Long description for image: 17174-02-eng.gif

On the first facet of the COSO Cube, three distinct but overlapping categories of control objectives are identified.

  1. Operations
  2. Financial Reporting; and
  3. Compliance

The second facet of the COSO Cube consists of five control components that provide a framework for describing and analyzing an organization's internal control system. They are:

  1. Control Environment
  2. Risk Assessment
  3. Control Activities
  4. Information & Communication; and
  5. Monitoring.

The third facet of the COSO Cube addresses organizational levels of responsibility.

Return to the Complete Text