I PURPOSE

These guidelines are meant to assist parent Crown corporations in the preparation and tabling of summaries of their approved corporate plans, capital budgets and operating budgets, or summaries of amended plans and budgets. Summaries are required to be submitted to the appropriate Minister for approval and for tabling before Parliament, pursuant to section 125 of the Financial Administration Act (FAA).

The guidelines relate to the form, content and tabling of summaries. They include and expand upon the requirements specified in the FAA and the Crown Corporation Corporate Plan, Budget and Summaries Regulations.

II GENERAL PRINCIPLES

III APPLICATION

The guidelines apply to all parent Crown corporations listed in Schedule III of the FAA and to any wholly-owned subsidiary that has been directed by the Governor in Council to conduct its businesses and activities, or to report, as if it were a parent corporation.

Summaries of operating budgets are not required of Crown corporations named in Part II of Schedule III, pursuant to Section 123 of the Act.

IV DEFINITIONS

Definitions in these Guidelines are the same as those in the FAA and in the Crown Corporation Corporate Plan, Budget and Summaries Regulations.

The following definitions have also been specifically adopted for the purpose of these Guidelines:

V CONTENT OF CORPORATE PLAN AND BUDGET SUMMARIES

Corporate plan and budget summaries must take into account:

1. GENERAL REQUIREMENTS:

2. SPECIFIC REQUIREMENTS:

A) TITLE PAGE

To facilitate the timely processing of summaries by appropriate ministers' departments and offices, and by both Houses of Parliament, the title page of each corporate plan and budget summary should include:

Example:

Documents which are approved as a package may be combined in a single summary, but the title of each individually-approved document summarized must appear on the title page.

B) CORPORATE PLAN SUMMARIES

Summaries of approved corporate plans or amended corporate plans should set out the significant content of the approved original documents as required in section 5 of the Crown Corporation Corporate Plan, Budget and Summaries Regulations and the Guidelines for the Preparation of Corporate Plans. These should include:

  1. a statement of the corporation's statutory mandate, its objectives for the planning period, the strategy to achieve those objectives, its expected performance compared to its objectives, and the extent to which past objectives have been achieved during the previous year;
  2. a statement of the corporation's intention to borrow money, if any;
  3. a summary of the financial statements, according to segmented data breakdown in the originally-approved document, for the corporation's financial year immediately preceding the current year, and as projected for the current year and for the planning period (seven years in all).

C) CAPITAL BUDGET SUMMARIES

Summaries of approved capital budgets or amended capital budgets should set out the significant content of the approved original document as required in section 11 of the Crown Corporation Corporate Plan, Budget and Summaries Regulations and the Guidelines for the Preparation of Corporate Plans.

These should include a summary of capital expenditures and commitments for the corporation's financial year immediately preceding the current year, the current year and the budget year, together with the total commitment (three years in all).

D) OPERATING BUDGET SUMMARIES

Summaries of approved operating budgets or amended operating budgets should set out the significant content of the approved original document as required in section 8 of the Crown Corporation Corporate Plan, Budget and Summaries Regulations and the Guidelines for the Preparation of Corporate Plans.

These should include: a summary of the operating results of the corporation for the corporation's financial year immediately preceding the current year, and the currently-projected results for the current year and for the budget year, with an explanation of major variations or shifts over the three-year period.

E) OTHER INFORMATION

VI TABLING REQUIREMENTS

APPROPRIATE MINISTER

The appropriate minister is responsible for tabling each approved summary in both Houses of Parliament within thirty sitting days of approval of the document that is being summarized.

N.B. The thirty days are calculated from the actual date of approval of the original document.

Where budgets are approved as part of a submission which includes a corporate plan, the deadline date for tabling both budget and corporate plan summaries is within 30 sitting days of the date of Governor in Council approval of the corporate plan.

CROWN CORPORATIONS

In an effort to close the accountability loop and to assist the Crown Corporations Directorate (CCD) in the preparation of the annual report on the tabling of Crown corporation summaries and annual reports in Parliament -- required under section 152 of the FAA and published in the President of the Treasury Board's annual report to Parliament on Crown corporations -- Crown corporations are encouraged to forward a copy of approved corporate plan and budget summaries to their Crown corporation analyst.

VII ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

For further information or comment on these guidelines, you are encouraged to contact your Crown corporation analyst, or the Policy and Corporate Information Division of the Crown Corporations Directorate, Treasury Board Secretariat and Department of Finance, at:

L'Esplanade Laurier, 8th Floor East Tower
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0G5

Telephone: (613) 957-0120
FAX: (613) 957-0160

Date modified:

I OBJET

Les présentes lignes directrices ont pour but d'aider les sociétés d'État mères à préparer et à déposer les résumés de leurs plans d'entreprise, de leurs budgets d'investissement et de leurs budgets de fonctionnement approuvés, ou les résumés des plans et budgets modifiés. Les résumés doivent être soumis au ministre de tutelle afin qu'il puisse les approuver et les déposer au Parlement conformément à l'article 125 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques (LGFP).

Les lignes directrices ont trait à la forme, au contenu et au dépôt des résumés. Elles comprennent et précisent les exigences de la LGFP et du Règlement sur les plans d'entreprise, les budgets et les résumés des sociétés d'État.

II PRINCIPES GÉNÉRAUX

III APPLICATION

Les lignes directrices s'appliquent à toutes les sociétés d'État mères mentionnées à l'annexe III de la LGFP ainsi qu'à toute filiale à cent pour cent qui a été instruite par le gouverneur en conseil d'exercer ses activités ou de faire rapport comme si elle était une société d'État mère.

Conformément à l'article 123 de la Loi, les sociétés d'État mentionnées à la partie II de l'annexe III n'ont pas à préparer des résumés de leurs budgets de fonctionnement.

IV DÉFINITIONS

Les définitions applicables aux présentes lignes directrices sont celles qui figurent dans la LGFP et dans le Règlement sur les plans d'entreprise, les budgets et les résumés des sociétés d'État.

Les définitions suivantes ont été adoptées aux fins des présentes lignes directrices :

V CONTENU DES RÉSUMÉS DES PLANS D'ENTREPRISE ET DES BUDGETS

Voici les exigences concernant les résumés des plans d'entreprise et des budgets.

1. EXIGENCES GÉNÉRALES

2. EXIGENCES PARTICULIÈRES

A) PAGE TITRE

Afin de faciliter le traitement des résumés par les ministères et les cabinets des ministres de tutelle, et par les deux chambres du Parlement, les résumés de plans d'entreprise ou des budgets devraient comprendre une page titre sur laquelle figurent :

Exemples :

Les documents approuvés globalement peuvent faire l'objet d'un seul résumé, mais le titre de chaque document visé doit paraître sur la page titre.

B) RÉSUMÉS DES PLANS D'ENTREPRISE

Les résumés des plans d'entreprise, initiaux ou modifiés, qui ont été approuvés devraient donner les principaux renseignements figurant dans les documents initiaux approuvés, conformément à l'article 5 du Règlement sur les plans d'entreprise, les budgets et les résumés des sociétés d'État et aux Lignes directrices pour la préparation des plans d'entreprise. Ils devraient comprendre :

  1. une description du mandat législatif de la société, des objectifs fixés pour la période de planification, de la stratégie envisagée pour atteindre ces objectifs, des résultats attendus en regard des objectifs et des mesures prises au cours de l'année précédente pour atteindre les objectifs fixés antérieurement;
  2. des renseignements sur les projets d'emprunts de la société, le cas échéant;
  3. un résumé des états financiers, selon la ventilation des données fragmentées du document initial approuvé, pour l'exercice précédant l'exercice courant, et tels qu'ils sont projetés pour l'exercice courant et la période de planification (sept ans en tout).

C) RÉSUMÉS DES BUDGETS D'INVESTISSEMENT

Les résumés des budgets d'investissement, initiaux ou modifiés, qui ont été approuvés devraient donner les principaux renseignements du document initial approuvé, conformément à l'article 11 du Règlement sur les plans d'entreprise, les budgets et les résumés des sociétés d'État et aux Lignes directrices pour la préparation des plans d'entreprise.

Ils devraient comprendre un résumé des dépenses en capital et des engagements relatifs aux dépenses en capital de l'exercice précédant l'exercice courant, de l'exercice courant et de l'exercice budgétaire ainsi que l'engagement total (trois ans en tout).

D) RÉSUMÉS DES BUDGETS DE FONCTIONNEMENT

Les résumés des budgets de fonctionnement, initiaux ou modifiés, qui ont été approuvés devraient donner les principaux renseignements du document initial approuvé, conformément à l'article 8 du Règlement sur les plans d'entreprise, les budgets et les résumés des sociétés d'État et aux Lignes directrices pour la préparation des plans d'entreprise.

Ils devraient comprendre un résumé des résultats d'exploitation de la société pour l'exercice précédant l'exercice courant et les résultats actuellement projetés pour l'exercice courant et l'exercice budgétaire, ainsi qu'une explication des principaux écarts observés pendant la période de trois ans.

E) AUTRES RENSEIGNEMENTS

VI EXIGENCES RELATIVES AU DÉPÔT DES RÉSUMÉS

MINISTRE DE TUTELLE

Le ministre de tutelle est tenu de déposer tout résumé approuvé devant les deux chambres du Parlement dans les trente jours de séance suivant la date d'approbation du document faisant l'objet du résumé.

NOTA : Les trente jours sont calculés à partir de la date réelle d'approbation du document initial.

Dans le cas des budgets qui sont approuvés dans le cadre d'une présentation comprenant un plan d'entreprise, les résumés des budgets et du plan d'entreprise doivent être déposés dans les 30 jours de séance suivant la date à laquelle le gouverneur en conseil a approuvé le plan d'entreprise.

SOCIÉTÉS D'ÉTAT

Afin de fermer la boucle et d'aider la Direction générale des sociétés d'État (DGSÉ) à préparer, conformément à l'article 152 de la LGFP, le compte rendu annuel de la présentation au Parlement des résumés et des rapports annuels des sociétés d'État -- lequel compte rendu doit figurer dans le rapport annuel sur les sociétés d'État que le Président du Conseil du Trésor dépose au Parlement --, les sociétés d'État sont priées de faire parvenir une copie des résumés de leurs plans d'entreprise et de leurs budgets approuvés à l'analyste compétent de la DGSÉ.

VII RENSEIGNEMENTS SUPPLÉMENTAIRES

Pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires ou formuler des commentaires à propos des présentes lignes directrices, veuillez communiquer avec l'analyste compétent de la DGSÉ ou avec la Division des politiques et de l'information sur les sociétés, Direction générale des sociétés d'État, Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor et ministère des Finances, à l'adresse suivante :

L'Esplanade Laurier, 8e étage, tour est
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0G5

Téléphone : (613) 957-0120
Télécopieur : (613) 957-0160

Date de modification :