Rescinded [2009-09-17] - TBITS 18: Quality Management and Quality Assurance Standards, Guidelines for Selection and Use - Implementation Criteria

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

1. Reference

1.1 Name

  • Quality management and quality assurance standards – Guidelines for selection and use

1.2 Identifier

  • TBITS-18

1.3 Category

  • Guideline

1.4 Effective date

  • December 1991

1.5 Approving authority

  • Treasury Board of Canada

1.6 Maintenance agency

  • Information Technology Management
  • Treasury Board Secretariat

1.7 Cross index

  • ISO 9000 – Quality Management and Quality Assurance Standards – Guidelines for Selection and Use

1.8 Reference

  • TBITS-19 Quality systems – Model for quality assurance in design/development, production, installation and servicing
  • TBITS-20 Quality systems – Model for quality assurance in production and installation
  • TBITS-21 Quality systems – Model for quality assurance in final inspection and test

2. Purpose

This Treasury Board Information Technology Standard (TBITS-18) supports the Treasury Board Management of Information Technology policy requirement that quality management practices including system controls which promote innovative and efficient acquisition, deployment and administration of information technology resources be adopted.

The concept of quality management is accepted as an approach to promote and improve ongoing performance. This approach has application to all phases of an organization's operations and is especially relevant in the overall area of information management. Information technology quality management related standards provide a baseline for quality of products developed within the government. They also provide external organizations, that provide the government with a wide range of information technology products and services, meaningful and workable nationally and internationally accepted quality requirements reference criteria.

3. Application

This standard will be used as the basis for determining information technology quality requirements and the selection and use of other quality standards. It should be read in conjunction with other standards in the series (ISO 9000-9003, TBITS-19, TBITS-20 and TBITS-21) to:

  1. clarify the distinctions and interrelationships among the principal quality concepts; and
  2. provide guidelines for the selection and use of a series of standards on quality systems that can be used for internal quality management purposes (ISO 9000) and for external quality assurance purpose (ISO 9001-9003).

4. Specifications

This standard defines the concepts of and is based on the international standard ISO 9000. No changes have been made to the international standard.

5. Qualifications

This standard provides a model for the selection and use of a series of pertinent quality assurance related standards.

In certain circumstances, departments and agencies may wish to make exceptions to the use of this standard. This may be done when it can be clearly demonstrated that there are appreciable performance or cost advantages to be gained, when the overall interests of the Government of Canada are best served, or when the department or agency is a party to an international treaty or obligation (e.g. NATO).

6. Implementation

The effective date of this standard is December 1991.

7. Government Software Quality Assurance Standards Working Group

F. Tayabali TBS (Chairperson)
B. Abela SEC
A. Borde CIDA
R. Donelly TC
J. Doyle SSC
J. Harder Lab
L. Hunter AGR
P. Lamoureux DND
K. Lavalley DND
D. Ledoux NA
S. Parisien NA
R. Quirt PWC
H. Savoie DND
S. Valentine NLC
A.E. Winsor VAC

8. Where to obtain copies

Copies of the technical specifications may be obtained as follows:
ISO 9000
Quality Management and Quality Assurance Standards – Guidelines for Selection and Use