Each year, the Government of Canada outlines its planned spending in the Main Estimates. How these expenditures are planned varies widely across the Government of Canada and within departments. The planning information provided to deputy heads and to the Treasury Board also varies greatly.

The Policy on Investment Planning – Assets and Acquired Services, which replaced the Policy on Long-term Capital Plans on April 1, 2012, supports accountability and oversight in government operations. It also provides a basis for better management through a clear commitment to sound stewardship and the establishment of a management control regime for all aspects of investment planning.

Under the Policy Framework for the Management of Assets and Acquired Services, the policy on investment planning supports the sound management of assets and acquired services and seeks to ensure a disciplined approach to the planning and proposal of investments at the departmental level.

Comparison to the Previous Policy Regime

Under the now-rescinded Policy on Long-term Capital Plans, 18 predefined departments and agencies were required to submit their plan to the Treasury Board. In contrast, the Policy on Investment Planning – Assets and Acquired Services enables all departments and agencies to choose to seek Treasury Board approval of their investment planning process in support of a capacity-based project approval authority limit.

Under the current policy, deputy heads must have an effective investment planning mechanism in place within their organization to ensure that the highest priorities and areas of greatest risk are addressed in their investment plan. These plans cover a minimum five-year planning horizon and are submitted to the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat and, when warranted, to the Treasury Board at least every three years.

More information on the implementation of this policy can be found in the Implementation Strategy for the Policy on Investment Planning – Assets and Acquired Services and the Policy on the Management of Projects.

Date modified:

Chaque année, le gouvernement fait état des dépenses qu'il prévoit faire dans le Budget principal des dépenses. Or, la façon de planifier ces dépenses varie grandement dans l’ensemble du gouvernement du Canada, ainsi qu’au sein même des ministères. En outre, l’information donnée aux administrateurs généraux et au Conseil du Trésor aux fins de planification varie considérablement d’une organisation à l’autre.

La Politique de planification des investissements – Actifs et services acquis, qui a remplacé la Politique sur les plans d’investissement à long terme le 1er avril 2012, appuie la reddition de comptes et la surveillance relativement aux activités du gouvernement. Elle sert en outre de fondement à une meilleure gestion grâce à un engagement clair envers une gérance rigoureuse et à la mise sur pied d’un régime de contrôle de la gestion englobant tous les aspects de la planification des investissements.

S’inscrivant dans le Cadre de politique sur la gestion des actifs et services acquis, la politique de planification des investissements favorise une saine gestion des actifs et des services acquis, et a pour but d’assurer une approche disciplinée à l’égard de la planification et de la proposition de stratégies d’investissement au niveau ministériel.

Comparaison avec l’ancienne politique

Aux termes de la Politique sur les plans d’investissement à long terme, qui a été abrogée, 18 ministères et organismes prédéterminés étaient tenus de soumettre un tel plan au Conseil du Trésor. La Politique de planification des investissements – Actifs et services acquis, par contre, permet à tous les ministères et organismes de faire approuver leurs processus de planification des investissements par le Conseil du Trésor afin d’obtenir une limite des pouvoirs d’approbation de projet fondé sur leur capacité.

Selon la politique actuelle, les administrateurs généraux doivent disposer au sein de leur organisation d’un mécanisme efficace de planification des investissements afin d’assurer que les plans d’investissement tiennent compte des priorités les plus grandes et des secteurs les plus à risque. Ces plans portent sur une période de planification minimale de cinq ans et sont soumis au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada et, au besoin, au Conseil du Trésor, au moins tous les trois ans.

On peut trouver de plus amples renseignements sur la mise en œuvre de cette politique dans la Stratégie de mise en œuvre pour la Politique de planification des investissements – Actifs et services acquis et la Politique sur la gestion des projets.

Date de modification :