We are currently moving our web services and information to Canada.ca.

The Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat website will remain available until this move is complete.

Accounting Treatment for Severance Pay Liability

Implementation: Effective for the 2005-06 financial statements of all departments, as defined in section 2 of the FAA.  Note: does not apply to revolving funds. 

Calculation: The 31 March 2006 liability is determined by multiplying a ratio of 21.79% to the department's annual gross payroll at year-end subject to severance pay, which is the payroll related to indeterminate employees.  Note: salary expense for indeterminate employees should not be used as a proxy for the eligible payroll at year-end since differences between these two amounts may exist (e.g. as a result of a reorganization during the year). 

The March 31, 2005 liability is determined by multiplying a ratio of 21.39% by your eligible payroll at March 31, 2005.  The 2005-06 annual expense for severance pay is determined by the difference between your opening and closing liability added to (or subtracted from) the actual severance expenditure for the year.

Comparatives:  The 31 March 2004 liability is calculated by multiplying the rate of 21.68% to the 2004 annual gross payroll at year-end.  The 2004-05 expense is the difference between the 31 March 2005 liability and 31 March 2004 liability.  This expense must be added or deducted (as appropriate) to the salary and employee benefits expense previously reported for 2004-05.   

Process:  The following accounting entries should be recorded in CFMRS:

April 1, 2005 opening balance entry (this is your March 31, 2005 liability):
  Amount FRA Auth Obj
DR Equity $XXX 36ddd 0000 0000
CR Allowance for Severance Benefits $XXX 21415 0000 0000

March 31, 2006 year-end entry (assuming an increase in the liability):
  Amount FRA Auth Obj

(1) 51844 Provision for severance benefits – Defence or 51846 Provision for severance benefits – all other departments;

(2) F124 – Allowances set up for severance pay

(3) 3469 – Charge to other liability account

(4) 6299- Net Increase or Decrease to Other Liability accounts

DR Provision for Severance Benefits $XXX 5184x(1) F124(2) 3469(3)
CR Allowance for Severance Benefits $XXX 22721 F124 6299(4)

Note:

  1. Because of the late date of this notice, departments have the option to not record the above entries in CFMRS.  In this situation, departments would still reflect the effect of the above entries in their financial statements but would only record the March 31, 2006 liability as the opening balance adjusting entry in fiscal year 2006-07. 
  2. Departments are reminded that the coding for actual severance benefits payable remains unchanged.  The accounting entries are described in the FIS Accounting Manual.
  3. The devolution entry must be entered in the same month as the entry performed by the Receiver General to reverse the central allowance.  As a result, please advise Paul Poulin at PWGSC, 956-1854 or paul.a.poulin@pwgsc.gc.ca, in the month that you intend to record the opening balance entry so that he can reverse the central allowance in the same month.

Financial Statement Presentation:

  • Statement of Financial Position: A line entitled "Employee severance benefits" should appear under long-term liabilities.  Any severance benefits payable at year-end would appear separately under current liabilities (e.g. accounts payable).   
  • Statement of Cash Flow: The change in the employee severance benefits liability would be presented under the Operating Activities category. 
  • Statement of Operations: The change in the liability between years should be added to or subtracted from the actual severance expenditure in the year.  This amount is reported in the Statement of Operations as the expense for the year under salaries and employee benefits.
  • Notes:  Reference to the severance benefit liability appears in the note on significant accounting policies and a separate note on employee benefits.
    • Significant Accounting Policies

      Severance benefits: Employees are entitled to severance benefits under labour contracts or conditions of employment.  These benefits are accrued as employees render the services necessary to earn them.  The obligation relating to the benefits earned by employees is calculated using information derived from the results of the actuarially determined liability for employee severance benefits for the Government as a whole. 

    • Employee Benefits: Severance benefits: The department provides severance benefits to its employees based on eligibility, years of service and final salary.  These severance benefits are not pre-funded.  Benefits will be paid from future appropriations.  Information about the severance benefits, measured as at March 31, is as follows:
  2006 2005
  (in thousands of dollars)
Accrued benefit obligation, beginning of year 61,454 59,318
Cost for the year 2,510 2,306
Benefits paid during the year (168) (170)
Accrued benefit obligation, end of year 63,796 61,454
Date modified:

Nous procédons actuellement au transfert de nos services et de nos renseignements sur le Web vers Canada.ca.

Le site Web du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada restera accessible jusqu’à  ce que le transfert soit terminé.

Traitement comptable du passif pour les indemnités de départ

Mise en application :  En vigueur pour les états financiers de l’exercice 2005-2006 pour tous les ministères, tels que définis par la section 2 de la LGFP. NB : ne s’applique pas aux fonds renouvelables.

Calcul :  Le passif en date du 31 mars 2006 est calculé en multipliant un ratio de 21,79% à la masse salariale brute annuelle du ministère à la fin de l’année, qui est assujettie à l’indemnité de départ, ce qui représente la paye reliée aux employés nommés pour une période indéterminée.  NB : la charge de salaire pour les employés nommés pour une période indéterminée ne devrait pas être utilisée comme approximation de la masse salariale admissible puisqu’il peut y avoir une différence entre ces deux montants (e.g. suite à une réorganisation pendant l’année).

Le passif en date du 31 mars 2005 est calculé en multipliant un ratio de 21,39% à la paye admissible au 31 mars 2005.  La charge annuelle de 2005-2006 pour l’indemnité de départ est calculée en prenant la différence entre le passif du solde d’ouverture et celui du solde de fermeture et en l’additionnant (ou en la soustrayant) de la dépense d’indemnité actuelle pour l’année.

Transactions comparables :  Le passif en date du 31 mars 2004 est calculé en multipliant la masse salariale brute de l’année 2004 à la fin de l’exercice par le taux de 21,68%.  La charge pour l’année 2004-2005 est la différence entre le passif du 31 mars 2005 et celui du 31 mars 2004.  Cette charge doit être ajoutée ou déduite (selon le cas) de la charge de salaires et avantages sociaux rapportés pour l’année 2004-2005.

Processus :  Les entrées comptables suivantes devraient être inscrites dans le SCGRF :

Inscription du solde d’ouverture du 1 avril 2005 (ce qui représente votre passif au 31 mars 2005)
  Montant CRF Aut. Article
DT Avoir XXX$ 36ddd 0000 0000
CT Provision pour le passif relatif aux indemnités de départ XXX$ 21415 0000 0000

Entrée de fin d’exercice au 31 mars 2006 (hypothèse que le passif augmente) :
  Montant CRF Aut. Article

(1) 51844 Provision pour les indemnités de départ pour la Défense nationale; 51846 Provision pour les indemnités de départ pour tous les autres ministères;

(2) F124 – Provisions pour indemnités de départ

(3) 3469 - Charges aux autres comptes de passifs

(4) 6299- Augmentations ou diminutions nettes dans d'autres passifs

DT Provision pour les indemnités de départ XXX$ 5184x(1) F124(2) 3469(3)
CT Provision pour le passif relatif aux indemnités de départ XXX$ 22721 F124 6299(4)

Note :

  1. En raison de la date tardive de cet avis, les ministères ont l’option de ne pas inscrire les entrées ci-dessus dans le SCGRF.  Dans cette situation, les ministères devront tout de même faire refléter les écritures ci-dessus dans leurs états financiers et n’inscriront que le passif en date du 31 mars 2006 comme une entrée de régularisation du solde d’ouverture.
  2. Il est à noter que le codage pour montant actuel à payer pour les indemnités de départ demeure le même.  Les écritures comptables sont décrites dans le Manuel de la comptabilité selon la SIF
  3. L’écriture du transfert du solde d’ouverture doit être inscrite dans le même période que l’écriture inscrite par le Receveur général afin de renverser la provision centrale.  Veuillez communiquer avec Paul Poulin du ministère de TPSGC ou paul.a.poulin@pwgcs.gc.ca durant le mois que vous prévoyez inscrire le solde d’ouverture afin que la provision centrale soit renversée dans le même mois.

Présentation aux états financiers :

  • À l’état de la situation financière : une ligne nommée « Indemnités de départ pour employés » devrait apparaître sous les passifs à long terme.  Les indemnités de départ payables à la fin de l’exercice apparaîtront séparément sous les éléments de passif à court terme (charge à payer).
  • À l’état des flux de trésorerie : Le changement du passif des indemnités de départ sera présenté sous la catégorie Activités de fonctionnement.
  • À l’état des résultats : le changement du passif entre les années sera ajouté ou soustrait de la dépense d’indemnité de départ actuelle pour l’année.  Ce montant sera rapporté comme une charge de l’année courante à l’état des résultats sous « salaires et avantages sociaux ».
  • NB – La référence au passif pour indemnités de départ apparaît dans la note des principales conventions comptables et ainsi que dans une note séparée pour les avantages sociaux.
    • Principales conventions comptables

      Indemnités de départ : Les employés ont droit à des indemnités de départ selon leurs conventions collectives et leurs conditions d’emploi.  Ces indemnités sont comptabilisées au fur et à mesure que les services nécessaires sont rendus par les employés pour les gagner.  L’obligation relative aux indemnités gagnées par les employés est calculée en utilisant l’information issue d’un passif déterminé sur une base actuarielle pour les indemnités de départ pour le gouvernement en tant qu’entité.

    • Avantages sociaux : Indemnités de départ : Le ministère subvient aux indemnités de départ de ses employés en se basant sur l’admissibilité, les années de service et le salaire final. Ces indemnités de départ ne sont pas capitalisées.  Ces indemnités seront payées à partir de crédits futurs.  L’information concernant les indemnités de départs, mesurées au 31 mars, est comme suit :
  2006 2005
  (en milliers de dollars)
Obligation découlant des indemnités de départ, début de l’exercice 61 454 59 318
Coût pour l’année 2 510 2 306
Indemnités versées pendant l’année (168) (170)
Obligation découlant des indemnités de départ, fin de l’exercice 63 796 61 454
Date de modification :