Section 4. Inuit of Nunavut Land Claim Agreement - July 9, 1993

Contracting Authorities should refer to the Nunavut Settlement Agreement Article 2 for General Provisions, Article 8 for the establishment, operation or maintenance of park facilities, and Article 33 for contracts relating to archaeological work. This section of the policy reflects the Government contracting obligations addressed in Article 24 of the Agreement.

Article 1

1.1.1 "Designated Inuit Organization" (DIO) means

  1. the Tungavik, or
  2. in respect of a function under the Agreement, any organizations that have been designated under Section 39.1.3 as responsible for that function

Article 8

8.4.8 Where Government intends to contract for the establishment, operation or maintenance of park facilities in the Nunavut Settlement Area, Government shall:

  1. give preferential treatment to qualified Inuit contractors where Government proposes to tender such contracts; and
  2. ensure that all contractors give preferential treatment to Inuit.

8.4.9 A DIO shall have the right of first refusal to operate all business opportunities and ventures that are contracted out with respect to Parks in the Nunavut Settlement Area. Upon request, Government shall make available to a DIO all reports and other materials in its possession relevant to the analysis of the economic feasibility of business opportunities and ventures in Parks in the Nunavut Settlement Area.

Article 24

PART 1: DEFINITIONS

24.1.1 In this Article:

"Government" means the Government of Canada or the Territorial Government;

"government contract" means a contract, other than a contract for government employment as defined in Article 23 of the Agreement, between the Government and a party other than Government or any other government for procurement of goods or services, and includes

  1. contracts for the supply of goods,
  2. construction contracts,
  3. contracts for the supply of services, and
  4. leases;

"Government of Canada" means all federal departments and departmental corporations listed in Schedules I and II, and parent Crown Corporations listed in Schedule III, Part I of the Financial Administration Act RSC 1985, Chapter F-11;

"Inuit firm" means an entity which complies with the legal requirements to carry on business in the Nunavut Settlement Area, and which is

  1. a limited company with at least 51% of the company's voting shares beneficially owned by Inuit,
  2. a co-operative controlled by Inuit, or
  3. an Inuk sole proprietorship or partnership;

"invite" means to call publicly for bids;

"representative level of employment" means a level of employment in the Nunavut Settlement Area that reflects the ratio of Inuit to the total population of the Nunavut Settlement Area;

"solicit" means to request bids from a limited number of businesses based on some form of pre qualification;

"Territorial Government" means all territorial government departments and all public agencies defined by the Financial Administration Act, S.N.W.T. 1987 (1), c.16, Part IX and Schedules A, B, C, but excluding the Northwest Territories Power Corporation.

PART 2: OBJECTIVE

24.2.1 The Government of Canada and the Territorial Government shall provide reasonable support and assistance to Inuit firms in accordance with this Article to enable them to compete for government contracts.

PART 3: PROCUREMENT POLICIES

Government of Canada Policies

24.3.1 Consistent with this Article, the Government of Canada shall develop, implement or maintain procurement policies respecting Inuit firms for all Government of Canada contracts required in support of its activities in the Nunavut Settlement Area.

24.3.2 The Government of Canada shall develop or maintain its procurement policies in close consultation with the DIO, and shall implement the policies through legislative, regulatory or administrative measures.

24.3.3 The measures referred to in Section 24.3.2 shall be binding on the Government of Canada, and shall be given effect:

  1. in all cases, no later than one year following the date of the ratification of the Agreement; and
  2. with respect to survey contracts prior to the award of survey contracts arising from Article 19 of the Agreement.

Adaptability Over Time

24.3.5 Procurement policies and implementing measures shall be carried out in a manner that responds to the developing nature of the Nunavut Settlement Area economy and labour force. In particular, the policies shall take into account the increased ability, over time, of Inuit firms to compete for and to successfully complete government contracts.

Policy Objectives

24.3.6 Procurement policies and implementing measures shall reflect, to the extent possible, the following objectives:

  1. increased participation by Inuit firms in business opportunities in the Nunavut Settlement Area economy;
  2. improved capacity of Inuit firms to compete for government contracts; and
  3. employment of Inuit at a representative level in the Nunavut Settlement Area work force.

Consultation

24.3.7 To support the objectives set out in Section 24.3.6, the Government of Canada and the Territorial Government shall develop and maintain policies and programs in close consultation with the DIO which are designed to achieve the following objectives:

  1. increased access by Inuit to on-the-job training, apprenticeship, skill development, upgrading, and other job related programs; and
  2. greater opportunities for Inuit to receive training and experience to successfully create, operate and manage Northern businesses.

PART 4: BID INVITATION

24.4.1 In co-operation with the DIO, the Government of Canada and the Territorial Government shall assist Inuit firms to become familiar with their bidding and contracting procedures, and encourage Inuit firms to bid for government contracts in the Nunavut Settlement Area.

24.4.2 In inviting bids on government contracts in the Nunavut Settlement Area, the Government of Canada and the Territorial Government shall provide all reasonable opportunities to Inuit firms to submit competitive bids, and, in doing so, shall take, where practicable and consistent with sound procurement management, the following measures:

  1. set the date, location, and terms and conditions for bidding so that Inuit firms may readily bid;
  2. invite bids by commodity groupings to permit smaller and more specialised firms to bid;
  3. permit bids for goods and services for a specified portion of a larger contract package to permit smaller and more specialised firms to bid;
  4. design construction contracts in a way so as to increase the opportunity for smaller and more specialised firms to bid; and
  5. avoid artificially inflated employment skills requirements not essential to the fulfilment of the contract.

24.4.3 Where the Government of Canada or the Territorial Government intends to invite bids for government contracts to be performed in the Nunavut Settlement Area, it shall take all reasonable measures to inform Inuit firms of such bids, and provide Inuit firms with a fair and reasonable opportunity to submit bids.

PART 5: BID SOLICITATION

24.5.1 Where the Government of Canada or the Territorial Government solicits bids for government contracts to be performed in the Nunavut Settlement Area, it shall ensure that qualified Inuit firms are included in the list of those firms solicited to bid.

24.5.2 Where an Inuit firm has previously been awarded a government contract, and has successfully carried out the contract, that Inuit firm shall be included in the solicitation to bid for contracts of a similar nature.

24.5.3 In the absence of competitive bidding for government contracts, qualified Inuit firms will be given fair consideration.

PART 6: BID CRITERIA

24.6.1 Whenever practicable, and consistent with sound procurement management, and subject to Canada's international obligations, all of the following criteria, or as many as may be appropriate with respect to any particular contract, shall be included in the bid criteria established by the Government of Canada for the awarding of its government contracts in the Nunavut Settlement Area:

  1. the existence of head offices, administrative offices or Other facilities in the Nunavut Settlement Area;
  2. the employment of Inuit labour, engagement of Inuit professional services, or use of suppliers that are Inuit or Inuit firms in carrying out the contracts; or
  3. the undertaking of commitments, under the contract, with respect to on-the-job training or skills development for Inuit.

24.6.2 Whenever practicable and consistent with sound procurement management, and subject to Canada's international obligations, all of the following criteria, or as many as may be appropriate with respect to any particular contract, shall be included in the bid criteria established by the Territorial Government for the awarding of its government contracts in the Nunavut Settlement Area:

  1. the proximity of head offices, administrative offices or other facilities to the area where the contract will be carried out;
  2. the employment of Inuit labour, engagement of Inuit professional services or use of suppliers that are Inuit or Inuit firms in carrying out the contract; or
  3. the undertaking of commitments, under the contract, with respect to on-the-job training or skills development for Inuit.

PART 7: LIST OF INUIT FIRMS

24.7.1 The DIO shall prepare and maintain a comprehensive list of Inuit firms, together with information on the goods and services which they would be in a position to furnish in relation to government contracts. This list shall be considered by the Government of Canada and the Territorial Government in meeting their obligations under this Article.

PART 8: EVALUATION AND MONITORING

24.8.1 The Government of Canada and the Territorial Government, in co-operation with the DIO, shall take the necessary measures to monitor and periodically evaluate the implementation of this Article.

PART 9: IMPLEMENTATION

24.9.1 The objectives of this Article shall be achieved throughout the allocation or re-allocation of government expenditures without imposing additional financial obligation on the Government of Canada or the Territorial Government.

24.9.2 The Territorial Government will carry out the terms of this Article through the application of Territorial Government preferential contracting policies, procedures and approaches intended to maximise local, regional and northern employment and business opportunities.

24.9.3 The Government of Canada, the Territorial Government and the DIO shall conduct a review of the effect of this Article within 20 years of its implementation. If the DIO and the Government of Canada or the Territorial Government, as the case may be, agree after the review that the objectives of this Article have been met, the obligations under this Article of the Government of Canada or the Territorial Government, as the case may be, shall cease within one year of the completion of the review. If the obligations of the Government of Canada or the Territorial Government under this Article remain in effect after the initial review, the Parties shall review the requirement to continue such provisions every five years or at such other times as they may agree.

Part 10: Co-operation Agreement between the Inuvialuit Regional Corporation and the Department of National Defence Concerning the Restoration and Clean-Up of DEW sites within the Inuvialuit Settlement Region -
February 2, 1996

33.6.1 Where any agency of the Government intends to contract for carrying out of archaeological work in the Nunavut Settlement Area, the agency shall:

  1. give preferential treatment to qualified Inuit contractors where the agency proposes to tender such contract; and
  2. ensure that all contractors give preferential treatment to qualified Inuit.

33.6.2 Any archaeological programs in the Nunavut Settlement Area that are administered by Government shall conform, at a minimum, to the employment and training provisions set out in Article 23.

 

Date modified:

Section 4. Entente sur la revendication territoriale des Inuit du Nunavut - le 9 juillet 1993

Les autorités contractantes devraient consulter la clause 2 de l'Entente sur la revendication territoriale des Inuit du Nunavut, pour les dispositions générales, la clause 8 pour l'établissement, l'exploitation ou l'entretien des aménagements dans les parcs et la clause 23 pour les contrats relatifs aux travaux archéologiques. Cette partie de la politique fait état des obligations contractuelles du gouvernement décrites à la clause 24 de l'Entente.

1.1.1 Définitions 

«organisation inuit désignée» (OID) : S'entend :

  1. soit de la Tungavik
  2. soit, à l'égard d'une fonction prévue par l'accord, de l'organisation désignée en vertu de l'article 39.1.3 pour assumer cette fonction.

8.4.8 Dans les cas où il entend confier à contrat l'établissement, l'exploitation ou l'entretien d'installation d'un parc dans la région du Nunavut, le Gouvernement:

  1. donne la préférence aux entrepreneurs inuit qualifiés, lorsqu'il se propose de lancer un appel d'offres à l'égard de tels contrats;
  2. veille à ce que tous les entrepreneurs donnent la préférence aux Inuit.

8.4.9 Les OID disposent d'un droit de premier refus relativement à l'exploitation des occasion d'affaires et entreprises visant les parcs de la région du Nunavut qui sont données à contrat. Le gouvernement met à la disposition de l'OID qui en fait la demande tous les rapports et autres éléments d'information qu'il a en sa possession et qui sont utiles aux fins de l'analyse de la faisabilité économique de ces occasions d'affaires et entreprises.

PARTIE 1: DÉFINITION

24.1.1 "entreprise inuit" Entreprise qui satisfait aux exigences légales applicables pour faire affaires dans la région du Nunavut et qui est:

  1. soit une société à responsabilité limitée dont au moins 51 pour 100 des actions avec droit de vote sont détenues en propriété effective par des Inuit;
  2. soit une coopérative contrôlée par des Inuit;
  3. ou une entreprise à propriétaire unique qui est un Inuk ou une société de personnes qui sont des Inuit.

"Gouvernement" S'entend, selon le cas, du gouvernement du Canada ou du gouvernement territorial.

"gouvernement du Canada" S'entend des ministères fédéraux et des établissements publics énumérés aux annexes I et II de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, L.R.C. (1985), chap. F-11, ainsi que des sociétés d'État mères énumérées à la partie I de l'annexe III de cette loi.

"gouvernement territorial" S'entend des ministères du gouvernement territorial et des organismes publics au sens de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, L.T.N.-O. 1987 (1), chap. 16, partie IX, et des annexes A, B, et C, à l'exclusion de la Société d'énergie des Territoires du Nord-Ouest.

"lancer un appel d'offres" Faire un appel public de soumissions.

"marché de l'État" Contrat-autre qu'un contrat visant un emploi au gouvernement au sens du chapitre 23 -conclu par le Gouvernement et une autre partie que le Gouvernement, ou quelque autre gouvernement, en vue de l'acquisition de produits ou services. Sont assimilés à un contrat:

  1. les marchés de fournitures;
  2. les marchés de constructions;
  3. les marchés de services;
  4. les baux.

"niveau d'embauchage représentatif" Niveau d'embauchage dans la région du Nunavut qui reflète le poids démographique des Inuit par rapport à la population totale de la région du Nunavut.

"solliciter" Demander des soumissions à un nombre limité d'entreprises ayant déjà satisfait à une certaine forme de pré qualification.

PARTIE 2: OBJECTIF

24.2.1 Le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement territorial prennent des mesures raisonnables visant à appuyer et à aider les entreprises inuit, conformément aux dispositions du présent chapitre, pour qu'elles puissent faire concurrence aux autres entreprises en vue de l'obtention des marchés de l'État.

PARTIE 3: POLITIQUES DE PASSATION DES MARCHÉS

Politiques du gouvernement du Canada

24.3.1 Conformément aux dispositions du présent chapitre, le gouvernement du Canada élabore, met en oeuvre ou maintient, en ce qui a trait aux entreprises inuit, des politiques visant la passation des marchés de l'État nécessaires au soutien de ses activités dans la région du Nunavut.

24.3.2 Le gouvernement du Canada élabore ou maintient ses politiques de passation des marchés en étroite consultation avec l'OID et il les met en oeuvre au moyen de mesures législatives, réglementaires ou administratives.

24.3.3 Les mesures visées à l'article 24.3.2 lient le gouvernement du Canada et entrent en vigueur:

  1. dans tous les cas, au plus tard un an après la date de ratification de l'Accord;
  2. dans le cas des marchés d'arpentage, avant l'adjudication des marchés d'arpentage découlant de l'application du chapitre 19.

Adaptabilité des politiques

24.3.5 Les politiques de passation des marchés que les mesures de mise en oeuvre sont appliquées de manière à tenir compte du caractère évolutif de l'économie et de la main-d'oeuvre de la région du Nunavut. De façon plus particulière, les politiques tiennent compte de la capacité accrue, au fil des ans, des entreprises inuit d'obtenir des marchés de l'État et de les exécuter avec succès.

Objectifs des politiques

24.3.6 Les politiques de passation des marchés et les mesures de mise en oeuvre reflètent, autant que possible, les objectifs suivants:

  1. la participation accrue des entreprises inuit aux occasions d'affaires qu'offre l'économie de la région du Nunavut;
  2. la capacité accrue des entreprises inuit de participer à l'obtention des marchés de l'État;
  3. l'embauchage des Inuit, à un niveau représentatif, dans la main- d'oeuvre' de la région du Nunavut.

Consultation

24.3.7 Au soutien des objectifs énoncés à l'article 24.3.6, le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement territorial, en étroite consultation avec l'OID, élaborent et maintiennent des politiques et programmes visant à réaliser les objectifs suivants:

  1. accès accru des Inuit aux divers programmes relatifs à l'emploi, notamment les programmes de formation en cours d'emploi, d'apprentissage, de perfectionnement professionnel et de recyclage;
  2. possibilités accrues pour les Inuit de recevoir de la formation et d'acquérir de l'expérience afin de créer, d'exploiter et de gérer avec succès des entreprises dans le Nord.

PARTIE 4: APPEL D'OFFRES

24.4.1 En collaboration avec l'OID, le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement territorial aident les entreprises inuit à se familiariser avec leurs méthodes d'appel d'offres et de passation des marchés, et ils les encouragent à présenter des soumissions à l'égard des marchés de l'État dans la région du Nunavut.

24.4.2 Lorsqu'ils lancent un appel d'offres à l'égard de marchés de l'État dans la région du Nunavut, le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement territorial donnent aux entreprises inuit toutes occasions raisonnables de présenter des soumissions concurrentielles et, lorsque cela est faisable et compatible avec une saine gestion des marchés, ils prennent à cette fin les mesures suivantes:

  1. fixer la date, l'heure, le lieu et les conditions de présentation des soumissions de façon que les entreprises inuit puissent soumissionner facilement;
  2. lancer des appels d'offres par regroupements de produits de façon à permettre aux petites entreprises spécialisées de soumissionner;
  3. permettre les soumissions visant des produits et services pour une partie précise d'un marché plus vaste, de façon à permettre aux petites entreprises spécialisées de soumissionner;
  4. concevoir les marchés de travaux publics de façon à accroître la possibilité pour les petites entreprises spécialisées de soumissionner à leur égard;
  5. éviter d'appliquer, en matière d'aptitudes à l'emploi, des exigences artificiellement gonflées et non essentielles à la réalisation du marché.

24.4.3 Lorsque le gouvernement du Canada ou le gouvernement territorial entend lancer un appel d'offres à l'égard de marchés de l'État devant être exécutés dans la région du Nunavut, il prend tous les moyens raisonnables pour informer les entreprises inuit de ces appels d'offres et leur accorder une possibilité juste et raisonnable de soumissionner.

PARTIE 5: SOLLICITATION DE SOUMISSIONS

24.5.1 Lorsque le gouvernement du Canada ou le gouvernement territorial sollicite des soumissions en vue de l'exécution de marchés de l'État dans la région du Nunavut, il s'assure que des entreprises inuit qualifiées font partie de la liste des entreprises sollicitées.

24.5.2 L'entreprise inuit qui s'est déjà vue adjuger un marché de l'État et qui l'a exécuté avec succès doit être sollicitée a l'égard des marché de nature analogue.

24.5.3 En l'absence d'appels à la concurrence visant des marchés de l'État, les entreprises inuit qualifiées doivent être traitées équitablement.

PARTIE 6: CRITÈRES DE L'APPEL D'OFFRES

24.6.1 Chaque fois que cela est faisable et compatible avec une saine gestion des marchés de l'État, et sous réserve des obligations internationales du Canada, l'ensemble des critères énumérés aux alinéas suivants ou tous ceux qui sont appropriés à l'égard d'un marché donné font partie des critères établis par le gouvernement du Canada en vue de l'adjudication des marchés de l'État dans la région du Nunavut:

  1. présence de sièges sociaux, de bureaux administratifs ou d'autres établissement dans la région du Nunavut;
  2. dans l'exécution des marchés, embauchage de travailleurs qui sont des Inuit, recours aux services professionnels des Inuit ou de fournisseurs qui sont soit des Inuit, soit des entreprises inuit;
  3. prise d'engagements, dans le cadre du marché, relativement à la formation en cours d'emploi ou au perfectionnement professionnel des Inuit.

PARTIE 7: LISTE DES ENTREPRISES INUIT

24.7.1 L'OID prépare et tient à jour une liste exhaustive des entreprises inuit. Cette liste fait état de renseignements quant aux produits et services que les entreprises inuit sont en mesure de fournir à l'égard des marchés de l'État. Le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement territorial tiennent compte de cette liste dans l'exécution des obligations qui leur incombent en vertu du présent chapitre.

PARTIE 8: ÉVALUATION ET SURVEILLANCE

24.8.1 Le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement territorial, en collaboration avec l'OID, prennent les mesures nécessaires afin d'évaluer périodiquement et de surveiller la mise en oeuvre du présent chapitre.

PARTIE 9: MISE EN OEUVRE

24.9.1 La réalisation des objectifs prévus par le chapitre 24 de cet Accord se fait par l'affectation ou la ré affectation des dépenses gouvernementales, sans imposer d'obligations financières additionnelles au gouvernement du Canada ou au gouvernement territorial.

24.9.2 Le gouvernement territorial exécutera les conditions prévues par le présent chapitre en appliquant ses politiques, procédures et méthodes préférentielles en matière de passation des marchés qui ont pour but de maximiser les occasions d'emploi et d'affaires tant à l'échelle locale et régionale que dans le Nord.

24.9.3 Le gouvernement du Canada, le gouvernement territorial et l'OID procèdent à l'examen des répercussions du présent chapitre au cours des vingt premières années de sa mise en oeuvre. Si l'OID et le gouvernement du Canada ou le gouvernement territorial, selon le cas, conviennent au terme de cet examen, que les objectifs visés par le présent chapitre ont été réalisés, les obligations qui incombent au gouvernement du Canada ou au gouvernement territorial, selon le cas, aux termes du présent chapitre, prennent fin dans l'année qui suit l'achèvement de l'examen. Si les obligations qui incombent au gouvernement du Canada ou au gouvernement territorial en vertu du présent chapitre continuent de s'appliquer après l'examen initial, les parties réexaminent ensuite tous les cinq ans ou aux intervalles dont elles conviennent, l'obligation de poursuivre l'application des dispositions en question.

PARTIE 6: EMBAUCHE ET CONTRAT

33.6.1 L'organisme du Gouvernement qui entend confier à contrat des travaux archéologiques dans la région du Nunavut est tenu de respecter les conditions suivantes:

  1. s'il se propose de lancer un appel d'offres à l'égard de tels contrats, il doit accorder un traitement préférentiel aux entrepreneurs inuit qualifiés;
  2. il doit veiller à ce que tous les entrepreneurs accordent un traitement préférentiel aux Inuit qualifiés.

33.6.2 Tous les programmes archéologiques administrés par le Gouvernement dans la région du Nunavut doivent respecter, au minimum, les disposition en matière d'embauchage et de formation prévues au chapitre 23.

 

Date de modification :