Message sent on behalf of Mr. Bill Matthews, A/Assistant Comptroller General, Office of the Comptroller General

To:  DCFOs

The purpose of this note is to:

  1. Provide guidance to departments on the calculation of the severance pay liability for eligible employees for inclusion in departmental financial statements;
  2. Communicate the Government contribution rate for the public service pension plan for disclosure in departmental financial statements; and
  3. Remind departments to establish PAYE for the Lump Sum payment for employees who were members of the PSAC Tables PA and EB as at December 15, 2008.   

Severance Pay Liability - Annex A provides additional information on how to calculate the severance liability and expense relating to severance for Public Service employees, coding for the accounting transactions and the financial statement disclosure requirements. Note that this liability was devolved to departments in 2005-06.

Departments should strive to record this adjustment in P12-1. 

Pension Benefits – Government contribution rate by employees for the Public Service Pension Plan

Both the employees and the department contribute to the cost of the Plan. The 2008-09 expense represents approximately 2.0 times (2.1 times for 2007-08) the contributions by employees. This rate is for note disclosure in your departmental financial statements (see Illustrative Financial Statement Package Note 11 a) of TBAS 1.2 – Pension Benefits).

Should you have any questions on the severance pay liability and the contribution rate, please contact Hamid Haffaf at (613) 957-9676 or Contact Hamid Haffaf by email:hamid.haffaf@tbs-sct.gc.ca.

PAYE for the lump-sum payment to members of PSAC Tables PA and EB

Departments are reminded that funding for the lump sum payment of $4,000 to employees who were members of PSAC Tables PA and EB on December 15, 2008 in settlement of the pay equity complaints has been received through Supplementary Estimates C. According to the PAYE policy, the unpaid amounts related to these settlements should be accrued and charged to the 2008-09 departmental appropriations in P12-1. The payments will be issued in the 2009-10 using the entitlement code 087 therefore the PAYE should be recorded in civilian regular time salaries and wages in either:

The documents to support these transactions will be made available for audit to the Office of the Auditor General centrally. Please note that the substantiation of all other information such the information on employees is the responsibility of the departments.

Should you have any questions on the PAYE for the lump-sum payment, please contact Andrée Pelchat at (613) 954-0117 or Contact Andrée Pelchat by email:andrée.pelchat@tbs-sct.gc.ca.

Annex A – Calculation of Severance Pay Liability and Expense

Severance Pay Liability

Context and Application:  In line with the Treasury Board Accounting Standard 1.2 (TBAS 1.2), Departments are reminded that they must account for their allowance and related severance pay liability in their 2008-09 financial statements. This applies to all organizations defined as departments in accordance with section 2 of the Financial Administration Act (FAA).

Calculation: The March 31, 2009 liability relating to Public Service employees is determined by multiplying 23.19% (compared to 23.27% at March 31, 2008) by the department's annual gross payroll at year-end subject to severance pay, which is the payroll related to indeterminate employees. The 2008-09 annual expense for severance pay is determined by the difference between your opening and closing liability added to (or subtracted from) the actual severance expenditure for the year.

Process:  The following accounting entry should be recorded in CFMRS:

March 31, 2009 year-end entry (assuming an increase in the liability):

  Amount FRA Auth Obj
DR Provision for Severance Benefits – PS $XXX 518461 F1242 34693
CR Allowance for Severance Benefits $XXX 214154 F4135 70236

Departments are reminded that the coding for actual severance benefits payable, at the end of year, remains unchanged. These accounting entries are described in the FIS Accounting Manual.

Financial Statements Presentation:  The presentation in departmental financial statements of the severance benefits and the related liability should be in line with the TBAS 1.2.

____________________

1 51846 – Provision for severance benefits – Public Service

2 F124 – Allowances set up for severance pay

3 3469 – Charges to other liability accounts

4 21415–  Allowance for severance benefits - departments

5 F413  – Charges to accruals for severance pay

6 7023 – Allowance for employee benefits

Date modified:

Message envoyé de la part de Monsieur Bill Matthews, Contrôleur général adjoint par intérim, Bureau du Contrôleur général

Destinataires: ADPF

Cette note a pour but de:

  1. fournir aux ministères les instructions pour le calcul du passif lié aux indemnités de départ pour les employés admissibles afin de l'inclure dans les états financiers ministériels;
  2. communiquer le taux de cotisation du gouvernement au Régime de retraite de la fonction publique aux fins de divulgation dans les états financiers ministériels; et
  3. rappeler aux ministères d'établir un CAFE dans l'exercice 2008-2009 pour le paiement forfaitaire de 4000 $ aux employés qui étaient membres des tables PA et EB de l'Alliance de la fonction publique du Canada au 15 décembre 2008. 

Passif lié aux indemnités de départ - Des renseignements, à l'égard du calcul du passif et de la charge liée aux indemnités de départ pour les employés de la fonction publique, du codage à utiliser pour enregistrer les écritures comptables et de la présentation à adopter dans les états financiers ministériels figurent à l'annexe A. (lié à l'annexe)

Les ministères devraient s'efforcer de faire cet ajustement en P12-1.

Prestations de retraite - Taux de cotisation du gouvernement au régime de retraite de la fonction publique

Tant les employés que le ministère versent des cotisations couvrant le coût du régime. En 2008-09 les charges représentent environ 2.0 fois (2.1 fois en 2007-08) les cotisations des employés. Ce taux est à divulguer dans l'une des notes accompagnants les états financiers ministériels (Voir l'ensemble modèle d'états financiers Note 11 a) de la NCCT 1.2 – Prestations de retraite).

Si vous avez des questions sur le passif lié aux indemnités de départ et le taux de cotisation du régime de pension, prière de communiquer avec Hamid Haffaf au (613) 957-9676 ou Contactez Hamid Haffaf par courriel : hamid.haffaf@tbs-sct.gc.ca.

CAFE pour le payement forfaitaire aux membres des tables PA et EB de l'AFPC

On rappelle aux ministères que le financement pour le paiement forfaitaire de $4000 aux employés qui étaient membres des tables de PA et EB de l'Alliance de la fonction publique du Canada au 15 décembre 2008 dans le cadre du règlement des réclamations de parité salariale, a été reçu par l'entremise du Budget supplémentaire des dépenses C. Conformément à la politique sur les CAFE, les montants non payés reliés à ces règlements doivent être constatés et imputés aux crédits ministériels de 2008-2009 en P12-1. Les paiements seront émis en 2009-2010 en utilisant le code de versement 087. Par conséquent, les CAFE doivent être comptabilisés dans les articles économiques relatifs aux traitements et salaires civils, temps régulier, soit dans :

Les documents pour supporter ces transactions seront mis à la disposition de l'équipe du Bureau du vérificateur général, au niveau central. Veuillez prendre note que la corroboration de toutes autres informations, tel que l'information sur les employés, demeure la responsabilité des ministères.

Si vous avez des questions relatives au CAFE pour le payement forfaitaire, prière de communiquer avec Andrée Pelchat au (613) 954-0117 ou Contactez Andree Pelchat par courriel : andree.pelchat@tbs-sct.gc.ca

Annexe A – Calcul du passif et de la dépense liés aux indemnités de départ

Passif lié aux indemnités de départ

Contexte et application :   Conformément à la Norme comptable du Conseil du Trésor 1.2 (NCCT 1.2), nous désirons rappeler aux ministères qu'ils doivent comptabiliser la charge et le passif liés aux indemnités de départ dans leurs états financiers ministériels pour l'année 2008-2009.  Ces instructions s'appliquent à toutes les organisations désignées comme ministères conformément à l'article 2 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques (LGFP).

Calcul : Le passif en date du 31 mars 2009, relatif aux employés de la fonction publique, est calculé en multipliant 23.19% (comparativement à 23.27% au 31 mars 2008) par la masse salariale brute annuelle du ministère à la fin de l'exercice, qui est assujettie à l'indemnité de départ, ce qui représente la paye reliée aux employés nommés pour une période indéterminée. La charge annuelle de 2008-2009 pour l'indemnité de départ est calculée en prenant la différence entre le solde de clôture et le solde d'ouverture du passif et en l'additionnant (ou en la soustrayant de) à la dépense réelle pour l'année.

Processus :  L'écriture suivante devrait être enregistrée dans le SCGRF :

Écriture au 31 mars 2009 (hypothèse que le passif augmente) :

  Montant CRF Aut. Article
DT Provision pour les indemnités de départ – Fonction publique XXX$ 518461 F1242 34693
CT Provision pour le passif relatif aux indemnités de départ XXX$ 214154 F 4135 70236

Nous désirons rappeler aux ministères que le codage pour les montants réels payables, en fin d'exercice, liés aux indemnités de départ demeure inchangé.  Ces écritures comptables sont décrites dans le Manuel de la comptabilité selon la SIF.

Présentation aux états financiers : La présentation dans les états financiers ministériels de la charge et du passif lié aux indemnités de départ devrait être en accord avec la NCCT 1.2.

____________________

1 51846 – Provision pour les indemnités de départ - Fonction publique  

2 F124 – Provisions pour indemnités de départ

3 3469 – Charges aux autres comptes de passifs

4 21415 – Provision pour le passif relatif aux indemnités de départ - ministères

5 F413 –  Charges pour indemnités de départ

6 7023 –  Provision pour bénéfices marginaux des employés

Date de modification :