Date: November 6, 2008-11-06

To: Chief Financial Officers and Deputy Chief Financial Officers

From: John Morgan, Assistant Comptroller General, Office of the Comptroller General

This Policy Notice is to advise you that as of July 1, 2008, federal government departments will pay the British Columbia Carbon Tax under the current terms of the RTA between the Government of Canada and the Province of British Columbia.

The British Columbia Carbon Tax meets the definition of "provincial tax or fee" as defined in the agreement:

"Provincial Tax or Fee" means a provincial tax or fee as defined in subsection 31(1) of the Federal Provincial Fiscal Arrangements Act, other than the Provincial Sales Tax, and includes any such tax or fee which is imposed or levied under any of the following statutes:

  1. the Motor Fuel Tax Act, R.S.B.C. 1996, c. 317,
  2. the Commercial Transport Act, R.S.B.C. 1996, c. 58,
  3. the Passenger Transportation Act, S.B.C. 2004, c. 39,
  4. the Motor Vehicle Act, R.S.B.C. 1996, c. 318,
  5. the Motor Vehicle (All Terrain) Act, R.S.B.C. 1996, c. 319,
  6. the Tobacco Tax Act, R.S.B.C. 1996, c. 452, and
  7. the Hotel Room Tax Act, R.S.B.C., 1996, c. 207.

The British Columbia Carbon Tax will not have to be accounted for separately. Therefore, no new financial coding will be issued.

Enquiries:

For technical questions regarding the British Columbia Carbon Tax, please contact the province directly. Contact information for the province can be found on the following website: http://www.gov.bc.ca/sbr/contacts.html.

Should your staff require additional information on this subject, they can also contact Anna Marinelli, Senior Policy Analyst, Financial Management Policy Division (FMPD), Office of the Comptroller General, at 613-954-3692 or by e-mail at Anna.Marinelli@tbs-sct.gc.ca.

Date modified:

Date : 6 novembre 2008

Destinaires : Dirigeants principaux des finances et Adjoints aux dirigeants principaux des finances

De : John Morgan, Contrôleur général adjoint, Bureau du contrôleur général

Cet Avis sur la politique est pour vous informer qu'à compter du 1er juillet 2008, les ministères du gouvernement fédéral paieront la taxe sur le carbone de la Colombie-Britannique, conformément aux modalités actuelles de l'ARF conclu entre le gouvernement du Canada et la province de la Colombie-Britannique.

La taxe sur le carbone de la Colombie-Britannique s'accorde avec la définition de « taxe ou droit provincial » précisée dans l'accord :

« Taxe ou droit provincial » signifie toute taxe ou tout droit provincial défini à l'alinéa 31(1) de la Loi sur les arrangements fiscaux entre le gouvernement fédéral et les provinces, hormis la taxe de vente provinciale, et comprend toute taxe ou tout droit imposé ou perçu en vertu de chacune des lois suivantes :

  1. loi intitulée Motor Fuel Tax Act, R.S.B.C. 1996, ch. 317,
  2. loi intitulée Commercial Transport Act, R.S.B.C. 1996, ch. 58,
  3. loi intitulée Passenger Transportation Act, S.B.C. 2004, ch. 39,
  4. loi intitulée Motor Vehicle Act, R.S.B.C. 1996, ch. 318,
  5. loi intitulée Motor Vehicle (All Terrain) Act, R.S.B.C. 1996, ch. 319,
  6. loi intitulée Tobacco Tax Act, R.S.B.C. 1996, ch. 452,
  7. loi intitulée Hotel Room Tax Act, R.S.B.C., 1996, ch. 207.

Puisqu'il n'est pas nécessaire de comptabiliser séparément la taxe sur le carbone de la Colombie-Britannique, aucun nouveau code financier ne sera émis.

Demandes de renseignements :

Pour toutes questions d'ordre technique concernant la taxe sur le carbone de la Colombie-Britannique, veuillez communiquer directement avec la province. Pour obtenir les coordonnées des personnes-ressources de cette province, consultez le site Web suivant : http://www.gov.bc.ca/sbr/contacts.html

Si votre personnel avez besoin de renseignements additionnels à ce sujet, il peut également contacter Anna Marinelli, Analyste principal de politique, Division de la politique de gestion financière (DPGF), Bureau du contrôleur général, en composant le 613-954-3692 ou par courriel à Anna.Marinelli@tbs-sct.gc.ca.

Date de modification :