg de la coordination globale et de la mise en œuvre des missions d’ECA.

9. Partenaires fdraux participant chaque programme

          APECA
          Affaires trangres et Commerce international Canada  – partenaire non financier
          Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada (AAC) – 7 000 $ par mission

10. Nom du programme

11. Total des fonds affects

12. Dpenses prvues 2007‑2008

13. Dpenses relles 2007‑2008

quipe Canada Atlantique

11,14 millions de dollars : APECA

132 000 $ : AAC

356 000 $ (S et C) : APECA
75 000 $ (F et E) : APECA
7 000 $ : AAC

337 829 $ (S et C) : APECA
73 000 $ (F et E) : APECA
7 000 $ : AAC

Rsultats pour 2007-2008

14. Rsultats prvus 2007‑2008

15. Rsultats rels 2007‑2008

PME mieux prpares l’exportation

40

41

Nouveaux exportateurs

5

8

Exportateurs perant de nouveaux marchs

5

16

Ventes l’exportation prvues des PME

30 millions de dollars

15 millions de dollars

16. Commentaires sur les carts

 

17. Rsultats atteindre par les partenaires non fdraux (le cas chant)

S.O.

18. Personne-ressource

Michel Ttu, directeur gnral
Commerce et investissement
Agence de promotion conomique du Canada atlantique
N de tlphone : 506-851-6496
Courriel :michel.tetu@acoa-apeca.gc.ca