Date sent:  May 18, 2012

To:  Deputy Chief Financial Officers

Message on behalf of Sylvain Michaud, Executive Director, Government Accounting Policy and Reporting, Office of the Comptroller General

The purpose of this communication is to notify departments of a revision to the ratio previously provided on April 12, 2012, for the calculation of departmental severance pay liability as at March 31, 2012.

The government‑wide liability for severance pay is determined on an actuarial basis each year for presentation in the Public Accounts of Canada.  One of the key factors required for the calculation of this liability is the long-term discount rate.  In order to provide departments with sufficient time to record a departmental liability for severance pay in extended period 12-1, the ratio for the liability is initially determined using a preliminary estimate of the long-term discount rate.  Subsequently, the actual liability for severance pay that is presented in the Public Accounts of Canada is determined on a government‑wide basis using the final approved long-term discount rate as at March 31 of the current year.

For fiscal year 2011-12, the final government-wide liability for severance pay calculated on an actuarial basis using the final approved long-term discount rate is higher than the estimated liability used to determine the ratio originally communicated on April 12, 2012.  Consequently, the actual departmental liability for severance pay as at March 31, 2012 for the employee groups for which the severance has not been eliminated should have been calculated using the rate of 26.4%.

Departments and agencies are encouraged to evaluate the materiality of the increase in the ratio when preparing their departmental financial statements in order to determine if the severance pay liability and the related expense should be adjusted accordingly.

Since the Central Financial Management Reporting System trial balance for the extended period 12-2 has already been submitted, adjustments to the liability for severance pay need to be done only for presentation purposes in your departmental financial statements.

Should you have any questions regarding the revised ratio for severance pay liability, please contact Leona Melamed at 613‑946‑7538.  Questions related to the departmental financial statements can be addressed to Anne‑Marie Dionne at 613‑952‑1004.

Date modified:

Date envoyée : Le 18 mai 2012

Aux : Adjoints aux dirigeants principaux des finances

Message de la part de Sylvain Michaud, Directeur exécutif, Politique comptable et rapports du gouvernement, Bureau du Contrôleur général

Le but de la présente communication est d’informer les ministères que le taux annoncé antérieurement du 12 avril 2012, pour le calcul du passif ministériel lié aux indemnités de départ au 31 mars 2012, a été revu et corrigé.

Le passif lié aux indemnités de départ pour l’ensemble du gouvernement est établi chaque année sur une base actuarielle aux fins de présentation dans les Comptes publics du Canada. Une des données clés pour calculer ce passif est le taux d’actualisation à long terme. Afin de laisser suffisamment de temps aux ministères pour qu’ils puissent inscrire un passif ministériel lié aux indemnités de départ dans la période de prolongation 12-1, le taux utilisé pour calculer le passif est établi à partir d’un estimé du taux d’actualisation à long terme. Par la suite, le passif réel lié aux indemnités de départ présenté dans les Comptes publics du Canada est établi à l’échelle du gouvernement à partir du taux d’actualisation à long terme en date du 31 mars de l’année en cours.

Pour l’année financière 2011-12, le passif final lié aux indemnités de départ pour l’ensemble du gouvernement calculé sur une base actuarielle à partir du taux d’actualisation à long terme approuvé est plus élevé que la valeur estimée du passif utilisée pour établir le taux qui avait été communiqué le 12 avril 2012.  Par conséquent, le passif ministériel réel lié aux indemnités de départ au 31 mars 2012 pour les groupes d’employés dont l’indemnité de départ n’a pas été éliminée aurait dû être calculé en utilisant le taux de 26,4%.

Les ministères et organismes sont donc invités à évaluer l’importance relative des répercussions de l’augmentation du taux lorsqu’ils prépareront leurs états financiers ministériels afin d’établir si le passif lié aux indemnités de départ et les dépenses connexes doivent être ajustés.

Étant donné que la balance de vérification du Système central de gestion des rapports financiers pour la période de prolongation 12-2 a déjà été soumise, tout ajustement du passif lié aux indemnités de départ devrait être fait aux fins de présentation dans les états financiers ministériels seulement.

Si vous avez des questions au sujet du taux révisé pour le calcul du passif lié aux indemnités de départ, veuillez joindre Leona Melamed au 613‑946‑7538.  Pour toute question relative aux états financiers ministériels, veuillez joindre Anne-Marie Dionne au 613‑952‑1004.

Date de modification :