OTTAWA, May 23, 2008 – The Honourable Vic Toews, President of the Treasury Board, has accepted the recommendations of the Advisory Committee on Senior Level Retention and Compensation.

The Committee recommended a two-percent salary increase based on compensation increases in the Canadian labour market. In addition, the Committee recommended increases to the maximum performance pay for executives, deputy ministers and eligible Governor in Council appointees.

The recommendations are based on the Advisory Committee’s analysis of data collected regarding compensation paid in 2007 for equivalent jobs in the broader Canadian labour market.

“The Government has accepted these recommendations because it is important that the Government maintain its ability to attract and retain key senior personnel,” said Minister Toews. “These increases are part of the Government’s commitment to a professional, high-quality Public Service that is well equipped to meet the changing needs of Canadians, today and in the years to come.”

The Advisory Committee on Senior Level Retention and Compensation comprises private sector and academic leaders. Its mandate is to provide independent advice and recommendations to the President of the Treasury Board about compensation and overall human resources management matters concerning executives, deputy ministers, chief executive officers of Crown corporations and other Governor in Council appointees.

Date modified:

OTTAWA, le 23 mai 2008 – L’honorable Vic Toews, président du Conseil du Trésor, a approuvé les recommandations du Comité consultatif sur le maintien en poste et la rémunération du personnel de direction.

Le Comité a recommandé une augmentation salariale de deux pour cent en se fondant sur les augmentations de rémunération du marché du travail canadien. Le Comité a aussi recommandé des augmentations de rémunération au rendement maximale pour les cadres, les sous-ministres et les personnes admissibles nommées par le gouverneur en conseil.

Les recommandations sont fondées sur une analyse des données menée par le Comité consultatif sur la rémunération versée en 2007 pour des emplois équivalents sur le marché du travail canadien.

« Le gouvernement a accepté ces recommandations, car il est important qu’il demeure en mesure d’attirer du personnel clé de direction et d’assurer son maintien en poste », a affirmé le ministre Toews. «Ces hausses font partie intégrante de l’engagement du gouvernement envers une fonction publique professionnelle, de grande qualité et dotée des outils nécessaires pour répondre aux besoins changeants de la population canadienne, aujourd’hui et dans les années à venir. »

Le Comité consultatif sur le maintien en poste et la rémunération du personnel de direction est composé de dirigeants du secteur privé et du milieu universitaire. Son mandat consiste à fournir au président du Conseil du Trésor des recommandations et des avis indépendants sur la rémunération et les questions générales en matière de gestion des ressources humaines touchant les cadres supérieurs, les sous-ministres, les premiers dirigeants des sociétés d’État et les personnes nommées par le gouverneur en conseil.

Date de modification :