Table of Content  

Section Two - Issue of Governor General Special Warrants in 2005-2006

Introduction

In 2005-2006, a total of three Special Warrants were issued, for a total of $4.2 billion.

This section provides an overview of the Special Warrants issued as well as a number of summary tables:

i.       A summary of Special Warrants issued in 2005-2006, by organization, by vote and by period;
 
ii.       A summary of Estimates to date for 2005-2006;
 
iii.       A summary of changes to voted appropriations which provides a synopsis of the total cash requirements for the period, including those addressed through existing appropriations, central votes, and, ultimately, Special Warrants;
 
iv.       A summary of the use of TB Vote 5;
 
v.       A summary of the use of TB Vote 10; and,
 
vi.       A summary of horizontal initiatives/issues for which organizations required supplementary funding.
 

This is followed by organizational information that provides the detail of the initiatives for which organizations required funding.

As noted in the previous section, the organizational detail does not identify the specific items for which funding was requested through Special Warrants but rather the supplementary items that gave rise to the need for Special Warrants. The reason for this approach is twofold:

For 2005-2006, Appropriation Act No. 2 was approved in June 2005 providing full supply consistent with the 2005-2006 Main Estimates tabled on February 25, 2005. Consequently, organizations had access to their entire base funding levels as well as the approval of the annual renewal of authorities provided through vote wording such as revenue-respending, recovery of expenditures, and grant (and CIDA's contribution) payments listed in the Estimates.

On October 27, 2005, the government tabled its 2005-2006 Supplementary Estimates (A). As noted earlier in Section One, $7 billion of spending authorities provided in these Estimates were subject to vote by Parliament. The dissolution of Parliament for the purposes of a general election precluded this from taking place. As a consequence, Special Warrants were required to provide for a significant portion of the items listed in those Supplementary Estimates as they were judged to be essential and urgent to the core operations of government.

This test also applied to a small number of additional items that would have been included in a subsequent Supplementary Estimate towards the end of the fiscal year * . These items included such issues as:

* It is customary to table a final Supplementary Estimates for the fiscal period in February.

24 2005-2006 Governor General Special Warrants 

Process

Given the timing in the year, organizations had most of the necessary spending authorities, approved through Appropriation Act No. 2 , to operate. However, as noted previously, a Special Warrant can only provide supply where an authority already exists to make an expenditure, it cannot provide the authority itself. Ergo, any new, or amendments to existing authorities were not possible through Special Warrants. As authorities are approved through an organization's vote wording, this meant that Special Warrants could not be used to:

establish new votes or amend vote wording, required to:
 
  make a transfer between votes;
 
  forgive or write-off debts;
 
  establish revenue respending or new revolving fund authorities; and,
 
  increase limits on the issuance of loans or guarantees (where a limit is specified in the vote).
 
establish new grants or increases to grants already listed in the 2005-2006 Main Estimates.
 

It should be emphasized that an organization does not need to have a vote to seek the issuance of a Special Warrant as long as the authority to make a payment exists elsewhere. This is particularly important for new organizations that are established under legislative authority but do not have a vote structure in place and approved through an

Appropriation Act .

As a result of the limitation on grants, one of the first steps carried out by the Treasury Board prior to the dissolution of Parliament was to fund certain new grants that would have been subject to Parliament's approval in the supply bill for the Supplementary Estimates (A). This approach was recommended given that:

The grants in question are listed in this report; both at a summary level and individually on the respective organizational pages.

Finally, with the requirement that no appropriation is available from which the payment could be made, any funds that were sequestered within an organization's funding levels had to be used before a Special Warrant was issued. Referred to as special or controlled allotments, the spending authority related to these funds is not available to organizations and is directed and controlled by the Treasury Board. An example of when such administrative controls would be used would be to freeze funding in respect of reductions to appropriations relating to expenditure review initiatives. This use of special or controlled allotments to offset supplementary funding requirements is consistent with how the Supplementary Estimates are prepared and presented to Parliament. If Treasury Board does not subsequently release these special or controlled allotments to departments, they lapse.

Similarly, funds available in TB Votes 5 and 10 were depleted, all in the initial Special Warrant period, on a first come, first served basis against organizational requests for funding.

The tables for each organization, therefore, reflect the complete story; providing detail on the gross organizational requirements by initiative as well as amounts that have been offset by the use of special or controlled allotments and central votes. The net result is what was issued as Special Warrants for the organization over the period.

Summary

There is an evident and normal trend in the use of Special Warrants. Since organizations are expected to cash manage their requirements before requesting the issuance of a Special Warrant, the trend starts small and culminates in a final Special Warrant for a given fiscal year that is significantly larger since less flexibility to cash manage is available in organizational budgets towards the end of the process. In addition, any "surplus" spending authorities tend to be exhausted earlier in the process, lessening the upfront amounts being requested through Special Warrants. This was certainly the experience with Special Warrants issued in 2005-2006. In fact, with the exception of National Defence, organizations generally cash managed the bulk of their requirements until the third Special Warrant period.

In addition, and contributing to the size of the third Special Warrant in 2005-2006, was the need for organizations to make a provision for all of their year-end payables. As a consequence, the third Special Warrant in 2005-2006 included estimates of what these costs would be including year-end salary adjustments.

A total of eleven organizations account for two-thirds of the funding issued through Special Warrants in 2005-2006; National Defence accounts for roughly half of this amount. The following provides an overview of the three Special Warrants by organization.

        $ millions          



    Period     Period     Period          
                                     Organization        One       Two     Three     Total       %  






National Defence     825.4         421.1     1,246.5     29.8  
Royal Canadian Mounted Police         60.2     181.9     242.1     5.8  
Public Works and Government Services         80.0     104.2     184.2     4.4  
Canada Border Services Agency             180.0     180.0     4.3  
Industry     5.0     77.1     91.4     173.5     4.2  
Canada Revenue Agency             149.4     149.4     3.6  
Canadian Heritage             146.9     146.9     3.5  
Fisheries and Oceans         118.9     11.7     130.6     3.1  
Canadian Food Inspection Agency         54.3     66.2     120.5     2.9  
Canadian Broadcasting Corporation         50.0     69.3     119.3     2.9  
Agriculture and Agri-Food     69.9         29.6     99.5     2.4  






                   Sub-total     900.3     440.5     1,451.7     2,792.5     66.9  






All Other     230.1     315.3     840.0     1,385.4     33.1  






                   Total     $1,130.4     $755.8     $2,291.7     $4,177.9     100.0  







The following pages provide more detail on the individual initiatives funded through Special Warrants.

Date modified:

Table des matières  

Section 2

Établissement de mandats spéciaux du gouverneur général en 2005-2006


Section 2 - Établissement de mandats spéciaux du gouverneur général en 2005-2006

Introduction

En 2005-2006, on a établi en tout trois mandats spéciaux, totalisant 4,2 milliards de dollars.

La présente section donne un aperçu des mandats spéciaux établis, ainsi qu'un certain nombre de tableaux sommaires :

i.      sommaire des mandats spéciaux établis en 2005-2006, par organisation, par crédit et par période;
 
ii.      sommaire des budgets des dépenses établis jusqu'à présent pour 2005-2006;
 
iii.      sommaire des modifications apportées aux crédits votés avec synopsis des besoins en trésorerie totaux pour la période, y compris les besoins comblés grâce aux affectations de crédits existantes, aux crédits centraux et enfin aux mandats spéciaux;
 
iv.      sommaire de l'utilisation du crédit 5 du CT;
 
v.      sommaire de l'utilisation du crédit 10 du CT;
 
vi.      sommaire des initiatives/enjeux horizontaux pour lesquels les organisations ont besoin de fonds supplémentaires.
 

Les tableaux sont suivis de renseignements organisationnels détaillés sur les initiatives pour lesquelles les organisations avaient besoin de fonds.

Comme on l'a vu dans la section précédente, les détails organisationnels ne précisent pas les postes particuliers pour lesquels des fonds ont été demandés par l'intermédiaire des mandats spéciaux, mais plutôt les postes supplémentaires pour lesquels il a fallu établir des mandats spéciaux. La raison de cette approche comporte deux volets :

Pour 2005-2006, la Loi de crédits n o 2 a été approuvée en juin 2005 afin de fournir la totalité des crédits prévus dans le Budget principal des dépenses de 2005-2006 déposé le 25 février 2005. Par conséquent, les organisations avaient accès à la totalité de leur financement de base, ainsi que l'approbation du renouvellement annuel de leurs autorisations de dépenser grâce à des crédits de réaffectation des recettes, de réaffectation des dépenses et de subvention (ainsi que des contributions de l'ACDI) inscrits dans le budget des dépenses.

Le 27 octobre 2005, le gouvernement a déposé son Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A) de 2005-2006. Comme on l'a vu dans la Section 1, ce budget, totalisant 7 milliards de dollars en autorisations de dépenser, devait être voté par le Parlement. La dissolution du Parlement en vue des élections générales rendait cela impossible, et c'est pourquoi il a fallu établir des mandats spéciaux afin de couvrir une importante partie des postes inscrits dans le budget supplémentaire des dépenses, puisqu'on les considérait comme essentiels et urgents pour le maintien des opérations de base du gouvernement.

Ce critère s'appliquait aussi à quelques postes supplémentaires qui auraient été inclus dans un autre budget supplémentaire des dépenses vers la fin de l'exercice * , notamment pour :

Processus

À l'époque de l'année où les élections ont été déclenchées, les organisations avaient la plus grande partie des autorisations de dépenser nécessaires (approuvés par la Loi de crédit n o 2 ) pour fonctionner. Néanmoins, on l'a déjà vu, un mandat spécial ne peut fournir des crédits que lorsque l'autorisation de dépenser existe déjà; il ne peut créer cette autorisation. Le mandat spécial ne pouvait donc servir pour établir de nouvelles autorisations de dépenser ni pour modifier les autorisations existantes. Comme ces autorisations sont approuvées dans les libellés des crédits des organisations, cela signifiait qu'on ne pouvait pas utiliser les mandats spéciaux pour :

créer de nouveaux crédits ou modifier le libellé des crédits nécessaires pour :
 
  faire un transfert entre crédits;
 
  faire grâce d'une dette ou la radier;
 
  établir de nouvelles autorisations de réaffectation des recettes ni de nouveaux fonds de renouvellement;
 
  accroître les limites des prêts ou des garanties (si précisées dans le crédit).
 
créer de nouvelles subventions ou augmenter des subventions déjà inscrites dans le Budget principal des dépenses de 2005-2006.
 

Il faut souligner qu'une organisation n'a pas besoin d'un crédit pour demander l'établissement d'un mandat spécial, à condition que cette autorisation de faire un paiement leur soit conféré autrement. C'est particulièrement important pour les nouvelles organisations créées en vertu d'une loi qui n'ont pas encore de structure de crédits en place approuvée par une loi de crédits.

En raison de la limitation des subventions, une des premières mesures que le Conseil du Trésor a prise avant la dissolution du Parlement a consisté à financer certaines nouvelles subventions que le Parlement aurait normalement dû approuver dans le projet de loi de crédits du budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A). Cette approche a été recommandée parce que :

Les subventions en question sont énumérées dans le présent rapport aussi bien dans le tableau sommaire qu'individuellement dans les pages consacrées aux organisations.

Enfin, puisqu'il faut que l'organisation n'ait aucun crédit disponible où puiser le paiement, les fonds conservés dans les niveaux de financement de l'organisation devaient être épuisés avant l'établissement d'un mandat spécial. L'autorisation de dépenser ces fonds, décrit comme une affectation à but spécial ou contrôlée, n'a pas été déléguée aux organisations et elle est gérée et contrôlée par le Conseil du Trésor. On se servirait par exemple de ces

* On dépose habituellement en février un dernier budget supplémentaire des dépenses de l'exercice.

mécanismes de contrôle administratifs pour bloquer le financement relatif aux réductions des crédits dans un contexte d'initiatives d'examen des dépenses. Le recours aux affectations à but spécial ou contrôlées pour répondre à des besoins de fonds supplémentaires est conforme au processus de préparation et de présentation au Parlement des budgets supplémentaires des dépenses. Lorsque le Conseil du Trésor n'alloue pas ultérieurement ces affectations à but spécial ou contrôlées aux ministères, elles sont supprimées.

De même, les fonds disponibles à partir des crédits 5 et 10 du CT ont été épuisés au cours de la période du mandat spécial initial pour satisfaire aux demandes de financement des organisations, selon le principe du premier arrivé, premier servi.

Les tableaux ci-après relatifs à chaque organisation reflètent donc tout ce qui s'est passé, avec des explications détaillées des besoins organisationnels bruts par initiative ainsi que des dépenses compensées par l'utilisation d'affectations à but spécial ou contrôlées ainsi que des crédits centraux. Le résultat net correspond aux sommes approuvées par l'établissement des mandats spéciaux pour l'organisation au cours de la période visée.

Résumé

On dégage une tendance évidente et normale de l'utilisation des mandats spéciaux. Comme on prévoit que les organisations gèrent leurs besoins selon le régime de la comptabilité de caisse avant de demander l'établissement d'un mandat spécial, les premiers mandats spéciaux sont modestes; ils tendent à s'accroître pour culminer, pour un exercice quelconque, dans un mandat spécial final beaucoup plus important, puisque les organisations ont alors une marge de manœuvre réduite pour gérer leurs réserves vers la fin du processus. En outre, toutes les autorisations de dépenser « excédentaires » tendent à être épuisées aux premiers stades du processus, réduisant d'autant les montants réclamés au début grâce à des mandats spéciaux. C'est certainement ce qui s'est passé dans le cas des mandats spéciaux établis en 2005-2006. De fait, exception faite du ministère de la Défense nationale, les organisations ont globalement géré l'essentiel de leurs besoins de fonds à même leurs réserves jusqu'à la période du troisième mandat spécial.

Par ailleurs, les organisations devaient prévoir des réserves pour tous leurs fonds débiteurs en fin d'exercice, et ce phénomène a contribué à l'importance du troisième mandat spécial établi pour 2005-2006, qui contenait des estimations de ce que ces coûts allaient être notamment pour les rajustements salariaux en fin d'exercice.  

Un total de onze organisations ont obtenu les deux tiers des fonds affectés grâce aux mandats spéciaux en 2005-2006; le ministère de la Défense nationale a obtenu à lui seul à peu près la moitié de la somme. Le tableau suivant est un aperçu de la ventilation des trois mandats spéciaux par organisation.

        Millions de dollars            






                       Organisation     Période 1     Période 2   Période 3     Total     %  






Défense nationale    825,4      421,1    1 246,5    29,8 
Gendarmerie royale du Canada        60,2  181,9      242,1    5,8 
Agence des services frontaliers                     
   du Canada          180,0      180,0    4,3 
Industrie    5,0    77,1  91,4      173,5    4,2 
Travaux publics et Services                     
   gouvernementaux        80,0  104,2      184,2    4,4 
Agence du revenu du Canada          149,4      149,4    3,6 
Patrimoine canadien          146,9      146,9    3,5 
Pêches et Océans        118,9  11,7      130,6    3,1 
Agence canadienne d'inspection                     
   des aliments        54,3  66,2      120,5    2,9 
Société Radio-Canada        50,0  69,3      119,3    2,9 
Agriculture et Agroalimentaire    69,9      29,6      99,5    2,4 







Total partiel     900,3     440,5   1 451,7     2 792,5     66,9  







Toutes les autres organisations    230,1    315,3  840,0    1 385,4    33,1 







                   Total     1 130,4     755,8   2 291,7     4 177,9     100,0  








Les pages suivantes contiennent plus de précisions sur les initiatives individuelles financées grâce aux mandats spéciaux.

Date de modification :