June 19, 2008

To: Functional Heads, Finance and Administration of all Departments and Agencies

From: Executive Director / Assets and Acquired Services Directorate

Subject: Amendments to the Treasury Board Contracting Policy – Clarification of monitoring and reporting obligations under Comprehensive Land Claim Agreements

Contracting Policy Notice 2008-4

Summary

Treasury Board approved amendments to the Treasury Board Contracting Policy that clarify monitoring and reporting obligations for Crown procurement contracts subject to Comprehensive Land Claim Agreements (CLCAs). Often, CLCAs contain provisions for economic development that compel the Crown to conduct procurement in such a way that opens competition to aboriginal groups represented by an Agreement.  Further, it is often required that the Crown must disclose information about Crown procurements issued in the area(s) covered by the designated CLCA. The approved policy clarifications in support of CLCAs aim to ensure consistency in reporting and increased monitoring and compliance. The effective date of these CLCA requirements is April 1, 2009.  The transition period will enable departments and agencies to adapt procurement processes and systems to capture CLCA related data and for Indian and Northern Affairs Canada to develop a process for receiving procurement data and create a publication process to disclose the procurement information to the public. The majority of the proposed data elements are already collected through the ongoing quarterly process for proactive disclosure of contracts over $10,000 for most federal departments.  The additional proposed requirements compel departments to filter this information to identify the applicable land claim and the geographic location of the procurement and to indicate if the firm being awarded the contract is owned by a beneficiary of the land claim. As the proposed authority to collect and report on the procurement data, INAC will report this data on behalf of the Crown on a publicly available website on a quarterly and annual basis.

Departments are expected to rely on existing reference levels to implement and apply these policy requirements. 

TBS publications

All TBS publications are available online via the TBS web site at: http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/

Enquiries

For further information please contact: Treasury Board Secretariat at (613) 957-2432 or by fax at (613) 957-2405.

Bob Hirst
Executive Director
Assets and Acquired Services Directorate


Annex A - Policy Amendments

The following text is to be inserted under section 5.1, Reporting Mechanisms:

5.1.4 The government monitors and reports on its contracting activities covered by all Comprehensive Land Claims Agreements (CLCAs). These agreements form part of the treaty rights that are protected in Section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982.

5.1.4.1 Deputy heads must report to the deputy head of INAC on contracts entered into by their departments and contracts entered into by Public Works and Government Services Canada on behalf of their department in a form and manner designated by the Deputy Minister of INAC within 45 calendar days after the end of the quarter.  These reports must include the following information for each contract and the summary:

  1. The name of the applicable CLCA(s) where the services or goods were delivered,
  2. The postal code(s) for the locations benefiting from the services delivered, or where the goods are installed and put to use,
  3. The name of the contractor,
  4. Classification of the Contractor as either
    1. A beneficiary of a Land Claims Agreement or an entity owned by the beneficiaries of the [Insert name of the appropriate CLCA], or
    2. Not a beneficiary or entity owned by beneficiaries of the CLCA(s).
  5. The transaction number(s) in the departmental financial system (for example, the requisition number, commitment number or contract number).
  6. The Contract Award date,
  7. The contract expiry date,
  8. The Economic Objects code,
  9. A short narrative description of the goods or services to be delivered.
  10. The value of the contract,
  11. Department Name and Customer Information System (CIS) number, and
  12. Address of the location from where the order originated.

5.1.4.2 Deputy heads must provide a statement to INAC quarterly to the effect that no contracting has occurred in a CLCA area if no contracting has occurred in that area.

5.1.4.3 The deputy head of INAC must prepare and disclose, on a public Government of Canada website, a quarterly report on contracts for each area covered by a CLCA within 90 calendar days after the end of the quarter. Each report must include the information described in sections 5.1.4.1 and 5.1.4.2 from each department and agency.

5.1.4.4 The deputy head of INAC must prepare and disclose, on a public Government of Canada website, an annual report on contracts for each area covered by a CLCA within 180 days after each fiscal year. The report must include the following information:

  1. The names of departments contracting in the Comprehensive Land Claims Agreement area showing the contracts awarded to beneficiaries and beneficiary owned entities as a percentage of total contracts and contract value,
  2. A list of the industry sectors, mapped from the list of the economic object codes, for which the goods and services were contracted showing the contracts awarded to beneficiaries and beneficiary owned entities as a percentage of total contracts and contract value for each,
  3. The total value of contracts with a breakdown by range of contract value, and
  4. The percentage of all government contracts and the value of all such contracts in the areas subject to Comprehensive Land Claims Agreements that were awarded to beneficiaries or beneficiary owned entities.

Distribution : TB06, TB07, TB21, TB23, T022, T023, T024, T161


Date modified:

19 juin 2008

À: Administrateurs fonctionnels, Finances et administration, tous les ministères et organismes

De : Directeur exécutif / Direction des actifs et des services acquis

Objet : Modifications à la Politique sur les marchés du Conseil du Trésor : Clarification des obligations d'effectuer un suivi et de faire rapport des marchés en vertu des ententes de revendications territoriales globales

Avis sur la Politique des marchés 2008-4

Résumé

Le Conseil du Trésor a approuvé des modifications à la Politique sur les marchés du Conseil du Trésor qui visent à clarifier les obligations de suivi et de rapport établies dans les marchés assujettis aux Ententes sur la revendication territoriale globale (ERTG). Il arrive souvent que les ERTG renferment des dispositions en matière de développement économique qui contraignent l'État à mener des marchés de manière à ouvrir les concours aux groupes autochtones représentés dans le cadre d'une Entente. De plus, l'État doit souvent divulguer de l'information sur des marchés conclus dans des domaines visés par l'ERTG désignée. Les modifications que l'on se propose d'apporter à la politique à l'appui des ERTG permettront aux ministères de mieux connaître leurs obligations en matière de marchés et assureront une certaine uniformité sur le plan des rapports et de l'observation et du suivi accrus. La date d'entrée en vigueur des exigences de ces ERTG est le 1er avril 2009. La période de transition permettra aux ministères et aux organismes d'adapter leurs méthodes et systèmes de marchés de manière à procéder à la saisie des données connexes des ERTG et aux Affaires Indiennes et du Nord Canada de mettre en place un mécanisme de réception des données sur les marchés et de créer un processus de publication pour divulguer les données sur les marchés au public. La majeure partie des éléments de donnée proposés sont déjà recueillis au moyen du processus trimestriel continu de divulgation proactive des marchés de ministères fédéraux d'une valeur de plus de 10 000 $. D'après les exigences proposées supplémentaires, les ministères doivent filtrer cette information afin de cerner les revendications territoriales applicables et l'emplacement géographique des marchés et préciser si la société qui obtient le contrat appartient à un bénéficiaire de la revendication territoriale. En ce qui concerne le pouvoir proposé de recueillir des données sur les marchés et de préparer des rapports sur celles-ci, AINC publiera des rapports sur ces données au nom de l'État sur un site Web accessible au public à chaque trimestre et en fin d'exercice. 

Les ministères sont tenus de recourir aux niveaux de référence existants pour mettre en œuvre et appliquer les exigences de la politique.

Les publications du SCT

Toutes les publications du SCT sont disponibles sur le site Web du SCT, à l'adresse : http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/

Demandes de Renseignements

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, soit par téléphone au 613-957-2432.

Bob Hirst
Directeur exécutif
Direction des actifs et des services acquis


Annexe A - Modifications à la Politique

Le texte qui suit doit être inséré à la suite de la section 5.1, Mécanismes d'établissement de rapports :

5.1.4 Le gouvernement assure la surveillance de ses activités de passation de marchés visées par toutes les ERTG et fait rapport sur celles-ci. Ces ententes font partie des droits issus de traités qui sont protégés par l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982.

5.1.4.1 Les administrateurs généraux doivent fournir à la Direction générale de la mise en œuvre d'AINC un rapport trimestriel sur les contrats visés par une ou plusieurs ERTG qui ont été conclus sous leur autorité. Le rapport doit être présenté dans les 45 jours civils qui suivent la fin du trimestre et doit contenir les renseignements suivants pour chacun des contrats et le sommaire :

  1. Le titre de l'ERTG applicable aux termes de laquelle les services ou les biens ont été offerts.
  2. Le ou les codes postaux des emplacements qui bénéficient des services offerts ou des emplacements où les biens sont installés et utilisés.
  3. Le nom de l'entrepreneur.
  4. La classification de l'entrepreneur :
    1. un bénéficiaire de l'entente sur les revendications territoriales globales pertinente ou une entité appartenant aux bénéficiaires de [inscrire le nom de l'entente sur les revendications territoriales globales pertinente];
    2. un non‑bénéficiaire ou une entité n'appartenant pas aux bénéficiaires de l'entente sur les revendications territoriales globales.
  5. Le ou les numéro(s) de transaction figurant dans le système financier du ministère (par exemple, le numéro de la demande, le numéro d'engagement ou le numéro du contrat).
  6. La date d'adjudication du contrat.
  7. La date d'expiration du contrat.
  8. Le code d'article économique.
  9. Une brève description narrative des biens ou des services devant être offerts.
  10. La valeur du contrat.
  11. Le nom du ministère et le numéro du Système d'information des clients (SIC).
  12. L'adresse de l'emplacement à l'origine de la commande.

5.1.4.2 Les administrateurs généraux doivent fournir à AINC une déclaration trimestrielle selon laquelle aucun marché n'a été passé dans la zone d'une entente sur les revendications territoriales globales si cela ne s'est pas produit.

5.1.4.3 L'administrateur général d'AINC doit préparer et divulguer, sur un site Web public du gouvernement du Canada, un rapport trimestriel sur les marchés pour chaque zone couverte par une entente sur les revendications territoriales globales dans les 90 jours civils qui suivent la fin de chaque trimestre. Chaque rapport doit inclure l'information décrite dans les sections 5.1.4.1 et 5.1.4.2 provenant de chaque ministère et organisme.

5.1.4.4 L'administrateur général d'AINC doit préparer et divulguer, sur un site Web public du gouvernement du Canada, un rapport annuel sur les marchés pour chaque zone couverte par une entente sur les revendications territoriales globales dans les 180 jours civils qui suivent la fin de chaque exercice. Le rapport doit inclure les renseignements suivants :

  1. La liste des ministères qui passent un marché dans la zone de l'entente sur les revendications territoriales globales faisant état des marchés attribués aux bénéficiaires et aux entités appartenant aux bénéficiaires, ainsi que de leur pourcentage respectif du total des marchés et de la valeur des marchés.
  2. Une liste des secteurs de l'industrie pour lesquels les biens et services ont été donnés à contrat, établie à partir de la liste des codes d'articles économiques, faisant état des marchés attribués aux bénéficiaires et aux entités appartenant aux bénéficiaires et de leur pourcentage respectif du total des marchés, ainsi que de la valeur contractuelle de chacun.
  3. La valeur totale des marchés et une répartition suivant l'échelle de la valeur du marché.
  4. Le pourcentage et la valeur de tous les marchés publics attribués, dans les zones visées par des ententes sur les revendications territoriales globales, aux bénéficiaires ou à aux entités appartenant aux bénéficiaires.

Distribution : TB06, TB07, TB21, TB23, T022, T023, T024, T161


Date de modification :