Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Symbol of the Government of Canada

ARCHIVED - Getting Government Right - Governing for Canadians


Warning This page has been archived.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.


Implementing Change

Through a complex, coordinated process of change, the federal government has sustained its ability to deliver services. These changes have affected aggregate expenditures on federal government programs. They have profoundly affected the Public Service of Canada. They have transformed individual programs and services.

The Fiscal Story

Then

In 1993-94, the public believed that the nation's finances were out of control. The economy was still in the grips of the recession; low confidence levels among business leaders and workers were stifling consumer spending and investment and, thus, employment growth.

The international community was showing increasing discomfort with the country's indebtedness: the federal government was still adding almost $40 billion annually to the debt, which had grown in the previous decade to 71 per cent of GDP ($508 billion).

In 1993-94, Canada's deficit and level of indebtedness were the second highest among the seven largest industrial countries (the G-7), measured in relation to the size of their respective economies. This was reflected in the sagging value of the Canadian dollar on international currency markets and the unprecedented high levels of real interest rates.

Unfortunately, efforts to contain expenditures were not sustained and were often unfocused. They were marked by hesitancy to articulate priorities and to translate those priorities into real action. Continued fiscal drift was the result.

In spite of the rhetoric of restraint, the federal government's claims on the nation's output remained close to post-war peak levels. The hard choices were deferred.

Now

As Table I shows, while Canadians must still be vigilant about the relative level of indebtedness of their governments, the overall deficit position of the federal and provincial governments has dramatically changed.

Table 1, International Comparison iof Budget Deficits

This government took an approach that differed radically from the one used in the early 1990s. It recognized that the disjunction between rhetoric and reality had to cease. Many years of drift had taken their toll. Regaining the confidence of Canadians and of financial markets in government plans and projections was a primary goal.

The government started by revamping the Expenditure Management System. The new system eliminates central policy reserves, funds new initiatives by reallocating existing resources, provides a stable fiscal environment for longer-term departmental strategic planning, introduces business planning to help the Treasury Board develop an overview of strategic planning across government, and emphasizes the need to review programs continually and to deliver those services using available resources.

The government set out the broad outline of its expenditure strategy in the 1994 Budget and the 1994-95 Main Estimates documents. It established firm and binding fiscal targets for the next two years. It also kicked off the Program Review process, which compelled all ministers and senior officials to subject all the programs and activities they delivered to tough scrutiny.

 Program Review continues as an integral part of the government's annual planning cycle.

Program Review was no across-the-board, arbitrary cut. It was carefully structured around six key tests:

  • Is the program still in the public interest?
  • Is its delivery a legitimate and necessary role for government?
  • Is the current federal role appropriate or should the program be realigned with the provinces?
  • Should it be delivered in partnership with the private or voluntary sector?
  • How can it be redesigned for efficiency?
  • Is it affordable, given fiscal constraints?

Through this process, the federal government determined which activities it could continue to deliver or support within a much reduced budget. It also identified the activities it had to cease providing, scale back, devolve, or deliver or finance differently. Table II shows federal expenditures by major program area, and their percentage of total program expenditures, demonstrating the changing priorities of government resulting from Program Review.

Table 2, Change in the Composition of Direct Program Expenditures

 As a result of the actions announcedin the 1994, 1995and 1996 Budgets, program spending will have declined for six consecutiveyears by 1998-99.

As a result of the actions announced in the 1994, 1995 and 1996 Budgets, program spending will have declined for six consecutive years by 1998-99. Direct program spending (federal program expenditures less major transfers to individuals and other levels of government) will be down to $47.4 billion, a reduction of $8.1 billion from its 1993-94 level of $55.5 billion. When transfers to provinces and other expenditures are included, total federal program expenditures will have declined over the same period from 15.8 per cent of GDP to 11.9 per cent, the lowest level in 50 years. Table III gives the details of federal government expenditures.

Table III
Program Spending by Major Component


 

1993-94
   Actual

1997-98 Forecast

1998-99 Forecast


 

$ Millions

Direct Program Spending

   Defence

11,545 

9,916

9,377

   Payments to Crown Corporations

5,292

3,971

3,706

   Other Program Spending

38,693

36,341

34,305


Total Direct Program Spending

55,530

50,228

47,388


Major Transfers to Persons

   Elderly Benefits

19,903

22,308

22,940

   Employment Insurance Benefits

17,626

13,460

14,060

Major Transfers to Other Levels of Government

   Canada Health and Social Transfer1

16,846

12,500

11,807

   Equalization

9,045

8,292

8,436

   Alternative Payments for Standing Progam2

 

(2,131)

(2,235)

Other

1,063

1,142

1,104


Total Major Transfer Programs

64,483

55,571

56,112


Total Program Spending

120,013

105,799

103,500


Public Debt Charges

37,982

46,000

46,500


Total Budgetary Spending

157,996

151,799

150,000


1.  The Canada Health and Social Transfer (CHST) was introduced in 1996-97 to replace the Canada Assistance Plan (CAP) and the Established Programs Financing (EPF). The Transfer is composed of two parts, cash expenditures reflected in this table and tax entitlements outlined in the 1997 Budget. The total value of CAP and EPF for 1993-94 was $29.0 billion and the CHST for 1998-99 is forecast at $25.1 billion.

2.  In lieu of direct cash payments for standing programs delivered by the Province of Quebec, the Federal Government reduces personal income tax rates for the Province, and the Province may increase its rate by an equivalent amount. The equivalent value of the tax point reduction is recovered from the Federal Cash Transfers to the Province

The Federal Public Service

These achievements in meeting the government's fiscal objectives result from a fundamental rethinking of priorities, programs, structures and relationships through Program Review. The success of this exercise is due in large part to the skill, dedication and contribution of Public Service employees. Few of these employees have been unaffected by the changes resulting from Program Review, which range from major organizational restructuring and downsizing to technological innovation and alternative methods of delivering services.

The success of Program Review is largely due to the skill, dedication and contribution of Public Service employees

The government realized when it embarked on this exercise that many employees would be affected. Like other large private- and public-sector employers, the government introduced measures to help these employees. The Early Departure Incentive (EDI) and Early Retirement Incentive (ERI) programs have helped affected employees leave the Public Service. Both programs are intended for individuals whose positions are declared surplus. Under EDI, eligible employees in certain departments receive cash payments based on salary and years of service. Under ERI, the normal early retirement financial penalties for qualified individuals are waived. By 1998-99, annual reductions in the government wage bill will match the total cost of these incentive programs, and these savings will continue indefinitely. The government has used these and other measures to manage its workforce responsibly. It has also transferred some Public Service functions to other employers. As a result, it has minimized the impact of Program Review decisions on affected employees.

The population of the Public Service has declined from 225,619 at the start of April 1995 to approximately 195,000 at the end of December 1996. The government is achieving its expenditure goals. Departmental managers are implementing their Program Review plans and are continuing to manage departure programs carefully.

Transformation in Government Programs

As noted earlier, Program Review was based on six tests rigorously applied to every federal government activity and service. This review led to far-reaching changes in every corner of government activity. These changes will affect the structure of the Canadian economy and society, positioning them for the challenges of global competition, rapid social transformation, technological growth and economic development in the next century. A few of the specific changes introduced by Program Review are described below.

  • The federal government is moving away from owning, operating and subsidizing large parts of Canada's transportation system to focus on making policies and regulations to ensure the efficiency, safety and security of the system. For example, after applying Program Review tests to determine whether the public still needed certain services and whether the government should provide them, the government decided to privatize CN, transfer airports to local operating authorities, commercialize the St. Lawrence Seaway and transfer air navigation services to a new non-profit company. It is cooperating with private industry on many of these initiatives.
  • The government is reducing subsidies to business significantly, and will provide loans and repayable contributions instead.
  • Indian and Northern Affairs Canada is transferring its First Nations responsibilities in Manitoba to the First Nations themselves.

Delivering high-quality federal government services essential to Canadian society remains a bedrock of government policy and the raison-d'tre of the government's program spending plans. The focus on change, efficiency and re-engineering should not obscure the fact that the government remains dedicated to service excellence.

Innovations in reporting government performance provide solid evidence of this dedication. These innovations include the new performance reports tabled in Parliament as part of the Improved Reporting to Parliament Project, which is discussed in more detail later in this document. The following examples are only a tiny sample of the continuing achievements of federal programs.

Delivering high-quality federal government services essential to Canadian society remains a bedrock of government policy.
  • Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada: researchers are developing new varieties of beans that mature earlier and are appropriate to the Canadian climate, as well as winter-hardy varieties of kiwi fruit; advances in packaging and processing technology are opening the Japanese retail pork trade to Canadian producers; the department's food inspection compliance rates, already high, have been rising; early controls on the movement of beef cattle protected Canada's export markets from international concern over bovine spongiform encephalitis ("mad cow disease").
  • Environment Canada: the Ice Services Program has introduced new technology and new procedures, including the use of Radarsat as the primary ice surveillance platform, that will permit it to maintain service levels and achieve major cost savings; effective national and international cooperation is markedly decreasing the production of ozone-depleting substances; peregrine falcon populations are now self-sustaining in southern Canada; the quality of weather forecasting has improved dramatically, so that three-day forecasts are now as reliable as 36-hour ones were 15 years ago.
  • Parks Canada: Parks Canada is establishing new national parks, bringing Canada closer to the goal of completing the national park system; a new report on the environmental situation in the Bow Valley of Banff National Park is leading to a new balance of activities in the Park; Parks Canada is sharing its expertise in managing parks and historic sites with foreign governments.
  • Veterans Affairs Canada: by September 1997, the department will halve turnaround times for processing first applications for disability pensions.
  • Revenue Canada: the "single business number" gives companies a single account with the department, simplifying reporting considerably; in 1995, the new system for filing income tax returns electronically allowed the department to process 4.5 million personal income tax returns, out of a total of 21 million, within 10 days of receipt.
  • Treasury Board of Canada, Secretariat: the Secretariat has eliminated half of all paper-burden irritants that businesses reported encountering when they dealt with major federal departments.
  • Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency: improvements in managing federal-provincial agreements have resulted in administrative savings of between 35 and 50 per cent.
  • Royal Canadian Mounted Police: substantial reductions in administrative costs have freed up funds to increase policing – for example, one RCMP district in New Brunswick has been able to put seven additional police officers on the streets at no additional cost to the taxpayer.
  • Indian and Northern Affairs Canada: financial audits of First Nations expenditures have improved significantly; the department received 66 per cent of all audits within 120 days of fiscal year end in 1995-96, compared to 23 per cent in 1991-92; of these audits, 83 per cent were unqualified in 1995-96, compared to 57 per cent in 1984-85; the post-secondary education budget has more than tripled since 1985-86, enabling a very substantial increase in First Nations students, to more than 26,000 in 1995-96.

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

ARCHIVÉ - Repenser le rôle de l'État - Un gouvernement pour les Canadiens

Avertissement Cette page a été archivée.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à  des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à  jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à  la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à  la page « Contactez-nous ».


La mise en oeuvre des changements

Pour avoir appliqu un processus de changement complexe, mais bien coordonn, le gouvernement est parvenu conserver intacte sa capacit en matire de prestation de services. Les changements ont certes port sur l'ensemble des dpenses consacres aux programmes fdraux, mais ils ont aussi eu une profonde influence sur la fonction publique canadienne et ont transform ses programmes et ses services.

La leon des chiffres

D'hier...

En 1993-1994, la population croyait que les finances nationales avaient chapp tout contrle. La rcession faisait toujours rage; le manque de confiance constat chez les chefs d'entreprise et les travailleurs freinait aussi bien la consommation que l'investissement et, par consquent, la cration d'emplois.

Les marchs internationaux taient de plus en plus proccups par l'endettement du Canada. Anne aprs anne, prs de 40 milliards de dollars venaient s'ajouter la dette nationale, qui avait atteint 71 p. 100 du PIB (508 milliards de dollars).

En 1993-1994, le Canada se classait au second rang des sept plus grands pays industrialiss (le G-7) quant l'ampleur de son dficit et de son endettement par rapport la taille de son conomie. Rsultat : un dollar faible sur les marchs de change et des taux d'intrt rels qui n'avaient jamais t aussi levs.

Malheureusement, les efforts dploys en vue de contenir les dpenses manquaient de constance – et bien souvent de logique. On hsitait tablir des priorits et les traduire en mesures concrtes, d'o un drapage continuel des finances publiques.

On prchait bien l'austrit, mais le gouvernement fdral continuait de faire rouler l'conomie des niveaux avoisinant ceux de l'aprs-guerre. Les choix difficiles taient remis plus tard.

aujourd'hui...

Comme le montre le tableau I, si notre endettement exige que nous continuions faire preuve de vigilance, force nous est de constater que nous avons redress la situation de faon spectaculaire.

Tableau 1 - Comparaison internationale des dficits budgtaires

Notre gouvernement a adopt une approche diamtralement oppose celle du dbut de la dcennie. Il a compris qu'il tait temps de recoller le discours la ralit, qu'il fallait rparer les dgts causs par des annes de gabegie, en commenant par regagner la confiance des Canadiens et des marchs financiers.

Le gouvernement a donc commenc par rformer le Systme de gestion des dpenses. Il a limin les rserves d'intervention centrales, financ les nouvelles initiatives en puisant dans les ressources existantes et cr un cadre stable pour la planification long terme des ministres. Il a instaur les plans d'activit, en vue d'aider le Conseil du Trsor disposer d'un systme de planification stratgique l'chelle du gouvernement fdral, et a soulign la ncessit de rexaminer rgulirement les programmes ainsi que d'offrir les services dans la limite des ressources existantes.

Le gouvernement a expos les grandes lignes de sa stratgie de dpenses dans le budget de 1994 et le Budget des dpenses principal de 1994-1995. Il s'est fix des objectifs fermes pour les deux annes suivantes et a lanc l'Examen des programmes, qui a contraint les ministres et les hauts fonctionnaires examiner la loupe tous leurs programmes et toutes leurs activits.

 L'examen des programmes continue de fairepartie intgrante du cycle de planification annuelle du gouvernement.

Loin d'tre un exercice arbitraire de rduction uniforme des dpenses, l'Examen des programmes s'articulait autour de six critres de base, exprims sous la forme de questions :

  • Le programme tudi sert-il encore l'intrt public?
  • Est-il lgitime et indispensable que ce soit le gouvernement qui l'excute?
  • Le rle du gouvernement central est-il justifi ou le programme doit-il tre repens en fonction des provinces?
  • Le gouvernement devrait-il remplir son rle de concert avec le secteur priv ou le secteur bnvole?
  • Comment pourrait-on restructurer le programme en question pour le rendre plus efficace?
  • Est-il abordable au regard de la capacit financire du gouvernement?

Grce l'Examen des programmes, le gouvernement fdral a pu dterminer quelles activits il pouvait continuer d'excuter ou de financer avec un budget considrablement rduit. De plus, il a permis de cerner les activits qu'il devait cesser d'exercer ou qu'il devrait rduire, transfrer ou encore excuter ou financer autrement. Le tableau II prsente les dpenses fdrales par grand secteur d'activit et leur importance relative dans l'ensemble des dpenses de programmes. Il illustre ainsi la rorientation des priorits du gouvernement la suite de l'Examen des programmes.

Tableau 2 - Modification de la composition des dpenses de programmes directes

 Grce aux mesures annonces dans les budgets de1994, de 1995 et de 1996, en 1998-1999, cela fera six annes de suite que les dpenses deprogrammes auront diminu.

Grce aux mesures annonces dans les budgets de 1994, de 1995 et de 1996, en 1998-1999, cela fera six annes de suite que les dpenses de programmes auront diminu. Les dpenses de programmes directes (autrement dit, les dpenses au titre des programmes fdraux, moins les principaux transferts aux particuliers et aux autres ordres de gouvernement) auront t ramenes 47,4 milliards de dollars, soit 8,1 milliards de dollars de moins qu'en 1993-1994 o les dpenses atteignaient 55,5 milliards de dollars. Si l'on tient compte des transferts aux provinces et des autres dpenses, on aura, sur la mme priode, ramen l'ensemble des dpenses au titre des programmes fdraux de 15,8 p. 100 11,9 p. 100 du PIB, ce qui correspond au plus faible niveau observ en 50 ans. Le tableau III donne plus de dtails sur les dpenses fdrales.

Tableau III
Dpenses de programmes par secteur important


 

1993-1994         Relles

1997-1998 Prvues

1998-1999 Prvues


 

en millions de dollars

Dpenses de programmes directes

 

 

 

   Dfense

11 545

9 916

9 377

   Paiements aux socits d'tat

5 292

3 971

3 706

   Autres dpenses de programmes

38 693

36 341

34 305


Total des dpenses de programmes directes

55 530

50 228

47 388


Principaux transferts aux particuliers

 

 

 

   Prestations aux personnes anes

19 903

22 308

22 940

   Prestations d'assurance-emploi

17 626

13 460

14 060

Principaux transferts aux autres ordres de gouvernement

 

 

 

   Transfert canadien en matire de sant 
   et de programmes sociaux1

 16 846

 12 500

 11 807

   Prquation

9 045

8 292

8 436

   Compensation pour programmes permanents2

 

(2 131)

(2 235)

Autres

1 063

1 142

1 104


Total des programmes des principaux transferts

64 483

55 571

56 112


Total des dpenses de programmes

120 013

105 799

103 500


Frais de la dette publique

37 982

46 000

46 500


Total des dpenses budgtaires

157 996

151 799

150 000


1. Le Transfert canadien en matire de sant et de programmes sociaux (TCSPS) a t substitu, en 1996-1997, au Rgime d'assistance publique du Canada (RAPC) et au Financement des programmes tablis (FPE). Il comprend deux volets, l'un de dpenses en liquidits, refltes dans ce tableau, et l'autre de crdits fiscaux exposs dans le budget de 1997. En 1993-1994, la valeur totale du RAPC et du FPE combins s'levait 29,0 milliards de dollars, tandis que la valeur prvue du TCSPS est de 25,1 milliards de dollars pour 1998-1999.

2. Au lieu de paiements directs comptants pour des programmes permanents offerts par le Qubec, le gouvernement fdral rduit le taux d'imposition du revenu des particuliers pour la province, et celle-ci peut augmenter son taux d'un montant quivalent. Cette rduction d'impt est rcupre grce au transfert du gouvernement fdral la province.

La fonction publique fdrale

Si le gouvernement est parvenu raliser ses objectifs financiers, c'est qu'il a repens ses priorits, ses programmes, ses structures et ses modus operandi l'occasion de l'Examen des programmes, dont le succs est largement attribuable la comptence, au dvouement et aux efforts des fonctionnaires fdraux. Rares sont ceux d'entre eux qui n'ont pas t touchs par les changements ayant dcoul de l'Examen des programmes. Ces changements ont pris la forme d'importantes oprations de restructuration et de compression des effectifs, d'innovations techniques et de mise en œuvre d'autres modes de prestation des services.

 Le succs de l'examen des programmes estlargementattribuable la comptence, au dvouement et aux efforts des fonctionnaires fdraux.

Quand il a lanc l'Examen des programmes, le gouvernement tait tout fait conscient que de nombreux fonctionnaires seraient touchs. l'instar d'autres grands employeurs du secteur priv ou du secteur public, il a donc adopt des mesures pour leur venir en aide. Ainsi, la Prime de dpart anticip (PDA) et le Programme d'encouragement la retraite anticipe (PERA) ont permis et permettent encore au personnel occupant des postes dclars excdentaires de quitter la fonction publique dans de meilleures conditions. La PDA a permis aux fonctionnaires excdentaires de certains ministres de recevoir un montant calcul en fonction de leur rmunration et de leur nombre d'annes de service. Le PERA donne droit une pension de retraite anticipe assortie de conditions moins rigides quant l'ge et la dure de service. D'ici 1998-1999, la rduction annuelle de la masse salariale du gouvernement quivaudra au cot total de la PDA et du PERA, et ces conomies seront permanentes. Le gouvernement a pris ces mesures, et d'autres, pour grer ses effectifs de manire responsable. En outre, il a transfr d'autres employeurs certaines activits jusque-l remplies par la fonction publique, ce qui lui a permis de rduire au minimum l'impact des dcisions dcoulant de l'Examen des programmes pour les fonctionnaires touchs.

Les effectifs de la fonction publique sont passs de 225 619 employs au dbut d'avril 1995 195 000 environ la fin de dcembre 1996. Le gouvernement est en voie de raliser ses objectifs de rduction des dpenses; dans les ministres, les gestionnaires mettent en œuvre leurs plans d'Examen des programmes et ils continuent de grer avec soin les programmes internes d'incitation au dpart et de retraite anticipe.

La transformation des programmes fdraux

Comme nous l'avons vu, l'Examen des programmes a t conduit en fonction de six critres qui ont t appliqus de faon rigoureuse l'ensemble des services et des activits de l'administration fdrale. Il a donn lieu, dans toutes les activits gouvernementales, des changements d'envergure qui se rpercuteront sur la structure de l'conomie et de la socit canadienne; cela tant, nous serons davantage en mesure de relever les dfis que posent la concurrence mondiale, les mutations rapides, le progrs technologique et le dveloppement conomique, dans le sicle prochain. Voici d'ailleurs quelques-uns des changements qui ont dcoul de l'Examen des programmes.

  • Le gouvernement fdral cesse d'tre propritaire, d'exploiter et de subventionner une grande partie du rseau de transport canadien, pour se consacrer plutt l'laboration des politiques et des rglements visant assurer l'efficience et la scurit du rseau. Par exemple, aprs avoir appliqu les critres de l'Examen des programmes pour dterminer si le public avait besoin de certains services (et si l'tat devait les fournir), le gouvernement a dcid de privatiser le CN, de cder ses aroports des administrations locales, de commercialiser la Voie maritime du Saint-Laurent et de transfrer ses services de navigation arienne une nouvelle socit sans but lucratif. Dans plusieurs de ces dossiers, il collabore avec le secteur priv.
  • Le gouvernement a sensiblement rduit ses subventions aux entreprises et il va les remplacer par des prts et des contributions remboursables.
  • Au Manitoba, le ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien est en train de transfrer aux Premires Nations toutes les responsabilits les concernant.

La politique fdrale continue de s'articuler autour de la prestation de services de qualit, essentiels la population, services qui sont donc la raison d'tre des dpenses de programmes du gouvernement. L'importance que le gouvernement accorde au changement, l'efficacit et la restructuration ne doit pas masquer l'attachement qu'il continue de porter l'excellence dans la prestation de ses services.

D'ailleurs, on peut en juger d'aprs les innovations que le gouvernement a apportes la faon dont il fait rapport de ses ralisations. On peut penser aux nouveaux rapports sur le rendement dans le cadre du Projet d'amlioration des rapports au Parlement (sur lesquels nous reviendrons plus en dtail dans la suite de ce document). Les exemples suivants ne reprsentent qu'une infime fraction des amliorations rgulirement apportes aux programmes fdraux.

  •  La politique fdrale continue de s'articuler autour dela prestation de services de qualit, essentiels la socit canadienne.
    Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada: les chercheurs mettent au point de nouvelles varits de haricots acclimates, qui parviennent plus vite maturit, ainsi que des varits rsistantes de kiwis; les progrs raliss dans les techniques de conditionnement et de traitement ouvrent aux leveurs de porcs du Canada de nouveaux dbouchs sur le march du dtail au Japon; le taux d'application des normes d'inspection alimentaire du Ministre, qui tait dj trs lev, l'est davantage encore; le contrle exerc depuis longtemps sur les exportations et les importations de bovins a permis de protger nos dbouchs d'exportation contre les craintes que l'encphalite spongiforme des bovins (maladie de la vache folle) a inspires l'chelle internationale.
  • Environnement Canada: dans le cadre de son programme des services de glaces, le Ministre vient de mettre en œuvre une technologie qui repose sur l'utilisation de Radarsat en tant que principal outil de surveillance des glaces, ce qui lui permettra de maintenir ses services au niveau actuel tout en rduisant grandement ses cots; grce la qualit de la collaboration aux chelons national et international, il a t possible de rduire trs sensiblement la production de substances appauvrissant la couche d'ozone; dsormais, dans le sud du Canada, le faucon plerin n'est plus en dclin; la qualit des prvisions mtorologiques s'est considrablement amliore, de sorte que les prvisions trois jours sont maintenant aussi fiables que les prvisions 36 heures, il y a 15 ans.
  • Parcs Canada: ce service ouvre de nouveaux parcs nationaux et contribue ainsi raliser l'objectif de crer un rseau national de parcs; un nouveau rapport sur la situation environnementale de la Valle Bow, dans le Parc national de Banff, permettra de rquilibrer les activits dans le parc; des gouvernements trangers bnficient du savoir-faire de Parcs Canada en matire de gestion des parcs et des lieux historiques.
  • Anciens combattants Canada: d'ici septembre 1997, le Ministre aura rduit de moiti le dlai de traitement de la premire demande de pension d'invalidit.
  • Revenu Canada: le numro d'enregistrement unique simplifie considrablement les dclarations des entreprises; en 1995, le nouveau systme de production lectronique des dclarations de revenu a permis au Ministre de traiter, dans les dix jours suivant leur rception, 4,5 millions de dclarations de revenu des particuliers, sur un total de 21 millions.
  • Secrtariat du Conseil du Trsor du Canada: le Secrtariat a limin la moiti de tous les problmes causs par la paperasserie, que les entreprises prouvaient dans leurs transactions avec les principaux ministres fdraux.
  • Agence de promotion conomique du Canada atlantique: les amliorations apportes la gestion des ententes fdrales-provinciales ont permis de rduire de 35 50 p. 100 les dpenses administratives.
  • Gendarmerie royale du Canada: les importantes rductions effectues dans les dpenses administratives ont permis de librer des ressources qui ont t affectes aux activits policires. Par exemple, un district de la GRC au Nouveau-Brunswick a pu affecter sept agents de plus la surveillance locale, sans frais supplmentaires pour les contribuables.
  • Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada: la vrification des dpenses des Premires Nations a t grandement amliore; le Ministre a reu 66 p. 100 des rapports de vrification dans les 120 jours de la fin de l'exercice en 1995-1996, comparativement 23 p. 100 en 1991-1992; 83 p. 100 de ces rapports ont satisfait tous les critres de la vrification en 1995-1996, comparativement 57 p. 100 en 1984-1985. Le budget de l'enseignement postsecondaire a plus que tripl depuis 1985-1986, ce qui a donn lieu une augmentation massive du nombre d'tudiants autochtones qui a dpass les 26 000 en 1995-1996.