Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Symbol of the Government of Canada

ARCHIVED - Expenditure Review of Federal Public Sector - Volume One - The Analytical Report and Recommendation


Warning This page has been archived.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.


Volume One

The Analytical Report and Recommendation

Acknowledgements

A complex and comprehensive report such as this necessarily depends on the input and collaboration of a great many people, each expert in his or her own way. These acknowledgements list as completely as possible those who have contributed to making this Report feasible. Their generosity and wisdom were invaluable; they of course bear no responsibility for any errors or misunderstandings that may remain.

Clients

This review was undertaken at the instigation of Jim Judd, then Secretary of the Treasury Board. Alex Himelfarb, then Clerk of the Privy Council, concurred in this assignment. The Honourable Reg Alcock, President of the Treasury Board at that time, agreed that this study should be among the expenditure reviews mandated early in 2004 by the Treasury Board.

The Honourable Lucienne Robillard, former President of the Treasury Board, was not directly involved in the Review, except as a member of the Treasury Board agreeing to the suite of expenditure reviews. However, her rigour and passion for good management had encouraged earlier work on compensation planning that formed a foundation for this project.

Wayne Wouters, Jim Judd's successor as Secretary of the Treasury Board strongly supported the completion of the project, as did Linda Lizotte-MacPherson, Associate Treasury Board Secretary.

Team Members

Through the course of the project, the author appreciated the commitment of several full or part-time team members assigned from the Treasury Board Secretariat. These were indispensable to the work, carrying out research, managing logistics, and conducting consultations with other specialists. Some also participated in planning the report, in the writing, and in critiquing the text.

Lee Beatty contributed from February 2004 until July 2005, principally on issues of comparability, and on managing the external verification. Monique Paquin was project co-ordinator from the beginning in January 2004 until the autumn of the same year. Noomen Ketata designed numerous figures and tables through much of 2004. Don Booth played a variety of research and editorial roles off and on between late 2004 and early 2006. His efforts in March and April 2006 were indispensable to bringing the Report to a conclusion. Joanne Di Raimo managed the author's schedule, maintained project records, and assisted in many other ways. For the later stages of finalizing the Report, the work benefited from the research and logistical support of Louise Richer and Lucie Proulx.

David Swayze, an experienced consultant active on human resource and compensation issues in the public service, provided research and editorial services, as well as drafting slide presentations based on the Report. His frank criticism and friendly encouragement were invaluable. Joanne Godin edited the text, improving greatly its accessibility for readers. As with all good editors, her most difficult suggestions generally proved the wisest to accept. Ron Thibault and Randi Saunders Morry assisted greatly in revising the text for consistency. Mary Daly, another human resources consultant, helped situate federal public sector compensation in the context of broader compensation theory and practice. Terry Lister of IBM Business Consulting Services Canada, and Judy Lendvay-Zwickl of the Conference Board of Canada were generous early in the project in sharing their broad insights on compensation theory and practice.

The Translation Bureau expedited their high-quality work with an eye to ensuring consistency of style, a challenge in a work of this size. Jean Pierre Toupin and Marie-Claude Faubert designed the final document and matched the French text to the changes made to the English version. I am grateful to the French editor, Jean Pierre Toupin, for maintaining the quality of the French text while matching the reorganizations and revisions undertaken in the English version.

Expert Contributors

Dozens of employees of the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat (TBS) and the Public Service Human Resources Management Agency of Canada (Agency) put in long hours to provide data, explain policy, and review text for the Report. TBS Assistant Secretaries and Agency Vice-Presidents Hlne Laurendeau, Phil Charko, David Moloney (and his predecessors Kevin Page and Mike Joyce), Rick Burton, and Mark Corey were most supportive in facilitating contributions by members of their staffs. In addition, Hlne provided office space and logistic support after the author left the Treasury Board Secretariat in late 2004; she also read and commented on several parts of the text. Phil, Rick and Mark commented as well.

In the areas of employment, salaries and total compensation, as well as economic indicators and analysis, indispensable contributors from TBS included: Louis Beausjour, Richard Stuart, Alex Hui, Jim Plumpton, Marc Richard, Rick Hartrick, Louise Richer, and Bibi Majeed. Richard Stuart and Alex Hui were exceptionally devoted, rigorous, and creative colleagues on some of the most difficult aspects of the Report. On matters relating to expenditure analysis relating to salaries and benefits, Hubert Sguin has been a pioneer whose work proved invaluable to this Report.

On the subject of public service pensions, the Report relied heavily on the expertise of Bryce Peacock, with assistance from Claude Gagn, Linda Hansen, John Kay, Tony Rizzotto and Benot Robert. On the various benefit plans, our principal advisor was Rolf Amundsen, with input from Ron Kaden, Diane Filby, Kathy Jordan, Terry Ranger, Jean-Pierre Breton, and Dale De Spiegelaere.

On classification and reclassification issues, the project benefited from policy and quantitative input from Patricia Power and Jake Hogervorst from the Agency, and from Public Service Commission employees Kent Sproul and Harris Sinclair.

In regard to executive classification and compensation, Agency officials in the Leadership Network contributed generously. These included in particular: Ken Kritsch, Carolyn Guest, and Lynn Lemire-Lauzon. Wayne McCutcheon and Ginette Bougie of the Senior Personnel Secretariat at the Privy Council Office provided related expertise.

In the area of pay equity, the Report benefited particularly from input from Linda Giroux, who had developed a version of the proposals presented in Recommendation 17. On collective bargaining, Don Graham and Michel Lefranois were most useful. Mylne Bouzigon, Treasury Board Senior General Counsel provided welcome advice on these and other legal topics affecting the Report.

On matters of Public Accounts and government financing practices, John Morgan and Louise Breton from the Office of the Comptroller General were generous with their counsel.

Statistics Canada was active in assisting with some comparability analysis based on their databases, and in verifying our use of publicly available Statistics Canada data. The Chief Statistician, Ivan Fellegi, readily facilitated support from his staff. Among those most involved were Mike Sheridan and his successor Richard Barnab, both Assistant Chief Statisticians, and several staff including Peter Morrison in the Social, Institutional and Labour Statistics Field.

In developing the material on the Canadian Forces, the Report obtained essential data and corrections through the ready cooperation of Vice-Admiral G.E. Jarvis and various members of his staff, including Colonel J.C. Rochette, Captain Chuck Garnier, and Commander G. Vandervoort. Colonel McCarthy provided information on the Canadian Forces Health and Dental Service. Within the Treasury Board Secretariat, Rae Angus was most useful on Canadian Forces matters.

On the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, Paul Gauvin, Deputy Commissioner, Corporate Management and Comptrollership, was unfailingly helpful through several rounds of fact gathering, revisions and verification. Staff input from Marie Stewart, Roxanne Nol, and Sylvain Murray was greatly appreciated. Fred Drummie, Chair of the RCMP Pay Council, provided comments on the text. Michel Haddad in TBS was also helpful regarding RCMP issues.

Regarding the Canada Customs and Revenue Agency, the Report profited from data and thoughtful input supplied by Dan Tucker, Deputy Commissioner, Human Resources, as well as Claude Tremblay, Director General, Staff Relations and Compensation, and Debi Pilgrim. On the Canadian Food Inspection Agency, Fiona Spenser, Vice President, Human Resources was very helpful. On the National Research Council, Mary McLaren, Director General of Human Resources provided needed information and perspective. On Parks Canada, the Report benefited from the help of Chris Reny, Team Leader, Compensation and Benefits. On the Canadian Mortgage and Housing Corporation, Jim Miller, Vice-President, Risk Management and Communications, assisted. Guy Tremblay, Director General, Finance at Human Resources and Skill Development Canada provided useful views from a departmental perspective on the rationale for conversion of non-salary to salary dollars.

On matters relating to parliamentary compensation, the Report benefited from data and commentary from Luc Desroches, Director General, Corporate Services for the House of Commons, and from Murielle Boucher of the Library of Parliament, as well as Connie Balasa and Hlne Lavoie on the staff of the Senate.

In relation to consultant daily rates, the Report relied on information supplied by Peter Everson and Bill McCann of Consulting and Audit Canada, and Jose Touchette, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services at Justice Canada.

External Contributors

Several distinguished experts, mainly from outside the federal government, were generous in offering advice on the issues covered in the Report and in some cases on parts of the draftReport. These contributions were exceptionally important in maintaining perspective and validating findings over the past two years.

Thanks are due in particular to: Gary Breen, of Gary Breen and Associates; Jean-Claude Bouchard, President of the Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency; Ian Clark, President of the Council of Ontario Universities; Fred Drummie, Chairperson of the RCMP Pay Council; Jean-Guy Fleury, Chairperson of the Immigration and Refugee Board; Morley Gunderson, Professor at the University of Toronto; Martha Hynna, Chairperson of the Public Service Health Care Trust; Nitya Iyer, a lawyerwith Heenan Blaikie in Vancouver; Alain Jolicoeur, President of the Canada Border Services Agency; Judith Maxwell, then President, Canadian Policy Research Networks; Jim Mitchell, Senior Partner, Sussex Circle; John O'Grady of John O'Grady Consulting Inc.; Sylvie St-Onge of Hautes tudes Commerciales in Montreal; Jodi White, President, Public Policy Forum; and David Zussman, Executive Vice-President of Ekos Research.

Early in the Project, several external experts agreed to brief the author on compensation practices. These included: Gary Dobbie, Senior Vice-President, Compensation, Benefits and Employee Relations at the Royal Bank of Canada; David Dodge, Governor of the Bank of Canada; Don Drummond, Chief Economist for the Toronto Dominion Bank; Warren Edmondson, Chairperson of the Canada Industrial Relations Board; Shirley Howe, Public Service Commissioner for the Government of Alberta; Jean-Franois Munn, partner in Loranger Marcoux in Montreal; Andr Ouellet, then President of Canada Post; Yvon Tarte, Chairperson of the Public Service Staff Relations Board; Laura Thanasse, Vice-President, Compensation at Sun Life; Roland Theriault, partner in Mercer Consulting in Montreal; and Kevin Wilson, Assistant Deputy Minister, Human Resources for the Ontario Management Board.

It would have been desirable to include representatives of the federal public service unions in these consultations. However, after an invitation by the author to the Executive of the National Joint Council, the unions declined to participate. After his retirement as President of the Professional Institute of the Public Service in December 2004, Steve Hindle did review and comment on parts of the draft Report, drawing on his extensive experience as a union leader. Among the external advisors, John O'Grady also brought a long involvement in compensation issues from a union perspective to bear in his comments.

Other Assistance

Numerous others also helped with the project and the Report in various ways at various times. In the Treasury Board Secretary's Office, Rose Kattackal, Mary Gregory, and Enza Mattioli were always helpful. Stephen Silcox and Mike Giles in Corporate Services helped with contracting and financial management. Bianca Bertrand assisted in staffing the project. Roxanne Lpine and Cendrine Brisson in Hlne Laurendeau's office were unfailingly hospitable and helpful.

Michael Horgan, the Deputy Minister of Indian and Northern Affairs Canada, was patient in allowing the author time at various points in 2005 and early 2006 to finish the Report.

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

ARCHIVÉ - Examen des dépenses et comparabilité - Volume Un - Rapport d'analyse et recommandations

Avertissement Cette page a été archivée.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à  des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à  jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à  la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à  la page « Contactez-nous ».


Volume Un

Rapport d'analyse et recommandations

Remerciements

Un rapport aussi complexe et exhaustif que celui‑ci n'est possible que grce l'apport et la collaboration de nombreuses personnes, chacune ayant son domaine de spcialisation. Nous tenons dans la mesure du possible remercier ici toutes les personnes ayant permis de prparer ce rapport. Leur gnrosit et leur savoir n'ont pas de prix; en outre, ces personnes ne sauraient en aucune manire tre tenues responsables des erreurs ou malentendus qui pourraient subsister.

Clients

Le prsent examen a t entam la demande de Jim Judd, qui tait ce moment secrtaire du Conseil du Trsor. Alex Himelfarb, qui tait alors greffier du Conseil priv, a galement appuy la tenue de l'examen. Enfin, l'honorable Reg Alcock, qui assumait la charge de prsident du Conseil du Trsor, a convenu que cette tude devait faire partie des examens des dpenses commands par le Conseil du Trsor au dbut de 2004.

L'honorable Lucienne Robillard, qui a occup le poste de prsidente du Conseil du Trsor, n'a pas pris part directement l'examen, si ce n'est qu'elle a donn son appui aux examens des dpenses titre de membre du Conseil du Trsor. Cela dit, sa rigueur et sa passion en faveur d'une saine gestion avaient favoris antrieurement la tenue de travaux sur la planification de la rmunration, lesquels ont servi de fondement au prsent projet.

Wayne Wouters, qui a succd Jim Judd titre de secrtaire du Conseil du Trsor, a appuy vigoureusement la ralisation de ce projet, tout comme Linda Lizotte‑MacPherson, secrtaire dlgue du Conseil du Trsor.

Membres de l'quipe

Au cours du projet, l'auteur a tir profit de l'engagement de plusieurs membres du personnel du Secrtariat du Conseil du Trsor affects l'quipe temps plein ou temps partiel. Ces personnes ont apport une contribution indispensable : elles ont men des travaux de recherche, gr les aspects logistiques et men des consultations auprs d'autres spcialistes. Certaines ont pris part la planification du rapport, sa rdaction et l'examen critique de son contenu.

Lee Beatty a particip au projet de fvrier 2004 juillet 2005; elle s'est principalement penche sur des aspects lis la comparabilit et a aussi contribu la gestion de la validation externe. Monique Paquin a t coordonnatrice du projet depuis le tout dbut, en janvier 2004, jusqu' l'automne de la mme anne. Noomen Ketata a conu beaucoup de figures et de tableaux durant une bonne partie de 2004. Don Booth a rempli diffrents rles lis la recherche et la rdaction sur une base ponctuelle de la fin de 2004 au dbut de 2006. Son travail en mars et en avril 2006 a t crucial aux fins de l'achvement du rapport. Joanne Di Raimo a gr l'horaire de l'auteur, a tenu les dossiers relatifs au projet et a accompli de nombreuses autres tches utiles. Les travaux de recherche et le soutien logistique de Louise Richer et de Lucie Proulx ont t prcieux aux dernires tapes de la prparation du rapport.

David Swayze, expert‑conseil chevronn dans les domaines des ressources humaines et de la rmunration au sein de la fonction publique, a fourni des services de recherche et de rdaction; il a aussi rdig des diapositives partir du rapport pour la tenue de prsentations. Ses critiques franches et ses encouragements chaleureux ont t fort apprcis. Joanne Godin a rvis le libell du rapport, le rendant beaucoup plus facile lire. Souvent, ce sont ses suggestions ayant suscit le plus de rticences qui se sont rvles les plus prcieuses, ce qui est typique de tout bon rviseur. Ron Thibault et Randi Saunders Morry ont grandement contribu rviser le texte afin d'en assurer l'uniformit. Mary Daly, experte‑conseil en ressources humaines, nous a aids examiner la rmunration au sein du secteur public fdral dans le contexte de la thorie gnrale et des pratiques en matire de rmunration. Terry Lister, des Services‑conseils en affaires IBM Canada, et Judy Lendvay‑Zwickl, du Conference Board du Canada, nous ont fait profiter lors des premires tapes du projet de leurs connaissances approfondies sur la thorie et les pratiques de rmunration.

Le Bureau de la traduction a excut rapidement un travail de premire qualit, en veillant garantir l'unit du style, ce qui reprsente un vritable dfi pour un travail de cette envergure. Jean Pierre Toupin et Marie Claude Faubert ont prpar la version finale du document et ont rvis le texte franais en fonction des changements apports la version anglaise. Je tiens remercier le rviseur de la version franaise de la qualit de cette dernire, compte tenu de l'adaptation rendue ncessaire la suite des restructurations et des rvisions de la version anglaise.

Spcialistes

Des dizaines d'employs du Secrtariat du Conseil du Trsor (SCT) et de l'Agence de gestion des ressources humaines de la fonction publique du Canada (AGRHFPC) ont accompli beaucoup de travail pour fournir des donnes, expliquer la politique en vigueur et examiner des textes aux fins du rapport. Hlne Laurendeau, Phil Charko, David Moloney (sans oublier ses prdcesseurs Kevin Page et Mike Joyce), Rick Burton et Mark Corey, qui occupent les postes de secrtaires adjoints du SCT et de vice‑prsidents de l'AGRHFPC, ont beaucoup contribu la bonne marche du projet en permettant aux membres de leur personnel d'appuyer nos travaux. HlneLaurendeau a aussi offert des locaux et un soutien logistique aprs que l'auteur eut quitt le Secrtariat du Conseil du Trsor la fin de 2004; elle a galement lu et comment plusieurs sections du texte. Phil Charko, Rick Burton et Mark Coreyont aussi formul des commentaires.

La contribution des employs du SCT dont le nom suit a t indispensable en ce qui touche l'emploi, les salaires et la rmunration totale, sans oublier les analyses et les indicateurs conomiques : Louis Beausjour, Richard Stuart, Alex Hui, Jim Plumpton, Marc Richard, Rick Hartrick, Louise Richer et Bibi Majeed. Richard Stuart et Alex Huiont t des collgues extrmement dvous, rigoureux et cratifs relativement certains des aspects les plus ardus du rapport. Concernant les questions lies l'analyse des dpenses consacres aux salaires et aux avantages sociaux, Hubert Sguin a accompli un travail de pionnier qui a t de premire importance pour notre rapport.

Au sujet des pensions de retraite de la fonction publique, nous avons compt normment sur les connaissances spcialises de Bryce Peacock et sur l'aide de Claude Gagn, Linda Hansen, John Kay, Tony Rizzotto et Benot Robert. Notre principal conseiller au sur les diffrents rgimes d'avantages sociaux a t Rolf Amundsen et nous avons aussi tir parti des conseils de Ron Kaden, Diane Filby, Kathy Jordan, Terry Ranger, Jean‑Pierre Breton et Dale De Spiegelaere.

Les commentaires de Patricia Power et Jake Hogervorst de l'AGRHFPC ainsi que de Kent Sproul et Harris Sinclair de la Commission de la fonction publique sur des aspects stratgiques et quantitatifs lis toute la question de la classification et de la reclassification ont t fort utiles.

Au sujet de la classification et de la rmunration des cadres, il convient de souligner le gnreux apport des membres de l'AGRHFPC faisant partie du Rseau du leadership, notamment Ken Kritsch, Carolyn Guest et Lynn Lemire‑Lauzon. Wayne McCutcheon et Ginette Bougie, qui font partie du Secrtariat du personnel suprieur du Bureau du Conseil priv, ont galement offert leurs connaissances spcialises sur la question.

En ce qui touche la parit salariale, les commentaires de Linda Giroux ont t particulirement utiles aux fins du rapport; cette dernire a d'ailleurs formul les mesures faisant partie de la recommandation 17. Don Graham et Michel Lefranois ont fourni une aide prcieuse sur la question de la ngociation collective. Mylne Bouzigon, avocate gnrale principale au Conseil du Trsor, a fourni des conseils trs apprcis sur ces sujets ainsi que sur d'autres aspects juridiques pertinents aux fins du rapport.

John Morgan et Louise Breton du Bureau du contrleur gnral ont offert des conseils utiles sur des questions ayant trait aux Comptes publics et aux pratiques financires du gouvernement.

Statistique Canada a contribu certaines analyses de comparabilit fondes sur ses bases de donnes; l'organisme a aussi vrifi l'utilisation que nous avons faite de ses donnes du domaine public. Le statisticien en chef, Ivan Fellegi, nous a permis de profiter du soutien de son personnel, notamment Mike Sheridan et son successeur au poste de statisticien en chef adjoint, Richard Barnab, de mme que plusieurs employs, dont Peter Morrison du Secteur de la statistique sociale, des institutions et du travail.

Aux fins de prparer le contenu du rapport traitant des Forces canadiennes, la coopration du vice‑amiral G.E. Jarvis et de diffrents membres de son tat‑major, dont le colonel J.C. Rochette, le capitaine Chuck Garnier et le commandant G. Vandervoort, nous a permis d'obtenir des donnes essentielles et d'apporter des correctifs. Le colonel McCarthy a fourni des renseignements sur les Services de sant des Forces canadiennes. Au sein du Secrtariat du Conseil du Trsor, Rae Angus a t particulirement utile dans ce domaine.

Concernant la Gendarmerie royale du Canada, Paul Gauvin, sous‑commissaire, Gestion gnrale et Contrle, a fourni une aide constante lors de plusieurs exercices de collecte de renseignements, de rvisions et de vrifications. Les commentaires de Marie Stewart, Roxanne Nol et Sylvain Murray ont t grandement apprcis. Fred Drummie,prsident du Conseil de la solde de la GRC, a fourni des commentaires sur le texte. Michel Haddad du SCT nous a galement t utile sur les questions relatives la GRC.

propos de l'Agence des douanes et du revenu du Canada, nous avons pu compter sur les donnes et les commentaires clairs fournis par Dan Tucker,commissaire adjoint, Ressources humaines, Claude Tremblay, directeur gnral, Relations de travail et rmunration, et Debi Pilgrim.Concernant l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments, nous avons profit de l'aide fort utile de Fiona Spenser,vice‑prsidente, Ressources humaines. Mary McLaren,directrice gnrale, Ressources humaines, Conseil national de recherches du Canada, nous a fourni des renseignements et des points de vue fort utiles. En ce qui touche Parcs Canada, nous tenons souligner l'aide de Chris Reny, chef d'quipe, Rmunration et avantages sociaux. Pour ce qui est de la Socit canadienne d'hypothques et de logement, nous avons reu le soutien de Jim Miller, vice‑prsident, Gestion des risques et Communications. Guy Tremblay,directeur gnral, Finances, Ressources humaines et Dveloppement des comptences Canada, nous a fourni des commentaires utiles sur les raisons de la conversion des dpenses non salariales en dpenses salariales dans une optique ministrielle.

En ce qui a trait aux questions associes la rmunration des parlementaires, nous avons tir profit des donnes et des commentaires fournis par Luc Desroches,directeur gnral, Services corporatifs, Chambre des communes, Murielle Boucher de la Bibliothque du Parlement ainsi que Connie Balasa et Hlne Lavoie, du personnel du Snat.

Au sujet des taux quotidiens de rmunration des experts‑conseils, le rapport s'appuie sur les renseignements fournis par Peter Everson et Bill McCann de Conseils et Vrification Canada ainsi que par Jose Touchette,sous‑ministre adjointe, Services ministriels, Justice Canada.

Collaborateurs externes

Plusieurs spcialistes minents, dont la plupart n'appartiennent pas l'administration fdrale, ont offert des conseils sur les diffrentes questions abordes dans le rapport, et mme dans certains cas sur des segments de la version provisoire du rapport. Leur apport a t de premire importance aux fins de conserver une juste perspective et de valider les constatations faites au cours des deux dernires annes.

Nous souhaitons remercier tout particulirement : Gary Breen,de Gary Breen and Associates; Jean-Claude Bouchard,prsident de l'Agence canadienne d'valuation environnementale; Ian Clark,prsident du Conseil des universits de l'Ontario; Fred Drummie,prsident du Conseil de la solde de la GRC; Jean‑Guy Fleury,prsident de la Commission de l'immigration et du statut de rfugi; Morley Gunderson,professeur l'Universit de Toronto; Martha Hynna,prsidente de la Fiducie du Rgime de soins de sant de la fonction publique; Nitya Iyer,avocate, Heenan Blaikie, Vancouver; Alain Jolicoeur,prsident de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada; Judith Maxwell,ancienne prsidente des Rseaux canadiens de recherche en politiques publiques; Jim Mitchell,associ principal, Sussex Circle; John O'Grady, de John O'Grady Consulting Inc.; Sylvie St‑Onge, des Hautes tudes Commerciales de Montral; Jodi White, prsidente du Forum des politiques publiques; et David Zussman,vice‑prsident excutif, Ekos.

Lors des premires tapes du projet, plusieurs spcialistes externes ont accept de fournir des renseignements l'auteur au sujet des pratiques de rmunration. Ces spcialistes taient notamment : Gary Dobbie,premier vice‑prsident responsable de la rmunration, des avantages sociaux et des relations avec les employs la Banque Royale du Canada; David Dodge, gouverneur de la Banque du Canada; Don Drummond,conomiste en chef de la Banque Toronto Dominion; Warren Edmondson,prsident du Conseil canadien des relations industrielles; Shirley Howe, commissaire de la fonction publique, gouvernement de l'Alberta; Jean‑Franois Munn,associ, Loranger Marcoux, Montral; Andr Ouellet, ancien prsident de la Socit canadienne des postes; Yvon Tarte,prsident de la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique; Laura Thanasse,vice‑prsidente responsable de la rmunration la Sun Life; Roland Theriault,associ, Mercer Consulting, Montral; et Kevin Wilson,sous‑ministre adjoint, Ressources humaines, Conseil de gestion de l'Ontario.

Il aurait t bon que des reprsentants des syndicats de la fonction publique fdrale participent ces consultations. L'auteur a transmis une invitation en ce sens aux dirigeants du Conseil national mixte, mais les syndicats ont dcid de ne pas y participer. Aprs avoir pris sa retraite titre de prsident de l'Institut professionnel de la fonction publique du Canada en dcembre 2004, Steve Hindle a examin et comment certaines parties de la version provisoire du rapport, tirant parti de sa vaste exprience de dirigeant syndical. Fort de sa connaissance approfondie des questions lies la rmunration dans l'optique des syndicats, un autre expert‑conseil externe, John O'Grady, a lui aussi prsent des commentaires.

Autres personnes dont nous avons reu l'appui

De nombreuses autres personnes ont soutenu la ralisation du projet et la rdaction du rapport, diffrents moments et de diffrentes faons. Au Secrtariat du Conseil du Trsor, Rose Kattackal, Mary Gregory et Enza Mattioli ont constamment fourni une aide utile. Stephen Silcox et Mike Giles des Services ministriels ont assur un soutien en matire de marchs et de gestion financire. Bianca Bertrand a pris part aux activits de dotation pour la ralisation du projet. Roxanne Lpine et Cendrine Brisson, qui font partie du bureau d'Hlne Laurendeau, ont toujours t chaleureuses et utiles.

diffrents moments en 2005 et au dbut de 2006, Michael Horgan, sous‑ministre, Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien, a consacr du temps l'auteur pour lui permettre d'achever son rapport, et ce dernier tient le remercier de sa patience.

diffrents moments en 2005 et au dbut de 2006, Michael Horgan, sous‑ministre, Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien, a consacr du temps l'auteur pour lui permettre d'achever son rapport, et ce dernier tient le remercier de sa patience.