Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Symbol of the Government of Canada

ARCHIVED - A Guide to Effective Business Continuity in Support of the Year 2000 Challenge


Warning This page has been archived.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

1.0  Introduction to the Guide

1.1 Why Focus on Business Continuity?

Like all projects of this nature, size and complexity, the Year 2000 project brings with it a significant amount of uncertainty, unexpected events resulting from the dynamic environment in which we live in, and undesirable outcomes from the remediation work performed by departments. Most people would agree, in that context, that continuous risk management would be beneficial to departments. Who wouldn't want to identify potential problems early enough so that they can be addressed, thereby helping to ensure the ultimate success of their Year 2000 initiatives?

The Government remains optimistic about the its ability to successfully address the Year 2000 problem, but it is the ethical, social, business, and legal responsibility of all government managers to consider the possibility of not being able to complete their conversion activities. Continuity of operations should be the prime concern of managers impacted by the Year 2000 problem. Contingency planning will put these managers in a position to pro-actively and positively work through a potential crisis due to a Year 2000-related business disruption. A pre-established framework for control as well as effective communication, practiced through realistic scenarios, will also provide managers with invaluable tools to work through potential crises.

For these reasons, it is critical that business continuity be a priority for all departments.

1.2 Business Continuity Concepts and Definitions

In order to clearly position the business continuity process described in this guide vis--vis similar processes at the government and national level and conversion activities taking place within the departments, we are providing the readers with the underlying concepts of our process and some basic definitions. At the conceptual level, the TBS business continuity process can be depicted as shown below in Figure 1.

Figure 1 – Conceptual View of the Business Continuity Process

Figure 1 – Conceptual View of the Business Continuity Process

The Business Continuity process start with the establishment of a governance structure which will steer the process and ensure that decisions are made in a timely fashion. The governance structure extends from the planning and control level, where resources are mobilized and assigned to conversion activities, to the corporate (or department level) governance where high level decisions are made regarding business continuity. Both sides of the organization, that is functional and technical, are represented and bring their own set of objectives to the process. Technical personnel aim at achieving Year 2000 compliance before the year 2000 while functional personnel aim at ensuring business continuity. This guide is targeted at the functional side of the organization but recognizes that the achievement of the functional personnel's objectives is heavily dependent on the technical personnel's ability to meet theirs. The technical side of the organization plays an important role in the performance and success of the business continuity process.

The business continuity process spans over the three stages of business continuity identified, within the context of this guide, as:

  1. Prevention. This is the period where organizations identify risks that may impact the continuity of their business processes, evaluate the key attributes of the risks, and determine the organization's response to these risks in order to reduce their exposure to business interruptions;
  2. Preparedness. The preparedness stage aims at establishing the plans to address the risks and monitor the progress of the conversion work and evolving the business continuity plan; and
  3. Response. The final stage follows the declaration of a crisis and includes working through the crisis and resuming the operations of the organization.

The Business Continuity process is then broken down into process areas which include:

  1. Risk Management. Risk Management is a continuous process with methods and tools for identifying, analyzing, planning, monitoring and controlling potential, undesirable events which may negatively impact an organization's objectives. It should be noted that while the aim of the business continuity process is to prevent or minimize business interruptions due to the Year 2000 related failures, technical risks must also be managed since they will often constitute the root cause for these business interruptions. Risk management provides a disciplined environment for pro-active decision-making that:
    • Continuously assesses what could go wrong;
    • Determines which risks are important to deal with; and
    • Implements strategies to deal with those risks.
  2. Contingency Planning. Contingency planning is the area of the business continuity process where a department attempts to ascertain the kinds of crises most likely to occur and prepares to deal with them. Typically based on risks deemed unacceptable or which require significant mitigation measures, the overall purpose of contingency planning is to recognize and address as many uncertainties and risks as possible so that departments can maintain control over their operations when a crisis strikes. Contingency planning includes such components as crisis scenarios, contingency plans, crisis response plans and business resumption plans;
  3. Crisis Response. Crisis response is the collection of activities that minimize the effects of a crisis situation. Crisis response involves notification, assessment, planning, action and termination activities. Typically, this will involve the application of contingency plans to stabilize, prevent escalation and mitigate a crisis event. Crisis response involves both direct and corporate governance as well as planning and control level personnel (Crisis Response Team) who are normally responsible for actions directed towards crisis stabilization.
  4. Business Resumption. Typically, these are the actions undertaken once a crisis event has been stabilized. Business resumption involves the Crisis Management Team but the focus moves from the crisis itself to recovery and the resumption to normal business routines.

These four process areas are integrated into one common set of steps that take organizations from realizing that failures due to the year 2000 problem are possible through responding and recovering from crises. TBS integrated process has a particularity of building on the Software Engineering Institute's Continuous Risk Management process. Hence, although it may appear to differ from standard business continuity processes at the lowest level (step level), it satisfies the requirements of the government, builds upon a sound knowledge base and aligns itself nicely with similar processes implemented at the national level. These steps include:

  1. Set up Governance;
  2. Identify;
  3. Analyze;
  4. Plan;
  5. Monitor; and
  6. Control.

1.3 TBS Six-step Approach to Business Continuity

The TBS is proposing a six-step approach to business continuity. It builds on the work of the Software Engineering Institute for Continuous Risk Management and integrates Contingency Planning, Crisis Response and Business Resumption. The underlying activities of this approach are depicted below.

  Figure 2 – Integrated Business Continuity Approach

  • Identify = identifier
  • Analyse = analyser
  • Plan = planifier
  • Track = suivre
  • Control = contrler
  • Communicate = communiquer

Figure 2 – Integrated Business Continuity Approach

The business continuity activities are as follows:

  1. Set up Governance. The first step in implementing business continuity is to set up the required governance structure to support the process, identify and mobilize the department's resources, obtain governance structure members' commitment and involve these individuals in the business continuity process. The governance structure should not be different but integrated with the existing Year 2000 Project governance structure found in the departments;
  2. Identify. Departments must identify risks related to the Year 2000 problem that could impact the department's ability to ensure business continuity. Departments must also identify any risks that are beyond their control and should therefore be elevated to the TBS level (government-wide issues such as public infrastructure) or shared with their partners and suppliers;
  3. Analyze. Departments must convert the risk information, gathered in the "identify" step, into decision-making information. In addition to defining the risk attributes such as probability, impact, source and response, departments must relate the risk information to assets as well as business functions. This analysis will allow departments to clearly understand the potential impact of risk on business continuity and to take the appropriate management actions to address the risk;
  4. Plan. Once the risks have been identified and analyzed, departments can then assign resources to the management of the identified risks, or the elaboration of contingency plans for those business functions significantly affected by risks. They should also prepare plans to respond to crises and resume business following a crisis;
  5. Track. In order to continuously monitor risks and the related exposure to business interruptions, departments must then implement the strategies developed in the previous activity and continuously monitor variations to these plans. They must also track the progress of the conversion activities in order to identify risks; and
  6. Control. Upon materialization of one or more risks or Year 2000 failures, departments must control the negative impacts and escalate decision requirements to the appropriate level within the governance structure. If the negative impact cannot be controlled, contingency plans or procedures may have to be implemented for the impacted business function. Under certain scenarios, a structured response to these crises will have to be initiated and special controls implemented. The control step also addresses the business resumption activities.

Implicit but critical to this approach is the need to communicate information about the possibility of not completing conversion activities and the solutions to that problem. The success of the business continuity process hinges on frank and open communications on risks, contingency plans, crisis response plans and business resumption plans within departments as well as between departments, their partners and the TBS.

1.4 Opportunities and Barriers

Getting started with this guide will probably be one of the biggest challenges for organizations that are new to business continuity. In addition to the inertia problem that many departments experience when faced with new processes, other barriers may arise. The following table summarizes some of these challenges and provides high-level solutions to address them.

Table 1: Barriers and Solutions
Barriers Solutions
Inadequate Senior Management Commitment
  • Leverage TBS requirement for Contingency Plans by December 31, 1998
  • Emphasize legal, social, ethical and business responsibilities of managers to ensure the continuity of department operations
  • Sell pro-active nature of the process
Insufficient Funding
  • Present this process as "formalized" good management and integrate it into normal day-to-day activities
  • Sell the incremental nature of the process resource requirements based on progress and risk information thus minimizing the funding impact (funding gets reallocated from remediation to contingencies as failures occur or are eminent)
Cultural Barriers
  • Emphasize opportunities (e.g. ability to introduce new services earlier) as well as risks
  • Increase the level of communication early in the process
  • Celebrate successes (e.g. working through unforeseen crisis, preventing problem before its occurrence, etc.)
Lack of Knowledge
  • Hire temporary assistance and ensure technology transfer
  • Take TBS sponsored SEI courses offered through the Institute

1.5 How to Use This Guide

This guide has been structured and formatted to provide easy access to the TBS business continuity process requirements, and to maximize the efficiency of the individuals attempting to meet these requirements. The document focuses on the business continuity process and is divided into eight chapters (an introduction, six chapters describing each of the six steps, and a conclusion). The procedures required to effectively implement the elements are provided in appendices that are bound separately.

In order to keep this guide down to a reasonable size, and since the Software Engineering Institute Continuous Risk Management process has been fully endorsed by the TBS for CRM, specific references are made in this guide to the SEI Continuous Risk Management Guidebook. Departments that do not have a copy of the SEI CRM Guidebook can obtain one by contacting David Holmes at 957-2530. Activities or processes extracted directly from or based on the SEI CRM Guidebook are preceded by the logo below.

Logo depicting activities or processes extracted directly from or based on the SEI CRM Guidebook

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

ARCHIVÉ - Guide pour la continuité des opérations en regard du problème de l'an 2000

Avertissement Cette page a été archivée.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à  des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à  jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à  la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à  la page « Contactez-nous ».

1.0 Introduction

1.1 Pourquoi mettre l'accent sur la continuit des oprations?

Comme pour tous les projets de cette nature, de cette taille et de cette complexit, le projet de l'an 2000 s'accompagne d'une bonne dose d'incertitudes et d'imprvus attribuables l'environnement en perptuelle volution dans lequel nous vivons, ainsi que d'vnements indsirables dcoulant des activits correctives ralises par les ministres. La plupart des gens s'accordent pour dire que, dans les circonstances, une gestion du risque continue profiterait aux ministres. En effet, quel ministre ne voudrait pas cerner les problmes ventuels assez tt pour avoir le temps de s'y attaquer et ainsi contribuer au succs des initiatives qu'il a entreprises pour contrer le problme de l'an 2000?

Le gouvernement est optimiste quant sa capacit rsoudre le problme de l'an 2000 avec succs. Mais c'est aux gestionnaires du gouvernement qu'incombe la responsabilit morale, sociale, oprationnelle et lgale d'envisager la possibilit de ne pouvoir mener terme leurs activits de conversion. Les gestionnaires concerns par le problme de l'an 2000 devraient accorder une importance primordiale la continuit des activits oprationnelles. La planification de mesures d'urgence placera ces gestionnaires dans une situation qui leur permettra de traverser de faon proactive et positive une crise ventuelle provoque par une interruption des activits relativement au problme de l'an 2000. Un cadre prtabli de contrle et de communication efficaces, appliqu au moyen de scnarios ralistes, fournira galement aux gestionnaires des outils inestimables pour traverser ces crises ventuelles.

C'est pourquoi il est crucial que la continuit des oprations soit une priorit pour tous les ministres.

1.2 Concepts et dfinitions de la continuit des oprations

Afin de bien situer le processus de la continuit des oprations propos par ce guide par rapport d'autres processus similaires appliqus l'chelle gouvernementale ou nationale, et en comparaison aux activits de conversion qui sont effectues dans les ministres, nous aimerions communiquer aux lecteurs les concepts fondamentaux de notre processus appuys de quelques dfinitions lmentaires. Sur le plan conceptuel, le processus de continuit des oprations du SCT peut tre illustr par le schma de la figure 1 ci-aprs.

Figure 1 – Schma du processus de continuit des oprations

PF = Priorit des fonctions CA = Correspondance des lments

Figure 1 – Schma du processus de continuit des oprations

Le processus de continuit des oprations commence avec la cration d'une structure de gouvernance qui donnera une orientation au processus et qui s'assurera que les dcisions sont prises en temps utile. La structure de gouvernance s'tend depuis le niveau du contrle et de la planification, auquel les ressources sont mobilises et affectes aux activits de conversion, jusqu' l'autorit ministrielle (au niveau des ministres), auquel des dcisions d'une grande importance sont prises concernant la continuit des oprations. Les deux aspects de l'organisation, soit technique et fonctionnel, sont reprsents et leurs propres objectifs s'ajoutent au processus. L'quipe technique vise la conformit l'an 2000 avant cette chance, alors que le personnel fonctionnel a pour but d'assurer la continuit des oprations. Ce guide concerne plutt l'aspect fonctionnel de l'organisation, mais reconnat que la ralisation des objectifs du personnel fonctionnel dpend fortement de la capacit du personnel technique d'atteindre les siens. Le ct technique de l'organisation joue donc un rle important dans l'excution et le succs du processus de continuit des oprations

Le processus de continuit des oprations couvre les trois tapes identifies dans le contexte du prsent guide.

  1. Prvention : Au cours de cette tape, les organisations identifient les risques qui peuvent avoir des rpercussions sur la continuit de leurs oprations, valuent les proprits importantes des risques et dterminent quelle intervention adopter afin de rduire leur vulnrabilit l'interruption de leurs oprations.
  2. Prparation : L'tape de la prparation vise tablir des plans pour s'attaquer aux risques et surveiller les progrs des travaux de conversion et du plan de continuit des oprations; et
  3. Intervention : Cette tape commence lorsqu'une crise se produit et s'tend jusqu'au rtablissement des oprations de l'organisation.

Le processus de continuit des oprations se divise ensuite en quatre volets, notamment :

  1. Gestion du risque : La gestion du risque est un processus continu qui comporte des mthodes et des outils pour identifier, analyser, planifier, suivre et contrler des vnements indsirables possibles qui pourraient avoir des rpercussions ngatives sur les objectifs de l'organisation. Il est important de noter que bien que l'objectif du processus de continuit soit de prvenir ou de rduire les interruptions de services relatives au problme de l'an 2000, il faut galement se pencher sur les risques techniques parce que, souvent, ils constituent la cause fondamentale de ces interruptions. La gestion du risque fournit un contexte structur favorisant une prise de dcisions proactive afin :
    • d'valuer de faon continue ce qui pourrait tourner mal;
    • de dterminer quels risques il est important de s'attaquer; et
    • de mettre en œuvre des stratgies visant attnuer ces risques.
  2. Planification de mesures d'urgences : La planification de mesures d'urgence reprsente le volet du processus de continuit des oprations au cours duquel un ministre tente d'tablir avec prcision les types de crises qui sont les plus susceptibles de se produire et se prpare y faire face. Le processus de planification de mesures d'urgence concerne gnralement les risques jugs inacceptables ou ncessitant des mesures de rduction importantes. Il a pour objectif d'identifier et d'aborder autant d'incertitudes et de risques que possible pour que les ministres soient en mesure de garder un contrle sur leurs activits lorsque survient une crise. Le processus englobe entre autres des scnarios de prvention de crises, des plans d'urgence, des plans d'intervention et des plans de reprise des oprations;
  3. Intervention d'urgence : L'intervention d'urgence est un ensemble d'activits qui permet d'attnuer les effets d'une situation de crise. Ces activits comprennent la notification, l'valuation, la planification, l'action et la terminaison. En gnral, l'intervention d'urgence ncessitera l'application de plans d'urgence afin de stabiliser ou d'attnuer une situation de crise et empcher qu'elle ne s'aggrave. Elle requiert la participation tant de l'autorit ministrielle que de l'autorit directe ainsi que celle du personnel l'chelon du contrle et de la planification (quipe d'intervention d'urgence) qui est habituellement responsable des actions visant stabiliser la crise;
  4. Reprise des oprations : Gnralement, ce volet caractrise les actions amorces suite la stabilisation d'une situation de crise. La reprise des oprations demande la participation de l'quipe de gestion des situations d'urgence, mais les efforts sont axs sur la reprise des oprations et le rtablissement des activits courantes plutt que sur la crise elle-mme.

Ces quatre volets forment un ensemble d'tapes communes qui amnent les organisations se rendre compte que des pannes causes par le problme de l'an 2000 sont possibles, jusqu' la reprise des activits aprs une situation de crise. Le processus intgr du SCT s'inspire de la mthode de gestion du risque continue labore par l'Institut de gnie logiciel. Par consquent, bien qu'il semble diffrent d'un processus de continuit des oprations standard l'chelon infrieur (au niveau de l'tape), il rpond aux exigences du gouvernement, se fonde sur des connaissances solides et cadre parfaitement avec des processus similaires implants l'chelle nationale. Ces tapes sont les suivantes :

  1. tablir une gouvernance;
  2. Identifier;
  3. Analyser;
  4. Planifier;
  5. Suivre; et
  6. Contrler.

1.3 Processus du SCT en six tapes pour la continuit des oprations

Le SCT prconise un processus en six tapes pour assurer la continuit des oprations. Ce processus s'inspire des travaux effectus par l'Institut de gnie logiciel sur la gestion du risque continue et incorpore la planification de mesures d'urgence, l'intervention en cas de crise et la reprise des oprations. La figure 2 ci-dessous illustre les composantes fondamentales de ce processus.

Figure 2 – Processus intgr pour assurer la continuit des oprations

  • Identify = identifier
  • Analyze = analyser
  • Plan = planifier
  • Track = suivre
  • Control = contrler
  • Communicate = communiquer

Figure 2 – Processus intgr pour assurer la continuit des oprations

Description des tapes pour assurer la continuit des oprations :

  1. tablir une gouvernance. La premire tape de l'implantation d'un processus visant la continuit des oprations consiste mettre sur pied une structure de gouvernance qui dirigera ce processus, notamment en identifiant et en mobilisant les ressources des ministres, en obtenant l'engagement des membres de la structure de gouvernance et en les invitant participer activement au processus. Cette structure ne devrait pas tre distincte de la structure de gouvernance des projets de l'an 2000 qui existe dans les ministres, mais plutt y tre intgre;
  2. Identifier. Les ministres doivent identifier les risques associs au problme de l'an 2000 qui pourraient avoir des rpercussions sur leurs capacits assurer la continuit des oprations. Ils doivent galement dterminer les risques qui chappent leur contrle et qui doivent tre rfrs au SCT (questions ayant un impact sur l'ensemble du gouvernement, p. ex., l'infrastructure publique) ou partags avec leurs partenaires et leurs fournisseurs;
  3. Analyser. Les ministres doivent convertir les renseignements sur le risque, recueillis au cours de l'tape Identifier , en des donnes favorisant la prise de dcisions. En plus de dterminer les proprits du risque, telles que la probabilit, les rpercussions, la source et l'intervention, ils doivent associer ces donnes aux lments d'actif et aux fonctions de gestion. Cette analyse permettra aux ministres de comprendre clairement les rpercussions possibles du risque sur la continuit des oprations et de prendre les mesures appropries pour faire face au risque;
  4. Planifier. Une fois que les risques ont t identifis et analyss, les ministres peuvent ensuite affecter des ressources la gestion des risques identifis ou l'laboration de plans d'urgence pour les fonctions de gestion touches de faon importante par les risques. Ils devraient aussi prparer des plans pour intervenir en cas de crise et pour assurer la reprise des oprations la suite d'une crise.
  5. Suivre. Afin d'assurer le suivi continu des risques, notamment le risque d'interruption des oprations, les ministres doivent mettre en œuvre les stratgies labores l'tape prcdente et surveiller les carts qui peuvent se crer par rapport ces plans. Ils doivent galement continuer de suivre l'volution des activits de conversion pour dtecter les nouveaux risques possibles.
  6. Contrler. Lorsque un ou plusieurs risques se concrtisent ou que survient une panne due au problme de l'an 2000, les ministres doivent en limiter les rpercussions ngatives et acheminer toute demande de dcision au niveau appropri de la structure de gouvernance. Si les rpercussions ngatives ne peuvent tre enrayes, il faut alors appliquer des plans et des procdures d'urgence la fonction de gestion qui est touche. Dans certains cas, une intervention structure devra tre effectue et des mesures de contrle implantes. L'tape du contrle concerne galement les activits de reprise des oprations.

Un lment implicite mais extrmement important sous-tend toute la mthode : la communication de l'information concernant la possibilit de ne pas terminer les activits de conversion et les solutions pour rsoudre les problmes. Pour assurer le succs du processus visant la continuit des oprations, il est essentiel que l'information sur les risques, les plans d'urgence, les plans d'intervention en cas de crise et les plans de reprise des oprations soit communique ouvertement et franchement dans les ministres, ainsi qu'entre ceux-ci, leurs partenaires et le SCT.

1.4 Possibilits et obstacles

S'atteler la tche, l'aide de ce guide, sera probablement l'un des plus grands dfis qu'auront relever les organisations qui ne connaissent pas de processus pour assurer la continuit des oprations. Les ministres font parfois preuve d'une certaine inertie face aux nouvelles mthodes. cela s'ajoutent d'autres obstacles potentiels. Le tableau suivant rcapitule certains de ces obstacles et offre des solutions de haut niveau permettant de les aborder.

Tableau 1 : Obstacles et solutions
Obstacles Solutions
Engagement insuffisant de la part de la haute direction
  • Utiliser l'argument selon lequel le SCT exige que des plans d'urgence soient labors avant le 31 dcembre 1998.
  • Mettre en relief les responsabilits juridiques, morales et oprationnelles des gestionnaires pour que la continuit des activits du ministre soit assure.
  • Faire valoir le caractre proactif du processus.
Financement insuffisant
  • Prsenter le processus comme une dmarche de gestion mthodique qui doit tre intgre aux activits courantes.
  • Mettre en vidence la nature progressive des besoins en ressources dans le cadre du processus en fonction des renseignements sur le risque et de son volution, rduisant ainsi les rpercussions associes au financement (les fonds sont raffects des mesures correctives aux mesures d'urgence lorsque des interruptions se produisent ou sont sur le point de se produire) .
Obstacles organisationnels
  • Mettre l'accent aussi bien sur les possibilits que sur les risques (p. ex. la capacit d'intgrer de nouveaux services plus tt).
  • Augmenter le niveau de communication tt dans le processus.
  • Clbrer les russites (p. ex., le fait d'tre pass travers des crises imprvues, de prvenir un problme avant qu'il se concrtise).
Manque de connaissances
  • Engager du personnel temporaire et prendre les mesures ncessaires pour effectuer le transfert de technologie.
  • Prendre des cours de l'Institut de gnie logiciel (IGL) parrains par le SCT.

1.5 Mode d'emploi du guide

Le prsent guide est organis et prsent de faon faciliter le reprage des exigences du SCT en matire de processus visant la continuit des oprations et optimiser l'efficacit des personnes qui essaient de satisfaire ces exigences. Le document, qui met en relief le processus pour la continuit des oprations, comporte huit chapitres, soit l'introduction, six chapitres prsentant chacune des tapes et la conclusion. Les procdures ncessaires pour une implantation efficace de ces lments se trouvent dans les annexes qui se trouvent dans une reliure spare.

Des rfrences au Continuous Risk Management Guidebook de l'Institut de gnie logiciel (IGL) parsment ce guide, d'une part, parce que le SCT approuve entirement la mthode de Gestion du risque continue de l'Institut et, d'autre part, parce que nous voulions limiter la taille du guide. Les ministres qui dsirent un exemplaire du CRM Guidebook de l'IGL sont pris de communiquer avec David Holmes, au 957-2530. Le logo illustr ci-dessous est plac devant les lments - activits ou mthodes - provenant ou s'inspirant de ce document.

Ce logo est plac devant les lments - activits ou mthodes - provenant ou s'inspirant de ce document