Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Symbol of the Government of Canada

ARCHIVED - Expenditure Review of Federal Public Sector - Volume Two - Compensation Snapshop and Historical Perspective, 1990 to 2003


Warning This page has been archived.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.


5. Financing increases in the Total Salary Mass

While we can determine, from amounts reported for Personnel expenditures in the Public Accounts annually, how much payroll and total compensation have risen in the core public service and separate employers for the period under review, there is no reliable method or data available to determine from what sources rising remuneration costs are financed. In this short chapter, we identify some sources of financing for the increased population and higher average salary witnessed in recent years, and attempt to quantify the amount dedicated to this purpose from each source.

Sources of compensation financing

Salaries in the core public service and separate employer domains totalled $8.2 billion in 1997–98, and rose to $12.4 billion in 2002–03, an increase of $4.2 billion. In general, the salary mass increase came from three sources:

  • amounts approved by the Treasury Board for salary costs in support of new policies or workload increases;
  • internal transfers by departments from non-salary budgets to salaries; and
  • Treasury Board transfers to departments to cover salary increases from collective bargaining or other approved salary rate revisions.

Figure 2042 illustrates our conclusions about the relative size of the sources of increased salary funding.

We must emphasize that each dollar figure we present includes a significant margin of error. Thousands of transactions have been assessed electronically in an attempt to disaggregate the components. Errors can easily intrude that could alter the value of a component by as much as $200 to $300 million—say a margin of error of as much as 10% to 15%. We persist in presenting the results of our analysis despite the underlying technical fragility because the concepts are sound and the broad relativity among the components is useful to report.

Figure 2042
Estimate of sources of financing for the increase in the total salary mass for the combined core public service and separate employer domains, 2002–03 versus 1997–98

Display full size graphic

Estimate of sources of financing for the increase in the total salary mass for the combined core public service and separate employer domains, 2002-03 versus 1997-98

Important note:
All of the numbers in this Figure are estimates based on complex and (in-part) inter-related calculations relating to thousands of transactions. The actual total salary mass change could easily be within $200 million (that is 5%) of the estimated $4.2 billion increase. At least as large degrees of uncertainty apply to all the components of the model. The $1.5 to $1.8 billion total for TB transfers for salary increases, for example contains some ambiguous data. The important point is that the model provides a useful overview of how salary increases were financed.

Program and policy changes financed by Treasury Board

We begin by highlighting increases in salary funding that resulted from Cabinet decisions to invest more in people in order to achieve public policy goals. As we explained earlier in this section, Treasury Board[53] approved various proposals to fund new or expanded programs or to compensate for workload increases or other program integrity pressures on existing programs. After describing in some detail the approvals relating to five departments or agencies that were among the fastest growing between 1997–98 and 2002–03, we estimated that the total net additional salary funding approved by the Treasury Board for new policies or workload pressures in this period was around $1.3 to $1.6 billion.[54]

This amount consisted mainly of additional amounts included in departmental Estimates through the Treasury Board Secretariat's Annual Reference Level Update (ARLU). This funding is part of the Main Estimates normally tabled in February or March each year. Also included is a small net amount relating to policy or workload approvals that were approved as part of Supplementary Estimates, or transferred to departments from Treasury Board votes that were part of the Main Estimates.

We must emphasize that constructing this story is based on several years of complex records, with dozens of decisions affecting most departments, and with increases and decreases interwoven in balancing plans against realities. Essentially this means that we must accept that our estimate is rough. It appears reasonable, however, to conclude that in the order of one third of the increase in salary mass between 1997–98 and 2002–03 resulted from decisions by Ministers to invest in additional people to achieve policy or program goals.

Budgetary transfers initiated by departments themselves

The second factor we note is the increase in net transfers into salaries from other approved budgets, for non-salary operating dollars, capital, and grants and contributions.[55] The total net value of such transfers in the combined core public service and separate employer domains, comparing 2002–03 with 1997–98, was approximately $1.2 billion. This aggregates our estimates for in-year transfers, of around $865 million, and for permanent transfers listed in the ARLU, of about $315 million.

As we noted earlier in this section, these transfers could be financing:

  • growth in the number of public servants, or
  • increased salary costs arising from:
    • changes in the mix of occupations and classification levels in departments, or from
    • incomplete funding of salary increases agreed through collective bargaining.

We conclude that these transfers played a role in paying for both types of salary mass increases.

To gain perspective on how much of these transfers financed growing numbers of employees versus growing average salary costs, we evaluated the extent to which the policy/workload approvals identified already would have financed the growth in the number of federal public servants. The population of the public service expanded by about 37,000 between 1997–98 and 2002–03. Dividing our estimate of $1.3 to $1.6 billion for policy/workload increases approved and paid for by Treasury Board, by the population increase, yields an average salary of about $35,100 to about $43,200. This is clearly much too low, in that the average salary in current dollars grew from about $41,500 in 1997–98 to just over $52,800 at the end of 2002–03. This means that Treasury Board financing for policy/workload increases was insufficient to pay for the entire increase in the public service population.

We therefore multiplied the increase in the public service population (37,000 people) by the average of the annual average salaries over that period, which is about $47,500.[56] This allowed for the fact that average salaries rose year over year during the period. This multiplication yielded a total cost of $1.8 billion. Thus we determined that, while departments received $1.3 to $1.6 billion in approved budgets for policy and workload increases financed by Treasury Board through ARLUs, they still had to find an additional $200 to $500 million to pay for compensation for the additional employees they hired.

This means that between one sixth and one third[57] of the 37,000 increase in employees had to be paid for through in-year transfers effected by departments deciding, for example, that they could reduce travel or accommodation or program expenditures and hire more staff instead. These transfers, in turn, represent about 2% to 4% of the total 2002–03 salary mass.

Financing the average-salary increase

The final main component of the increase in salary mass is the increase in average salaries. As we have seen in the previous chapter, the average salary for the combined core public service and separate employer domains increased by $11,300—about 27.3% in current dollars—from around $41,500 in 1997–98 to about $52,800 at the end of 2002–03. (This corresponds to about 14.1% in constant 2002–03 dollars.) The factors contributing to this increase included:

  • collective bargaining outcomes,
  • both economic increases and changes to the structure of pay bands;
  • a major shift in the composition of the public service toward more highly paid, more knowledge-intensive occupations;
  • the net effect of annual increments within salary levels and departures from the public service; and
  • settlements to implement equal pay for work of equal value.

To construct a gross estimate of the amount needed to finance this growth in average salary we made two calculations.

  • First we multiplied the increase in average salaries, which is $11,300,[58] by the 1997–98 population of about 198,000, giving a total of $2.24 billion.
  • For the 37,000 employees added since 1997, we multiplied that population increase by $5,300, the difference between the 2002–03 average salary of $52,800 and the multi-year average of $47,500 referred to above. This calculation yields about $200 million.

Adding the two products gives a total cost of about $2.4 billion as the estimated amount needed to pay higher average salaries in 2002–03, compared with 1997–98.

If we are correct in our earlier estimate that $200 to $500 million of the net $1.2 billion of department-initiated transfers into salaries was needed to finance the growth in the public service population, this implies that the remainder (about $600 to $900 million) was applied to meet some of the cost of the increase in average salary. This suggests that an additional amount of about $1.5 to $1.8 billion was needed from the Treasury Board to pay for the approximately $2.4 billion increase in average salary. Because of the way records are maintained, we were not able to determine what amount was actually provided by the Treasury Board on a total net basis. One experienced analyst's educated estimate, however, was about $1.9 billion, a figure that lends support to our assumptions.

We must emphasize that these calculations are very rough. In particular, we acknowledge that separating the cost of hiring additional staff from the rising average cost of employees is somewhat artificial, in that a substantial portion of the change in the makeup of the workforce would have been effected through hiring additional staff. So hiring a new employee with more education or experience, at a higher-than-average classification level, would add both to employee population levels and to a higher average salary level. In consequence, our proposed split in the attribution of net departmental transfers between financing population growth and growth in average salaries is somewhat arbitrary. As we have seen, each element derives from assumptions. Nevertheless, the fact that the components more or less balance suggests that the model proposed is a reasonable approximation of reality. Such an understanding will assist in responsibly managing future increases in the public service salary mass.

How the federal government financed increasing compensation costs—1997–98 to 2002–03: a summary

We conclude that the $4.2 billion increase in the salary mass between 1997–98 and 2002–03, comprised three components, as follows.

Higher average salary—60 %

The cost of paying for higher average salaries amounted to about 60% of the salary mass increase.

  • About three-fifths to three quarters of this was funded by the Treasury Board to cover the cost of collective agreements and other authorized pay increases.
  • The remainder was funded from department-initiated transfers into salaries, mainly to cover part of the cost of changes in the mix of occupations and classification levels, as well as shortfalls in the amounts provided to cover collective agreements.

Approved staff increases for policy/workload purposes—about 33 %

About one third of the increase in total compensation costs resulted from Treasury Board approvals to hire more staff to deliver new policies or programs, or to deal with workload increases or other pressures on existing programs.

Department-initiated budget transfers for higher staffing levels—about 10%

The remaining cost of hiring new staff (more or less 10% of the total) was financed by department-initiated transfers into salaries from other approved budgets.

Having examined the macro forces and internal budgetary actions behind changes in the total salary mass, we now turn to an examination of specific aspects of compensation. We begin by looking at non-salary components of total compensation such as performance pay and other allowances. We then examine the federal government's pension plan and benefits programs for employees in the core public service and separate employer domains.

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

ARCHIVÉ - Examen des dépenses dans le secteur public fédéral - Volume Deux - Instantané de la rémunération et perspective historique, 1990 à 2003

Avertissement Cette page a été archivée.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à  des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à  jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à  la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à  la page « Contactez-nous ».


5. Financement des augmentations de la masse salariale totale

Alors que nous pouvons dterminer, partir des montants dclars annuellement dans les Comptes publics pour les dpenses en personnel, dans quelle mesure la masse salariale et la rmunration totale ont augment dans le domaine du noyau de la fonction publique et des employeurs distincts au cours de la priode tudie, il n'y a pas de mthode ou de donnes fiables disponibles pour tablir la nature des sources de financement de l'augmentation des cots de la rmunration. Dans ce court chapitre, nous dcrivons certaines des sources de financement de la croissance de l'effectif et du salaire moyen ces dernires annes en tentant de quantifier le montant consacr cette fin de chaque source.

Sources de financement de la rmunration

Les salaires des domaines combins du noyau de la fonction publique et des employeurs distincts totalisaient 8,2 milliards de dollars en 1997-1998 et 12,4 milliards de dollars en 2002-2003, soit une hausse de 4,2 milliards de dollars. En gnral, l'augmentation de la masse salariale provient de trois sources :

  • les montants approuvs par le Conseil du Trsor au titre des cots salariaux l'appui des nouvelles politiques ou des augmentations de la charge de travail;
  • les transferts internes effectus par les ministres, des budgets non salariaux aux budgets de salaires;
  • les transferts du Conseil du Trsor aux ministres pour couvrir les augmentations salariales dcoulant de ngociations collectives ou d'autres rvisions approuves des taux de rmunration.

La figure 2042 fait voir nos conclusions sur l'importance relative des sources de financement des hausses salariales.

Nous devons souligner que chaque chiffre prsent comporte une marge d'erreur importante. Des milliers de transactions ont t values par voie lectronique afin de dsagrger ces composantes. Des erreurs peuvent facilement se glisser et fausser une composante de 200 300 millions de dollars, ce qui reprsente une marge d'erreur pouvant atteindre de 10 % 15 %. Nous prsentons les rsultats de notre analyse en dpit de leur fragilit technique parce que les concepts sous‑jacents sont solides et que la relativit globale entre les composantes est un lment utile signaler.

Figure 2042
Estimation des sources de financement de l'augmentation de la masse salariale dans les domaines combins du noyau de la fonction publique et des employeurs distincts, 1997-1998 2002-2003

Afficher l'image pleine dimension

Estimation des sources de financement de l'augmentation de la masse salariale dans les domaines combins du noyau de la fonction publique et des employeurs distincts, 1997-1998  2002-2003

Avis important :
Tous les chiffres prsents dans cette figure sont des estimations fondes sur des calculs complexes et interrelis (en partie) se rapportant des milliers de transactions. Le changement rel de la masse salariale totale pourrait facilement se situer dans la fourchette de  200 M$ ( 5 %) de l'augmentation estimative de 4,2 G $, tout le moins en raison du niveau lev d'incertitude visant l'ensemble des composantes du modle. Le total de 1,5 1,8 G $ au titre des transferts du CT pour les augmentations salariales, par exemple, renferme certaines donnes ambigus. Ce qui importe, c'est que le modle fournisse un aperu utile du financement des augmentations de salaire.

Changements dans les programmes et les politiques financs par le Conseil du Trsor

Nous allons d'abord mettre en relief les augmentations de la masse salariale qui font suite aux dcisions du Cabinet d'investir davantage dans les gens pour atteindre des objectifs de politique publique. Ainsi que nous l'avons expliqu plus tt, le Conseil du Trsor[53] a approuv diffrentes propositions pour financer la cration ou l'expansion de programmes ou l'augmentation de la charges de travail ou attnuer d'autres pressions qui menacent l'intgrit des programmes existants. Suite un examen relativement dtaill des approbations donnes pour cinq ministres et organismes figurant parmi ceux qui ont connu la croissance la plus rapide entre 1997‑1998 et 2002‑2003, nous estimons que les crdits salariaux nets supplmentaires approuvs par le Conseil du Trsor au titre des nouvelles politiques ou des pressions lies la charge de travail au cours de cette priode se sont situs entre 1,3 et 1,6 milliard de dollars[54].

Cette somme consiste essentiellement en montants inscrits aux budgets des dpenses des ministres par l'intermdiaire de la Mise jour annuelle des niveaux de rfrence (MJANR) effectue par le Secrtariat du Conseil du Trsor. Ces fonds figurent dans le Budget principal des dpenses, habituellement dpos en fvrier ou en mars. Y figurent galement une petite somme nette au titre des politiques et des mesures relies la charge de travail, approuve dans les budgets supplmentaires des dpenses ou transfre aux ministres mme les crdits du Conseil du Trsor dans le Budget principal des dpenses.

Nous insistons sur le fait que nos travaux reposent sur des renseignements complexes couvrant plusieurs annes et sur des dizaines de dcisions qui ont touch la plupart des ministres, sans oublier les hausses et les baisses connexes dcoulant du rapprochement des plans tablis et de la ralit. Nous devons donc essentiellement en accepter le caractre approximatif. Il semble toutefois raisonnable de conclure qu'environ le tiers de l'augmentation de la masse salariale entre 1997‑1998 et 2002‑2003 s'explique par la dcision prise par des ministres d'investir dans l'ajout de ressources humaines pour atteindre des objectifs stratgiques ou oprationnels.

Transferts budgtaires l'initiative des ministres

Le second facteur est la hausse des transferts nets la masse salariale mme les autres crdits budgtaires approuvs (dpenses de fonctionnement non salariales, dpenses en immobilisations, et subventions et contributions)[55]. Comme nous l'avons vu prcdemment, la valeur nette totale de ces transferts dans le domaine combin du noyau de la fonction publique et des employeurs distincts tait prs de 1,2 milliard de dollars plus leve en 2002‑2003 qu'en 1997‑1998. Cela quivaut nos estimations concernant les transferts permanents dans le cadre des MJANR (315 millions de dollars) et les transferts en cours d'exercice (865 millions de dollars).

Comme nous l'avons indiqu plus haut, ces transferts ont pu concourir :

  • au financement de l'augmentation du nombre de fonctionnaires ou
  • d'autres cots salariaux :
    • dcoulant principalement de changements dans la composition de l'effectif et des niveaux de classification des ministres;
    • dcoulant du financement incomplet des hausses de salaire accordes en vertu des conventions collectives.

Nous en concluons que ces transferts ont servi financer les deux formes d'augmentation de la masse salariale.

L'une des faons de mieux voir quelle part de ces transferts a servi financer l'augmentation du nombre d'employs, par rapport au cot croissant des salaires moyens, est d'valuer dans quelle mesure les approbations dj recenses visant des politiques ou des mesures lies la charge de travail ont permis de couvrir le cot de l'accroissement du nombre de fonctionnaires fdraux. Nous avons mentionn au dbut du chapitre que l'effectif fdral avait augment de 37 000 employs entre 1997‑1998 et 2002‑2003. En divisant notre estimation de 1,3  1,6 milliard de dollars au titre des augmentations lies des changements de politiques et la charge de travail approuves et finances par le Conseil du Trsor, par l'accroissement de l'effectif, nous obtenons un salaire moyen d'environ 35 100 $ 43 200 $. Ce montant est nettement insuffisant, considrant que le salaire moyen en dollars courants est pass d'environ 41 500 $ en 1997‑1998 un peu plus de 52 800 $ la fin de 2002‑2003. Cela signifie que le financement provenant du Conseil du Trsor pour les changements de politiques et l'accroissement de la charge de travail n'a pas suffi couvrir en totalit l'expansion de l'effectif de la fonction publique.

Nous avons donc multipli l'augmentation de l'effectif de la fonction publique (37 000 personnes) par la moyenne des salaires moyens annuels durant cette priode, soit environ 47 500 $[56]. Ce chiffre tient compte du fait que les salaires moyens ont augment chaque anne durant cette priode. Cette multiplication donne un cot total de 1,8 milliard de dollars. Ainsi, nous avons dtermin que mme si les ministres ont reu du Conseil du Trsor, dans le cadre des MJANR, entre 1,3 et 1,6 milliard de dollars dans les budgets approuvs pour les changements de politiques et les augmentations de la charge de travail, ils ont d trouver une somme supplmentaire variant entre 200 et 500 millions de dollars pour couvrir la rmunration des employs supplmentaires qu'ils ont embauchs.

Cela signifie galement qu'entre le sixime et le tiers[57] de l'ajout de 37 000 employs a t assum au moyen de transferts en cours d'exercice au sein des ministres concerns, par exemple en puisant dans les budgets de voyage ou d'hbergement, ou dabs les dpenses de programmes pour embaucher plus de personnel. Ces transferts ont reprsent environ de 2 % 4 % de la masse salariale totale en 2002‑2003.

Financement de l'augmentation du salaire moyen

Le dernier lment important expliquant la croissance de la masse salariale est l'augmentation des salaires moyens. Ainsi que nous l'avons vu au chapitre prcdent, le salaire moyen dans les domaines combins du noyau de la fonction publique et des employeurs distincts a augment d'environ 11 300 $, soit 27,3 %, en dollars courants, passant de 41 500 $ au dbut de 1997‑1998 52 800 $ la fin de 2002‑2003. (Une hausse d'environ 14,1 % en dollars constants de 2002‑2003.) Parmi les facteurs ayant contribu cette hausse, il convient de mentionner :

  • les rsultats des ngociations collectives,
  • les augmentations conomiques et les modifications aux chelles salariales,
  • une volution importante de la composition de la fonction publique caractrise par l'augmentation du nombre de postes plus forte intensit de savoir et rmunration plus leve,
  • l'effet net des augmentations d'chelon annuelles l'intrieur des chelles salariales et les dparts de la fonction publique,
  • les rglements au titre de la parit salariale pour un travail de valeur gale.

Nous avons fait deux calculs afin d'estimer approximativement la somme requise pour financer la croissance du salaire moyen :

  • d'abord, nous avons multipli l'augmentation du salaire moyen (11 300 $[58]) par l'effectif de 1997‑1998 (198 000 employs environ), ce qui donne 2,24 milliards de dollars;
  • puis, nous avons multipli le nombre de nouveaux employs depuis 1997 (37 000) par 5 300 $, soit la diffrence entre le salaire moyen en 2002‑2003, c'est‑‑dire 52 800 $, et le salaire moyen pluriannuel de 47 500 $, mentionn prcdemment. Ce calcul donne un montant d'environ 200 millions de dollars.

Nous obtenons ainsi un montant total de 2,4 milliards de dollars, qui reprsente la somme additionnelle ncessaire, selon nos estimations, pour couvrir la hausse des salaires moyens en 2002‑2003 comparativement 1997‑1998.

Si notre estimation voulant qu'une somme variant entre 200 et 500 millions de dollars (sur des transferts nets totaux de 1,2 milliard de dollars faits par les ministres) ait servi financer les salaires lis l'accroissement de la taille de la fonction publique est exacte, il faut en conclure que le solde (de 600 900 millions de dollars) a servi couvrir une partie du cot de l'augmentation du salaire moyen. Cela signifie que des crdits supplmentaires d'environ 1,5 1,8 milliard de dollars devaient tre obtenus du Conseil du Trsor pour dfrayer l'augmentation d'environ 2,4 milliards de dollars du salaire moyen. En raison de la manire dont les dossiers sont tenus, il nous a t impossible de savoir quel montant total net a, de fait, t fourni par le Conseil du Trsor. Selon l'estimation claire d'un des analystes, ce montant avoisine 1,9 milliard de dollars, ce que nos dductions semblent tayer.

Nous tenons souligner que ces calculs sont trs approximatifs, en prcisant que la distinction faite entre le cot de l'embauche des employs supplmentaires et la hausse du cot moyen des employs n'est pas tout fait naturelle tant donn qu'une part apprciable du changement dans la composition de l'effectif aurait t ralise grce l'embauche d'employs supplmentaires. Ainsi, l'embauche d'un nouvel employ, plus scolaris ou expriment, un niveau de classification suprieur la moyenne, ajouterait simultanment l'effectif et au niveau du salaire moyen. Par consquent, la rpartition que nous proposons des transferts ministriels nets entre le financement de l'expansion de l'effectif et l'augmentation des salaires moyens est quelque peu arbitraire. Comme nous l'avons not, chaque lment repose sur des hypothses. Nanmoins, le fait que les composantes s'quilibrent plus ou moins laisse supposer que le modle propos est une approximation raisonnable de la ralit. Une telle interprtation faciliterait une gestion responsable des augmentations futures de la masse salariale dans la fonction publique.

Comment le gouvernement fdral a financ les cots croissants de la rmunration de 1997-1998 2002-2003 : survol

Nous arrivons la conclusion que l'augmentation de la masse salariale de 4,2 milliards de dollars entre 1997‑1998 et 2002‑2003 englobe les trois composantes qui suivent.

Un salaire moyen plus lev — 60 %

Le cot du versement de salaires moyens plus levs a reprsent environ 60 % de l'augmentation de la masse salariale.

  • Entre les trois cinquimes et les trois quarts de ce montant a t financ par le Conseil du Trsor afin de couvrir le cot des mesures contenues dans les conventions collectives et d'autres augmentations de salaire autorises.
  • Le solde a t financ l'aide de transferts au budget salarial par les ministres, surtout pour le cot li l'volution de la composition de l'effectif et des niveaux de classification, de mme que pour combler les fonds insuffisants affects au cot des conventions collectives.

Augmentations de personnel approuves aux fins des politiques et de la charge de travail — environ 33 %

Prs du tiers de l'augmentation du cot de la rmunration totale dcoule des approbations donnes par le Conseil du Trsor concernant l'embauche d'un plus grand nombre d'employs pour la mise en œuvre de nouvelles politiques ou l'excution de nouveaux programmes, ou pour tenir compte de l'augmentation de la charge de travail ou d'autres pressions s'exerant au niveau des programmes existants.

Transferts budgtaires l'initiative des ministres pour dfrayer des niveaux de dotation plus levs — environ 10 %

La fraction non couverte du cot li l'embauche de nouveaux employs (plus ou moins 10 % du total) a t finance au moyen de transferts effectus par les ministres mme d'autres crdits budgtaires approuvs.

Ayant examin les grandes forces et les mesures budgtaires internes l'origine des changements survenus dans la masse salariale totale, nous passons maintenant l'examen d'aspects particuliers de la rmunration. Nous dbutons par un examen des composantes non salariales de la rmunration totale, par exemple la rmunration au rendement et les autres indemnits. Nous passons ensuite l'examen du rgime de pensions et des programmes d'avantages sociaux offerts par le gouvernement fdral aux employs du domaine combin du noyau de la fonction publique et des employeurs distincts.