Message sent on behalf of Mrs. Suzie Gignac, Executive Director, Government Accounting Policy and Reporting. Office of the Comptroller General

The purpose of this note is to:

  1. Provide guidance to departments on the calculation of the severance pay liability for eligible employees for inclusion in departmental financial statements;
  2. Communicate the Government contribution rate for the public service pension plan for disclosure in departmental financial statements

Severance Pay Liability

The Accounting Treatment related to Severance Pay Liability as at March 31, 2011

provides additional information on how to calculate the severance liability and expense relating to severance for Public Service employees, coding for the accounting transactions and the financial statement disclosure requirements. Note that this liability was devolved to departments in 2005-06.

Departments should strive to record this adjustment in P12-1.

Pension Benefits – Government contribution rate by employees for the Public Service Pension Plan

Both the employees and the department contribute to the cost of the Plan. The 2010-11 expense represents approximately 1.9 times (1.9 times for 2009-10) the contributions by employees. This rate is for disclosure in the relevant note of your departmental financial statements.

Should you have any questions related to the calculations for the severance pay liability or the contribution rate, please contact Michael Hammond at (613) 952-5460 or Contact Michael Hammond by email: michael.hammond@tbs-sct.gc.ca. Questions related to presentation of these items in the departmental financial statements should be directed to Anne-Marie Dionne at (613) 952-1004 or Contact Anne-Marie Dionne by email: anne-marie.dionne@tbs-sct.gc.ca.

Date modified:

Message envoyé de la part de Suzie Gignac, Directrice exécutive, Politique comptable et rapports du gouvernement, Bureau du Contrôleur général

Cette note a pour but de:

  1. fournir aux ministères les instructions pour le calcul du passif lié aux indemnités de départ pour les employés admissibles afin de l'inclure dans les états financiers ministériels;
  2. communiquer le taux de cotisation du gouvernement au Régime de retraite de la fonction publique aux fins de divulgation dans les états financiers ministériels; et

Passif lié aux indemnités de départ

Le Traitement comptable du passif pour les indemnités de départ au 31 mars 2011

fournit des renseignements additionnels à l'égard du calcul du passif et de la charge liée aux indemnités de départ pour les employés de la fonction publique, du codage à utiliser pour enregistrer les écritures comptables et de la présentation à adopter dans les états financiers ministériels. Veuillez noter que la responsabilité de ce type de passifs a été conférée aux ministères en 2005-06.

Les ministères devraient s'efforcer de faire cet ajustement en P12-1.

Prestations de retraite - Taux de cotisation du gouvernement au régime de retraite de la fonction publique

Tant les employés que le ministère versent des cotisations couvrant le coût du régime. En 2010-11 les charges représentent environ 1,9 fois (1,9 fois en 2009-10) les cotisations des employés. Ce taux est à divulguer dans la note appropriée accompagnant les états financiers ministériels.

Si vous avez des questions sur le passif lié aux indemnités de départ et le taux de cotisation du régime de pension, prière de communiquer avec Michael Hammond au (613) 952-5460 ou Contactez Michael Hammond par courriel : michael.hammond@tbs-sct.gc.ca. Les questions reliées à la présentation de ces éléments dans les états financiers ministériels devront être envoyées à Anne-Marie Dionne au (613) 952-1004 ou Contactez Anne-Marie Dionne par courriel : anne-marie.dionne@tbs-sct.gc.ca.

Date de modification :