Section 2. The Inuvialuit Final Agreement - July 25, 1984

Contracting Authorities should refer to The Inuvialuit Final Agreement for Principles and Definitions Sections 1 and 2 respectively. This section of the policy reflects the Government contracting obligations addressed in Article 16.(8) of the Agreement.

16.(8) Economic Measures

In order to expand the role of the Inuvialuit Development Corporation and its subsidiaries in the supply and delivery of goods and services in the Inuvialuit Settlement Region and the Inuvialuit communities, to strengthen the economic viability of the renewable resource sector in the Inuvialuit Settlement Region, to diversify the economy of the Western Arctic, and to assist the IDC and the Inuvialuit in contributing to the development of the private sector, the Government shall:

(b) notify the Inuvialuit of all Government contracts subject to public tender that relate to activities in the Inuvialuit Settlement Region and the Inuvialuit communities. Where the Inuvialuit submit the best bid having regard to price, quality, delivery and other stipulated conditions, the contract shall be awarded to the Inuvialuit; and

(c) notify the Inuvialuit Development Corporation of instances where federal government procurement of goods and services related to activities in the Inuvialuit Settlement Region takes place on a basis other than public tender. If the Inuvialuit are capable of supplying those goods and services on a reasonable basis, they shall receive a reasonable share of the contracts so awarded.

The Inuvialuit Final Agreement - Guidelines

1.00 GENERAL

In addition to the mandatory requirement of the Inuvialuit Final Agreement, contracting authorities are provided with the following guidelines to assist with the application of the Inuvialuit Final Agreement (IFA or Agreement).

2.00 OBJECTIVES

Article 16.(2) states:

"16.(2) Canada and the Inuvialuit agree that the economic measures set out in this section should relate to and support achievement of the following objectives:

  1. full Inuvialuit participation in the northern Canadian economy; and
  2. Inuvialuit integration into Canadian society through development of an adequate level of economic self-reliance and a solid economic base."

Contracting authorities should take into account the developing nature of the economy of the Inuvialuit Settlement Region and plan their activity accordingly.

3.00 INFORMATION PROVISIONS

Normally, at the request of any group, the Crown, namely contracting authorities, have previously provided assistance in the familiarisation with contracting procedures of the Crown. At the request of the Inuvialuit Regional Corporation, contracting authorities should provide assistance in the familiarisation with contracting procedures of the Crown. Such assistance shall include information on how to access government supply and services contracts, standing offers, and how to register on suppliers' lists or inventories for contracting.

In addition to these provisions, contracting authorities should also consider communications and exchange of information in the context of the IFA requirements stipulated in the following Article:

"16.(7) With respect to any business activity contemplated by the Inuvialuit, the government agrees to use its best efforts to:

  1. provide the Inuvialuit, on request, with access to any available and releasable information or data;
  2. direct the Inuvialuit to the appropriate contacts or sources of information; and
  3. facilitate expeditious consideration by the government of Inuvialuit applications."

4.00 PLANNING PROVISIONS

4.01 STRATEGIC PLANNING

In planning procurement projects, contracting authorities should be aware that the Inuvialuit do not require the invitation of bids by commodity groupings or for specified portions of larger contracts, or re-structuring contracts into smaller discrete elements. In their planning, contracting authorities should take into consideration the developing economy of the Inuvialuit Settlement Region and the developed or developing capacity of corporations owned and controlled by the Inuvialuit. Departments should ensure that their procurement planning is consistent with the economic planning provisions specified in the following article:

"16.(4) The government agrees to provide the Inuvialuit with the opportunity to participate in economic planning in the Inuvialuit Settlement Region."

Such planning should involve Inuvialuit participation where the scope of the project warrants it.

4.02 PROCUREMENT PLANNING

In the planning stage, prior to the release of bid solicitation or bid invitation for government contracts for the provision of goods, services, leases and construction in the Inuvialuit Settlement Region, contracting authorities should assist qualified Inuvialuit firms to compete for and obtain such contracts. This assistance is to be provided to the extent practicable and consistent with sound procurement management, by implementing the following measures:

  1. setting reasonable date, location, terms and conditions for bidding so that Inuvialuit firms may readily bid;
  2. avoid artificially inflated employment skill requirements not essential to the fulfilment of the contract

To qualify Inuvialuit firms, contracting authorities must as in other areas consider the firms' expertise or requisite skills necessary to perform or manage the work.

5.00 NOTICE PROVISIONS

When contracting authorities are active in the Inuvialuit Settlement Region they shall note the specific notice requirement stipulated in Articles 16.(8)(b) and (c). To meet the requirement of these articles the notice should be sent to the Inuvialuit Development Corporation.

6.00 BID EVALUATION CRITERIA

In accordance with normal procurement practices, the contracting authority should develop evaluation criteria to ensure fair consideration of all bids and should consider all aspects of bidders' competencies and capabilities. To avoid confusion, bid solicitation documents should define qualitative terms or terminology critical to the contracting situation.

When establishing bid evaluation criteria for the awarding of government contracts, and whenever practicable and consistent with sound procurement management, contracting authorities should consider the potential contribution of the Inuvialuit in carrying out the contract. This may include, as appropriate:

a) the employment of Inuvialuit, the engagement of Inuvialuit professional services and the use of Inuvialuit suppliers,

b) the creation of administrative offices or other facilities in the Inuvialuit Settlement Region,

c) the undertaking of commitments, under the contract, with respect to related on-the-job training or skills development for Inuvialuit.

7.00 LIST OF INUVIALUIT FIRMS

The Inuvialuit Regional Corporation (IRC), duly constituted by the IFA, has the responsibility to prepare and maintain a comprehensive list of Inuvialuit firms, which will include information on the goods and services those firms would be in a position to furnish in relation to actual or potential government contracts. The IRC has agreed to take the necessary measures to ensure that this data is maintained and updated on a continuous basis.

Contracting authorities active in the Inuvialuit Settlement Region should request the current list of Inuvialuit firms from the IRC.

8.00 BID INVITATION BY PUBLIC TENDER

When a contracting authority invites bids by public tender, it shall implement the requirements of Article 16.(8)(b).

When inviting bids in the Inuvialuit Settlement Region, contracting authorities should note the requirement of Article 16.(8)(b) of the Agreement and in addition notify the Inuvialuit Development Corporation.

9.00 BID SOLICITATION OTHER THAN BY PUBLIC TENDER

When a contracting authority solicits bids, other than by public tender, it shall implement the requirements of Article 16.(8)(c).

When soliciting bids from suppliers in the Inuvialuit Settlement Region, contracting authorities should note the requirement of Article 16.(8)(c) of the Agreement and notify the Inuvialuit Development Corporation.

10.00 TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF CONTRACT

Contracting authorities should endeavour to have contract documents contain appropriate terms and conditions to provide that the contractor or sub-contractors fulfil requirements stipulated in the Inuvialuit Final Agreement and are subject to related participation and co-operation agreements.

Contracting authorities should ensure that the general terms and conditions of the contract cover the requirements for permits for work on or access to Inuvialuit Lands.

11.00 PARTICIPATION AND CO-OPERATION AGREEMENTS

Participation and co-operation agreements negotiated between the sponsoring department and the Inuvialuit should detail the specific project commitments and obligations that all government contractors and subcontractors are to abide by when carrying out their activities on Inuvialuit lands. These are designed to favour Inuvialuit participation in a range of economic benefits associated with government's activities.

Co-operation and participation agreements may be used by the Crown as multi-year agreements with the Inuvialuit to establish broad guidelines for fulfilling social and economic opportunities for the Inuvialuit associated with a range of government activities in the Inuvialuit Settlement Region. These agreements between the Inuvialuit and the Crown should detail the specific commitments and obligations to be passed on to contractors and subcontractors to provide Inuvialuit participation in employment, training and business opportunities to the Inuvialuit.

12.00 ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES

Contracting authorities are encouraged to establish administrative procedures, arrangements and guidelines to fulfil contracting obligations in the Inuvialuit Settlement Region. Such development should involve consultation with the Inuvialuit Regional Corporation.

 

Date modified:

Section 2 : La Revendication de l'Arctique de l'Ouest: Convention Définitive des Inuvialuit - le 25 juillet 1984

Les autorités contractantes doivent consulter la Convention définitive des Inuvialuit, en ce qui concerne les principes et les définitions (parties 1 et 2 respectivement). Cette partie de la politique fait état des obligations relatives aux marchés du gouvernement décrites dans la clause 16.(8) de la Convention.

16. (8) POSSIBILITÉS ÉCONOMIQUES

En vue d'étendre le rôle de la Société inuvialuit de développement (SID) et de ses filiales, qui est d'assurer la prestation de biens et services dans la région désignée et au sein des collectivités inuvialuit, de consolider la viabilité économique du secteur des ressources renouvelables dans la région désignée, de diversifier l'économie de l'Arctique de l'Ouest et de prêter assistance à la société inuvialuit de développement et aux Inuvialuit en favorisant le développement du secteur privé, le gouvernement fédéral doit:

(b) aviser les Inuvialuit de tous les contrats gouvernementaux soumis à un appel d'offres, relativement aux activités dans la région désignée et dans les collectivités inuvialuit. Lorsque les Inuvialuit présentent la meilleure offre, compte tenu du prix, de la qualité, des délais et des autres conditions stipulées, le contrat leur est octroyé;

(c) aviser la Société inuvialuit de développement des cas où les contrats d'approvisionnement du gouvernement fédéral en biens et services connexes aux activités menées dans la région désignée sont concédés sans appel d'offres. Si les inuvialuit sont des fournisseurs de bonne foi des biens et servies visés, une part raisonnable des contrats leur sera concédée.

Convention définitive des Inuvialuit - Lignes directrices

1.00 GÉNÉRALITÉS

En plus des conditions essentielles de la Convention définitive des Inuvialuit, les autorités contractantes peuvent consulter les lignes directrices suivantes qui facilitent l'application de la Convention définitive des Inuvialuit (CDI ou la Convention).

2.00 OBJECTIFS

Clause 16. (2) :

« Le Canada et les Inuvialuit conviennent que les mesures économiques exposées au présent article doivent viser et favoriser la réalisation des objectifs suivants :

  1. la participation pleine et entière de Inuvialuit à l'économie du Nord canadien;
  2. l'intégration des Inuvialuit à la société canadienne grâce à leur accession à un niveau satisfaisant d'autosuffisance économique ainsi qu'au développement d'assises économiques solides.»

Les autorités contractantes devraient tenir compte du fait que l'économie de la région où sont établis les Inuvialuit est en plein développement et planifier leurs activités en conséquence.

3.00 DISPOSITIONS RELATIVES À L'INFORMATION

Normalement, à la demande d'un groupe, quel qu'il soit, l'État, à savoir les autorités contractantes ont déjà aidé ce groupe à se familiariser avec les procédures de passation de marchés de l'État. À la demande de la Inuvialuit Regional Corporation, les autorités contractantes devraient fournir cette aide, qui comprend l'information sur la façon d'avoir accès aux contrats d'approvisionnements et de services et aux offres à commandes du gouvernement et de s'inscrire sur les listes de fournisseurs ou dans les répertoires qui servent à la passation de marchés.

En plus de ces dispositions, les autorités contractantes devraient envisager les communications et l'échange d'informations conformément aux exigences de la CDI stipulées dans la clause suivante :

16.7) «Pour ce qui concerne les activités commerciales envisagées par les Inuvialuit, le gouvernement s'engage à s'efforcer :

  1. de mettre à la disposition des Inuvialuit, sur demande, toutes les données et tous les renseignements pertinents qu'il a en sa possession et qu'il est à même de communiquer;
  2. d'indiquer aux Inuvialuit les personnes à rencontrer ainsi que les autres sources d'information qui pourraient leur être utiles;
  3. de favoriser l'examen rapide des demandes des Inuvialuit par le gouvernement.»

4.00 DISPOSITIONS RELATIVES À LA PLANIFICATION

4.01 PLANIFICATION STRATÉGIQUE

Pour ce qui est de planifier les projets d'achat, les autorités contractantes devraient savoir que les Inuvialuit n'ont pas besoin d'appels d'offres par groupes de biens ou pour des parties précises de marchés plus importants, ni d'une restructuration des marchés pour les diviser en éléments plus petits. Les autorités contractantes devraient tenir compte de l'économie en développement de la région où sont établis les Inuvialuit et du développement ou des capacités de développement de sociétés appartenant aux Inuvialuit et contrôlées par ceux-ci dans leur planification. Les ministères devraient s'assurer que la planification de leurs achats est conforme aux dispositions en matière de planification économique précisées dans la clause suivante :

«16. 4) Le gouvernement s'engage à donner aux Inuvialuit la possibilité de
participer à la planification économique dans la région désignée.»

Les Inuvialuit devraient participer à une telle planification lorsque la portée du projet le justifie.

4.02 PLANIFICATION DES ACHATS

À l'étape de la planification, avant la publication des appels d'offres concernant les marchés du gouvernement pour la fourniture de biens, de services, de baux et de travaux de construction dans la région où sont établis les Inuvialuit, les autorités contractantes devraient aider les entreprises inuvialuit qualifiées à soumissionner et à obtenir de tels contrats. Cette aide doit être fournie, dans la mesure du possible, conformément à une gestion efficace des achats, en mettant en oeuvre les mesures suivantes :

  1. établir une date, un endroit et des conditions raisonnables pour la présentation de soumissions, afin que les entreprises inuvialuit puissent facilement soumissionner;
  2. éviter d'exiger des capacités exagérées qui ne sont pas essentielles à l'exécution du contrat.

Pour déterminer si les entreprises inuvialuit sont qualifiées, les autorités contractantes doivent, tout comme dans d'autres domaines, tenir compte des compétences des entreprises ou des compétences requises pour exécuter ou gérer les travaux.

5.00 DISPOSITIONS RELATIVES AUX AVIS

Lorsque les autorités contractantes sont appelées à poursuivre des activités dans la région où sont établis les Inuvialuit, elles doivent tenir compte des exigences précises en matière d'avis stipulées dans les clauses 16.8 b) et c). À cet effet, elles devraient transmettre un avis à la Inuvialuit Développement Corporation.

6.00 CRITÈRES D'ÉVALUATION DES SOUMISSIONS

Conformément aux pratiques d'achat courantes, les autorités contractantes devraient élaborer des critères d'évaluation afin d'assurer la prise en considération équitable de toutes les soumissions et tenir compte de tous les aspects des compétences et des capacités des soumissionnaires. Pour éviter toute confusion, les documents d'appel d'offres devraient définir les conditions sur le plan de la qualité ou la terminologie qui sont essentielles à la passation de marchés.

Au moment d'établir les critères d'évaluation des soumissions pour l'attribution des contrats du gouvernement, lorsque cela est pratique et conforme à la gestion efficace des achats, les autorités contractantes devraient considérer la contribution potentielle des Inuvialuit à l'exécution du contrat. Ceci peut inclure, selon le cas :

  1. le recrutement d'Inuvialuit, l'achat de services professionnels inuvialuit et le recours aux fournisseurs inuvialuit;
  2. la création de bureaux administratifs ou d'autres installations dans la région où sont établis les Inuvialuit;
  3. les engagements contractuels, en ce qui concerne la formation en cours d'emploi connexe ou l'acquisition de compétences pour les Inuvialuit.

7.00 LISTE DES ENTREPRISES INUVIALUIT

La Inuvialuit Regional Corporation (IRC), dûment constituée par la CDI, est chargée d'établir et de tenir à jour une liste complète des entreprises inuvialuit, y compris les renseignements sur les biens et les services que ces entreprises pourraient fournir en ce qui a trait aux contrats du gouvernement réels ou potentiels. La IRC a accepté de prendre les mesures nécessaires pour que ces données soient continuellement mises à jour.

Les autorités contractantes à l'oeuvre dans la région où sont établis les Inuvialuit devraient demander à la IRC la liste à jour des entreprises inuvialuit.

8.00 APPELS D'OFFRES PAR SOUMISSION PUBLIQUE

Les autorités contractantes qui font des appels d'offres par soumission publique doivent appliquer les exigences de la clause 16.8) b).

Lorsqu'elles font des appels d'offres dans la région où sont établis les Inuvialuit, les autorités contractantes devraient prendre en compte les exigences de la clause 16.8) b) de l'entente et informer la Inuvialuit Développement Corporation.

9.00 AUTRES TYPES D'APPELS D'OFFRES

En ce qui concerne les autres types d'appels d'offres, les autorités contractantes doivent appliquer les exigences de la clause 16.8) c).

Lorsqu'elles font des appels d'offres dans la région où sont établis les Inuvialuit, les autorités contractantes devraient prendre en compte les exigences de la clause 16.8) c) de l'entente et informer la Inuvialuit Development Corporation.

10.00 CONDITIONS DU CONTRAT

Les autorités contractantes devraient veiller à ce que les documents contractuels contiennent les conditions appropriées stipulant que l'entrepreneur ou les sous-traitants doivent satisfaire aux exigences de la Convention définitive des Inuvialuit et sont assujettis aux accords de participation et de collaboration connexes.

Les autorités contractantes devraient s'assurer que les conditions générales du contrat tiennent compte des exigences relatives aux permis de travail ou à l'accès aux terres des Inuvialuit.

11.00 ACCORDS DE PARTICIPATION ET DE COLLABORATION

Les accords de participation et de collaboration négociés entre le ministère parrain et les Inuvialuit devraient décrire en détail les engagements et les obligations précis relatifs au projet, que tous les entrepreneurs et sous-traitants du gouvernement doivent respecter lorsqu'ils poursuivent des activités sur les terres des Inuvialuit. Ces exigences ont été établies pour favoriser la participation des Inuvialuit à toute une gamme d'avantages économiques associés aux activités du gouvernement.

L'État peut utiliser les accords de participation et de collaboration comme des accords pluriannuels avec les Inuvialuit, afin d'établir des lignes directrices générales pour permettre aux Inuvialuit de profiter des possibilités économiques et sociales associées aux activités du gouvernement dans la région où sont établis les Inuvialuit. Les accords entre les Inuvialuit et l'État devraient décrire en détail les obligations et les engagements précis à communiquer aux entrepreneurs et aux sous-traitants, afin de permettre aux Inuvialuit de saisir les occasions de recrutement, de formation et d'affaires qui leur sont offertes.

12.00 PROCÉDURES ADMINISTRATIVES

On encourage les autorités contractantes à établir des procédures, des dispositions et des lignes directrices administratives afin de s'acquitter de leurs obligations contractuelles dans la région où sont établis les Inuvialuit. La Inuvialuit Regional Corporation devrait être consultée à ce sujet.

 

Date de modification :