Date:  February 22, 2008
To:  SFFO’s
From:  Bill Matthews,  Senior Director, Government Accounting Policy and Reporting Division, Financial Management & Accounting Policy Directorate, Office of the Comptroller General

The purpose of this notice is to inform you that the accounting treatment for amounts recovered by Justice Canada in 2006-2007 for the provision of legal services will be the same as that followed in 2005-2006. In Period 12 Extended 1, client departments are to set up PAYEs with Justice Canada for any amounts outstanding at 2006-2007 year-end.  These amounts will be provided by Justice Canada. In Period 12 Extended 1, Justice Canada will forward to client departments the amounts to be reversed against the client department’s appropriation. The amount to be reversed should be equal to or less than the total amount Justice Canada has recovered during the year. Client departments will then record appropriate reversing and correcting entries to be included in the Period 12 Extended 2 CFMRS Trial Balance. 

Charges made by Justice Canada for a revolving fund must be reversed against the client department’s appropriation.  

Journal entries using the government-wide chart of accounts are included in Appendix A.  These entries are illustrative; client departments should tailor the entries to reflect their particular circumstances.  For accurate reporting of expenses and expenditures in the Public Accounts, client departments must ensure that:

The Operating Budget Carry Forward calculation will be adjusted to account for these transactions.  Further information will be included in the Operating Budget Carry Forward call letter.

It should be noted that the procedures in this call letter will no longer be in effect starting in fiscal year 2007-2008 as the Department of Justice and the newly created Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions have received  new Vote-Netted Revenue authorities. 

Specific questions on 2006-2007 amounts should be directed to Julien Cadieux (613-952-3499,  Julien.Cadieux@justice.gc.ca). Please direct questions on accounting to Sylvie Godin (613-946-7368, Godin.Sylvie@tbs-sct.gc.ca).

Thank you for your cooperation in this matter.

Date modified:

Date:  22 février 2008
Destinataires:  AFSTP
De:  Bill Matthews, Directeur Principal, Direction de la politique comptable et rapports du gouvernement, Secteur de la gestion financière et de l’analyse, Bureau du contrôleur général

Ce note vise à vous rappeler que le traitement comptable des sommes recouvrées par Justice Canada en 2006-2007 pour services légaux rendus sera le même que celui effectué en 2005-2006.  Au cours de la sous-période 1 de la période prolongée 12, les ministères clients doivent établir des CAFE avec le ministère de la Justice pour tous les montants non réglés à la fin de l'exercice 2006-2007. Les montants seront fournis par Justice Canada.  Dans la sous-période 1 de la période prolongée 12, Justice Canada acheminera aux ministères clients les montants à contre-passer contre le crédit du ministère client.  Le montant de l’écriture de contre-passation  devrait être égal ou inférieur au montant total recouvré par Justice Canada au cours de l’année.  Les ministères clients inscriront alors les écritures de contre-passation et de correction appropriées dans la balance de vérification du SCGRF de la sous-période 2 de la période prolongée 12.

Les montants fournis par Justice qui sont attribuables à des fonds renouvelables devront être inclus dans l’écriture de contre-passation contre le crédit du ministère client.  

Les écritures selon le plan comptable du gouvernement sont indiquées à l’annexe A.  Ces écritures servent d’exemple; les ministères clients devraient adapter ces écritures à leurs propres circonstances.  Pour rendre compte avec exactitude les charges et les dépenses dans les Comptes publics, les ministères clients doivent s’assurer que :

Le calcul du report du budget de fonctionnement sera rajusté pour tenir compte de ces opérations.  D’autres renseignements seront présentés dans la lettre d’appel sur le report du budget de fonctionnement.

Veuillez prendre note que les procédures incluses dans cette lettre d’appel ne seront plus  nécessaires à compter de l’année financière 2007-2008, car le Ministère de la Justice ainsi le Bureau du directeur des poursuites pénales nouvellement créé ont obtenu l’autorisation de recettes nettes en vertu d’un crédit.  

Veuillez adresser toute question sur les montants de 2006-2007 à Julien Cadieux (613-952-3499, Julien.Cadieux@justice.gc.ca ).  Pour des questions sur la comptabilité, communiquez avec Sylvie Godin (613-946-7368, Godin.Sylvie@tbs-sct.gc.ca

Nous vous remercions de votre coopération à ce sujet.

Date de modification :