Office of the Comptroller General Financial Management Sector Financial System Authority

Foreword

As the Assistant Comptroller General of the Government of Canada (GC), I am pleased to present this report on the Common Financial Management System Configuration (FM-SC) for the GC which reflects our mandate to provide continued leadership and commitment to improving the overall quality of Financial Management Systems (FMS) in the GC.1 .

Departmental financial and materiel management systems (DFMS) process over two hundred billion dollars2 in transactions annually in support of GC programs and services. Changing technology and constantly evolving systems have caused the stewardship function of the DFMS to become increasingly complex. Establishing a government-wide financial system configuration provides an effective tool and common understanding of DFMS functionality and capabilities.

The GC approved the Policy on the Stewardship of Financial Management Systems on January 1, 2010, which establishes clear deputy head accountability for the effective stewardship of their FMS. In accordance with this policy, deputy heads provide leadership and strategic direction for the departmental FMS. Deputy heads prudently invest in FMS to meet both operational requirements and government-wide strategic directions for these systems and allocate appropriate resources, supported by their Chief Financial Officers (CFO) to ensure a timely implementation of standardized configurations. The Office of the Comptroller General (OCG) monitors alignment to this policy through the Management Accountability Framework (MAF) and through annual FMS cluster group plan assessments.

The FM-SC Initiative will identify a set of common DFMS configuration requirements that support GC financial management business requirements, within the context of the current financial management legislative and policy framework. This report addresses all departments and agencies as defined in section 2 of the Financial Administration Act (FAA).

By establishing common system requirements, standardization reduces the duplication of effort in each department and provides the means for agile government-wide response to change. As government-wide standardization is increased, efficiency, effectiveness and interoperability are improved. The FM-SC is a vital management tool for standardizing financial systems.

I would like to thank the CFO community and the FMS cluster and central agency representatives who contributed to the development of this report.

Bill Matthews
Assistant Comptroller General
Financial Management Sector
Office of the Comptroller General


Douglas M. Lloyd
Director General
Financial System Authority, Financial Management Sector
Office of the Comptroller General


Author

This document has been prepared by the Financial System Authority (FSA) of the Financial Management Sector (FMS), Office of the Comptroller General (OCG) of the Treasury Board Secretariat (TBS), on behalf of the Government of Canada (GC).

Acknowledgements

The sincerely thanks the following departments and agencies for their contributions to the development of this document:

Document Change History

Date Author Change Reference
8-July-2010 K. Hammoud Adjustments to name, clarification of scope
15-July-2010 K. Hammoud, L. Larocque Confirmation of scope, drivers, ordering of sections
27-July-2010 K. Hammoud, R. McBride Component clarifications, refining sections
4-Aug-2010 Edits as a result of CSCG FM-SC workshop August 2010. Presentation of FM-SC initiative and draft component descriptions
23-Aug-2010 D. Lloyd Edits for clarity
15-Sept-2010 K. Hammoud, R. McBride Updates to policy mapping and creation of crosswalk between FSA initiatives
13-Oct-2010 B. Matthews Edits for scope clarity
14-Oct-2010 DCFO Secretarial request for review and comments
28-Oct-2010 Edits as a result of IFMS and CDFS comments. Refer to disposition log for details
2-Dec-2010 Edits as a result of DCFO Consultation Secretarial request for review and comments.  Refer to disposition log for details
8-Feb-2011 Edits as a result of CFO consultation Secretarial request for review and comments.  Refer to disposition log for details
11-Feb-2011 FMS-FSA Review and comment
17-Feb-2011 R. McBride Final review and formatting – Final version ready for translation – version 1.2
17-June-2011 R. McBride Final version posted on website

Table of Contents

Date modified:

Bureau du contrôleur général du Canada secteur de la gestion financière

Avant-propos

En ma qualité de contrôleur général adjoint du gouvernement du Canada (GC), j’ai le plaisir de vous présenter ce rapport sur l’initiative de configuration commune des systèmes de gestion financière (CS-GF) au gouvernement du Canada, qui correspond à notre mandat visant à offrir continuellement du leadership et à notre engagement envers l’amélioration de la qualité générale des systèmes de gestion financière (SGF) au sein du GC.1

Les systèmes ministériels de gestion des finances et du matériel (SMGFM) traitent annuellement des opérations représentant plus de deux cents milliards de dollars2 à l’appui des programmes et services du GC. Et puisque les technologies changent et que les systèmes évoluent constamment, la gérance d’un SMGFM est de plus en plus complexe. Une configuration commune des systèmes financiers à l’échelle du gouvernement assurera un outil efficace et un langage commun pour les fonctions et les capacités des SMGFM.

Le 1er janvier 2010, le gouvernement du Canada a entériné la Politique sur la gérance des systèmes de gestion financière, qui établit clairement la responsabilité des administrateurs généraux en matière de gérance efficace de leurs SGF. Conformément à cette politique, les administrateurs généraux doivent faire montre de leadership et fournir une orientation stratégique pour les SGF ministériels. Ils doivent investir prudemment dans les SGF afin de répondre aux exigences opérationnelles tout en respectant les orientations stratégiques du gouvernement relativement à ces systèmes; en outre, les administrateurs généraux, avec l’appui de leurs directeurs principaux des finances (DPF), affectent des ressources appropriées pour assurer la mise en oeuvre en temps opportun des configurations normalisées. Le Bureau du contrôleur général surveille le respect de cette politique par le biais du Cadre de responsabilisation de gestion (Cadre de responsabilisation de gestion) et des évaluations annuelles des plans des regroupements d’usagers des SGF.

L’initiative de la CS-GF permettra d’établir pour les SMGFM une série d’exigences communes en matière de configuration à l’appui des exigences opérationnelles de la gestion financière au gouvernement du Canada, dans le contexte du cadre actuel des lois et des politiques sur la gestion financière. Le présent rapport s’applique à tous les ministères et organismes visés à l’article 2 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques (LGFP).

En reposant sur des exigences communes pour les systèmes, la normalisation permet de réduire les chevauchement des efforts dans les ministères et de faire preuve d’agilité lorsqu’il s’agit de faire face à des changements opérés à l’échelle du gouvernement. À mesure que la normalisation à l’échelle du gouvernement augmente, l’efficacité, l’efficience et l’interopérabilité s’améliorent. La CS-GF est un outil de gestion vital pour assurer la normalisation des systèmes financiers.

Je tiens à remercier la collectivité des DPF ainsi que les représentants des regroupements d’usagers et des organismes centraux qui ont apporté une contribution au présent document.

Bill Matthews
Contrôleur général adjoint
Secteur de la gestion financière
Bureau du contrôleur général


Directeur général
Autorité des systèmes financiers, Secteur de la gestion financière
Bureau du contrôleur général


Auteur

Le présent document, rédigé par l’Autorité des systèmes financiers (ASF) du Secteur de la gestion financière au Bureau du contrôleur général du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, a été produit pour le compte du gouvernement du Canada.

Remerciements

Le Bureau du contrôleur général remercie sincèrement les ministères, organismes et regroupements suivants, qui ont apporté une contribution précieuse au présent document :

Registre des changements apportés au document

Date Auteur(s) Nature du changement
8 juillet 2010 K. Hammoud Révision du titre, précision de la portée
15 juillet 2010 K. Hammoud, L.Larocque Confirmation de la portée, catalyseurs, ordre de classement des sections
27 juillet 2010 K. Hammoud, R. McBride Précision des composantes, parachèvement de diverses sections
4 août 2010 Modifications apportées à la suite de l’atélier du mois d’aout 2010 du CRUS portant sur la CS-GF Présentation de l’initiative de CS-GF et description provisoire des composantes
23 août 2010 D. Lloyd Corrections pour améliorer la clarté
15 sept. 2010 K. Hammoud, R. McBride Mises à jour des concordances avec les politiques et création d’un tableau de concordance entre les initiatives de l’ASF
13 oct. 2010 B. Matthews Corrections pour améliorer la clarté de l’écart du projet
14 oct. 2010 Adjoint au DPF Demande d’examen et de commentaires par le Secrétariat
28 oct. 2010 Corrections à la suite de commentaires concernant le SIFM et le SFMC Voir le registre des mesures prises pour plus de détails
2 déc. 2010 Corrections à la suite d’une consultation auprès des ADPF Demande d’examen et de commentaires par le Secrétariat. Voir le registre des mesures prises pour plus de détails
8 février 2011 Corrections à la suite d’une consultation auprès des DPF Demande d’examen et de commentaires par le Secrétariat. Voir le registre des mesures prises pour plus de détails
11 février 2011 BCG SGF-ASF Examen et commentaires
17 février 2011 R. McBride Examen final et dernier formatage – Version finale prête à être traduite – Version 1.2
17 juin 2011 R. McBride Version finale téléchargée au site web du BCG

Table des matières

Date de modification :